If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Fun With Flags! DCC Edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

If that dies down is it just a flag again or does it matter when it was painted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

It's not when, it's why it was painted and it's not them being patriotic.

I'm all for a good mural (the one on the back page being a personal favourite) but is it just a coincidence that this appeared with all the flags on lampposts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,814 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Best option is too ignore it and remove the flags when they become filthy, 2 things to note, there's nothing wrong with hanging the flag and it is absolutely being hung to intimidate

Ignore them and they'll get bored

Also the government need to cop onto themselves and start getting tough on crime and do immigration properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,353 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

IMG_8063.jpeg

Tune in tomorrow for whatever next …..😝

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

but flags are racist?

Nobody is making that argument. You're countering words which nobody is saying.

Flags aren't racist.

Erecting a flag is, in and of itself, not racist.

Erecting a flag, with the express intent of saying "This is my land, I don't want Johnny Forriner comin' over here and takin' our jobs dole money and our wimminz free gaffs beside me ma" is very racist, though.

Saying you want these gaffs kept for Irish people and not for 'interlopers' or whatever the current buzzword is, is 100% racist.

Marking your territory like dogs to keep the other packs at bay and to frighten the rest into submission is also straight out of the racism and xenophobia handbook.

You don't get to say who lives beside you. Nobody does.

It's a form of intimidation and bullying. It is nothing but a cursory nod to real Irish people who fought and died for the flag, using them as a smokescreen to usher in their barely-concealed bigotry, jealousy and bitterness. And their racism, of course. Sh1tepipes with more baby mamma's than jobs on their CV, who can't speak a lick of the language, claiming to be patriots, as they look for another excuse to sit around drinking cans and selling crack to the locals instead of getting up off their holes and getting a feckin' job. I'd wager half of them can't even spell job.

This is a deliberately orchestrated campaign to intimidate and browbeat everyone into submission. Who's buying these flags? Who's paying for all this crap? Why isn't that money being pumped into other, more constructive projects? Why aren't these knuckle-dragging crayon-munchers out patrolling the streets for bowsies or litter or drug-dealers instead of 'military-aged men'? Because they're the bowsies, the litterbugs and, quite often, involved in the drug dealing. The Coolock says no site was an excuse for sitting around getting wasted with the boys. They ended up going out on the lash with a load of UVF heads who hate their very being………..patriots? more like traitors. Judas himself would be ashamed to be associated with the lot of them.

”Sh1tepipes with more baby mamma's than jobs on their CV, who can't speak a lick of the language”

Who is this, the protesters or the migrants? It’s amazing how the classism comes to the surface in these discussions, when the new arrivals from some countries are nothing nut a drain on resources themselves.

I grew up in Summerhill in the 80s, through the largest heroin epidemic this country has ever seen. I know what they're like. Half of them can't even speak English properly, never mind Irish. Every single one of the local lads were out of the school system before age 15. Every one. The majority of them before the age of 12.

I've seen people leave decent jobs to go and have families because it's easier to get a house that way. I've seen people give up decent jobs because it means that their ma's gaff, that they're still registered at, has seen the rent go from £14 up to £70 a week. 80%+ of the people that I know form there that are still popping up on my socials have their name spelled incorrectly. Their own name. Not because they can't spell it, but because it stops the likes of DSP from finding their Insta page and showing them their wedding photos as they collect the mickey money.

I'm well aware what games they play and how hollow their rally calls are. They don't give a monkeys about you, about Ireland, hell half of them would step over their own ma for 20 major and a bottle of Linden village. That's not classist, that's reality. My lived reality. Don't tell me I'm making things up, I've been there….lived with them, worked with them, played ball with them and got robbed, mugged and battered by them. I was told to "stop speakin that foreign muck" once on the 123 when I was explaining the Irish names on roadsigns to a nephew.

90% are knackers with a few good eggs locked in a spiral of poverty and addiction.

Flags are being used by people with ill intentions to latch onto a cause because, well, who would be against the flag? Only a traitor, that's who. Us patriots, we stand shoulder to temple with Littler and his band of nordie sectarian monsters who wrap themselves in the flag and tell us how we need to copy the Brits in what has been the biggest case of international seppuku the world has ever seen.

Gimme a bleedin' break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I live in a flag area and it's local scumbags putting up the flags. That junkie that does the this is dublin or whatever videos is a big instigator of it in the inner city. Do you think teachers and gards and people who do litter tidy up meets etc are the ones putting the flags up? No it's bitter scumbags blaming foreigners for their own shortcomings. You know this too, you're just trying to pull the "omg you're classist!" card.

Given the problems we have with these areas then why would you be in favour of opening the country up to any chancer that turns up after dumping their passport from countries with. Storage beliefs? Even legal migration needs management of the numbers given the accommodation crisis.

I'm not. I've said no such thing, you're making sh1t up to justify your stance. You can't counter the actual argument being made so you're inventing straw-men arguments that you can, supposedly, counter. this is a whole separate argument to the one that was being made originally, which you've lost and have now moved on to the next thing that you think you can hang over people. This is intellectually dishonest. You're flailing.

The point was "how can flags be racist". The answer is, when they're hung by racists, with racist intentions, for racist purposes. You've abandoned any semblance of argument you had on this topic and have now devolved into "opening the country up to any chancer that turns up after dumping their passport" after having the nerve to chastise others for classism? Self-awareness not really your strong point, I take it?

Question: did you deliberately misspell your own name to keep the folks in the labour guessing?

Yet you don’t specifically know that is the case. You just assume it it. There were the same amount of flags about during the World Cup and Olympics, specifically for the boxing. It should not surprise anyone that given a housing crisis those reliant on social services are less welcoming to those that consume them.

