If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Warning in Post #8023**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,428 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I actually wouldn't mind national service. Not some kind of bullsh1t national service where connected people either get exceptions or tend to go in as people giving orders. Genuine training to teach skills in case they're needed to defend the country.

And I'm not turned on by the idea of young people being shouted at for 2 years and 'whipped into shape' as the Tory pary suggested before the last UK election. That was an appeal to older people who like the idea of young people being shouted at.

If it was genuinely useful to the recruits, the country and they were paid well, then I'd be in favour of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,576 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Put a Modern team out with old gear , and on an old pitch and play by old rules . That's the only way to compare .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,694 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

So instead of a boot up the hole and a bollocking it's shoot them? surely not.

So what are these guns actually going to be used for? There is no point carrying a weapon you can't use.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

I had forgotten about Tazers . If not guns then tazers , but they should be armed . They can use them when the need arises

Stolen Bus Rampage That was meant to be a link but Google it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭JM2300

Do you realise that it's possible to reduce waste by being more efficient?

For example, it's possible to build a hospital for 500 million when planned and managed properly, rather then making a balls of it and spending 2 billion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

We are planning to give over 800 million in foreign aid in 2026.

Billions to accommodate and feed lads fleeing war torn London and god knows how much to the likes of Puskas and Romas all over the country each year.

If that lunch provides a handful of kids in the country the only warm meal they get a day then it's worth it.

We can look to reduce waste in ways that doesn't impact Irish children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,790 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I bump into a lot more retired army guys in IT, they are so disciplined and organised they are set for great management careers after their service, and when I say retired we're talking lads in their 40s

Of course I realise some things could be done more efficiently. But here we are. So when someone says they want to to to spend more money on something like defence, and they reply they want to be more efficient with the money they arllrrady pay, they're saying they aren't willing to pay anything.

I get that it's a lovely neat answer but it's just not a serious answer. So the answer is they don't actually want to put their money where their mouth is and they just want to complain without taking any action.

It's a valid answer, money for defense can be raised by reducing inefficient spending elsewhere. The overall expenditure doesn't have to increase.

The money would be better spent focused on the tiny minority if children who aren't being fed enough food and living in genuine poverty. A school meal won't do much for them if living in poverty. I would rather the 288m is entirely spent on such children than being wasted on kids who don't need it, which is probably over 99% of children in the country. Also, a huge proportion is dumped in the bin each day.

OK, hypothetically. And back in the real world, they could reduce this waste at any time, but they don't. So if you actually want to increase spending on defence, it will take additional money.

Or maybe they could cut funding to YOUR local hospitals, schools and road maintenance? I always find that people think the funding for THEIR local services are totally necessary, but the cuts should come form other people's areas. And on and on it goes.

Improving efficiency is realistic, it's not suff of fantasy, it can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

How do you know it's a minority of kids who need it and where are you getting your figures to say probably 99% of kids don't need a hot lunch.

We have a cost of living crisis and a lot of people live month to month, I am guessing more than 1% of parents welcome the reduction in cost of paying for lunches 5 times a week, 10 meals with two kids and so on.

How do you identify which children are not fed enough, ask every child if they are fed at home , ask the parents how things are financially?

Who makes a decision on which child deserves a hot meal and who doesn't?

If meals are being binned, maybe the schools could help gather them to work with homeless centers to let them collect leftovers to feed starving adults.

If one child in the country is not starving going to sleep because parents can't or won't provide them food then it is worth it.

We can throw billions are the rest of the world, 288 million is a bargain for Irish kids.

Right. Well, if you volunteer to cut the services in your area, then you could make a start straight away.

I'm sure your local school could have the children budge up and bigger classes could reduce teachers. Patients in your local hospital could cool their heels on trollies in corridors for a few hours longer and they could save sone money on medical staff and close down some wards. You wouldn't mind your family travelling further for cancer treatment, right? And if you don't mind a few more potholes here and there, your local area could save on road maintenance.

That's a decent start right there.

You don't have to cut services. You can provide the same services and spend less doing so. That's what improving efficiency is about.

You used the funding to set up a program and task force to identify children living in poverty or living with parents who are incapable or unwilling to property look after their children. You find good homes for the children and support the parents rehabilitation while doing so. 288 million per annum could fund such a program.

Is there not social care workers and Tulsa who already do this?

What would this new program do that is not already being done?

Whwn it comes to having children, the cost of housing is the biggest inflationary element.

As a teenager during the boom, I watched house price increases being celebrated as houses were pushed further and further out of my reach.

Now I have recently bought a house and had one child at 40. The reason I don't have 2 children is because I think I can live frugally and save enough to help one child through uni or getting on their feet on a career, and save enough to give them a step up on the housing ladder. I don't think I can do that for 2 children, so I haven't had 2 children.

Anyone who worries about the falling birth rate, the cost of housing is your biggest problem. If we sort it out for the next generation, then there might be a chance of increasing birth rates.

It's obviously not working if there are children being malnourished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,694 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Great idea throwing out mad suggestions when you've no idea what is actually happening.

They have tazers and are getting more. Not sure if every garda will eventually have one but a lot will.

The solution to "stolen bus rampage" (a near weekly occurrence at this stage 🙄) is to call in a specialist armed unit. I know.. we could call it the Armed Response Unit!

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

So these services already exist, are not working and you want to throw more money at it.

That does sound like something our government would do.

I would rather spend the money ensuring kids, Irish or immigrants are getting at least one warm meal a day.

Far better than giving it away to the rest of the world.

I never said anything about throwing money at Tusla. I wouldn't give money to Tusla. A new programme could be set up specifically focused at identying children living in poverty.

The school meals program is the perfect example of throwing money at a problem.

Most of that annual 288m is wasted. That is money that could be focused disabled children, or many others who would get the full benefit of it, rather than 99% of it being wasted. The government is spending 288m to get 3m worth of real benefit to make an approximation. They should be getting 288m worth of benefit from 288m expenditure.

The money could also be spent on improving school infrastructure rather than wasting it on food that either isn't needed or is thrown in the bin.

A food voucher program could be set up as well. Whereby those who qualify are given vouchers for nutrious food.

These are just some ideas, there are countless ways to get better value from €288m per annum.

Can you provide your sources for your figures for me to review in more detail?

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/question/2025-06-10/913/

Most of that annual 288m is wasted. That is money that could be focused disabled children, or many others who would get the full benefit of it, rather than 99% of it being wasted. The government is spending 288m to get 3m worth of real benefit to make an approximation. They should be getting 288m worth of benefit from 288m expenditure.

I am asking for your links to the figures and percentages from the above, I don't see them in the link.

The link I provided says that the 2025 budget for the school meals programme is €300m.

Regarding the 99%, I don't know what the exact figure is. It's very low though. We live in one of the wealthiest economies in the world with a generous social welfare programme. Very few children are malnourished through lack of resources, you can buy a 1kg bag of potatoes in Aldi for 1.39. It's not that expensive to children in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭csirl

Sad to say, but all of the above have already happened in my area over the past 2-3 years. Paying a shed load of taxes for ever decreasing services is very disheartening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Ah ye, give the kids a bag of spuds for their lunch everyday, you've solved the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭csirl

Regardless of whether meals are free or not, all schools should have a canteen where hot food and/sandwiches can be bought.