If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I'm saying that you were lying when you said; "CC seems to be happy to see these people killed rather than shoot at the drones.

When did Gardai ever use firearms and water cannons on rapists and gurriers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

No.
    Time to maturely read what she actually says, not what you think she says.

Military spending came to be the German economy in the 30's at the expense of civilian spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

Then detail exactly what she said. Because without the arms supplied by European countries-something to which she objects-this will be a short war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,607 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Europe hasn't an option at this point, it's being attacked. CC is wrong as Europe is simply setting out to defend itself. Ireland is not pro war. If CC keeps running with this line over the next 3 weeks, she will shed votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,697 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

she’s comparing the spending on arms with the spending on arms in the 1930’s.

Yes and that is a stupid thing to do. The 1930s rearmament was far bigger and was clearly intended for offensive purposes - and there's the whole, y'know, Nazis were in power thing.

She is comparing THAT to a proportionally much smaller, purely defensive build-up caused by Russian offensive actions and decades of neglect - and the need to replace what has been donated to Ukraine.

That is a deeply deeply stupid thing to do in itself, but also electorally. She needs centre-ground voters but instead she's preaching to her far-left choir.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

turnout will struggle to break 40%.if the weather is shite,wet and windy anyone inclined to vote will say feck it.

3 terrible candidates.a far left loon,a woman burnt out but now wants to convince us she’s good to go and Jim Gavin.how Gavin agreed to put himself into to farce is beyond me.

If I go vote I will spoil it for the first time in 30 yrs of voting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Ok, then CC seems to be content to see people killed by Russian drones, so that German guns are not used.

The Gardaí have used water cannon on gurriers, they generally did not have one, now they have and I for one would hope that they will use it if there are events such as the burning of the tram in O'Connell St.

How does anyone refute something she didn't say?

Far-leftists didn't always come out with this kind of pacifist stuff. They were glad of a military-industrial complex between 1941 and 1945. Many of them were happy to support military aid to Republican Spain (and many went to fight themselves) instead of wringing their hands and declaiming that military support-meagre as it was-to the Republican government should be spent on schools and hospitals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

To say that she is content is another lie, and a hugely disingenuous claim to make about a lifelong pacifist.

Gardai used water cannon on political protesters. What presidential authority would allow any president to impact Garda tactics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭MFPM

Now you've shifted the goal posts what you stated was…..

'A person who compares the modern German government to the Nazis'

You seem to have run away from that falsehood and now are accusing her of another, how very Trumpian of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Leinsterview

Connolly is way to the left of my political centre of gravity just as Steen is way to the right. However they both have the hallmark of integrity in saying exactly what they think — as opposed to the other two who resorted to platitudes and soundbites. And they both would have the cop on to keep their more contentious views under wraps and and be well-suited to the office.

Nevertheless I will plump for HH. The propaganda mileage that Gavin Robinson would extract from her non-election would be more than I could take.

You wouldn't be the first to have keeping Unionists from getting offended at the front of their agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭MFPM

She said it 'had some parallels to the 30s' Why the need for you and others here to write such disingenuous nonsense is absurd. Even your language 'far left choir'…one wonders if she's so out of whack with the electorate why the persistent attacks by them on her, the coverage today was very telling!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

When there's a rush to massively increase defence funding over any meaningful attempt at peaceful, non-aggressive solutions - and I'm not for a second saying those solutions would be 'easy'

It is not a "rush" - it is probably coming about 15 years late. But more to the point, can you suggest even a vague outline of what one of these solutions would be? Even the slightest hint of a direction you might take to achieve them? It is not so much that it is "not easy" it is that there is no path today.

I would argue that Europe has failed to make any meaningful effort to achieve peace or a ceasefire in Ukraine, happy to let the war continue for now despite the ever-mounting human cost.

This simply does not make any sense and is not reflective of reality. Again, if anything, Europe has been too meek in an effort to avoid conflict in Eastern Europe. Up until 2022 every single approach has been to engage in diplomacy, negotiate ceasefires, negotiate peace agreements, engage with Russia diplomatically and economically. Merkel famously approached them believing that increasing economical cooperation and increasing openness towards Russia would limit their revanchist tendencies. Germany let its military fall into tatters at the same time. It didn't work. Sure - for a time it meant that Putin focused on other theatres of war - and we dutifully went down to the negotiate and ceasefire approach to his invasion of Georgia. When they finally turned back West and invaded Ukraine in 2014 Europe focused on ceasefires and negotiations and went through repeated rounds of negotiations and treaties. Europe made sure not to aid Ukraine in any way militarily to take back the conquered land. Russia repaid that by invading in full force an unprepared Ukraine. They have attempted assassinations on European soil. They have engaged in cyber warfare on all of Europe (including quite likely Ireland).

All of this has taken place against the backdrop of a Europe doing everything it possibly could to avoid conflict.

