If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭large_palette

Alright calm down, most recognise it's a novel pairing set, not Watergate. I'll throw in an emoji for the cheap seats nxt time 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 South of the Bann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭large_palette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

Fair play. My sarcasm detector wasn't operating that day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭tazman06

image.png

So been looking at the SFC table. Essentially the teams from 1-6 on 4 points up cannot be caught, i.e. finish below 8th. They're all in the quarters. Castlerahan, Ballinagh, Laragh obviously can't get to 4 now. Arva can get to 4, and most importantly Cavan Gaels play Killygarry meaning either one get to 4 or both to 3. So 1 to 6 is qualified and Gaels, Killygarry, and Arva essentially fighting out for last 2 spots.

There is a very far shot that 10-12 can still make it. But would mean a win for either Gaels or Killygarry, a loss for Arva, and then to overturn a huge score difference with teams on 2 points for that 8th spot for Castlerahan or Ballinagh/Lavey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

I certainly believe the “draw” is anything but a “draw”. For example, the minor SFs are being drawn in Breffni tomorrow evening. Why isn’t every draw in front of a crowd like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭celt262

So how do you believe the "draw" is carried out?

It's a bit of a nonsense to think any of these draws are fixed. Improbable things are that, improbable, but not impossible. With any conspiracy, it's very hard to keep that under wraps with so many people involved. And in the draws there are lots involved from a variety of clubs at various times. It makes no sense to fix the draws and hope a lot of people keep quiet, and even to risk any positions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭rrs

There was rumblings of fixing draws in FIFA a few years ago. Hot balls and cold balls. Not that it could happen in Cavan.

You could see the benefit of keeping the bigger teams apart till later stages in UEFA competitions (and i've heard that said too), but why would that apply to the Cavan senior championship draw? If that was the case, why have 1v2, 2v3 and so on?

Also, if the county board was fixing the "big draw" how did they not manage to get us a Gowna Vs Lough final for the last few years? Why give Crosserlough such a bad draw in 2021?

In terms of a live draw, did that not happen "live" on a Sunday in Breffni park? Or was that fixed too?

I think there's enough to critique in terms of how our underage structures are behind other counties without having to invest in a lot of tinfoil and start claiming it's all some mastermind conspirary against (who? The lough?- Ballinagh could claim to have the worst draw- does someone on the county board have an axe to grind with Ballinagh?)

I don't think the draws are fixed in Cavan. The 4th round draws couldn't have repeat pairings.

The Junior championship looks open enough. 5 or 6 of the teams in the Quarter finals have a realistic chance. No stand out team like previous years, Knockbride,Arva,Drumlane and Denn. 3 of those teams made an Ulster final. Enda Henry an obvious loss for Belturbet.

It doesn’t really interest me that much to be honest. I don’t particularly care how they do them. The fairest way would be a live draw on the pitch in Breffni after the last game Sunday evening but that doesn’t happen. Like I said though, I do not believe they are “random” draws. Just like I never believed the old AI qualifier draws were random.

I’ve never believed it was to benefit any team (bar Dublin the year they found themselves in the qualifiers and got the easiest draw ever), rather to keep teams and supporters interested - for example, how many years have we had a 4th round draw where even teams with no points have something to play for? It all goes back to money & finance lads. Nothing else.

That’s my opinion. I’m not particularly interested in debating it as I’m no conspiracy theory tinfoil hat wearer and it really isn’t that interesting a topic in the middle of championship.

I wouldn’t have thought from previous posts on here that ye lads were so trusting of our county board.

There is more to the draws than pulling balls out of a bowl when they have to go back through every round ensuring teams haven't met before. A draw out on the pitch would be a mess especially after round two.

Some draws just live on socials just there. They must read the thread!

Rain jackets must be short on supply in Breffni. They were all soaked doing the draw.

That’s the minor games was it not? That draw has been planned since yesterday - CB sent it out. Bit ridiculous that they stick minor semi finals at neutral grounds and charge parents in to watch their kids. It was bad enough doing it with finals.

That's you on this place in a nutshell. You'd argue till the cows come home when it suits you. When you're pulled up on something you go off and sulk. "doesnt interest me that much"….

If it was about money, then Gowna and the Lough would have been in the final for the last few years to bring in a crowd.

There are bigger fish to fry about how football is run in the county. It is possible to recognise that the draw isn't fixed and that there are issues at the same time.

There you have it in a nutshell. Easy to do live for round one. After that its more complicated. Can you imagine doing round four live in Breffni park at half time on a Sunday night?

"First out of the bag is Crosserlough…and they face…Killygary, wait they can't draw them, so let's go again….so Crosserlough will play….Ballinagh, wait they can't draw them….give us another go….so here we go, Crosserlough will play…."

