Price of a pint !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,483 ✭✭✭✭L1011

We're going to have, I guess, three weeks of people claiming they're switching to Heineken products (Murphys, Beamish, Heienken etc) until they announce their price rise of a similar amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭aidanodr

In Cork city center now i find on average the price for most pints is about €7

I have also noted subtle price hikes in supermarkets across a range of products since the new year - Aldi etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭beachhead

Ain't Guinnes announced a 20c increase for deliveries after 2/2/26 ?? Mixers of course will have to up as well.Parity of esteem or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Publican on newstalk now saying it’s a lot safer for people to drink in pubs than at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,056 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Yet another cost increase from Diageo.

At least the publicans are complaining about them. They should seek alternative suppliers.

I am going to London this weekend. World scale city, and I will pay £5 per pint, and bear in mind excise duty is higher in the UK.

image.png

I will pay less in JDW pubs, as low as under £2 per pint in the suburbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭rob316

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Said people drink too much at home whereas in the pub their drinking can be limited, also the guards would say they get called to more domestic arguments than to pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,141 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

And when people leave his pub and out on the streets cause trouble… the lying gombeen knows nothing about that I'm sure :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,682 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Prices are all over the place in London right now. For a house lager like Amstel or 1664 I was paying anywhere from £7.50 to £5 and often in similar quality pubs in the same area. And that's taking into account I know the pubs that really fleece the commuters so avoided the ones that were really expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,535 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The cunts will keep doing this until people just simply stop buying their stuff.

It's pure, unadulterated, greed and nothing more.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,568 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

how much do guinness actually sell a keg to a pub for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Limerick_dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭cmac2009

The average price in London is between £7-8, even out in many suburbs. You might find a pint for £5 here and there, but it's rare. That's excluding JDW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

They're putting it up again?!! 😂

Pubs closing all over the country - solution?

Increase prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,857 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

If you're getting cask monday - wednesday in Zone 1, it might sneak in under a fiver, but even wetherspoons in central london is 5.50 - 7.25 a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

At this stage you'd have to wonder about the real intention of diageo. They must know that this will have a detrimental affect on the pubs and their customers. Or are they simply happy that more people will buy their cans/bottles and drink at home?? Younger people with massive mortgages can't afford a decent night out anymore and moves like this from diageo certainly won't help.

For people like myself that love a quiet few pints in the local it's a shame that cheaper alternatives aren't readily available. Beamish is very rare here ( Clare) and that's supposed to be decent stout and costs less.

This could be the death knell for a lot of traditional Irish drinking pubs as opposed to the foodie,soulless pubs will carry on regardless.

It feels like they're trying to get as much lucre in before either selling the company off or until things go pop.

But we are a captive audience here. We like our pints and our pub culture. These wankers know that and will continue to gouge accordingly until there's a significant drop off in sales.

I'll only drink in Disndat in town, but they've raised their prices. I think you can still get a pint for a fiver on Thursdays. It's either there or a spoons for me. The Spoons are generally awful buildings to go for a pint in. I genuinely have no idea why they use such terrible surroundings. If they had more traditional style pubs, they'd do far more business.

I think the Crafty Fox still does a Guinness for 5 Euro.

If an when my local puts the price up to 7 or thereabouts, I'm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,697 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

My local snuck 10c on a pint before Christmas, will be hitting the €7 mark now with this Diageo price hike. Would probably have somewhere between 5 and 10 pints most months these days, rarely more than two in one sitting. So I'll just eat the latest price hike like a chump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭thenuisance

They come out with some shite. It is illegal to serve alcohol to someone who is drunk *. I have yet to see that happen in this country. I saw it once in the UK.

*The 2008 Intoxicating Liquor Act makes it a criminal offence to serve someone who's drunk, defined as drunk to such an extent that it would be reasonable to think they could endanger themselves or others.

https://www.alcohol.ie/avoiding-law-suits-on-your-premises#:~:text=The%202008%20Intoxicating%20Liquor%20Act,could%20endanger%20themselves%20or%20others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭thenuisance

Personally I've moved to craft beers - I pay about the same - sometimes more. But at least more of the money stays in the country. I will drink Guinness in pubs dedicated to the craft of being a pub - no continuous , gratuitous shite music or constant telly, professional bar staff who keep an eye out for patrons waiting for a drink, not chatting/texting to their mates on the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,483 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The publicans are, in nearly every case, paying less for the main Irish craft kegs, and charging more for them.

JDW in London suburbs, Cricklewood

Prices for cask ale seem to jumped, now £3.10.

Guinness = £3.92

Lagers

Bud Light = 1.99

Carlsberg = 3.04, that was less last week

Others 3.49 to 3.99

Depends on the pub you're in. I have definitely seen people refused pints in the two locals I frequent.

I was myself refused in Bruxelles one night and I wasn't even that drunk! I swear! 🤪

But, yeah, in any case that chap saying it's safer to drink in a boozer than at home is talking bollocks.

JDW in London suburbs, Stratford

Prices for cask ale seem £2.10, hasn't increased like in Cricklewood

Ruddles Best = 1.89

Guinness = £4.05

Lagers

Bud Light = 1.99

Carlsberg = 2.87

Others 3.49 to 3.99

Post edited by Geuze on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭BK5

5 price hikes in 3 years, they seem determined to kill pub drinking that's for sure.

That publican on Newstalk was spouting some tripe today, blamed Diageo, the government but forgot to include publicans not standing against these hikes and not mentioning the gouging that his fellow publicans do.

The only thing I will allow for is the pub culture is dying in this country, I wonder what the age demographic is now compared to the average age 30 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The old man pub where the same lads watch the horses all day is dying off but there's still life in livelier spots for young people.

I'm down in Carlow and the busier pubs are the ones that offer something more, like events, gigs, snooker or darts. There's one pub I've been to that just has the regulars and I reckon it is only going because of the trad sessions they have at the weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,682 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Was talking to a former colleague who runs an Irish pub in central London and the price Guinness charge him is crazy in comparison to other house beers.

Problem is despite the price the customers drink so much of it "because it's a good Guinness" that it totally fuks his real gross profit which means every other beer he stocks is cheap shte so he can make the GP margin the company demands.

Guinness is just a behemoth and can do what it wants. They now have a TV show and just launched a tourist experience in Covent Garden. They are so good at marketing that they have made Guinness "the local beer you have to try" when you visit London. It sounds bizarre but I have sold enough Guinness to tourists to know it's true. The Devonshire in Soho is the most talked about pub in England the last few years because of Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Have they explained why their Guinness is better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Butson

Pure greed.

I bailed out on Guinness after their last price increase. Even the nitrosurge cans at home are a rip off