Garda Reserve Recruitment 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Peter_Piper

Sorry to disappoint but just heard that it maybe June before the next intake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭chippyireland

probably 17 more then lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 DexMil26

Someting positive....

"To mark two decades of the Garda Reserve, our members are preparing to march in the Dublin City St. Patrick’s Day parade for the very first time.

We are incredibly proud of our Garda Reserve members who have been training hard at the RDS to prepare for their debut in this year’s national parade. This march is a tribute to the commitment of our voluntary members who work side-by-side with full-time Gardaí, committing their own time to keep our communities safe".

Source: AGS

1000015871.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭VonLuck

That photo also suggests they haven't recruited in two decades based on the age profile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭popsmoke

The same thought came to me. If it goes on any longer, I'll be that age getting started :)

It was meant to be something positive…..☺️

Post edited by DexMil26 on

any news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭CLUM2022

Any updates folks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 sharply

No updates just waiting for any updates, I am wondering how they can take more then 3 years on each applicants profile,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Paddy 42

Have you been waiting 3 years

in the nicest possible way. have some of the guys in training at the moment from the last campaign 10 years ago .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Paddy 42

10 years waiting to be excepted surly not? Are they Garda reservists or full time trainees ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Marty1476

good video, and a great addition to the reserves . Very useful skills to transfer

All guards should be trained to a minimum of EMT level in first aid, easily achieved through their time in Templemore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 LittleMissSunshine

I wonder whether candidate location may have influenced how vetting is prioritised, as some areas might have a greater demand for reserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 mopro80

EMT training is 3 weeks + 1 week placement + exams and requires ongoing practice to remain on the register- not realistic for regular gardai and also overkill. But training to EFR standard would be sensible, 1 week training, valid for 3 years initially.

i say so 100 percent. i am not involved anymore in this but i am from a very small and remote area i guess. i think there is one gr in the area .

i say most of the people required are needed in dublin or cork limerick ect the big city’s and have big gaa grounds ect . places that exta help might be required.

only my opinion

Out of curiosity, did you end up withdrawing your application? If so, did you receive any response or feedback afterward?

A got a job in something similar. I called hr after email have no response.

I had a full garda vetting completed in 4 weeks in new job and i have lived abroad in 2 different countries. was 2 years without hearing anything in this .

have any of ye got any emails ect

I understand what you're saying, and I do understand the difference of the EMT Vs EFR training requirements.

An EMT does require to maintain functional number of hours to be continuously accredited by PHECC in order to maintain an EMT status.

What I am saying is that, All Guards should be given training to the level of EMT. It take 3 weeks full time with 1 week placement, you are correct. It takes 12 weeks part-time with 1 week placement, easily achieved in Templemore.

I'm not suggesting that all student guards need to maintain the level of EMT once attested to satisfy the PHECC council, but once you have the training, it will stay with you for when you need it.

And, once trained to that level, you will at least have a better and more proficient understanding of how to perform a more advanced form of first aid, if and when faced with the scenario.

Forget about the EMT or EFR requirements through PHECC, I just think a better structure of emergency first aid should be on the syllabus

"I have been informed by the Garda authorities that there are currently 228 Garda Reserve candidates within the vetting clearance process."

JOC, Minister for Justice, Home Affairs and Migration.

!8th March 2026.

Source: House of the Oireachtas, Dáil Éireann Debate.

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/question/2026-03-18/1329/?highlight%5B0%5D=garda&highlight%5B1%5D=reserve&highlight%5B2%5D=garda

That’s interesting. I’m wondering whether the ‘228 within the vetting clearance process’ specifically refers to candidates who have already completed the station interview stage, rather than including those who may still be in earlier stages of vetting. This is how the question was originally framed.”

Edit - on second read, I feel the "vetting clearance process" is collectively vetting of all stages, so I would suspect 228 is the number of which are within vetting process regardless of if they have presented for station interview

Has anyone received a rejection letter as was there not like 1500 people at the start of if all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 sharply

1000195974.jpg

Thats what I received

no rejection letter received by me, but I'd almost rather that than the ongoing mystery.

ya i understand it’s lake of any feed back . hopefully some people hear something over the next few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭CLUM2022

Rang vetting again yesterday for monthly update, file still been processed but state possibly May for next GR group.

As far as I understand it, once you completed the Stage 2 interview (Public Jobs), all candidates were assigned an Order of Merit. This OOM was used when candidates were progressed to Stage 3 after successful PJ interview to commence AGS vetting and medical, typically in batches of around 200 (Batch 1 was 1-198 and so on). So, seeing a number like 228 now at vetting, knowing there were 1800+ applications, likely suggests that not all batches have been forwarded to AGS yet to begin vetting. That’s just my interpretation.

I think myself that out of the 1,800 who applied, some didn’t take their application any further, some missed deadlines, some failed the medical, some failed interview, some took up other opportunities, some failed initial/eatly vetting and probably a lot have just dropped out/lost interest in the campaign due to the long delays. Now leaving 228 still in the mix. More could still fail vetting. It's plausible. Just my opinion.

Bizarrely there is even talk of a new GR campaign starting. I'll post link of that speculation later (Question in Oirechtas recently).