Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,430 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Buttimer, you mean. I would like to hear his thoughts if it is proven to be Bailey's DNA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,430 ✭✭✭chicorytip

I don't think that ever occurred. How could he have breached a police cordon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

You go on and on about peddling misinformation, and then starting walking back your own assertions. Whenever you get challenged on your bull you just start attacking the posters themselves. Seems like you should look in the mirror once in a while.

Any outcome other than Bailey's DNA being found is an absolute sh*tshow.

Bailey's DNA being found would still be a sh*tshow, but still the best resolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,238 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I don’t understand.
    Obviously Jules, his former solicitor and his sister have all recently stated that they’re not expecting Baileys DNA to be found there.
    If it is found, then I wouldn’t class it as a sh1tshow - but I would be very surprised as would many I’d wager - the Gardai would be delighted considering the mess they made of the original investigation - but at least they’ll be able to say “we told ya so”. And of course case finally closed.

If someone’s else’s DNA is found which points to a strong likelihood of them being the killer, then the “sh1tshow” focus is very much on the Gardai investigation and how could they have got it so wrong? But at least finally, Bailey is in the clear.

To throw another date in there, on the Netflix documentary Barry Roche says that Bailey visited Alfie with the briquettes on the 26th of December. I expect you will just believe whatever you think makes Bailey look most guilty, which is what you tend to do.

I don't even know why it matters. You're only goal ever is just to make Bailey out to be a liar, and everyone else to be a truth teller and that just takes you just back to he said she said. In reality memories are fallible, and the truth is usually somewhere in the middle, so you have to look at other corroborating evidence.

30 years of waiting for justice for the family, when the perpetrator has died, the husband has died, the father has died, there is no forthcoming explanation for the complete disaster of an investigation. It was a circus which should and would require a tribunal imo. As I said a sh*tshow, but not as bad as if they find someone else DNA which would be far worse, and still a resolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭chooseusername

The secret could have been the extra marital affair, but I always assumed it was the social security fraud in the UK that the Gardaí held over her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,527 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Have never come across any of this... Is this detailed somewhere... Interesting to know. Scandalous too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭bjsc

I dislike speculation but I am prepared to guess that, given the Garda have spent the past 28 years trying to build a case against Bailey, had he gone sauntering up the field with Leo on the 24th someone would have brought it to the attention of the investigation team, if not on the day then certainly once he was nominated as a suspect. Leo had to ask permission from the scene guard to go and feed the horses and so would anyone with him. A scene log was maintained of everyone entering and leaving the scene whilst the cordon was in place and these were entered into evidence. If Bailey’s name was in there I can't help but feel that it would have been part of the case against him.

personally I don’t believe he did- what’s very likely is given Baileys penchant for mouthing off with the public in the years following his arrest, it’s very possible that either he created this “fiction” for his own amusement or some passing reference by him was misinterpreted and it grew legs .

OK fair enough - yes whole thing has been a sh1tshow alright regardless of outcome now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭tibruit

"I expect you will just believe whatever you think makes Bailey look most guilty"

Nah. I rely on probability. Bolger gets maligned regularly on this thread. I find that particularly interesting because I fail to see a reason why. Maybe it`s a local thing. The latest was that his testimony was undermined by a photo of him walking towards the scene before the gate was removed on the 24th. Then we eventually get the photo and the gate is nowhere to be seen. There`s a couple of posters who have been on here who have access to the garda file. Ye fawn over them like they are paragons of objectivity when in reality they probably got access to the file from Bailey. Whenever they decide to do a bit of selective leaking it is never anything that incriminates Bailey. Always the opposite.

"I don`t even know why it matters."

It doesn`t particularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Will the DNA profile match any of the suspects on file? Will the net need to extend further?

Like why would it even matter where the file comes from, a file cannot be biased for god's sake. It's a garda file, it just has some information you don't like, so you don't want to hear about it. The gardai file contains all of the evidence against Bailey too by the way, you can't just dismiss the parts you don't like.

I'm not sure Bolger is the one to hang your hat on either. There are certainly some witnesses who have decent credibility, and made honest statements, some of those are for sure against Bailey. Bolger is not one of them, and definitely not more credible by the day. He has made many questionable statements and recollections. He has had run ins with the law himself, in fact has broken the law and was convicted. He was one of the last suspects to be eliminated before Bailey was honed in on, so definitely had credibility issues with the gardai even back then. He also literally made a joke about the murder and said others thought he may have done the murder too.

1000021645.jpg

Original photo. Arrows are mine.

1000021642.jpg

Enlargement of gate.

1000021643.jpg

Enlargement of Leo

1000021644.jpg

Enlargement of bags, presumably from Shirley's car.

Why is the big black spot at 10 o clock on the enlarged pic of the gate not on the original? Shirley went to the dump on the 23rd. Oh…and maybe tell us who gave you the file?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

He just got into the other woman's bed and she kicked him out. I'm saying this to counter the narrative that Bailey has no history of sexual deviancy. It's not normal behaviour to get into bed with a woman without her prior consent, and start touching her.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

Probably because it's a screenshot from my laptop. The bags were taken out of the car on 23rd and Shirley drove off without them. There is no record of what happened to them after that which is why I said "presumably".

1000021646.jpg

Because it was against a dark background. There you go. Hope that helps.

Nah. That bird has flown now and you`ve already posted a similar photo of the gate taken on the 23rd or 24th. So Shirley never went to the dump. Maybe you could establish a date for when the bags were removed from the side of the lane. That might help establish a date. Where did you get the file?

Last time. Leo was not there on 23rd - by his own admission. Shirley's bags were removed from the car on 23rd by Garda. There is a statement confirming this. She then proceeded on her merry way and met Ian Bailey arriving at the scene. Statement of Shirley herself. After that there is no record of what happened to the bags. The gate was removed on 24th (statement of scenes of crime officer. Confirmed.by date of seizure on exhibit list.) Therefore, given these facts, the day Leo is referring to is almost certainly 24th. Remember he made the statements about Bailey many years later. He made 2 initial statements - one taken on 24th (but not timed) at his home, the second taken on 4th January - in neither of which does he mention Bailey. At the time of the second statement Bailey was well in the Garda sights as a suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭tinytobe

No certainly not, even worse if Jule's daughter was under 18. I am surprised Jules didn't kick Bailey out after that. Maybe an indication she stuck to him for whatever reason no matter what. Just specualtion of course.

You`ve added nothing new that I don`t know already, apart from Shirley not going to the dump that is. Had you been around with that information here a few years ago, you would have eased the concerns of several posters who for weeks expressed outrage that the Gardaí had allowed Shirley take all the evidence of Alfie`s obvious guilt to the dump.

Now that you have enlarged the photo of Leo, it is obvious that he is returning from tending to the horses and not on his way up there. He said that he left Bailey with Alfie. Is there any evidence that he and Bailey came back down together?

This is another from the same sequence. To me it looks like Leo going up the field but you must form your own opinion.

And to clarify when I became aware of this forum and aware of the debate around Shirley and the bags - I did post all the relevant statements as others, I am sure, will attest to. I suggest you go back through the posts and check for yourself.

There is clearly a fringe line evident. I`m sure you understand that if there is no account of the two of them returning together and given that Bolger said he left Bailey with Alfie, you`re whole argument becomes redundant, no matter what date the photo was taken.

So you can see a fringe but you can't see a gate. Good job.

My pleasure. I didn't realise you were so well acquainted with Leo. To be so sure he had a fringe in 1996 you must have known him well at the time.