Also, potatoe is an old alternate spelling of potato, it only appears in larger dictionaries. The whole Dan Quayle incident in 1992 was only incorrect as he corrected the spelling, rather it is an older alternative.

I don't know what is the case? That stuff being put up by racists, with racist intentions, for racist reasons……..is racist? WTF are you saying? Are you claiming that those putting them up aren't doing so for racist reasons? Why are they putting them up, then? What possible reason could they have for putting them up, other than to a) scare foreigners b) mark their territory as "Irish only, no interlopers" or c) show the council they don't want any more migrants, all of which are inherently racist?

I know why the Coolock crowd put them up. It wasn't for the fcuking boxing, I can tell you that. But there we go, there's a legitimate use of the flag where nobody claimed anybody was a racist because they didn't put them up for racist reasons. You're proving my point for me. The flag isn't racist, it's the nonsense behind the flag and why it's been flown that IS racist.

It should not surprise anyone that given a housing crisis those reliant on social services are less welcoming to those that consume them.

They're the ones who ARE consuming them, though? Those who are reliant on them are, by definition consuming them, WTF are you banging on about now?

Also, potatoe is an old alternate spelling of potato, it only appears in larger dictionaries. The whole Dan Quayle incident in 1992 was only incorrect as he corrected the spelling, rather it is an older alternative.

No, it's not. I've seen you make this argument before and you run away whenever anyone points out that you're completely wrong on this. It's not an alternate spelling at all. It's a defunct spelling that doesn't exist any more, the way people used to say nuncle. Doesn't make it right, though.

Edit: I assumed you were a good faith poster, making genuine arguments. Having seen some of the other sh1te you've posted around Boards, it looks like that's not the case. A couple of excerpts……

"sure let them all in here to rape, murder and live off the state they contributed nothing towards because the middle class mafia grifters profiting off the situation say so, from their safe exclusive suburbs."………………what was that about classism, lol?

"It’s a conflict half way across the world from me, I’ve as much sympathy for them (Palestinians) as innocent Germans killed by allied bombings in ww2."

There's a reason you're threadbanned from pretty much all of the immigration threads. I won't be wasting my breath on you any further. For the record, I've met at least 150 doctors, nurses, engineers and solicitors who are migrants from Afro-Eurasia and the middle east. At least. I've met none from Summerhill, Ballybough, North Strand, Darndale, Priorswood, Sheriffer, East Wall………

If more people come in and consume more resources then there are less resources for those already here. I’m not a fan of cradle to grave social dependency for Irish people, the fact that we have foreign nationals now are playing our soft system is even worse and completely unsustainable.

Those migrants you meet would have arrived here legally with skills like those, not dumped their documents on arrival or have been from an economically deprived area from their home country. You were always going to have a problem with migration given the number of people arriving and the lack of accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,353 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Shut up!

Maybe if we did a swap - one undocumented in for one of our racist idiots out. Ireland would be so much better in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭scottser

The vast majority of immigrants to this country work and pay taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Marcos

What's up with all the scottser posts being greyed out? Shadow banning or what?

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

That usually happens when you have them on 'ignore'.

"Scumbags have always been playing the system, but now that it's dem forriners playing the system, it's worse and completely unsustainable"

At least pretend to hide your naked racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

As Milton Friedman said 50 years ago 'You cannot simultaneously have free immigration and a welfare state.'

It is worse, as you are importing people into the country to play the system, it bad enough we have our own doing it already.

"I don't care when the locals do it, I just don't want them brown lads doing it. It's worse because they're not from here" is like, page 1 of how to be a racist. Like, straight down the middle, first ballot, hall of fame, card-carrying, grade A racism and xenophobia on full display.

At least you're up front about it about it, I s'pose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭Cordell

Can I, as an immigrant, say that I don't want foreign criminals or foreigners abusing the welfare systems? Black or brown or white? Will that be xenophobia or just plain feking common sense?

It will be xenophobic and racist if you say you "don't want foreign ones to do it, but are okay with the homegrown lads doing so", yes.

It's the double standards that make it racist, if you follow me………..

This is you saying it, 20 minutes ago.

You think it's worse that someone who is not from here is doing exactly what someone who IS from here is already getting up to, and has done, for years.

The exact same scenario, only difference (by your own admission) is one is foreign. You are prejudiced towards people from other countries. That's the dictionary definition of xenophobia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭Cordell

It's not a double standard to be double annoyed by foreigners who come here to do bad things.

😂😂😂😂

It most certainly is.

If you see two people are doing the exact same thing, and you are more annoyed by one than the other, that is a double standard. You are unfairly applying your annoyance to one person over the other, even though their behaviour is the same. If it's a case of the only difference being the colour of their skin or the flag on their passport, then that qualifies as racism/xenophobia.

We can sit here playing Captain conundrum here all day, if you like, bottom line is you are trying to redefine words to, presumably, excuse your own ignorance, bias, prejudice and racism/xenophobia. That doesn't wash with me, I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

If a country chooses to accept an immigrant / asylum seeker, it should be with the aim of benefiting the nation as a whole. If someone goes to the lengths these asylum seekers go to to get here, they should recognize the opportunity they are being given - access to safety, shelter, education, the ability to work in one of the world’s strongest economies, and a chance at a better life than the one they're supposedly fleeing from.

In return, it is reasonable to expect them to respect the laws, values, and standards of the country that has welcomed them. It should be made clear that they are here as guests under the expectation that they contribute positively to society, and the privileges granted to them can be revoked at any time if they fail to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

If your child breaks your TV you will be annoyed at your child but if your neighbours child breaks your TV you will be more annoyed and expect the neighbour to pay for a new TV. When you go to another country you should behave accordingly, you are a guest.