Prior to the latest invasion the US was openly warning the world Russia was going to do it and Europe chose not to believe them (including Ukraine unfortunately). However as it became clear it was being planned Macron invested considerable effort to talk Putin out of it - doing far more to try and avert the conflict than Connolly has ever managed. He kept diplomatic channels open even after the invasion to find some route to a solution. Initially Germany was so reluctant to get involved it sent a few thousand helmets as its "military aid". Latterly Trump has simply rolled over for Russia, and what have we got in return? Every offer of a ceasefire has been responded to by deliberate attacks on civilians. So much so that even Trump seems to have lost patience.

Catherine Connolly can come out as many times as she wants with her soundbite about "what if that money went towards peace instead" and it will remain vapid and meaningless. If the money had gone towards attempts at peace instead, Russia would have laughed as us and pocketed the money, as they have done for 20 years, and far, far more Ukrainians would now lie dead. I believe that she truly believes what she is saying, but she clearly has no understanding of what she is talking about. She dismisses the significant diplomatic efforts actually made, she ignores the frequent previous examples were her proposed path was followed to ruinous effect. And the end result is hundreds of thousands of deaths at the hands of Russia.

"We should be a voice for peace" is vapid and meaningless when people do not want to listen. She never offers any concrete ideas for what this means. She seems to believe by sheer power of pontification from a position of complete isolation from the outcomes, that you can convince the belligerents of the world to see the purity of your truth. I would like someone to ask her exactly what she would do with billions of Euro in order to achieve this peaceful dream of hers.

You can be concerned about a great many things in the current situation, but putting your fingers in your ears and going "la la la, why can't we all just get along" ultimately simply results in more suffering and death. Luckily for us, it is generally not ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,977 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Try listening to what she said. Of the 3 candidates she was the one calling loudest for more Gardai on patrol.

Humphries said it was all good and Gavin worked in inner city Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Leinsterview

More trying to deny them an opportunity for playing at being offended. My guess is that Robinson would be rather crestfallen after a HH victory and the loss of this particular anti-ROI avenue of attack.

People keep claiming Connolly is highly intelligent, and yet it was beyond her to come up with a far more relevant and far less highly insulting comparison such as military spending during the Cold War? Or beyond her to recognise just how offensive the particular example she chose to use was? Or beyond her to realise that the scale of military investment being 10 times larger, driven by a fascist dictator and motivated solely by a desire for conquest might make whatever parallels she sees seem somewhat overshadowed by those ones that people will immediately be drawn to?

What word would you suggest for someone who opposes providing Ukraine with the means to defend itself? You tell me?

And she has no authority over the Gardaí, but she has no authority over the German government either, but that does not stop her sounding off about them.

So when she mentioned the 1930s are you implying that she meant the Weimar Republic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭feelings

Dismissing Connolly’s intelligence because you don’t like the example she used is a weak argument. Her point wasn’t to equate Putin’s war with anything else, but to highlight how unchecked military spending can spiral and distort priorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

It is funny how the pro-FFG media is beginning to panic. Connolly was supposed to have been unelectable and completely far Left. Gavin was supposed to be the big celebrity candidate who would enthuse the FFers. Humphreys was a no-nonsense politician who would inspire the FG grassroots.

Amazing the difference a day makes. Connolly is now being spoken of as the main candidate. Gavin could take Martin down with him if he loses. Humphreys might as well not have appeared on the debate. There should be a Sindo/Ireland Thinks poll at the weekend and it will be the first opinion poll with the candidates and after the first debate. Anyone care to guess who will be topping the poll?

Regards…jmcc

I'm not dismissing it. I think she made the comparison very much on purpose and knows exactly the connotation she is making. But everyone defending it seems to be suggesting it was just a general comment as if she didn't know exactly what she was saying. If it was a comment on the dangers of increased military spending there are several better and less offensive examples she could use. But despite being given the opportunity she doubles down on using 1930s Germany as the example.

Also, she wasn't equating Putin's war with anything. She was completely ignoring it and acting as if Germany is re-arming in a vacuum. Also calling 5% of GPD "unchecked" is absurd.

highlight how unchecked military spending can spiral and distort priorities.

This was not the problem in the 30s. The distorted priorities are what caused the increased military spending. The spending was very specifically for the purpose of invasion and conquest. The comparison remains ridiculous, which is why every authority who speaks on it says it is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Does HH even want the job in all honesty? It feels like she only ran as a favour to the party brass, to give them a dig out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

She doesn't seem to be engaged in the process. Perhaps she realises that McGuinness was the best chance FG had at winning the presidency and that she is only there to get Simon Harris out of a tricky situation. With McGuinness, Martin would probably have supported her as the government candidate and that would have been a bit of a stroke for Harris. When McGuinness dropped out, FG had no viable substitute and Humphreys was stuck with it. McGuinness dropping out also put Martin on the spot. His mini-me version of himself, Gavin, did not appear presidential in the debate. He didn't even appear politicial. He only looked like a smaller version of Martin. Unless something drastic happens with the FF and FG campaigns, Connolly could win this simply because she appears presidential.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,855 ✭✭✭blackwhite

She doesn’t want it spent on preventing Russia killing Ukrainian civilians either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,684 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I reckon Connolly will win as the 'anti-FFG' candidate. You can see why they were so desperate to keep Steen off the ballot - we could have seen the two non-Government candidates as the top 2 and the other two as also rans.