Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Administrators Posts: 56,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Three away games in a row next year for Ireland…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭typhoony

Scotland's 2 first choice locks ruled out of our game, kyle steyn a major doubt. The pendulum is swinging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Consider staying in Bristol. It’s a short (maybe 40min train ride) away and a very cool little city in its own right. Lots of microbreweries etc if that’s your thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,545 ✭✭✭✭phog

I've stayed in Bristol and Bath for previous matches in Cardiff. If I go I'll go for a few days so might do two cities at least

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Jeremy Loughman ruled out, Billy Bohan called up. Brian Gleeson will train with the squad.

Ward, Postlethwaite, Izuchuwu all released back to Ulster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭bingobango12

A pity for Loughman and probably that last time he makes a squad if all props are fit. Fair play to him this 6 nations, was pretty good when called upon.

Post edited by bingobango12 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,626 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Disappointing that Izuchukwu isn't getting more game time. Given Scotland might be without their starting locks, it would be a perfect opportunity to have him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

No because he didn't reach the tryline. A player can dive in the act of scoring a try but Sheehan was well short so it's a penalty for jumping over a tackler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Who would you have him in ahead of? I'm not sure he makes our best available 23.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭FtD v2

He doesn't - it's plain and simple. Even still, I'd have Edogbo higher than him, and it's clear the coaches rate Cian Prendergast more highly right now.

We'll have one of a few different configurations this weekend:

-we'll either go with Beirne & Ryan at 4 & 5 again, with McCarthy on the bench, and another back rower (likely Timoney or VDF)

or

-we'll go with Ryan & McCarthy at 4 & 5, with Beirne at 6, in which case he'll probably go for Conan and one of Timoney or VDF on the bench.

Izuchukwu was okay against Italy, but hasn't done enough to show he deserves to feature this coming weekend.

• Administrators Posts: 56,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

With the unexpected Scotland result last weekend we will simply throw all notions of development out the window this weekend and go fully loaded. Which is absolutely the right thing to do.

It makes sense to have those lads go back and play for Ulster rather than hold tackle bags for Ireland this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,474 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I thought he was better than just OK, he played well in the lineout and in the loose. I don't think he makes the 1st choice 23 currently but I wouldn't downplay his efforts against Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭FtD v2

Yeah, I thought he was pretty good all in, I just didn't think he quite did enough to force his way into the first 23.

FWIW - I rate him more highly than Cian Prendergast, but I'd have more confidence in Prendergast delivering a performance on the weekend than I would Izuchukwu.

Izuchukwu has just barely played this season due to injuries - 6 games total for just 363 mins. He certainly hasn't done himself any harm this championship, but don't think he shot the lights out against Italy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,332 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I think doak did very well in the time he got and should keep his place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,951 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Irish Predicted Changes:
    11. Tommy O’Brien
    4. Joe McCarthy
    6. Tadgh Beirne
    Replacements:
    16.Dan Sheehan, 19.Jack Conan, 20. Cian Prendergast (or Nick Timoney)

Scottish Predicted Changes:
    11. Kyle Rowe (If Kyle Steyn not fit)
    4. Jonny Gray
    5. Grant Gilchrist
    Replacements:
    19.Max Williamson

Ireland 27 - 21 Scotland and the Triple crown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭ersatz

Don't think Stockade should start over TOB and I don't see how anyone thinks he performed well enough at the weekend to have him selected. TOB and Balacoune played exceptionally well together in twickenham and TOB dominated in the air relative to Stockdale's performance on Saturday. There is probably not much in it but the manner in which TOB covered ground and showed up on the other wing was something that was very obviously missing on Saturday. Maybe it was a lack of game management or directed tactics but Ireland played a narrow game against Wales which allowed their defence to determine how the game went, we actually need some width and speed outside to deal with that, something TOB and Balacoune had done really successfully against England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,951 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Its a pity Dougie Van der Merwe isnt playing.

Baloucoune just looks electric at the moment. Feed 'The YakCat' and he will score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭letsbefair

Think we will batter their pack given missing both starting second rows. We will go big and bench will finish them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,626 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Personally, I'd give him a start at 6. I think he's good enough, and in the absence of Baird, our best option there. I thinking starting Conan and having Doris on the bench wouldn't be the worst call either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,837 ✭✭✭standardg60

Wasn't released back to Ulster so fingers crossed he stays in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

That sounds very much like starting Izu ahead of Doris? Cant be right, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,332 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Darcy Grahem is a player you really have to target in the kicking exchanges, if your kick chase if good he won’t win a ball all day.

mcCloskey needs to spend most of the day running at Russell, Tuipolotu is a player that can be wound up and rattled.

Scotland are going to try and do a number on the scrum, if we can negate some of that it will go a long way to winning.

losing Steyn would be a massive loss to them.

An interesting game awaits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

They have lost a few players after saturday. Both starting 2nd rows are out and Steyn is touch and go with his knee issue.

Watching the highlights on ATH and the speed of ball they had to ridiculous. Think that's where we can go after them to slow them down and force them into kicking a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

It is an unlikely scenario but who would have thought scotland would put 50 on france. Sport can be strange at times.

At that stage of the Italy game, kicking to the corner to go for the TBP was important as every point does matter. It should never have been kicked dead from the position it was taken from. There is no guarantees we score but we lost the oppportunity.

Oh definitely we lost the opportunity to score, just as much as we lost the opportunity to score in the very same game when Dan jumped the tackle. Both players will be annoyed with themselves but I doubt they're haunted by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,018 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

After all the selection discussions about who should and shouldn't have been picked or dropped, it's worth looking at what has actually happened.

By hook or by crook, Ireland has given decent gametime to more players than usual. If the starting team hit the ground running in France, there would mainly have been injury enforced changes from then on. But the need to look at other players has built depth and sifted some of the 'maybe good enough' players into being in serious contention for more game time or shuffled them back in the pack.

We need to think about the world cup but it's still 18 months away. This is still in the ideal window to refresh the team and they've done a good chunk of refreshing

I think that's fair and I also think, we've wasted some opportunities during previous Summer and Autumn games to do this on a broader basis but at least now the management team seem intent of moving outside their comfort zone in regards to selections, which can only be good for squad development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Felexicon

No thread drags the arse out of conversations about meaningless crap quite like this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Felexicon

It's Scotland with a chance to build some momentum off the back of a big performance…………………….they will bottle it.

Ireland by 15+