Price of a pint !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

100%. There is a whole new market that is untapped because of the current license price and ongoing costs.

I think Underdog was in the wrong place and the wrong premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,682 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Wouldn't cover running costs. It's a good idea and it would work for some but it would certainly not break the hold the big breweries have.

All the pubs I drink in regularly have choice including local draft and bottles yet it's still mostly Diagio people go for despite the choice being available.

There isn't an untapped market. Loads have tried with varying degrees of success but it is a niche market and it is tapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭MadeInKerry

I can believe that. A couple of the lads at work said that they couldnt stomach any other stout than guinness. Everything else was "pure muck". One of the lads brought them back Murphys on his round. He pointed it out to everyone else except the 2 lads. Anyone who bought a round after that also bought Murphys. Nobody said anything until the next day. They never even noticed they werent drinking guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

What pub would pour Murphy's into a Guinness glass?

It's literally printed on the glass what you're drinking, can't buy that no one noticed as Guinness drinkers wouldn't accept a pint in anything other than an actual Guinness glass and no decent barman would pour it into anything else.

I've done it as a prank and in fairness to the Guinness drinkers they mostly noticed the difference between Guinness and Beamish.

Ye I'd say you may get away with it once but no bar is going to give multiple rounds of Murphy's in Guinness glasses for the night and none of the Guinness drinkers not to notice.

If you gave me a pint of Heineken when I've ordered a Carlsberg I'll be able to tell you no matter what glass it is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Butson

I'd swear the hangover is less severe with Murphy's than Guinness.

On a wider note, if a few more pubs in provincial towns around Ireland close down because of this, Guinness don't care. Pubs in Dublin, Galway and along the wild Atlantic Way will still be creaming it with lots of photos of gobshites and tourists splitting the G on Instagram, free advertising. This is the reality.

The Diageo Portfolio is struggling overall, so they will milk the Guinness cow as much as they can until they see a major backlash.

It hasn't been tried here because the running costs dont allow it.

It works in the UK and europe and there is no reason it wouldnt work here.

It wont happen though as the license cost wont be reduced or the license cap removed, sadly.

Irelands biggest tourist attraction with international sites, a clothing brand and a tv show. Probably not many beer brands that reach into that many places where the customer might not even be a drinker.

If you think pubs that don't sell macro beers hasn't been tried you don't have a clue. I drink in a very sucessful one every week but if you think llicensing changes will break the hold of big breweries you are just wrong.

You are also wrong that the UK and the rest of Europe are not equally in bed with the big breweries you are also 100% wrong. It's actually worse in many places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,749 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

What are the Guinness alternatives? Beamish/Murphy’s then after that the craft stuff. I remember I drank a pint in a pub “house stout” barman says to me it has a hint of chocolate not as bad as it sounds….

Ok it didn’t kill me I survived, but it was odd.

I don’t even drink Guinness in England because it tastes weird. Annoyingly I like the Irish Guinness taste. I would tell immediately it was different.

I suppose I might just have to “practice” drinking something else and get used to the taste.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

As per the recent post about the 2-stage pour being a gimmick - I pour the nitro cans in one go and it comes out neater

I think you're missing the point but will leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

It was probably the same Vintners gobshite on the last word - Calling out Diageo for the price increase knowing full well they were going to use it as an opportunity for their own price increase (twice as much)
    Wouldn't answer a straight question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,483 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Guinness in England has been the exact same liquid made in the exact same brewery as Guinness in Ireland for 20 years. It always was in Northern England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,175 ✭✭✭54and56

Do you know where draught Guinness in Spain is brewed? I've had a few there in different places which seemed to have a good amount of Guiness sales and whilst it's generally grand it doesn't feel to me like it's anywhere close to what we get here (or in the UK), it seems likem it's closer to draught from a can albeit I see it being poured from a regular tap. Might just be the environment or the mood I'm in when there Vs here maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Acosta

Switched to Beamish once Guinness went over €6. It's nicer than Guinness in most places anyway. I find Guinness very inconsistent these day's. It's often far too bitter. That's not good enough when it's so expensive

No idea what glass it was in. Cant remember ever noticing what glass I was drinking out of myself. Never knew anybody looked at the glass they were drinking out of tbh. In fact I dont ever even remember drinking Guinness out of a Guinness glass, though i may and not noticed. Clearly these guys didnt notice either.

Most people want their drink in the respective branded glass, more so when it’s a Guinness.

People have and will refuse drinks at a bar if they serve them in non branded glass and most bar staff won’t give a drink in a different glass.

The few times it’s happened (never with a Guinness) they apologise up front and say that they’re out of Heineken/Carlsberg/Coors glasses.

You must live in a different Ireland than I do :) Ive never heard of anybody giving a sh1t what glass their drink is in. Well I have heard people complain when they got wine in the wrong glass but thats about it and they drank it anyway because it was either wait for more glasses to arrive or drink and they just drank, but thats the only time ever, in any country, never mind just Ireland.

Guinness drinkers will absolutely complain. I have known places that had to hold on to some older style Guinness tulip glasses because some regulars have a problem with the new more stylish ones.

Your average pub in Ireland will be stocked up with the right branded glass for the right drink whether people care or not is another thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Every draft pint comes in it’s branded glass and has done for 20 years plus at this point since the diversity of options increased.

The only deviation from this these days would be Gigs or events where non branded glasses (even plastic glasses) are used aallowing huge quantities be stored behind the bar and large quantities of quantities be collected easily by floor staff as these unbranded one would be stackable. Otherwise they always put into their branded glass. Especially Guinness. Pubs get boxes of branded glasses for free for all beers they have on draft, the only glasses they pay for our Guinness ones but Guinness drinkers demand a Guinness glass so they have no choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 291 ✭✭WicklowTiger

It'sa Dublin/possibly East Coast thing. Not near as important in the west, except in touristy spots with lots of visitors from areas above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

And the Guinness glass is actually the closest in design to the old tulip glass that was the norm before all the branding.

Actually the Guinness glass is closer in design to glasses from the 1940s and 1950s.

It's a much simpler design.

The larger brand glasses have been completely redesigned.

You could get away with serving larger in a Guinness glass but certainly not the other way around.

I think that's the reason Guinness drinkers might demand a Guinness glass, the alternatives are not good.

I'm sure a Guinness drinker would have no problem with a non branded simple tulip glass.

Nope, branded glasses and the use of them are just as prevalent in the west of Ireland, both town and rural.

Im from and live in Dublin. Never seen people worry about the glass their pint is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 291 ✭✭WicklowTiger

The glasses are there yes, just people seem to care a lot less which one is used, in my experience.

Maybe people don't worry about what glass their pint is in because the bar staff put it in the correctly branded glass in the first place.

You are all having me on here. Up til the mid 2010s I worked in several bars and hotels in Dublin and Wicklow as a barman and then a manager. Never ever saw anyone care about the glass their pint came in. Yes we got glasses in with the deliveries, but used whatever glass was to hand for any drink. You would use wine glasses, shot glasses, slims, brany glasses etc for the particular type of drink you were pouring but would never bother to look what brand was on a pint or glass when you were giving out a pint glass. Nobody ever complained. Maybe its anew thing, but ive just never seen it, either as staff or as a punter.