If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

"Visit Borkistan with your friends. Book today!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,438 ✭✭✭✭walshb

People who don't pronounce any of their i n gs!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,438 ✭✭✭✭walshb

goin, swimmin, runnin, fightin, trainin, hopin, walkin, talkin…

What are the odds… I got the same agent as the last time! How much do you want to bet that they only have a couple of people working there?

Now, with a generic, non-technical question about T&Cs, what the hell do you need my PUK for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,352 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

fabulous day out at the cricket in Malahide, however on the way back around 5ish some lad crashed his car into an ambulance who was on a call. We must have got to the crash minutes after it happened because the gridlock we experienced was only in and around the incident and no Gardai or other emergency vehicles had got there yet. Driver of the car looked not too good… but looked like his fault as he came from a side country road and out into the side of the ambulance travelling on the main road. 🙈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭New Scottman

that is my experience whenever I buy books or music items online. You'd get something from Asia / Australia quicker than from some Irish sellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

TA we don't have a word for anything a quick as manana.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Just a follow up, the seller got back eventually claiming they didn't get paid. Seems like one of those people you couldn't tell anything to. As far as I can gather (from Google etc.) eBay changed their seller rules in the last year so you may not get paid until a tracked parcel is shown delivered. Their feedback has nothing sold in the last 12 months.

But Go Tobann a few mins ago I got notice of an unasked for refund. I don't know if the seller cancelled or eBay did as no evidence of dispatch within the required time.

I'm TA because I wanted the item but at least my €120 is coming back…it's above my loose change threshold 😀

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,178 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Bus Dopes™️ who stand in front of empty seats on crowded buses. Just sit in it, FFS, you're blocking anyone else from using it anyway so you might as well 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,139 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Tomatoes not cooked enough in almost every full breakfast I've had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,233 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Stores that send out a weekly marketing email but with no real content, no new special offers, no new product lines…

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I said how good looking he was in the day and workmate said " yeah my mother always said how good looking he was "

Ahem thanks for that !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

TA lack of tomatoes, or barely cooked ones! (I'm with whisky galore). I mean, fair enough if you don't like them, but if you order them they should be cooked decently, not just warmed up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Club runners, who come World Championship, European Championship, Olympic time speak like they know everything about athletics and have competed internationally!

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Tinned tomatoes passing off a fried/tinned toms on a cooked breakfast.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Informing a healthcare professional about my environmental situation, they kept asking location question(they have my file!) and then kept saying that the community should be dealing with this and it shouldn't be left to a woman my age!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I completely agree but what does my age have to do or help in this sit! saying this repeatedly doesn't make me any younger or magic up a neighbour who has the guts to call the confidential no to get the ball rolling.

Forgot this one, we changed ISP about 8-12 weeks ago, 2 weeks ago some sites I visit often started blocking me if I look for more info on their offering.

Ta that if it was going to kick up about the new address, why wait this long and not tell me this was the issue. Ta2 guess who is going to have to input the new address on all the devices!!

Post edited by Bredabe on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,159 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When I was a teenager we had very basic camera phones.

We were all text and trying to chat one another up.

This girl asked me to send a picture to her of me in my Birthday suit.

I was like "l didn’t get any clothes for my Birthday".

The shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

TA that yet again on a forum site … not Boards :) … that I post a question like "need advice, cant do ABC so need to do XYZ" , and lots of replies "why cant you do ABC?" or "well, ABC would have been best" etc …. FFS , I asked for XYZ , why dont ye try answer that , and if ye cant then stay quiet …. gurr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,352 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

the whole purpose of updating an app is to make it better… more efficient, more secure, more sleekly designed, more I dunno….just better…

Updated one of my favourite apps last night that’s just turned into a totally user unfriendly, crappy, crashing mess of a thing now. Working perfectly on my tablet but on the phone it’s 🤦🏻‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Noticed at the ploughing yesterday how almost every young lad these days looks the same (Mullet or Fade Hairstyle, GAA Half zip top or Gilet, skinny jeans or tracksuit bottom with no socks) - it was like an army of them were there!!

The same goes for the young ones - skin tight black gym pants with fleece or North Face puffy jacket……

Sheep following sheep…..must be a Gen Z thing 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,383 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

can't get the plastic wrapper off these sweets properly. having to spit out bits of it as they dissolve in mouth…

Usually find them rock hard, raw pretty much. Not even warm in a lot of cases.

"Cooked breakfast" the clue is in the name.

Older generations have been copying each other endlessly, god forbid you wear something that's not the current "uniform", chronically afraid of standing out.

Eg north face/gym+coffee/jeans, t shirt and hoodie combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Terence Rattigan

one person taking up a four person booth in a busy cafe. Optional extra, laptop and accessories filling the table to ward off any possible invaders.