Can you imagine the giving out? I can. "This shower havent a clue"…."shambles"….

You are 100% there i was going to call it myself but though whats the point with that fellow !

What's the situation with Gearoid McKiernan? He back training with Swad but cant play as too late putting in the transfer.

If he to play County next year he'll be without competitive football for a while

I must have missed where I was pulled up on something. I’m not going to debate something doesn’t interest me. That’s the facts of the matter, accept them or not.

I don’t recall saying something doesn’t interest me before, you might enlighten us……

So Ramor, from one of the now biggest towns in the county, wouldn’t bring in a crowd? I’d imagine the population of one estate in Virginia could be bigger than that of the whole of Gowna! If you want to debate, at least make sense.

Also, last year Gowna & the Lough were separated in the draw so that final was possible, it’s just Ramor beat Gowna so your post doubly doesn’t make sense!

You raised the great county board conspiracy. You.

When people who can do maths called it, you scuttled away. And made your "sure I'm not interested" comment.

Generally speaking a big crowd isn't just about the two teams, it's about people from the county going who think there will be a contest. Virginia is a big town by Cavan standards, but they didn't bring a massive crowd to some of the games I've seen them at. Anyways…

Did the Lough get dumped out in 2021 as champions with a sticky draw? Surely the county boad mandarins would have pulled strings to keep them into at least the semis?

Did the Lough not get dumped out twice by Gowna at the semi final stages? Surely the Machiavellian county board could have avoided that….

That's the county board for you. Even when they're fixing the draw they can't even do that properly….

I think you’ll find I didn’t raise it if you read back the posts. The first poster to mention it was Blue in the Hope so looks like you are wrong on a lot of counts tonight.

I don’t see it as a huge conspiracy to be honest. I don’t believe the “draws” are random. That’s my opinion. As I’ve said, others are entitled to their own. Why is there no transparency about the draws?

If you want to feign outrage, do it with somebody who cares was my basic point. You’re really going for it here though.

The county final will generally always get a crowd. I also don’t see the huge need to fix draws at the later stages of the comp - does it really matter which two of the “big three” are in the final?

It’s in the initial draws you need to keep people interested. Or in a fourth round draw where it would keep supporters of even the bottom team interested if they were playing the team just above them with something at stake.

Do you believe that Dublin really just happened to get the easiest qualifier draw ever when headquarters needed badly to get them back into Croke Park in 2004? London, Leitrim & Longford they drew. The year before they had been knocked out early in the qualifiers by Armagh and the GAA coffers were hit.

As for the draw on the pitch being a mess, I’m fairly sure any basic AI system such as Chat GPT could be given the previous pairings and asked to randomly generate 6 new fixtures in front of the crowd in a couple of minutes. How do clubs do online draws and the like all the time?

So who brought up that whole county board conspiracy again? Both of these are before I even commented on the topic.

The draws are not random??.

How do you think they fix them then, how many would be involved?

if the draws aren't random, then that means they are fixed. It would be a farily big deal to rig a draw (repeatedly) so if you're going to do it, why? You've not explained that one to anyone.

You weighed in so own your own nonsense. One of those posters admitted he was pulling our leg.What has the All Ireland draw got to do with the Cavan championship?

How dare you question the resident self proclaimed know it all.

Can you stop shouting and read the actual posts?

I’ve already given my opinion for why I believe it would be done in a post above. It’s there. You mightn’t accept it, which you’re entitled to, but it is there.
    At the moment though you can’t even identify who has said what. I in fact wasn’t the poster introduced the topic or made the initial claims. You appear to be taking this all a bit personally to be honest which is strange on a random internet forum. Do you want to tackle the initial poster of the point there?

As for the AI draw, if headquarters themselves saw fit to do it, you believe it’s above a county board or boards?
    Sure the GAA are famous for every ticket draw etc being above board!!!

There’s very little point debating someone who won’t admit they were blatantly wrong when it was pointed out above and, secondly, asks questions already answered. That’s not me sulking now either, it’s the facts of the matter. As I’ve said from the start too, this isn’t exactly a hill I’m too bothered about dieing on.

Care to weigh in about something more worthwhile like no underage finals in Breffni or parents being charged into minor SFs as well as finals?

Yeah he's back training with Swad apparently, after too late with the transfer. But I really don't get this. What's the actual issue? He hasn't played with Gaels this year, we see players can play abroad and then transfer home for Championship, but there is a time limit on a intra county transfer? I really don't get the way this is supposed to work

My understanding is that a lot of the lads playing abroad in the likes of America play under different names. They never actually get a transfer.