That's you on this place in a nutshell. You'd argue till the cows come home when it suits you. When you're pulled up on something you go off and sulk. "doesnt interest me that much"….
If it was about money, then Gowna and the Lough would have been in the final for the last few years to bring in a crowd.
There are bigger fish to fry about how football is run in the county. It is possible to recognise that the draw isn't fixed and that there are issues at the same time.
That’s the minor games was it not? That draw has been planned since yesterday - CB sent it out. Bit ridiculous that they stick minor semi finals at neutral grounds and charge parents in to watch their kids. It was bad enough doing it with finals.
Rain jackets must be short on supply in Breffni. They were all soaked doing the draw.
Some draws just live on socials just there. They must read the thread!
There is more to the draws than pulling balls out of a bowl when they have to go back through every round ensuring teams haven't met before. A draw out on the pitch would be a mess especially after round two.
It doesn’t really interest me that much to be honest. I don’t particularly care how they do them. The fairest way would be a live draw on the pitch in Breffni after the last game Sunday evening but that doesn’t happen. Like I said though, I do not believe they are “random” draws. Just like I never believed the old AI qualifier draws were random.
I’ve never believed it was to benefit any team (bar Dublin the year they found themselves in the qualifiers and got the easiest draw ever), rather to keep teams and supporters interested - for example, how many years have we had a 4th round draw where even teams with no points have something to play for? It all goes back to money & finance lads. Nothing else.
That’s my opinion. I’m not particularly interested in debating it as I’m no conspiracy theory tinfoil hat wearer and it really isn’t that interesting a topic in the middle of championship.
I wouldn’t have thought from previous posts on here that ye lads were so trusting of our county board.
I don't think the draws are fixed in Cavan. The 4th round draws couldn't have repeat pairings.
The Junior championship looks open enough. 5 or 6 of the teams in the Quarter finals have a realistic chance. No stand out team like previous years, Knockbride,Arva,Drumlane and Denn. 3 of those teams made an Ulster final. Enda Henry an obvious loss for Belturbet.
You could see the benefit of keeping the bigger teams apart till later stages in UEFA competitions (and i've heard that said too), but why would that apply to the Cavan senior championship draw? If that was the case, why have 1v2, 2v3 and so on?
Also, if the county board was fixing the "big draw" how did they not manage to get us a Gowna Vs Lough final for the last few years? Why give Crosserlough such a bad draw in 2021?
In terms of a live draw, did that not happen "live" on a Sunday in Breffni park? Or was that fixed too?
I think there's enough to critique in terms of how our underage structures are behind other counties without having to invest in a lot of tinfoil and start claiming it's all some mastermind conspirary against (who? The lough?- Ballinagh could claim to have the worst draw- does someone on the county board have an axe to grind with Ballinagh?)
There was rumblings of fixing draws in FIFA a few years ago. Hot balls and cold balls. Not that it could happen in Cavan.
It's a bit of a nonsense to think any of these draws are fixed. Improbable things are that, improbable, but not impossible. With any conspiracy, it's very hard to keep that under wraps with so many people involved. And in the draws there are lots involved from a variety of clubs at various times. It makes no sense to fix the draws and hope a lot of people keep quiet, and even to risk any positions
So how do you believe the "draw" is carried out?
I certainly believe the “draw” is anything but a “draw”. For example, the minor SFs are being drawn in Breffni tomorrow evening. Why isn’t every draw in front of a crowd like that?
So been looking at the SFC table. Essentially the teams from 1-6 on 4 points up cannot be caught, i.e. finish below 8th. They're all in the quarters. Castlerahan, Ballinagh, Laragh obviously can't get to 4 now. Arva can get to 4, and most importantly Cavan Gaels play Killygarry meaning either one get to 4 or both to 3. So 1 to 6 is qualified and Gaels, Killygarry, and Arva essentially fighting out for last 2 spots.
There is a very far shot that 10-12 can still make it. But would mean a win for either Gaels or Killygarry, a loss for Arva, and then to overturn a huge score difference with teams on 2 points for that 8th spot for Castlerahan or Ballinagh/Lavey.
Fair play. My sarcasm detector wasn't operating that day!
👍️
No hard feelings man
Alright calm down, most recognise it's a novel pairing set, not Watergate. I'll throw in an emoji for the cheap seats nxt time 🙄
It was also a quirk that happened to be that 1 v 2, 3 v 4 etc hadn't met each other yet. There is no way that table could be seen as pulling a stroke. And once those match ups were possible, it was probable once the first few drawn out came out that way as lots of the other teams left could not face each other. Indeed, it is likely that when Killygarry came out first, Arva likely came out next but had to go to game 2 as they couldn't meet again. Draw ends up going easily the way it did then
There was an article put on one of those click bait websites yesterday but it was refering to the incident that happened in the Bridge Knockbride involving one of the bridge backroom team from previous weekend, mentioned here last week. Haven't heard the outcome with disciplinares on it but from the video looked a very dirty act, forcefully kneeing someone in the head whilst they were on the ground.
No smoke without fire and all that crap
Do you actually believe that rubbish?
Seen something online on Hogan stand website about an incident in a club game in Cavan over the weekend, trying to figure out what it was ? It was mentioned in an article about a Wicklow game
I was going to raise the same point. It looks odd but the given that certain teams can only draw each other and that there are a small number of choices, it really isn't a case of "the county board" pulling a stroke.
it didn’t do Donegal much harm 😀
Talks of the Ballinagh lads having to stay is the Russell the night before to break up the journey
The same odds as every other draw presuming large_pallete hasn't taking into account repeat pairings into his calculations :D
That probability also include that each team can only draw 8 potential other teams last draw? It is a long shot alright, but can be statistically more probable once the first few matchings line up, as you're left with only certain match ups allowed. Look at the last 3 games drawn. Laragh can't play Ramor or Ballyhaise, Gowna can't play Ballinagh or Mullahoran and so on, the draw starts to right itself with what can be allowed
Laragh/Ballinagh to Milltown is a 20-25min drive max for either club. They'll not have to pack a flask. Kingscourt to the Park is 40mins.