Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

The Murrays are the kings of the lineout. The back row is there to hold the scrum and make the breaks

Post edited by ElisaAtWar on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 43,004 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

I think that was the dpressing bit…

In the 23 was our best 23 players… Yes we could have started Buckley, Belham, Ben Murphy, maybe Jansen and moved Cian over to 7 instead of Sean F….

But that is it…

Our Centers and back three were as good as we have considering the injuries…

Our main concern at the moment is that we have two Openside props injured… Duggan got badly beaten in the scrum on Saturday Night (he played very well against Munster and Sharks) and we are left with Buckley to hold the scrum…

Against Ospreys we got very unlucky and lost two Tightheads, this left Jordan to have to play Tighthead against a International Prop.

If you get annihilated in the scrum you are loosing the game, the question is by how much.. It is a very simple game, drop ball you ask for scrum and you get the ball off a line out 30-40m up the field…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭RonnieL

In his pre match interview on premier sports he said he is homing in on the best 15, and worryingly he said the side starting against Dragons weren't far from it. I thought at the time it was a very jinxy thing to say!

Glad to see the Dragons are getting some credit on here, because I've never seen them play so well. I only saw the first half, and I thought they looked like scoring at every opportunity. Rio Dyer had our back three in serious bother when they got it wide, which they did with ease.

Daragh is still young but already has the weight and height of James Ryan…

Truth is Joe Joyce at 119kg is our biggest lock… SA teams will have 3 players at around 125kg… We don't produce too many 120kg+ locks… Munster have two Klein(123kg) and EDOGBO(127 kg)… Leinster have one RG SNYMAN (126 kg). Ulster have one Harry SHERIDAN (121 kg)…

120kg+ Sharks have 3, Stormers have 4, Bulls have 3….

So Stormer have as many 120kg+ guys as the whole of Irish Rugby and 2 of them are South African…

Ulster has no Locks in its academy, Connacht has one (David WALSH), Munster have two but are 107kg and 110kg, Leinster have four with the lightest 114kg but two larger lads.

This is why we covet players like Alan Spicer(138kg & 6'10") & Conor O'TIGHEARNAIGH (who is 118kg but only 22)…

This is the facts fro a Tight Head Locks coming through in Ireland..

So looking abroad who are Irish Qualified you have Jack Dunne, Ultan Dillane, Quinn Roux,…

The lower lights type like https://all.rugby/player/john-madigan in Agen, Cormac Daly in Japan.. Madigan is 126kg (this makes him inch taller and a over a stone heavier than Joe Joyce… Can he play Rugby? Who knows)

https://all.rugby/player/ryan-mccauley says he is of Irish Descent..

Looking for a young Hooker:

https://all.rugby/player/ronan-loughnane

Non Irish qualified who might get cheap

https://all.rugby/player/myles-edwards

https://all.rugby/player/izack-rodda

There is a risky one but I like, he is English but only 24 (He is 138KG and 6'9"):

https://all.rugby/player/george-smith-16517

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭b.gud

The 42 are reporting that Frawley will be joining Connacht next season and will be played as a 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,378 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Connacht need a 10, but playing Frawley there would be a mistake. Never showed the ability or temperament to be a quality fly half at Leinster. His passing and kicking ability would make him a far better 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

I think in what ive seen hes a better all round 10 than ioane and (later career) Carty. Won't revolutionise the team but a decent IQ 10 and a very good all round rugby player. 12 probably his best position but Forde and Bundee are fairly nailed on there you'd think. Who knows.

As I say thought a fantastic rugby player, just a little hindered by never having developed into one position. A very good signing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭mogwai81

I know he's been picked at 15 this season but I still hope Sean Naughton gets a decent shot at playing 10 in the future. Hopefully the signing of Frawley doesn't stop this. Between Bundee,Forde, Frawley, Gavin & Walsh Connacht and a huge amount of quality players who's best position is at 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭seanin4711

whats michael Bradley up to these days- we never left the bus mentally!

seen Siebs interview on Connacht YT channel before the game and alluded to the last time we came across and underperformed but mustn't have learned their lesson as the played twice as bad.

the coaching ticket are in situ over 6 months and we have zero consistency.

all welsh regions are fighting for their existence hence they have more to play for than we do.

all that being said, we never turned up and made dragons look like France!!

this is a low!

couldn't agree more!

He seems a touch shy post match when we get our asses handed to us for my liking!

long season and they will struggle to sell tickets for clan terrace.

Ulster and Leinster x 2 are gonna paddle us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Strand1970

Frawley will be a huge improvement on the current 10's, especially kicking. Really happy if he does arrive and hope naughton gets time at 10.

I think this Frawley news, if true, will prove to be a great signing for is. Even if he doesn’t start for Ireland, he can be outstanding for us week in week out. We should embrace him. I also suspect Ioane will be off. So it will be Frawley and Naughton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,823 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Frawley is exactly the type of player Connacht should be getting...

Fair play to the player for looking to make it happen...

Andy Farrell and David Humphreys will be pleased....

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

He beat South Africa while playing at 10…

Frawley became a utility player because Johnny didn't want him at 10… Frawley was a excellent under age outhalf… Johnny preferred seeing Ross as his back up, he was no threat.

