If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭liamtech

This goes to the heart of it for me. Its politics, this is what always happens at election time. Stories emerge, and are discussed and debated. Issues surrounding a candidacy can have an effect on the election campaign. Complaining about this, calling it a smear, with no evidence to support said claim; its not just silly, it tends to be counterproductive.

I saw the Gavin story RE 'Rent not being refunded', its popping up in a few places. And the reaction of some of his FF supporters is ludicrous. As if to say, this story is being used to wreck his chance in the election. To that i would simply respond… WHAT CHANCE? Gavin doesnt have a chance. Unless Jim Gavin is a Time Lord, who regenerates into a skilled politician and debater in the next 48 hours - he has no chance. And the only question that will come from his candidacy, is why he ended up a candidate in the first place.

Humphrey's seems to be sailing in relatively smooth water. Yes there remains an attempt to impune her 'orange' cultural association, and the lack of the Irish Language. But for me, it is not landing any serious punches. It actually reminds me of the Fox News tactics during Obama V McCain 2008. For those unfamiliar, for quite a while, Fox decided to use Obama's full name, in any discussion about the election. It was McCain versus Barack Hussein Obama. And everyone and their granny, understood why they were doing this. Eventually, realizing that it was going nowhere, they stopped.

I see Shane Ross decided to break cabinet confidentiality, and attack Humphreys on supposed expressed opinions behind closed doors. Namely that, in a Confidential Cabinet Meeting, she expressed missgivings on legislation RE Drink Driving. I really cant see this landing either. The debates have been had in public by other politicians, relating to the disproportionality of Alcohol/Driving laws, between Rural and Urban communities. I have no doubt HH probably did raise this point… in a Confidential Cabinet Meeting. This says more about Shane Ross than it does of HH.

Im not going to reprosecute the ongoing drama around Connolly, except to say she is the master of her own disaster on this front. I will debate anyone on these points, and have offered to do so many times. My view is clear, the left backed the wrong horse. I could make the same case for FF having chosen badly, but the problems are the entire opposite in this case.

Im still waiting on polls; Anyone have any idea on this front?

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,147 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I can't think of a worse selection of candidates in a Presidential election for a long time. I remember there was a Gardai called Nally (a retired Garda) running back in 1997. He was fairly dull and ran as independent. I checked what he got only 4.7% 1st preference eliminated 1st count. He would fit right into this race for it's dull, austere, uninspiring nature.

There was at least a vibrancy in the 1997 race as a whole. Aidi Roche was "the left" candidate was bubbly and positive, I remember her as. I checked what she polled only 7% first preference.

Roche was born in the wrong generation she would have coasted this 2025 race. At least she could talk with vibrancy and had some "go" in her.

Humpreys looks likely to win the fecking thing. She won't do so say much during the 7 years. I doubt there will be much controversy. Basically because she doesn't look to pushed, but also has the politician's shrewdness with that dash of insincerity. She knows what to say to avoid a fuss. Terrible speaking voice though. Seven years of that. Jayus. I hope she says as little as possible.

Edit correction - the retired Garda was named Nally not McNally. He was that memorable.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭MFPM

Two poor candidates and Catherine Connolly.

The election is HH to lose.

Gavin is the FF candidate, thus no vote here. His candidacy is one of opportunism and cynicism. He's vaccuuos and FF must already know they've made a blunder. I sincerely hope he finishes third and is decisively beaten.

HH, FG candidate so no vote here - she retired less than a year ago and yet here she is, she is clearly a reluctant candidate and only here because McGuinness pulled out. She'll probably win with core FG vote, disaffected FF and then transfers from JG.

CC, she's a decent woman who's politics I'd broadly echo, MDH played an important role particularly in his second term on world affairs, CC can continue that role - electing one of the other two gov stooges is an utterly pointless exercise in my view.

Likely outcome is 1. HH 2. CC 3. JG with HH the likely victor - time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,650 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Not this again

She was certainly not rehabilitated in 2018 when she was employed by Connolly, because she had not finished her sentence and was out on licence.

