If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

1110911101111111211131115»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭green daries

AAside From the farm inputs the cost of everything you look at is gone completely wrong the last two years like yourself I don't know how people are managing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

On higher value markets, our new coop in Kerry had a bit of a PR show on the road last week, giving feedback on their first year in business to us farmers, their new owners.

It was very clear that the retail food production side of the business, while only a fraction of the overall, gave multiples higher returns and profits, and they were very up beat and enthusiastic about these products and their prospects.

Sadly, for me, that's where the good news sorry ends. I would have been aware of the brands produced and supplied previously through previous PR leaflets and business reports, and they gave us a small goody-bag with samples to take home. It was the first time most of this array of snacks had been inside the door, with the exception of one packet of cheese strings whose packaging a 3yo had taken a shine to a few years back.

Unfortunately, as then, bar one block of Charleville cheese, none of them succeded in being eaten by us or the lads. It was very poor quality ultra processed tat (covered in plastic packaging). They were speaking of innovation and staying ahead of the pack but to me, it looks like they're still in a 20th century mindset of shite-food.

I'd one lad lamenting to know if this is what they were doing to our fine milk!

I'd wonder about a society where people think that this is good food or aspire for such to become an increasingly mainstream part of the human diet.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,703 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I read 'Ultra-Processed People' recently and Kerry Group were mentioned in the same category as Nestle, Coca-Cola, PepsiCo, etc. as producers and marketers of "food" created using refined, deodorised, bleached (RDB) raw materials. My understanding is this stuff is a lump of play-doh that's used to bulk up whatever food products you're selling.

In doing this, they're competing with processors of palm oil and coconut oil which can also be turned into a similar RDB raw material. The great thing about this from the food companies point-of-view is that it doesn't matter where the play-doh comes from as they have the technique for turning it into their food products. So, they can buy it from any place in the world, depending on where's cheapest in any particular year.

I know the milk processors have to do something with the commodity we give them, and the high-value markets are limited in size, but I'm not sure competing with the lowest of the low is showing much ambition for our "world class milk production".

Ultra-Processed People: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ultra-Processed_People

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,310 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Remember years ago glanbia were on about new markets in Africa or something, they were giving out about us on boards talking about it. Surely between all the brains all the co ops have they could come up with something new to do with the product

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

mehole giving money to save the rainforests in Brazil after the Brazilians cut down said rainforests to build a massive motorway to get to attend Cop 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I suggested at the last committe meeting, to cut the strings with glanbia and start making their own nutrional whey protein supplements like salibra that the plc make a fortune from, couldnt be done apparently, to complicated etc...

Simply lies, the plc still control tirlain, re contracts on whey supply etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

the plc did select the people to transfer to the coop business, carefully selected no doubt

ive asked the same question, they dont want to compete with plc even though we have a cost advantage, management want us to divest our interest in the plc instead…..hmmmm

any senior/middle management positions in tirlan should not be allowed hold shares in a customer of our coop, should be written into our coop rules

there is 2.6c/l retained in profit every year, coop full ownership, is that in a piggy bank or what is it spent on?

I pointed the above out at that meeting, sean molly is a Glanbia plc man, along with all the other staff, they really should of apointed a outsider for the new head of Tirlain, to break ties with the co-op, the retained profits are for wierd and wonderful new ventures they cant seem to think up at the present time...

Going all-in on iso 90 whey like Carbury successfully are is a no-brainer, theyre basically making the above anyway, bar the final stage that the plc do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

The flip side of that is the price we are getting.

Two empty, 300kg crossbred heifers made €850 yesterday. Thats ridiculous money

It will add 5-6 cent a litre to most farms next year where a good shot of beef calves is been sold, the issue is, this applies to most dairying areas in Europe/america where beef calves at 1200 dollars are now keeping operations their out of trouble, cows arent going to be culled as quickly and the corresponding milk supply drop as was the norm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

he needs to be to some extent considering we are such a large shareholder still, he is decent in the strategy field but did make a balls of one sided fixed milk contracts, i would think its a conflict of interest for any manager in any coop to hold shares in a customer……it was fine when we owned 51%, i do think the lines get blurred between maximising supplier return and maximising shareholder return, our boards have been poor policing this….were suppose to be a coop not an investment firm….when you retire you should cash out…..50% of coop not active members is ridiculous

im like you ive very little plc shares so happy to go into competition with plc due to our cost advantage and to maximise milk price returns, the older generation are more worried bout share value than milk price, tirlan are happy to take on ornua who they own but wouldnt take on the plc…..i find that a funny one….whats the difference…..personal shareholdings???

have they been sitting on the retained profit and yet they sold shares to cover loan???

with aging population and lower birth rates, grass feed whey commands a premium….grass fed butter commands premium….what precisely do we sell at commodity prices is it just skim and wmp?

Leprino was taking in curd for portlaoise which needed circa 350 million litres, the a-ware venture is another 450 million litres locked in, at basically commodity prices..

The whey from the above is then processed into differant grades, specified by glanbia plc who then make a killing at the final manufacturing stages, it wouldnt surprise me if the co-op have basically tied themselves up in a long term contract to the plc, theirs 3-5 cent been left behind by the co-op not adding the equipment to make iso 90 whey...

Their actually upgrading/adding more stainless steel in ballyragget shortly to take in more whey from other co-ops to process it for the plc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭enricoh

Read about a peat burning power station that closed with the ban on peat harvesting n is now burning wood pellets coming from south America. Hopefully it was fake news as Donald says, otherwise all u can do is laugh!

You should see the craic in edenderry offaly, where they are burning the brazilain woodchip, piled outside in the rain rotting away and steam rising up out of it, beggers belief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,310 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

TThe Imported briquettes are shite too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Isn't there a biomass plant built or being built in Mayo that will burn imported wood, shipped from South America to Killybegs and then lorried down to the plant? And it's "green"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,628 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

The.whey protein isolates thing was 15 years ago,it's just another commodity now,no real superior margin anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭enricoh

Our electricity prices are the second highest in Europe, I can see why!

Still a highly profitable product if you go into manufacturing it, that tirlain have the funds and expertise to do, but they dont as big brother wouldnt be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭alps