If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Fun With Flags! DCC Edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Most immigrants behave though.

How come the people in rough areas who hang flags don't seem to do anything about the real issues in their communities like heroin dealing and totally feral kids running wild stealing motorbikes etc? That's what is actually ruining their communities, not the odd asylum seekers going nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

The odd asylum seeker going nuts usually means mass stabbings. Most people don’t want scrots on mopeds flying up and down their streets either but if they go to the guards the kids gets a slap on the wrist and is back doing the same thing again and that’s even if the Gardai bother showing up. It’s pretty clear the areas getting these centres and they certainly are not an improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

Immigrants and asylum seekers are not the same thing. Let's just be clear on that for a second, becuase all the "hashtag says no" crowd fail to make that distinction. You've done it again here with this post.

And no, we should not be accepting only 'those who benefit the nation as a whole', whatever the fcuk that means. How are you even going to measure that? If you used that as a metric for anything, then nobody would be let in and half the existing population would be turfed out. The entire point of asylum is to benefit the person seeking it.

It is reasonable to expect them to respect the laws and customs of the land, of course it is. However, I would expect the same from all the scumbags walking around town robbing motorbikes and battering citizens. The exact same should apply to both. Expecting it from one tranche of civilisation while giving the rest of them a free pass, based solely on the colour of their skin (racism) or their nationality (xenophobia), is not cool. You either expect it from everyone or you don't. Singling individuals out because they're not from the parish is bare-naked discrimination.

Are you the father of thousands of scrotes running around the place robbing people and smashing the place up? Didn't think so. Your analagy is stupid because you're not related to the local scumbags that you're allowing to get away with stuff because they're locals. For the record, I wouldn't be more annoyed at either of them.

Here's a more apt analogy………

If someone glassed your wife in nightclub, would you be a) more upset or b) less upset if that person had paid the entrance fee to get in or if they had gotten in for free? You wouldn't give a flying fcuk, you'd be too traumatised to be worrying about their financial background. The bigger issue is your wife, you need to focus on her, not on who paid a tenner at the door.

ETA: and most of them do behave, like the vast, vast, vast majority of them. Using the actions of one to cast aspersions on whole countries is also the dictionary definition of racism.

Of course, we here in Ireland always behave when we're a guest in other countries.

The odd asylum seeker going nuts usually means mass stabbings.

No, it doesn't. Linking a couple of incidents to "all asylum seekers are one bad day away from stabbing multiple people" is a scumbag move. You are playing on peoples' emotions and appealing to empathy as a way of shoehorning your racist bullsh1t in any way you can. What happened to the little girl in Parnell Sq. was catastrophic and heartbreaking. This is not the norm, for anybody, anywhere.

Most people don’t want scrots on mopeds flying up and down their streets either but if they go to the guards the kids gets a slap on the wrist and is back doing the same thing again and that’s even if the Gardai bother showing up.

So it's okay to give them carte blanche to do whatever they want and lambast all the brown kids who do the same then, is it? WTF are you talking about?

It’s pretty clear the areas getting these centres and they certainly are not an improvement.

This sentence doesn't make any sense. Again, in English, please.

Becauuuuuse……………….the people hanging the flags are the same people on the scramblers and the same people who are selling crack to the kids and the same people who are terrorising the elderly and the same people who have the place looking like a dump for the last 50 years.

One and the same. They wouldn't be allowed do it otherwise. Do you think Johnny Drugdealer is gonna stand there doing nothing while some sham he doesn't know scales a pole to tape a few Ireland flags on it? Your man's ladder would be gone quicker than you can say IPAS.

I live in North Strand, I know the score! There's an IPAS centre just a quick walk down Stoney Road from me. As you well know it isn't them causing literally all the problems around here.

And it hasn't been. For years. Place was a dump for decades before any immigrants or asylum seekers showed up. Much easier to put the blame on, and march against, a load of innocent foreign lads who wouldn't say boo to a ghost than it is to point the finger at the Bollards, the Osbornes and all the other families that have ruined the place over the years. Wouldn't wanna get stabbed, like. Or paralysed from the neck down like the Italian lad.

The Donnycarney Bollards? Were they townies originally? Collie lol.

Don't forget local youths murdered a woman and murdered a Brazilian guy with a stolen car in the ifsc in recent times too. Not a peep out of the scumbags.