What happened in the years since is not relevant to the bad error of judgement Connolly made in 2018 employing her for a job requiring security clearance which, at least at that time, there was no chance of her receiving

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,852 ✭✭✭blackwhite

The allegation in the Indo is:

Tenant asked for rent overpaid in banking error to be paid back but money was ‘never returned’

I had a look a past Presidential elections to see what the turnout was - decided to start at 1990.

1990 - 64.1% (The second highest in history)

1997 - 47%

2011 - 56%

2018 - 43.9%

If I was to guess at 2025 would it be as low as the 30% ish mark? Which would be the lowest record in history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,650 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Polls are a representative sample of the electorate. Not comparable with betting odds at all.

I know. But the way the polls went in American elections they are not worth the paper they are written on at all. Maybe the Irish electorate are more honest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,113 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Post edited by expectationlost on

A low turnout probably benefits CC above the others. Speculation, but i expect her base/supporters are more engaged then the rest of the electorate. That said, we wont know until the campaigning heats up. And we get Polls! (really hoping for one today, but no sign yet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,549 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

calling it a smear, with no evidence to support said claim;

Connolly seems to be getting at that now, but will likely not get any traction as the powers that be and the media won't want to shine a light to bright on it.
    But where did this story come from? And why now?

Edit: I do think Connolly has to address the new info on this by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Catherine Connolly held Leas-Cheann Comhairle with distinction and without controversy for everyone in the Dáil regardless of political affiliation which I think is the most relevant preparation for a President for all the people.

She also comes across as the best speaker and most intelligent of the trio which bodes well, like she did as Leas-Cheann Comhairle I don't doubt what she says and does would be different as President representing everyone instead of just her voters as an Independent TD.

Heather Humphreys seems like a spent force, we should believe her when she said last year she didn't have the health or energy to continue in politics and considering she didn't contest Mairead McGuinness she clearly didn't have the energy there either. I don't believe the Áras should be treated as a retirement home.

Jim Gavin seems like a nice man but he isn't a serious candidate and can barely string together a couple of sentences without him seeming out of place. I don't like celebrity candidates in general and think electing him would send the wrong message, also he has very little relevance to anyone outside of Dublin for any reason so it'd be poor representation for anyone outside the capital.

It's an easy decision.

I just think its counter-productive to attack the source of a story, or question why a story is being covered in the first place.

Things are covered because they are stories. Where do they come from? Its the job of a journalist to source, and cover stories of interest to the public. The later is always in overdrive during elections. Initially i thought the Journal were making mountains out of Ant-hills. Clearly that is not the case.

For me, the above, covers the Why, and the Where.

Imagine if Brian Lenihan Snr, 1990, attacked Garret FitzGerald and journalists, for bringing up the story of his phone call to President Hillery? Would anyone have felt that was credible? Not that Lenihan painted himself in glory with how he handled it at all, btw. But im just giving it as an example.

Just address the story. Conclusively addressing it, with evidence to back up your stance; That is how candidates need to deal with stories and controversy surrounding their campaigns. Honestly it is as simple as that in my opinion.

The only person that can really address it is Ursula Ní Shionnáin.

The Indo has her contacts details https://www.independent.ie/news/how-can-you-have-a-gaeltacht-if-gaeltacht-people-are-not-allowed-to-live-there-irish-speakers-on-the-areas-housing-crisis/a2110991126.html

They have contacted her https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/irish-independent/20251003/281522232274883?srsltid=AfmBOoq864oHqPl6YSxRfEBaLPV-sSPbQggunBCHRrskuvpXDiqxwQZB

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,176 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Just on the retirement home jibe.

Connolly is 68 and eligible for the pension.

Humphreys is 62.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Some of her supporters including some on here have disputed the Irish Times story. Thats a criticism.

So what did the French ever do to earn Connolly's distrust?

