As you posted, but TOB for Stockdale and Stockdale as 23 cover for me.
anyone got good intel on the Scotland team, likely 15/23 and any comments on them?
All of the above I suspect except Casey is on the bench not Doak and I think Sam also as it’s the last chance to rebuild confidence
SP won’t be in 23. He had his numerous chances and stank the gaff out
Sam will be rebuilding confidence back at Leinster. He would have been released during the fallow week to play if rebuilding confidence was the goal. He's being kept in the squad for his own protection more than anything else, I doubt he's in any position to play for anyone right now.
I think Doak has done enough to maintain his place on the bench also.
Doak has done enough in a 10 minute first cap cameo “to keep his position”? Really? Casey holds a lot more chips on the table, that’s at best unrealistic in my view. Let’s see how that one plays out
*”to maintain his place on the bench”
Cards on the table, I think Doak will bench this week, if I'm wrong I'm wrong!
Doak's 10 minutes off the bench is the quickest I've seen someone anointed on here I think!
That said I wouldn't object to him benching over Casey, we need more depth at 9.
We will not be working on squad depth on Saturday, it will be best available.
100%. The difference between winning (and finishing second) and losing (third) is over a million euro in prize money; nothing we could learn about any fringe player is worth that. Plus going into the evening with a remote chance of a 6N title would be amazing. Full strength all the way.
Next question is what full strength looks like. I think Kelleher can argue he's earned a start, but probably the biggest question is whether McCarthy comes back in and Beirne moves to 6, or we go with Conan again.
Who I'd like to see;
TOT Kelleher Furlong
Ryan Beirne
Conan Doris VDF
JGP Crowley
Stockdale McCloskey Henshaw Baloucoune
Osborne
Subs: Sheehan Loughman Clarkson McCarthy Timoney Casey Prendergast TOB
Ireland and England begin next year’s championship…..
Friday, February 5th, at 8.10pm in Lansdowne Road
Then Rome on Saturday, February 13th, (kick-off 3.10pm local time/2.10pm Irish)
That is the first of successive early Saturday afternoon slots, as a week later Wales host Ireland (kick-off 2.10pm).
Ireland face Scotland in Murrayfield on Friday, March 5th,
Finishing v France, on Saturday, March 13th (kick-off 8.10pm).
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/2026/03/09/six-nations-2027-fixtures-ireland-to-have-two-more-friday-night-games-next-year/
Will probably get English officials for 3 of those games. Again.
The Italy game always appeals to me as a great weekend away though I might try Cardiff next year as tickets seems easy enough to come by
Tickets maybe easy but accommodation definitely isn't - so would urge advance planning
what is it with Ireland and Friday night games…really makes it difficult to go to for anyone down the country
Three away games in a row next year for Ireland…
Scotland's 2 first choice locks ruled out of our game, kyle steyn a major doubt. The pendulum is swinging
Consider staying in Bristol. It’s a short (maybe 40min train ride) away and a very cool little city in its own right. Lots of microbreweries etc if that’s your thing.
I've stayed in Bristol and Bath for previous matches in Cardiff. If I go I'll go for a few days so might do two cities at least
Jeremy Loughman ruled out, Billy Bohan called up. Brian Gleeson will train with the squad.
Ward, Postlethwaite, Izuchuwu all released back to Ulster.
A pity for Loughman and probably that last time he makes a squad if all props are fit. Fair play to him this 6 nations, was pretty good when called upon.
Disappointing that Izuchukwu isn't getting more game time. Given Scotland might be without their starting locks, it would be a perfect opportunity to have him in.
No because he didn't reach the tryline. A player can dive in the act of scoring a try but Sheehan was well short so it's a penalty for jumping over a tackler.
Who would you have him in ahead of? I'm not sure he makes our best available 23.
He doesn't - it's plain and simple. Even still, I'd have Edogbo higher than him, and it's clear the coaches rate Cian Prendergast more highly right now.
We'll have one of a few different configurations this weekend:
-we'll either go with Beirne & Ryan at 4 & 5 again, with McCarthy on the bench, and another back rower (likely Timoney or VDF)
or
-we'll go with Ryan & McCarthy at 4 & 5, with Beirne at 6, in which case he'll probably go for Conan and one of Timoney or VDF on the bench.
Izuchukwu was okay against Italy, but hasn't done enough to show he deserves to feature this coming weekend.
With the unexpected Scotland result last weekend we will simply throw all notions of development out the window this weekend and go fully loaded. Which is absolutely the right thing to do.
It makes sense to have those lads go back and play for Ulster rather than hold tackle bags for Ireland this week.
I thought he was better than just OK, he played well in the lineout and in the loose. I don't think he makes the 1st choice 23 currently but I wouldn't downplay his efforts against Italy.
Yeah, I thought he was pretty good all in, I just didn't think he quite did enough to force his way into the first 23.
FWIW - I rate him more highly than Cian Prendergast, but I'd have more confidence in Prendergast delivering a performance on the weekend than I would Izuchukwu.
Izuchukwu has just barely played this season due to injuries - 6 games total for just 363 mins. He certainly hasn't done himself any harm this championship, but don't think he shot the lights out against Italy either.
I think doak did very well in the time he got and should keep his place.
Irish Predicted Changes: 11. Tommy O’Brien 4. Joe McCarthy 6. Tadgh Beirne Replacements: 16.Dan Sheehan, 19.Jack Conan, 20. Cian Prendergast (or Nick Timoney)
Scottish Predicted Changes: 11. Kyle Rowe (If Kyle Steyn not fit) 4. Jonny Gray 5. Grant Gilchrist Replacements: 19.Max Williamson
Ireland 27 - 21 Scotland and the Triple crown