There's a whole branch of them who are/were based in East Wall for years around the turn of the century. There was a square of the city between the Point Depot, Custom House, East Wall and the Port that were literal no go areas for ages. Even the hardchaws from Summerhill wouldn't go near the place.

Now they call it the IFSC/Docklands and most people can't afford to live there.

Yeah to be fair it used to be a lot worse around here I find it a nice place to live now foreigners and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I’m quite aware that inmigrants and asylum seekers aren’t the same thing, thanks. Oh believe me, I’d have no issue shipping our own useless, troublesome scrotes off to a remote island somewhere , but that’s not exactly feasible - we’re stuck with them unfortunately.

So let’s talk about what is feasible: any immigrant or asylum seeker who commits a serious crime here either gets their visa revoked or claim for asylum turned down, and subsequently deported. If they’re given a prison sentence, they are deported on release.

No one should be given citizenship here unless they have a clean criminal record, a solid history of working and paying taxes where they have supported themselves, and demonstrate fully profiency in English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,354 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

What about signing their first born into clerical servitude?
    Surely a country that has it’s first language as Irish cannot demand that all citizens speak the second language, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

If you can’t even debate in good faith, I’ll not respond to you.

That says more about the curriculum and teaching than anything. If you intend to live somewhere permanently you have to be able to communicate with the people there and work to pay your own way. The parallel societies hasn’t worked in Europe and now they are trying to break them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,354 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Study after study proves that the vast majority of IPAs, if allowed to stay, work and pay their way.

The racists don’t believe in paying their own way, most of them have been scrounging off the state for generations. Why do they get to preach to anyone on how they should behave?

How much did they cost the state to be processed? Even a low percentage dependant on the state won’t be paid for by minimum wage taxpayers. If you want honest numbers on these things the Danish are one of the only countries to actually look into detail like this and publish the figures, it’s not positive reading.

https://uim.dk/media/pvpb2tlz/international-migration-denmark-2024.pdf

@potatoeman Have you ever met and talked with an IPA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,755 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The tricolour should not be touched.

That other flag should be taken down at every opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Marcos

That should be the very minimum instead of the current situation of turbonaturalisation*, fast tracking of IPAS to citizenship.

*That term was used by the German government who have now brought in laws to stop this practice

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭scottser

A tricolour should be on a flagpole and treated with the proper decorum and respect it deserves. Lashing a temu nylon flag with a couple of cable ties to a lamp post is not showing our flag the proper respect. Other flags are unimportant, our national flag takes priority over all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Marcos

I agree about being able to communicate in English and paying your way. Instead we have integration being defined as an applicant being able to engage with state services without having to give up their own identity. So in other words, being able to say give me benefits.

Nothing about being able to speak English, learning the basics of Irish history and how our society works. Nothing about having to work and contribute to society in order to enjoy it's benefits.

I include respecting Irish society and it's symbols such as the tricolour in this.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

a temu nylon flag

I don't get this, at all.

The RTE exposé on this a few days ago prominently featured a seller of high-quality flags, saying 'these flags aren't our flags', like it makes any difference...

and they went back to her a few times on it, 'if you want to buy a quality flag, buy from us', I'm sure all the bunting and flags sold for county finals are all hand stitched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Good ol Germans, they've a word for everything

It wouldn’t change my mind given the cost to the taxpayer. Resources are not limitless and this has all come to a clear tipping point.

So you’ve talked to your fellow racists and are going to start looking for paid employment? Finally. Good man!

We can’t get rid of our own freeloaders, then why import more?

But you keep missing the bit that the vast majority of IPAs, once accepted, work (in jobs most Irish people don’t want) and pay taxes.

I see one of those charged from last night’s thuggery was Polish no less. What an Irish patriot! That’s why it’s easier just to call you all racists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,035 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Saw this chap at city west with his sign.

Of course he was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭Cordell

Aren't you a bit racist too? So what if he is Polish? Does that mean that he's not allowed to have a voice? One doesn't have to be Irish to be an Irish patriot - i.e. be someone who truly want what's best for this country.

They can’t pay enough to cover what the cost the state already. Many are going to try and bring family over too, that won’t integrate and be dependent on more social services. It’s completely unsustainable. There is a large portion of ‘I’m all right Jack” types happy to dump these chancers in other neighbourhoods than their own, we saw one at least one refugee accommodation rejected in a leafy suburb, the connected are blocking it in their area while dumping the problem elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,180 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I guarantee that there have been more attacks by scrotes and drug dealers than there have been by immigrants.