Apart from letting us down in 1798…

Then of course her absolutely vile comments about Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

You were worried about budget, it will be an order of magnitude more expensive to support Gaza with aid than it is Ukraine.

I expect you'll adjust your posts on Gaza accordingly in the future, retract or be comfortable as a confirmed hypocrite on the issue, up to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

In September on Newstalk Breakfast CC was asked "do you believe there are more than 2 genders?" She answered "Yes absolutely and I believe people have a right to self-identify"

Well at least we know where she stands on the gender-identity issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,876 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I don't think a single person would be surprised that Catherine Connolly agrees with the right to self identify when it comes to gender identity...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,549 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Only a political ingenue would believe that there are not people out there trawling every minute of the candidates lives.

That's how it's been and each will have their stories to deal with.

For me the crux of this story is,

1. did CC have a sinister motive in allowing this person access?

2. was she giving a person a second chance?

I cannot for the life of me see anything in CC's career that would explain a sinister motive. There is zero.

So I conclude she was doing the second and may or may not have been duped.

However where this story came from is a tad sinister IMO.

And if the Journal cannot confirm it's 'source' then I think we can deduce it most likely came from within the Gardai.

That should worry everyone imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,631 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Why would you expect any different response from someone on the radical left? Like asking her does she think contraception should be legal IMO?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,819 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Sorry Francie, when it comes to gun running seditionists and the Oireachtas, in the post GFA world, second chances simply do not arise.

Especially as Ní Shionnáin had ONLY JUST been released from prison following her conviction for offences against the State, and WAS STILL a member of said seditious organisation.

Its an existential matter for Connolly's campaign at this point. And the Week in Politics TV debate tomorrow lunchtime will be very instructive as to how bad.

1000043126.jpg

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/catherine-connolly-insists-gun-convict-was-not-eirigi-member-when-she-was-hired/a1413261288.html

The headline says Catherine Connolly insists gun convict was not Éirígí member when she was hired, but there is no actual quote of her saying that she understood she was no longer a member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Again with blaming the storyteller rather than CC.

She isn't a victim in this imo, she's a big participant with satisfactory explanations as to how it happened needed. Blaming whoever released the story is typical I got caught but no one was ever supposed to find out syndrome . Whistle-blowers are a necessary part of a lot of controversial cases. If she was so good as to take on Ni Shionan, then Shionan, if she has any respect for Connolly should at least dispel any rumors regarding her so good former boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

I think someone suggested that the woman in photo captioned "Former Jobstown accused Scott Masterson" may be Ní Shionnáin.

https://eirigi.org/latestnews/2019/1/23/irg-ard-fheis-2019-report-and-cat-photo-gallery

I don't know myself but if so, it looks like she was on a panel of some kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Well maybe if you're talking about those who follow politics closely but in the general public I'd be surprised if many are aware of her beliefs in this regard.

She actually attributed her beliefs in this regard to her work as a psychologist having trained in England.

I dont have to suspect a 'sinister motive' as a serious considertion in this story.

But it is a story, that needs to be examined.

• What was her political reasoning for chosing someone with an extremist background
    • Did she believe that the lady had reformed fully
    • Did she have evidence to support this possibility
    • Was she aware of the FULL extent, of the ladies extremist background
    • Did she view the video of, a mock execution of a foreign head of state, and did it alter her thinking on the matter
    • Does she believe that the lady taking part in such a stunt, should be relevent to her appointment to Leinster House
    • Did she believe that the selection would not be contentious, or at least, shouldnt be
    • Did she sincerely believe that, if appointed, the lady would pass a Garda background check
    • Does she see now, that it reflected poor judgement on her part
    • If it was merely a question of giving someone a 'second chance', would appointing the lady to an OFF SITE position, not have demonstrated better judgement
    • Could the lady have been employed in a contituency office, requiring less background checking by the Gardai
    • Given all of the above points, does she now regret her decisions surrounding this affair
    • Given a similar situation for another person, or persons; would she make the same choices regarding the selection of person(s) to work in Leinster house

To outline even a few points of contention -