Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,825 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

No.. I understood what you said. I was just pointing out that a digital throttle pedal could malfunction and stick open much the same as a cruise control module might fail to disengage.. we trust all aspects of a motorcar.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Ditto 'beloved' which mainly appeared on news rehash social media pages but is prevalent in main stream media causing me eye twitches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

People in those huge camper vans who think they are driving a hatchback and that they can park it in a normal space.

One pulled in right up against me and a woman got out the passenger side and thumped my car with her door. She didn't even apologise despite the fact my window was open, the pig headed ninny.

Had to reverse out round it then and pray nothing was coming.

There was lorry parking spaces nearby, park your massive road barge over there ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,092 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Posted in the TH thread yesterday about my foster dog because he's such a little character, but honestly, I'm so angry at selective breeders (of any breed) because the poor little man can barely breathe (French Bulldog), and he has cherry eye because of the pressure that builds up behind his eyes when he gets excited.

Someone probably paid a stupid amount of money for him, then dumped him when they realised he was going to have life-long health issues.

Crufts have started to cop on and they don't allow flat faced breeds like pugs anymore. They will also knock points off a dog if they think it has been selectively bred to shorten the snout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Audacity! It's freaking everywhere on us media, makes my teeth itch.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

'twould be nice if they extended the same consideration to the angulation of the spine and hips of Alsatians, to Saint Bernards, etc. I don't buy for a second the difference between show breeds and working breeds. Selecting animals so they're born sick and deformed just to conform to some absurd standards is akin to animal cruelty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,408 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Nothing about this in the forecast. My own fault hanging out the washing.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,731 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

A few hours later and the far too sunny South East (TA).

Wake me up when it's all over.

Tell @kneemos where you're based, there's some washing that needs drying. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,642 ✭✭✭Archeron

Don't know if this is everywhere these days, but the absolute stench of weed walking around Dublin city centre today was eye watering.

Was walking around Capel Street, Jervis centre, Parliament Street area and the smell was hanging everywhere.

I've absolutely no issue with people smoking it but the smell of it makes me genuinely nauseous and its a bag of sh*te when you can't get away from it.

Another TA is the pile of rubbish somebody fly tipped up the road from where I work that looks like a scummy version of the generation game.

A cracked cycling helmet.

A baking tray encrusted with burnt grease.

A single roller blade.

A duvet with mysterious yellow stains.

A Monsters Inc coloring book

Seven empty Monster cans.

Proper dirtbags that do this.

Filthy animals. If I caught them I would make it law that they have to go round the streets litter picking. Not for x amount of days, but by weight: as in you are hereby sentenced to pick 2 tons of litter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,241 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

seemed to have misplaced the remote for my old Creative Soundworks CD / radio player. Remote is only about 20% bigger than a bank card. Bought the player about 18 years ago…the days when tech was starting to be all delighted with itself pushing ‘mini’ and smaller = better. Nice until you have to go find the fûckin thing after losing it..it’s grey as well as tiny so not like it stands out in a room a bit too full of clutter..

image.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,829 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Had to cut back an enormous bush in my MIL's garden on Friday. (stop it!) It was a thorny b*stard so it got me quite a few times. But I'm now covered in an itchy rash on both hands and my right arm. Its driving me mental. Add that to the horsefly bite on my leg and I look like a plague victim.

It is time we started calling the horsefly a personfly. It has long ago given up on horses and decided to dine exclusively on us.

https://www.inishpharmacy.com/p/anthisan-cream-for-insect-bites-stings-and-nettle-rash-25g/300039

Recommended don't go out without it.

If you have any anusol hc (hc version is important) it is also good on bites that itch like mad. OK not a normal recommendation but you'd probably rub yourself all over in Ribena if you thought it would stop the itch ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Picked up a few groceries in Tesco then went next door to Pennys. Got tea-towels, a few outdoor cushions and place mats for the garden and headed to the till.

Do you want a bag? Yes please, I’ll need to carry the stuff.
    Reusable or paper? Paper is fine thanks.
    How many bags? Maybe 4 of the large size should be enough (for the cushions).
    Ok, just so you know, that’ll be 15cents each.

Ages since I was in Pennys - is this a new thing? No problem paying the 60c, just TA’d that the multinational chain that made profits of nearly a billion last year are now charging for a paper bag to carry bulky cushions. It’s probably saving the planet though 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭lucalux

Does that numb the area?

I use bepantiseptic.. has a local anaesthetic and antiseptic... always have one in the car, in the house, and out and about...especially gardening

17549965664025563351368529223536.jpg

Great for nettle stings, mosquito bites, horsefly wounds 😬 and especially thorny injuries and scrapes

My TA is waiting on people to get back to me with a quote for a job. Not a small amount of money either.

Having to text and remind them I'm without a car and "could they please, if they don't mind teribly, if its not too much trouble" plámás nonsense out of me… well, it's maddening

Can't be direct as I'll piss them off and no one will fix the fecking thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,998 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Office air conditioning wars

Lovely day outside, bright and sunny, birds are singing, children are playing and us office workers are being petty

The AC was set at 50%. I don’t know the temperature but it was fine for everyone except one manager. Insisted on putting the heating on full blast all day. The blast of warm dry air bothers me greatly and even gives me a headache.

I turned it back to 50% this morning when I came in yet as soon I left for a meeting the manager put the heating on full blast again

Meanwhile 5 metres away the team next to us have full cooling on. What a waste heating and cooling beside each other

AC wars….every summer.

Anthisan has an antihistamine in it which stops the body reacting to the bite.

Anusol hc has hydrocortisone in it which reduces inflammation.

Germolene works well stopping the feeling of itchiness whereas Anthisan gets to the root cause. I often use both. If an itch is that bad anything is better than making it worse by digging your nails into it and giving it a good scratch.

I fell for the lure of dubious apricots again. I got a punnet last week, they looked lovely. Got home, they were as hard as rocks. Waited a few days, they've all started rotting from the inside out. Impossible to salvage. Money down the drain.

Thank you, I was wondering as I've never used anthisan

Im on whopping doses of antihistamines daily so that's probably why I've never bothered with it. The immediate pain killing and protection is enough

Spending a day in the garden used to mean looking like I'd done myself intentional mischief for weeks afterwards. People giving me curious and pitying looks in the supermarket queue unless I wore long sleeves 😬 definitely a TA when it happened

I bought some plums recently and didn't realise till I got home that they had a label "Ripen at Home".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,934 ✭✭✭✭blade1

My tyre seems to be losing air for some reason 🙈

1000023009.jpg

I saw a big dog out for a walk and it had that strap type muzzle on it that causes dogs to overheat. Why are those things still being sold, should have been banned years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,408 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Drives me insane. Like, fair play for muzzling your dog in public but for the love of god, buy a basket muzzle before you kill the poor thing. Wrap muzzles are only meant for super short term use for dogs who are likely to snap while getting an injection or nails clipped or similar.

Just remembered what I came in to post...

My brain when I can't sleep:

Bit anxious about work/a job interview/life in general, are we??? Let me help with this frame-by-frame replay of the apocalyptic fight you had with your best friend when you were 14...