Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭johnh6767

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭standardg60

Cards on the table, I think Doak will bench this week, if I'm wrong I'm wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Doak's 10 minutes off the bench is the quickest I've seen someone anointed on here I think!

That said I wouldn't object to him benching over Casey, we need more depth at 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭letsbefair

We will not be working on squad depth on Saturday, it will be best available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,788 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

100%. The difference between winning (and finishing second) and losing (third) is over a million euro in prize money; nothing we could learn about any fringe player is worth that. Plus going into the evening with a remote chance of a 6N title would be amazing. Full strength all the way.

Next question is what full strength looks like. I think Kelleher can argue he's earned a start, but probably the biggest question is whether McCarthy comes back in and Beirne moves to 6, or we go with Conan again.

Who I'd like to see;

TOT Kelleher Furlong

Ryan Beirne

Conan Doris VDF

JGP Crowley

Stockdale McCloskey Henshaw Baloucoune

Osborne

Subs: Sheehan Loughman Clarkson McCarthy Timoney Casey Prendergast TOB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Ireland and England begin next year’s championship…..

Friday, February 5th, at 8.10pm in Lansdowne Road

Then Rome on Saturday, February 13th, (kick-off 3.10pm local time/2.10pm Irish)

That is the first of successive early Saturday afternoon slots, as a week later Wales host Ireland (kick-off 2.10pm).

Ireland face Scotland in Murrayfield on Friday, March 5th,

Finishing v France, on Saturday, March 13th (kick-off 8.10pm).

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/2026/03/09/six-nations-2027-fixtures-ireland-to-have-two-more-friday-night-games-next-year/

Will probably get English officials for 3 of those games. Again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,315 ✭✭✭✭phog

The Italy game always appeals to me as a great weekend away though I might try Cardiff next year as tickets seems easy enough to come by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Tickets maybe easy but accommodation definitely isn't - so would urge advance planning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭CONSI

what is it with Ireland and Friday night games…really makes it difficult to go to for anyone down the country

• Administrators Posts: 56,306 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Three away games in a row next year for Ireland…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭typhoony

Scotland's 2 first choice locks ruled out of our game, kyle steyn a major doubt. The pendulum is swinging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Consider staying in Bristol. It’s a short (maybe 40min train ride) away and a very cool little city in its own right. Lots of microbreweries etc if that’s your thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,315 ✭✭✭✭phog

I've stayed in Bristol and Bath for previous matches in Cardiff. If I go I'll go for a few days so might do two cities at least

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Jeremy Loughman ruled out, Billy Bohan called up. Brian Gleeson will train with the squad.

Ward, Postlethwaite, Izuchuwu all released back to Ulster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭bingobango12

A pity for Loughman and probably that last time he makes a squad if all props are fit. Fair play to him this 6 nations, was pretty good when called upon.

Post edited by bingobango12 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,064 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Disappointing that Izuchukwu isn't getting more game time. Given Scotland might be without their starting locks, it would be a perfect opportunity to have him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,591 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

No because he didn't reach the tryline. A player can dive in the act of scoring a try but Sheehan was well short so it's a penalty for jumping over a tackler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Who would you have him in ahead of? I'm not sure he makes our best available 23.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭FtD v2

He doesn't - it's plain and simple. Even still, I'd have Edogbo higher than him, and it's clear the coaches rate Cian Prendergast more highly right now.

We'll have one of a few different configurations this weekend:

-we'll either go with Beirne & Ryan at 4 & 5 again, with McCarthy on the bench, and another back rower (likely Timoney or VDF)

or

-we'll go with Ryan & McCarthy at 4 & 5, with Beirne at 6, in which case he'll probably go for Conan and one of Timoney or VDF on the bench.

Izuchukwu was okay against Italy, but hasn't done enough to show he deserves to feature this coming weekend.

• Administrators Posts: 56,306 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

With the unexpected Scotland result last weekend we will simply throw all notions of development out the window this weekend and go fully loaded. Which is absolutely the right thing to do.

It makes sense to have those lads go back and play for Ulster rather than hold tackle bags for Ireland this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,409 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I thought he was better than just OK, he played well in the lineout and in the loose. I don't think he makes the 1st choice 23 currently but I wouldn't downplay his efforts against Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭FtD v2

Yeah, I thought he was pretty good all in, I just didn't think he quite did enough to force his way into the first 23.

FWIW - I rate him more highly than Cian Prendergast, but I'd have more confidence in Prendergast delivering a performance on the weekend than I would Izuchukwu.

Izuchukwu has just barely played this season due to injuries - 6 games total for just 363 mins. He certainly hasn't done himself any harm this championship, but don't think he shot the lights out against Italy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,272 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I think doak did very well in the time he got and should keep his place.

Irish Predicted Changes:
    11. Tommy O’Brien
    4. Joe McCarthy
    6. Tadgh Beirne
    Replacements:
    16.Dan Sheehan, 19.Jack Conan, 20. Cian Prendergast (or Nick Timoney)

Scottish Predicted Changes:
    11. Kyle Rowe (If Kyle Steyn not fit)
    4. Jonny Gray
    5. Grant Gilchrist
    Replacements:
    19.Max Williamson

Ireland 27 - 21 Scotland and the Triple crown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ersatz

Don't think Stockade should start over TOB and I don't see how anyone thinks he performed well enough at the weekend to have him selected. TOB and Balacoune played exceptionally well together in twickenham and TOB dominated in the air relative to Stockdale's performance on Saturday. There is probably not much in it but the manner in which TOB covered ground and showed up on the other wing was something that was very obviously missing on Saturday. Maybe it was a lack of game management or directed tactics but Ireland played a narrow game against Wales which allowed their defence to determine how the game went, we actually need some width and speed outside to deal with that, something TOB and Balacoune had done really successfully against England.

Its a pity Dougie Van der Merwe isnt playing.

Baloucoune just looks electric at the moment. Feed 'The YakCat' and he will score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭letsbefair

Think we will batter their pack given missing both starting second rows. We will go big and bench will finish them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,064 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Personally, I'd give him a start at 6. I think he's good enough, and in the absence of Baird, our best option there. I thinking starting Conan and having Doris on the bench wouldn't be the worst call either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭standardg60

Wasn't released back to Ulster so fingers crossed he stays in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

That sounds very much like starting Izu ahead of Doris? Cant be right, surely?