If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Its Putin that is blocking negotiations. Also yesterday he announced yet another mobilisation, this time of 135,000. He is not interested in negotiations, but he is interested in ambiguity in order to drag the conflict out.

Trump made a speech to Congress in January saying Russia was ready for peace. Why does this delusion persist with some?

Putin refused to even meet Zelensky in Turkey. He did send a delegation of lower level officials, like Medinsky,the architect of his nationalist indoctrination in Russian schools. Medinsky has defended the Soviet crackdowns in Hungary in 1956 and Czechoslovakia in 1968.

Some on the Left in the West had a rose tinted attitude to the USSR. It's the same now, but more dangerous because the Far Right now actively support Russia, and are trying to export Putinism by election interference, including in the US, the Brexit referendum (alleged), the €10 million loan to Le Pens.

I think Ireland needs to make the change of mentality of neutrality that Sweden and Finland did. The police suited WW2, but doesn't suit 2025.

Even by the standards of neutral countries, Ireland is militarily too weak. Switzerland is heavily armed because other countries may not respect your neutrality without a deterrent.

Some on the Irish Left seem to prefer peace to anything else. What stance would they have taken in 1916 or the War of Independence?

In contrast in most EU countries, the Centre Left is now very supportive of rearmament. Peace without democracy, living under autocracy, is not a better option than democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭feelings

Represent the people of Galway… you know, what a mayor is supposed to do. 🙄

Have you talked to a survivor of the mother and baby homes? I doubt that, given your response.

If you’re going to criticise someone’s character or record, you need to do it with facts, not throwaway lines or lazy labels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Exactly what I said. Martin chickened out of nominating Ahern because he would be upstaged by him. Ahern would probably have won though. He would have been able to handle all the flak that would come with criticism of the past. Martin avoided him due to his own weakness and vulnerabilities not because of any ethical issues. We know all about Martin’s ethics and the fundamental lack of them after he chose Lowry to form a government with.

Post edited by TheCitizen on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Why not just let Kelly run then ?

I think she wants it but is useless in front of a camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭MFPM

I'm stating the facts of what she said and correcting the malevolent misquoting by the NATO bros here.

Post edited by MFPM on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

There's probably some bad blood left after the way that Martin got rid of Brian Cowen to become leader. Remember that there was a tentative leadership challenge in 2020 and it was only Covid that prevented the whole rubber chicken circuit of building support. Jim O'Callaghan would have been the replacement leader. He should have been MoJ in 2020 but instead it was given to McEntee. Barry Cowen is safely in Europe. Michael McGrath is also in Europe. Martin has been consistently weakening FF in order to strengthen his own position. Gavin may have been a step too far especially if he loses what should have been an easy election for FF.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,599 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Connolly never said anything about 'doing away with defence forces'. Stop making things up.

Explain to us why it the Trump is threatening 'more sanctions' if Putin does not comply?

Why is it that there are STILL sanctions that haven't been applied?

Why is it they were NOT applied in full the second he put boots in Crimea?

Why is it Putin and Russia were not completely ostracised and obstructed from doing business in the world the minute he put boots in Crimea?

Never mind the rest of the world, let's take some responsibility ourselves. We continued to do business with Putin and Russia right up until he went into Ukraine for the second time. Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: folks, several below standard posts have been deleted. Should posters continue posting below the standards required in the Politics forum, I will be issuing instant and non-negotiable three-day bans.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Good post - and the fact is, an extremist (e.g. Steen) will never win a General Election, because you cant be an extremist and get a majority of the vote, then you wouldnt be an extremist. Maybe if she had run in 1932 her religious views would be more mainstream, but against that a woman would never have been elected president in 1932. I'll let her weigh up that conundrum.

The candidates are who they are, the choice is between 1 of those 3. So as with many elections, hold your nose and go for the least worst option.

The Presidential election gets massive attention, much more than the actual presidency itself. By and large, the electorate will go with what it knows or is comfortable with. The only exception to this was the Mary Robinson election which you could argue as a protest vote, or as a new generation of voters asserting itself.

To an earlier point by The Citizen around the media being behind the curve, and not 'getting' the young vote, and how SinnFein are viewed by the media…..etc etc etc actually the Fine Gael candidate is currently the bookies favourite (marginally so, but favourite nonetheless).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

A lot of people won't like the answers to some of those questions. The incomptetent Merkel created a huge vulnerability for the EU in closing down the German nuclear power stations and making Germany dependent on Russian energy sources. Then there was the failure to invest in defence with NATO. Trump, though people despise him, said that the refusal of European NATO countries to pay their dues was a problem and he specificially warned about Putin being a threat to Europe.

On the eve of the invasion of Ukraine, Biden said it would be OK if there was a small incursion. That was rapidly walked back by the Whitehouse. Putin's generals were not providing him with reliable intelligence and Putin's decision to invade was one of the worst ever due to not having the necessary logistics in place to support an invasion. Rather than a blitzkreig that would have rapidly taken over Ukraine after eliminating the government, Russia got bogged down in a war that is draining resources and manpower. The other aspect of this is China and how it is exploiting the situation. Sanctions may not be effective if others break them. Both of Putin's invasions occurred under Democrat Party presidents (Obama and Biden). Had Putin's invasion of Ukraine been successful, China would probably have made a move on Taiwan. It is a complex geopolitical situation with no easy solutions.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

So she opened a few creches and cut a few ribbons as Mayor of Galway, well done to her.

