Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Youd nearly want to stay away from the calculator, some quick maths the nov milk cheque here with 80k litres sent in @ 5%bf 3.8pr will probably be more than next years may milk cheque at a 30 cent base price and 4.0bf /3.4pr with circa 118000 litres sent in basically 30 litres a cow x 140 milkers....

The maths arent mathing as the americans would say

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

This is the game we re playing now,we ll have to keep going until lads start going bust somewhere in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭greenfield21

The real concern will be if prices stay lower for longer and no one goes bust. Then we might start thinking this downturn isn't just a cycle but a structural shift lower and we dont see milk in the 30–40c, but closer to 20–30c range going forward. The cost base will have moved and globally they can still find a margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

But but what happened to our competitive grass based advantage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,381 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I know I've said this a few times but wtf are bord bia and the marketing people doing to justify their wages, no new markets or anything,,just roll with everything thats going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,282 ✭✭✭straight

That's what we have to focus on. Alot of diet feeding and zero grazing now. Expensive carry on. Grass and a ton of ration is the plan here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,136 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Selling for a high premium isn't an easy thing to do as an exporter. Lots of people underestimate the challenge of selling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Downtown123

With rolled barley at €200/ton and the potential to increase intakes there is a lot to be said for pushing yield to milk your way out of this. That said there’s no room for fancy fairy dust of anything fancy in the way of feeding. Just need to work out what works well on a cost per ME basis. Cost per kg of dry matter won’t come into it.
    The country is full of maize and fodder beet is moving slow apparently. Has to be value compared with sub par silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭older by the day

I agree, the house here is full of own brand food, super value, lidl, aldi. My wife does the shopping. I don't notice any difference.

That could be decades of smoking, or the taste buds having been killed of by my wife's cooking 😀

A penny spared, is a penny earned

It's the same with meat, most housewives look for value, they don't care if a Brazilian bullock has lost his tag. If it's a fiver cheaper

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Lots of people underestimate the challenge of staying afloat at 35c too.

I'm 100% sure selling for a high premium is difficult, so maybe now is as good a time as any to ask bigger questions. Do we need an army of people in the processors and Govt quangos (part paid for by farmer levies) ticking marketing boxes? Have dairy processors become too big to create real premium products, differentiated from others? Leaving aside the extra wages, bloated organisations get very slow at decision making when there's lots of people trying to justify their position.

Apart from on here and in the letters pages of the IFJ, is there any forum for farmers to ask questions and try to get answers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,381 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

So why the need for all the marketing staff, replicated in every creamery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭yewdairy

90% of what we produce leaves the island and goes into commodity markets. Kerry gold is value add but outside of that there is very little else. How can you add premium to products like SMP or wmp. They go into ingredients or are sold into developing countries, who just want safe food at the lowest price.

The truth about premium products is they are produced at small scale and tend to be consumed by domestic markets. It's delusional to think that all our milk will find a home in premium markets.

There are loads of places to ask questions, get involved with any of the farm orgs, local coop committes and you will get to ask people in management positions questions. Some people just don't like the answers they get.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

More fool me for questioning anything. But thanks for mansplaining anyway 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭yewdairy

My point was, it's daft to suggest there are no places to ask questions. All these organisations have farmer reps on them, go and ask them all your amazing questions. There isn't always some deep conspiracy, there is too much milk in the world so our price is going to tank.

My questions are fairly basic but I'm sure there's amazing answers. That's the problem.

And I don't think there's a deep conspiracy. It's more mediocre management is the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,136 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Without constantly spending on marketing and r and d they will definitely fall way behind. Then you will all be complaining more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Downtown123

Speak to any Co op board member and you’ll get a comprehensive response on the goings on of what they’re trying to do.

The only reason the west corks are able to pay more is what they’ve invested in in the past ie flavours. Their products are better but I’m not 1000% sure it’s delivering much more. There’s problems with having a premium product too. Wasteage cause you can’t sell it and dealing with picky customers has its downsides. Having spent two summers in a cheese factory I would know.

You have to remember; very few people that aren’t asking all the same questions we are get elected to Co op boards. I remember one local fella was so anti organisation and everyone thought when he joined the bosses it would be a watershed moment. It opened his eyes now and he is now one of the Co ops strongest backers. He realised that there isn’t much more can be done and the difficulties

All that said, if farmers weren’t as fussy as they are about progress; the dairy industry would be in a much worse place. They’re kept on their toes but in fairness I’d say most are doing the best they can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

that’s your system …your at a level and your happy ….non point looking down on guts z grazing or diet feeding …there making best use of what they have grass and tonne meal grand till a drought or shite weather when grass won’t grow …won’t be much change to what I do next year as that’s my system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Fully agree

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I see you're one on tory hill farm has just put up the price of milk to 3.50 a litre.just like that.and was nt apologising either for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭visatorro

How are the vending machine selling fresh milk getting on? Alot of them started up around covid and done well. I remember seeing one of the first ones in the country and people were coming for miles and queueing out to the road ( 2 metres apart ). Fairly sure they opened a cafe since which is probably the bigger earner.

Another place just has the vending machine. Doesn't seem to be that busy. As someone said you wouldn't be going down for a drop for the cornflakes!

This one opened near us a few weeks ago and seems to be doing well: https://mahonvalleymilk.com

It’s a mobile unit and they move it to a 2nd location one day a week. Nice young couple own it. They’re mostly spring calving with enough for 2 rows calving in autumn the boss man told me.

€1.70 a litre for milk and €2.50 for a flavoured litre.

Lot of work in that. Price doesn't seem to dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,282 ✭✭✭straight

Contracts signed to build world’s biggest integrated dairy project - Agriland.ie https://share.google/T4Hk6ZmKHo523zN3R

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Another market about to go.

With a tangler from Mullingar playing a supporting role in getting the whole thing up and running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

From what I've seen, if you break it all down you'd be working away for labourers rates. Most of us have enough to do already, and that's not counting the hassle.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

If people want raw milk, they should own a cow, it's the best of food going, but the consequences are too high if something goes wrong. It mightn't be the milk or even the farmers fault at all but all the judge and Dept will say is "unpasteurised milk?" and proceed to throw the book at them.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

Remember when the greens were trying to encourage the farmers markets I was talking to someone milking goats supplying glenisk ( shower of bastards apparently). I said about farmers markets with cheese or ice cream etc. Said it was a waste of time. Getting into the supermarkets was very tough and even if you did 1. It probably wouldn't sell well enough and 2. It was very hard to get payment of the supermarkets even if you did sell. See the like of farmer phil with farm shop and meat boxes, I hope they are making a few pound at it but id imagine its far from straightforward.

The alternatives aren't great at times either !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I remember at the Iverk Show there was a stand selling the milk vending machines. The entry level machine was around 50k at the time. Add in a shed, electricity, water, detergents and all the equipment for pasteurisation you wouldn't have much change out of a 100k. A few quick figured and it worked out that your wasting your time unless you have footfall. There is a woman with one up in the Inisowen peninsula that is doing well.