This should have happened about 7 years ago..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,086 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

He might be a better kicker, pbut he'll be playing behind a Connacht pack that's rarely on the front foot. And 10s rarely look good behind a beaten pack.

I admire him for backing himself, but unless Connacht get a competitive tight 5, I think it’s a really tough assignment.

Did you see him play at 10… that is his preferred position, Leinster just shoehorned him into a utility back to keep Ross as Johnny's back up… This was an embarrassing episode in Leinster rugby, this is where player power got too much…

Frawley is a class 10, just wish we got him 6 years ago..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

Frawley: The question I ask about an arriving player is would they have been in our match day squads consistently over the last year? The answer is 100% he would. A major improvement in our available players.

Now up to Stu to figure out how to use our resources best. Likely a direct replacement for Carty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,378 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Frawley contributed hugely to the win over South Africa. He's a great player who isn't afraid to make the 'big play'. That's why Leinster and Ireland fans gravitated towards him.

MOD EDIT Poster Warned

Frawley was given enough opportunities at 10 when he was younger and failed to raise to the occasion. He made too many loose passes that either went to the outside shoulder of the receiver, stalling the momentum of the attack completely; or the pass was so bad it went behind the receiver and onto the deck.

It was Lancaster and Cullen who decided that Frawley wasn't good enough at 10 and nobody else. Sexton couldn't have given less of a shite who was coming up against him.

Post edited by Lost Ormond on

totally agree. no matter what way you look at it as an external, as an internal he is a great signing for Connacht

Frawley never got a consistent run at 10 with Leinster. If he gets that with Connacht there is the possibility that he works out.

Having said that I'd like to see Sean Naughton get his chance.

Let me try and make a few observations about this possible signing given some strong reactions from some.

We have to be honest that what is the level for Leinster (and Ireland) is different to what can work for Connacht. It’s completely ok if Frawley has fallen short at 10 out east (in the eyes of some, not all). Our needs are a bit different.

He may be the highest profile Leinster player ever moving west, if he does indeed move? I think it’s a really important result for David Humphries and Irish rugby because as a nation, we need far more dispersal of our talents and some of that movement needs to be the higher quality players. Now Leinster fans won’t particularly like that as they produce most of that talent depth but with an Ireland hat on, it surely has to be good.

This transfer will attract other high quality transfers no doubt.

It won’t impact the development of young players like a Sean Naughton. Sean is not ready to start but he should still get minutes regardless.

Let’s see if it even happens!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Talk of Jordan Larmour to Connacht aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭kita99

All of this tragedy began from kicking (over touch in goa) by Ioane. A few years ago, I saw the same kicking by him (in Japan sports TV) at the Ireland vs Maori AB formal match which was held in NZ. Under the bad weather, his place kicking was very horrible. At that match , the opponent=Ireland kicker was Flawley who suceeded all goal kicking under such a strong wind and rain. So Ireland won. Wilkins saw this game as one of the assistant coach of Ireland. So he knew that how different within Ioane and Flawley. So I surprised Connacht hired him. I think maybe Wilkins told Ruane about the roughness and irresponsibility of Ioane. Now he cannot decent kicking but also tackling strongly. I think that O'Shaunessy will be better than Ioane.

Blade got injury at the Saturday's game, and Reilly has been injury since former game. Maybe Lancaster will use B.Murphy who made flashy knocking on and defending error (failed tackling against Dyer because of the lack of bravery or simply speed ) as the starter, and Farthing from the bench. I expect it for Farthing.

And it's said here every time that comes up. We don't need him.

We have a starting back three , when everyone is fit of Hansen, Bolton and Gilbert. We have Naughton, Mullins, Tracy and West. There's no room for anybody else.

I am of the belief that Naughton will make the grade at 10 and Gilbert at 15. To have Frawley as a backup is not shabby.

The 9 position is a bit of a puzzle. Why are Murphy and Devine not preferred. That I can't understand.

As for front 8 now there is a conundrum. I have always been of the Murphy, Jansen, Boyle backed up by SHL. I like the two Murrays in the second row. But we are getting killed in the front row. And Finlay or Denis are not the answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,879 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

I don't think Farthing is particularly close to the first team at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,601 ✭✭✭OldRio

I think this post says a hell of a lot about you. Very very odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,879 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

I rate Frawley a lot but not as an out half. I don't think he makes good decisions, and he doesn't do a good job of organising shape around him. It's very harsh to judge him on possibly the worst game of his career, but his cameo against the All Blacks last season was a bit of a microcosm of his issues at ten - he ended up at the bottom of a ruck in the first phase after he came on.

Usually I'm in favour of taking any talented player that's available and willing and figuring it out from there, but I'm struggling to see it in this case. Frawley is probably a better 12 than Forde but I don't think the difference between the two is particularly great and I'd much rather us back the home grown player.

I guess the way the game is going having a utility back who can kick well will be very valuable, but that would just be more of the same for Frawley and I don't know why he'd leave Leinster unless he had assurances of consistent gametime in a single position.

Are there any examples of a utility back with less than <20 career starts in the position becoming a top level out half in their late 20s?