There is no list of positive achievements by Connolly out there. She has been a typical backbench TD, apart from a short stint as Leas Ceann Comhairle, a post usually handed out to reward longevity.

She has done well in platforming herself in controversial foreign policy situations, a bit more than most backbenchers, but that only increases her unsuitability for the post of President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭deezell

Well Connolly decided to label all us benign soft centred citizens as 'neo liberals' on the debate another night, but she got such smug satisfaction from usjng the phrase that she was almost beatific fit sversl seconds after. It must be her ultimate goal, to declare her ideological superiority to thr great unwashed. A Trumpian moment, a put down to the masses. Way to go cc, you're not getting my floater. Wtf is a Neo liberal anyway? You man off the Matrix when he escaped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

….So pacifism entails telling the victim to just suck it up, take the blows, flee and surrender. That looks like a policy guaranteed to bring peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

1930's build up of arms by the aggressor. Difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The winner in all of the current wars is China.

There will be changes of regime this decade in both Russia and Iran. However, for internal legitimacy, they won't be able to turn to the West, leaving China free to exploit relationships. Both Russia and Iran will become effectively vassal states to China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I see Senator Michael McDowell has a long piece in today's IT explaining why he didn't nominate Steen for the presidential contest and the sequence of events as he sees them.

"My record as a parliamentarian since 1987 has been consistently liberal on social and economic matters. I have taken the liberal side in successive referendums such as the divorce, marriage equality, Oireachtas powers and the Repeal the Eighth referendums. I have consistently supported liberal causes as a member of Dáil Éireann and Seanad Éireann since my first election to the Oireachtas in 1987.

In the care and family referendums, I advocated rejection of the Government’s proposals from the same liberal perspective. I was careful in my advocacy to avoid denominational or conservative arguments."

Why I didn’t nominate Maria Steen for the presidency – The Irish Times

Basically, as a liberal he wasn't prepared to nominate an illiberal candidate. Fair enough IMO.

He also explains why he decided not to seek a nomination himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,887 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Breaking news: Somebody who didn't want somebody to be president didn't give them a nomination. It wasn't a conspiracy, it isn't democracy being blocked. It's somebody without the required support (arguably because they didn't prepare or plan properly) getting pissy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭MFPM

Did she do that or are you like some of the lads here, just making stuff up?

If you don't know what a NL is, why take offence?

Lastly, it's customary in debate and discussion to make an effort to inform oneself before pouring scorn on something, may I suggest you might inform yourself what a neoliberal is before coming here and then maybe you could discuss the matter with some insight. That's far better than engaging in Trumpesque put downs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

For once I agree with you. I read a book a few years ago called "Why the West rules - For now". China have been strategically taking over the world for decades where it counts - resources, manufacturing and economically. The China-Russia bilateral trade amounted to 12 billion at start of Ukraine invasion. It rose to 22 billion at end of 2023. Russia will become a vassal state to China because China wants their immense raw materials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,599 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Germany's 'build up' and rapid re-armament against the terms of the Treaty of Versailles was NOT just done by a single aggressor or just the Nazis.
    Churchill was warning about it a year before Hitler came to power.

Just curious, do you think Trump has helped facilitate the genocide in Gaza by continuing to arm Israel?

5 years is a short stint?

The Dail voted for her even though FG wanted their own man doing it. It was a surprise victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,766 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I wouldn't necessarily call him a liberal, certainly his time in government with FF wouldn't suggest it, but I will say his policies are much less conservative than those of Maria Steen.

The way I see it he had 2 choices. Don't nominate her because he disagrees with her policies or nominate her despite her policies to put her on the ballot and give the people a choice. It is absolutely his right to have gone with either option. He chose the first one and he doesn't need to explain himself as far as I'm concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

No, Ahern is a toxic liability to FF nowadays. He is hated everywhere except perhaps his own constituency where they championed his sly dealings. It's laughable to suggest Ahern would get any support around the country and rightly was shunned by the FF party leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,020 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Heather is on with Claire Byrne at present, cringe doesn’t even come near.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Catherine Connolly did not put it like that or anything like that.
    She actually said she would welcome more investment in the DEFENCE FORCES, as it is not an army. Countries should build up their defensive capabilities but that doesn't necessarily mean more and more weapons.
    We are not Germany, we are a small country and we are a neutral country, and what she said was our best defence in a war is going to be staying neutral and using diplomatic means to negotiate peace.

Now you could get to a point where war escalates, but her point is that building up a weapons industry at the expense of financing welfare to citizens should be a transparent decision, the people should be engaged with rather than industry and government leaders pushing on with it unchecked.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

what she said was our best defense in a war is going to be staying neutral and using diplomatic means to negotiate peace.

I have no particular issue with us staying neutral, but neutrality has basically not once in history been a useful means of "defence".

She is very definitely criticising investment in defence across Europe and criticising funding or investment in defence for Ukraine. Quite explicitly. If and when the Irish govt invests heavily in upgrading the equipment of the Irish DF you can rest assured she will be complaining about us attending arms fairs and falling in with the military industrial complex.

her point is that building up a weapons industry at the expense of financing welfare to citizens should be a transparent decision, the people should be engaged with rather than industry and government leaders pushing on with it unchecked.

This is all fairly reasonable, but it absolutely is not her point.

I've watched the debate twice now, and I believe that was exactly what she articulated.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I haven't seen the debate so fair enough - but it would be a more nuanced articulation of her point than I have seen anywhere else.

The decision in Germany was transparent and supported by the populace. As is their continued delivery of military aid to Ukraine. This doesn't appear to stop her critique of it.