Selling, Swapping or Wanted Watches & Timepieces *Please read rules in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

ola peeps. Was looking at something in black..

These two tickle the fancy.

The Pelagos has no box or papers , the Sinn has papers , no box. It’s also my sons birth year.

The Tudor is €1000 more than the Sinn, but would no box or papers be a worry?

IMG_8015.jpeg IMG_8014.jpeg

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,216 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

papers cost money and sit in the draw doing nothing in my opinion, but the watch you like for the right price

The internet isn’t for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,632 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Exactly. I have no idea why people are so anal about papers. You can't wear those, can you?

Very different watches but the Pelagos wins hands down for me. Top Tudor in my book, never owned one yet myself. I should get that fixed 😁

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I know you cant wear box & papers but it clearly matters. Its obviously a narrower resale market since some folks just wouldnt touch anything without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,008 ✭✭✭✭banie01

That Sinn is lovely, and very, very tempting. I already have a Sinn Chrono I'm trying to get rid of tho, so I must resist.

I've owned a black 5 line Pelagos and they are a brilliant watch IMO. The clasp is a marvel of ya ever actually dive.

For me, the choice would really come down to price. Box & papers are always a "nice to have" but, not the be all and end all. If the price without reflects that, I'd happily buy without papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Looking at C24, the pelagos is about €1k less that those with box and papers

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

In my experience buyers looking for box and papers when buying on the used market are new to buying or brainwashed by the likes of Paul Thorpe etc doing buying tutorials

Watches are usually cheaper without box and papers so buy the seller and the watch, if it’s priced right then reselling shouldn’t be a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭H_Lime

I'm with B on the Sinn DT, would deffo be my pick.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

Definitely the Tudor for me, lovely watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭dinorebel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,704 ✭✭✭micks_address

Hi folks

I've a wooden omega box on adverts. It's a little worse for wear but if anyone interested here's the link. I think it's cheap for what it is.

http://www.adverts.ie/37761279

Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭kipple

Not as flashy as some of the other watches here.

For Sale: Erebus ASCENT 39 Black Enamel

Comes with the J-Style bracelet with original case + papers.The watch is in very good condition overall.

Price: €280 including shipping.

Thanks,

Tony

IMG_20250804_154611_119.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,518 ✭✭✭emo72

If it was me I'd buy the Tudor. But that's only because I would be looking for one in the future and it would be handy for me when you get sick of it😉. I've feck all interest in box's and papers.

Yeah you'd swear some people want to wear the box on their head and the papers coming out of their jacket pocket by the way they anally insist on only buying a full set 😂

image.png

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Yes I also know the seller. Nice guy and his adverts.ie reputation says it all. Nice complete sets. Could quite well be still rather collectible in years to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Do you think it will be collectible ?A bit too soon to be selling it either way as it probably cost him twice what he’s selling it for .Ive often wondered about my Seiko collection but at least they have a chance of some gain in the future and most are worth more than I paid but I can’t see low quality plastic quartz holding its value.

I think full sets will be collectible. It was a historic moment in the watch world and if you can get them cheap enough (a good bit cheaper than sets on eBay have sold for recently), it could gain value

Personally I have owned a couple of the Omega ones and the one Blancpain. Total wrist time between the 3 of them about 40 seconds. And that was plenty 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,574 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Not in the slightest collectible on the sense of being valuable.
    To be valuable they need to be rare and they sold and continue to sell a shite tonne. The batteries will have leaked into the movement before they are worth having.

The are a stain on watch world. Another cash grab and quelle surprise they continue with release after release with a tiny colour change.

No idea what these sell as individually but it looks like he is selling them collectively cheaper. There are a million fakes of his crap out there, and the original is so crap it’s not easy tell the real from the fake (I read that some where, never seen a fake moonswatch personally ….or if I did I didn’t know know as they are all so cheap in the hand).

I only buy with papers. Every watch I buy is a potential heirloom to be passed down and with that I want it as a full set.

Having a full set also decreases your chance of a stolen watch. Hard enough for a thief to get a watch plus papers. And it’s grand saying buy the seller etc….the seller selling might not even know it was stolen 3 buyers ago…might have been through the hands of several very respectable gentlemen, then you buy it and take to get serviced and never see it again.

And if not an heirloom then it’s more saleable in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I was a bit taken aback by some of the reactions here.

Clearly a lot of buyers have concerns about things like legitimacy, authenticity, resell ability. Not everyone is a watch buff, people have to start at some point. Either way its not THAT ridiculous to prefer box & papers imo.

Only real papers prove authenticity though. Easily faked but same at recognising a fake watch there will be signs in the papers and box if not real.

Some people prefer to buy the the worst condition loose examples of a given watch. Some like unworn full sets. And eveyone else is in between.

I see where you are coming from. If you buy to collect, and never sell a watch, then yes I think I would only buy full sets too.

But how many of us never sell watches?

I buy watches purely to wear. And then it makes zero difference if you have box and papers. They don't add any value either in terms of the watch being genuine. And when I fancy another watch, I simply don't have the funds to keep the first one, it has to be sold. I currently own 3 watches, one of them will be up for sale soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,452 ✭✭✭This is it

Does having box and papers add value when selling? I would've thought so.

A full set is worth more than a watch only. This implies that if the watch depreciated between when you bought and when you sold, then the watch likely depreciated more if you bought a full set, so you lost more money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,704 ✭✭✭micks_address

Diminishing returns, a Rolex box and cards could be worth 1k in a sale, omega maybe 300?

I value condition over box and cards. I've yet to buy a watch that I can honestly say I'll never sell..sales are easier with full sets.

Re the moonswatch sets..McNeely's had one last year in Belfast and they were looking for a strong price.. trying to remember but it was definitely more than the adverts set. I took a picture.. I'll see if I can find it

Zero sum game. You paid more to buy and you can sell for more.

Boight loose and you paid less comparatively and will sell for less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Fitz II

I have had watches with and without box and papers. The ones without were a pain in the arse to sell. If I had any choice and the discount was not very strong, I would go for the full set every time. Naked watches also never come with spare links. The box and papers is a reassurance the chain of ownership was mostly careful owners.

On a AP or Patek the box and papers are about 3k is lost and with AP difficult to get back. The Patek boxes are actually worth is, they are better made than the watches.

In a down market loose watches depreciate more cause nobody wants them in a oversupply situation.