If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Milk Price III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭ginger22

The world is awash with cheap grain = increased milk supply = cheap milk. EU support price is 20ish cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭green daries

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,719 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I'm hedging my bets between milk and beef, with milk as the main income for 2026. I'm guessing there's plenty dairy farmers doing the same, even thou you'd rarely see such farmers in the IFJ or in Teagasc press releases.

I'll have an extra 25 acres to work with next year, so as well as buying an extra 10-15 cows, I'll also be buying extra calves in March/April. Don't ask me where I'll get the money for any of them! In fairness, the local Credit Union manager seems a nice guy 😀

Whatever milk or beef price is, all I can do is try to build capital in the place.

As you say, low prices cure low prices and high prices cure high prices. If milk price drops, the price of dairy stock might cool a little. You can't win, but you shouldn't really lose either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,347 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What will be will be. I wonder what price people predicted at the start of the year. We survived 2008- just about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭fulldnod

Any good year is always followed by a bad year,I can't remember what year but it halved the year after a good 1,I hope the beef doesn't follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,810 ✭✭✭older by the day

Weather has a big partto play, if you can grow grass easy in good weather, then the handy cow would milk away grand on 2 to 3 kgs of nuts and you still make a profit.

It's when the bad weather and bad milk price come together, then it's a pain.

Anyway do any one really know these times, with world politics and climate uncertainty, you would be brave to guess, at next Mays milk price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,326 ✭✭✭alps

Not sure the cows are there though. US is up in production but it could be on the back of milking culls on longer as it's currently profitable. Yield and price will drop and if beef prices stay up, those cows will see the ramp sooner then later.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

At least we re coming into the dip from a strong position financially. If you re not in a good place these days it's not the price of milk is the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

that would depend on where everyone is at in stage of development… its 10yrs since quotas went.. alot of building has been done but anyone who say put in a parlour and built a shed 2 yrs ago and maybe have also built a dwelling house it might be a different story for them… again all depends on a persons age and where they are at in their farming career

Loan Repayments will be the same regardless of milk price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭straight

I'm spending 200k out of cashflow this year on sheds, slurry storage, heat detection. 😅 getting the grant. 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I’d be slow to pour a large sum of money out of cashflow into above looking at things as they stand now …..feck it I would be same way anytime a healthy string current account is a seriously strong tool …..I’d be more inclined to borrow good portion …down road overpayments can be made ….taking big chunk out of cashflow if we go through prolonged trough with milk price could leave a lad in tricky position …but I’d say your grand you e loads 😜😜

That's the good advice I usually get but I'm too lazy to bother with the bank. It got me this far anyway. The last big push to finish off the jigsaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,810 ✭✭✭older by the day

Erragh I would not be losing sleep over straights banks accounts 😴, he buys land like I would buy a bar of chocolate.

It ain't October's drop of milk he depends on.

Starting to dread these monthly texts.

"Milk Price: Lakeland Dairies September Milk Price is 43.75 cpl incl. VAT. Plus 0.5 cpl Sustainability Payment, total 44.25 cpl. Average payout 53.75 cpl."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 CowMeister

A 3 cent drop. At least cull cows are a good price.

the average payout all coops seem to quote now would rot you ..this is the price farmers get off there own bat over the base coops decide to give us ….you could also of expected a drop for September as that’s when ass started to fall out of markets ….how can they explain August 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭blackdog1

I Sell regularly for years to a guy who owns a feedlot, always treats me fairly i find. Last time i sold him cows out of the parlour for 2k each. Maybe i should have taken them to the mart but i didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

You're making a big mistake, you should be like Dairymann, he sells them to the same dealer for €400 each for the last 20 years, when things go downhill again, the dealer will still rock up to dairymann's yard with his truck, deal done, off they go.

No messing around like the rest of us, chasing the quick buck!

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Where is the outrage for lakeland cutting 3c? Wasn't there a protest for dairygold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Be more likely to see the ifa taking milk of the shelf in lidl than outside lakeland

not saying it’s right or a lad wouldn’t be pissed off with it but you could foresee a drop like that for September which was when butter and markets started to tank ….should of been more outrage at cuts in September for August milk

I guess lads are a bit conditioned and prepared for the drop now. The 3 cent vame at a time which appeared to some to be out of the blue when things were apparently going well and other Co-Ops were dropping by half the amount.

Or maybe the Dairygold lads are more militant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭ginger22

But are they prepared for what's coming down the tracks next year. Still spending like mad.

Lads will just pull the plug and leave dairy farming.

Nobody can tell you the milk price next year. The first thing to be parked is the diet feeder if things get that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭greenfield21

What exactly is coming? I presume you mean oversupply and lower prices. But honestly, nobody has a clue what’s ahead look at all the predictions that have been wrong over the years.

Even boards over the years has been wrong, I’m getting a bit of déjà vu back to the 2015/16 price collapse with what’s happening now. Even though oil was way lower and for far longer back then and also everyone thought the good times were over and we were in for a long downturn, and it never really materialised.

But as we were saying on here at the time, the real worry for the grass-based system isn’t a short-term fall in milk price, it’s if the ground shifts underneath us. If oil, and by extension all commodities, grains etc, stay lower for longer, then everything resets and milk finds a new lower mid-point.

That’s the ultimate concern, not a cyclical downturn and never minding the demand side. Who's to say we aren't at the start of that happening now 🤔.

Anyway this is too depressing and ill be accused of working for the processors talking down prices discussing this🙃

diet feeder last thing I’d be parking …lots of good silage ,maize ,straw and straights back in price ….if you’ve a cow that responds to feed there is little change …maby an argument to feed stronger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,770 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I think we're in a different world now than times past and there's a different generation of people that just won't take any hardship in dairy farming and will just get out if any pressure comes via soft government powers, disease pressures, regulation, labour problems, even weather.

There's 85,000 fewer dairy heifers and cows in august this year compared to august last year in the country. We saw the growth after quotas went but we never saw such as a reduction so fast in the last couple of years in this country as now.

(the heifer thing in the count is a bit stupid counting them over 2 years. But they are doing it seemingly for years whether/seemingly to hide cow numbers or what. So the two have to be added together anyway to get a figure that can be compared every year. )

There's a hatred of dairy in gov circles and even the journal puts the suckler figure ahead of the dairy to emphasise the suckler drop first. Maybe the tillage thing is to bring attention away from the drops in both suckler and dairy which is now on 233,000 lower animals than last year. Maybe we in the business don't want attention though as attention only serves the agribusiness that live on farmers. As can be seen with the tillage area up 6% in four years and more aid promised and 40,000 tons more cereals delivered into Tirlan this year over last year. And oats exported from ireland. The aid doesn't help the farmer only helps the industry that lives on the farmer. Farmers want lower produce nationally and higher price per litre, ton, etc.