Garda Reserve Recruitment 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 goose 501

I got the same email as everyone else recently. I asked why I've been waiting for garda station interview was told will be in touch.

I also asked what happens when in 9 months when the recruitment drive is 2 1/2 yrs open will it close and new recruitment drive started. There answer was everyone who is on current panel will be offered a training position until its exhausted.

Surely Someone somewhere can find out from a td etc what is the hold up.

Also are people still at the medical stage or is everyone done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 RonnieDrew911

I wouldn’t worry too much about the station interview. I did mine at least 6 months ago and it hasn’t made the slightest difference. As far as I can tell it’s vetting clearance is where the bottleneck is. Until you’re through vetting you’re at nothing

In reply to a question. (Apologies, dont have link), re the GR today, the Minister for Justice apparently commented that they (Government) will "double" the amount of reserves to "600" this year. That woukd mean only say 290, ar most, GR trainees will be recruited this year?! What happened the 1,000 promised???!!!!

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 LittleMissSunshine

It’s hard to feel optimistic about the competition progressing at this stage. Im over a year since medical and station interview. From what was reported in the press, there were 1,800 applications, yet only 17 have successfully attested so far, with what I understand to be just another 15 currently in training. Based on that, it’s difficult to see the process gaining any real momentum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭chippyireland

ya it's not look good for people. hopefully do

"In the budget, about €2.74 billion was allocated to the Garda in the recent budget. Within that is enough money for about 1,000 new gardaí, 200 more Garda staff and a doubling of the Garda Reserve to more than 600 this year."
    An Taoiseach Michael Martin.
    Dáil Éireann debate -
    Wednesday, 11 Feb 2026
    Vol. 1080 No. 5.

I was at mass this morning and lit a candle for ye all . so ye can thank me later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭popsmoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Rachdowney27

hi guys, has anyone gotten invited to the intake in may yet? if so what day is it thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 RonnieDrew911

Didn’t know there was one, can you say how you know that it’s on in May?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 DexMil26

Didn't hear any update about an intake in May?!

Post edited by DexMil26 on

It’s understood that the station interview is part of the vetting stage, which is where a lot of people here seem to be. Some have completed station interviews last year and are still undergoing vetting.

If that’s the case for a class in may that will be great for some people about 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Eir2024

is it worth even calling them any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 JimmyGoodman

Recently, as of the end of December 2025, the Garda Reserve breakdown by division. (Copy and paste into the browser to see.) 308 GR at the end of 2025.

https://www.garda.ie/en/about-us/our-departments/human-resources-and-people-development/garda-hr-directorate/garda-strength-breakdown-2025/garda_reserve_by_division_2009_to_31st_december_2025.xlsx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 sharply

II give up now, I don't understand what sort of Garda getting are they doing, are we not from this country, or are we from other planet, It's Scam

…..

what do you mean . like people from outside of ireland getting in . if so it’s best you park that option at the gates of templemore before you enter

Hopefully some updates soon for people be class to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭CLUM2022

We all just gotta stay positive guys, the next couple of weeks will tell alot me thinks..🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Marty1476

I know that this isn’t relevant to the reserves, but curious to see if the bleep test will remain on the PCT in light of the fire fighter applicant that won a discrimination court case on the back of failing the bleep test 🧐

i honestly think there should be a fitness test. u have to be able to look after yourself and your colleagues.

i can only talk from experience in my time in the prison service. some people that where so unfit really got into some serious stuff that can happen anytime.

but i guess the way things are going who no

The United States military uses age-graded (or "age-normed") physical exercises and standards for recruits and service members, acknowledging that physiological capabilities change over time

While basic training is designed to push everyone to a high level of fitness, the scoring scales for official physical fitness tests are adjusted based on age and gender brackets.  Source GoArmy.com

Personslly I agree with above and I do also think they should have a PCT for GR applicants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 sharply

I was just asking about eligibility criteria. As far as I know, it depends on citizenship and residency requirements set out in the official Garda recruitment rules.

I see, according to a statement today by Minister for Justice today , JOC, there will funding which will include for recruiting "300 reserves" in 2026.

I can't share link but go to JOC official Web page to see.

What ever happened to the 1,000 GR's for 2026 that the Government had promised?

they will never be 300 never mind 1000 .

In the 2024 competition, approximately 1,800 applications were submitted for the Reserve. Early communication indicated that around 1,000 Reserve applicants would be recruited. However, to date, only approximately 32 candidates have been called forward from that competition.

At the same time, projections for 2026 have been revised to that of 300 Reserve trainees will be taken in. This is particularly concerning given that active Reserve numbers nationally are approximately 300 and continue to decline. There is a concern that the competition may ultimately conclude with only those already placed on a panel being retained for any future training opportunities.

Last year, Templemore trained approximately 700 full-time members. Of course, priority (should) be given to full-time trainees, although given the strong level of interest demonstrated by the 1,800 applicants, and the current low and declining number of active Reserves nationwide, without a meaningful intake of Reserve trainees, numbers will continue to fall. The significant interest shown in the 2024 competition risks being lost.

Full time recruitment is of utmost importance, but there needs to be a call for balanced planning to ensure that the Reserve is maintained at a sustainable and effective level.

Post edited by LittleMissSunshine on