Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Forest Fest 2025 - Emo , Co Laois 25-27 July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,727 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I live very near the Tribfest venue. The crowd that make it to the local pubs the days of the event are rough as a badgers arse; complete opposite of FF crowd. Might be diluted down at the actual event itself but it would put me right off even if I wanted to see one of the acts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

His regular guitarist in the light is a chap named David Potts, was in revenge and Monaco with him, vocally, he's very similar to sumner esp on the 1st Monaco album.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Saw TCM, Walk the Line and Pogueology. All wedged and absolutely joyous. TCM unquestionably the happiest i was at any point over the weekend and I'm not ashamed to admit it. It's not rocket science I suppose, the health benefits of a raucous collective sing song are obvious. If it's great musicians and songs you absolutely love, well, there are few finer feelings.

A **** tribute band on the other hand.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,996 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Ah yeah I know the geezer your on about now, heard his name mentioned quite a lot in one of Hook's books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Right, thoughts on the weekend, before my brain packs it in.

1. I had a ball, friendly crowd, few teenagers warranting a kicking. It's a nice compact tidy setup. It was blessed by the weather and I noted that they'd moved the danger danger areas (bars and loos) that turned into swamp spots in the rain two years ago over to ground that would better stand for it. Lot of whinging about the loos but having them on a slope and massively expanded is a good thing if it lashes down.
    2. Food and beer selection, good! I stuck to the wicklow wolf larger for the weekend and it was fine, didn't need to submit to the corporate stuff at all, some small queues but nothing major.
    3. Campsites, clean and tidy, they quickly expanded the loos up at the back where we were to deal with the additional overflows. People kept their distance between tents (likely a function of the more mature festival goer). It was a "short walk" aka 1.5 Km from tent to entrance. Likely same as picnic but it does hit harder when it's on tarmac.
    4. General camping showers, they were there but frankly having mixed showers in 2025 is just not on, that's really not a good look. It should be male / female showers AND AND AND showers closing at 12:00, that's also not on.
    5. Directions once you got there, it's not on them but the lads directing traffic to parking hadn't a breeze
    6. Updates for the delays, yay, you have an app, that's no use when the cell signal is so bad. Put a sodding overlay with updated times on one of the big screens, absolute muppetry.
    7. other thought, they're constrained by the site, the saturday was verging on too many people but they handled it well.
    8. Chair w@nkers, yeah, it's family friendly and perhaps a bit too family friendly. They need a bunch of hard nosed lads willing to say "pick up your f.ucking picnic blanket and sofa lounger and **** off behind that line that's level with the sound desk you utter shower of soft old sh1tes". All for what ever floats your goat behind the sound desk but have a bit of f.cuking self respect, you are at a concert after all. AAAAAND ANOTHER THING…. put hearing protection on the kiddies, you chose to be there without it, they didn't!
    9. VIP, I birthed something evil and wrong in the posh loos, worth it for that alone, actually it was worth it to escape the crowds and have a comfy sit down at times and they had a good bunch of kids doing service, try the Mojitos, they were nice.

apart from that, I'd warned "Sun squirt, hats and shades today people.", did i take my own advice, not really, like a sodding beetroot at the moment. worth it.

oooh, acts caught

Friday - few bits and pieces before Franz Ferdinand and Dandys, enjoyed both immensely despite the psychadelic interlude.

Sat - TCM in immense form, best I've seen them, then on to Therapy?, Hooky and Stranglers. Bit of Kerbdog (that genre is not my bag but they were giving it socks), then Manics (great form), bit of Fanclub (thought they were flat?) and a bit of Orbit before bobos.

Sun - Nick Lowe, Bad Manners, Jack L then into Robert Finlay (nice), a bit of travis (they're nice lads with nice music, possibly damning with faint praise but they seemed decent, I had the two big albums, not paid attention to in 20+ years) but pegged it to get a good spot for Billy, he's great, always great, sound a bit messed up for parts but job done.

I did pop up to see qween, yeah, no, am sure they're grand but no.

Post edited by scruff monkey on

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Went Saturday VIP access as friends pre booked in it long ago but it was the biggest load of S ever.

One guy supposed to be checking wristbands but he never checked mine or anyone else i spoke to.

I walked in and out maybe 20 times and nothing lol, i even asked him eventually and he just said hes not arsed but only checks if they looked dodgy haha.

Once inside literally no where to sit down which is why people book the place to take a break,loads in with no VIP wristbands.

I paid €220 but should have just paid the standard entrance but having said that if i didnt i probably have not got o see probably the best band of the whole event a band called the Valves in the VIP area and they were just deadly.

Covers to every genre you can think of mixing and matching as they go, had the crowd in the palm of their hands.

The main stage sound was the worst ive ever heard at any gig, we were setup just at the sound tent usually a solid spot at gigs but it just seemed a really cheap sound system.

The sound in all of the other stages were much better.

Therapy were great, Peter Hook also, bit disappointed in the Manics set but when they did play the tunes one enjoys they were flawless plus they got a massive crowd.

I loved Teenage fanclub back in the day (anyone remember them playing with Nirvana and The Breeders in the old point not too long before Kurt Cobain passed away) but they were just so boring so decided to go in for some of the tunes in the ibiza tent for a bit.

Finished the night off with my daughter joining us for Riptide Movement, absolutely loved dancing with my daughter to "It all Works Out" just on the nose of 2am.

Overall had a brilliant day, by far the best crowd and vibe ive ever experienced at any gig.

Everyone was so sound with no nonsense happening at all.

I only live 12KM from the event and cycle my mountain bike regularly in the surrounding woods but this was my first time to attend FF.

Fantastic event, everything is no more than a 5 minute walk even with the crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Another hugely enjoyable weekend at pound for pound the best weekend festival we have on this island IMO. Yes was issues with the timing of bands on Saturday at the main stage but other than that it was your usually friendly vibe event and of the headliners I seen Franz Ferdinand,Travis and Manic Street Preachers none left me disappointed and all well attended. Others I thought that was good on the main stage was Tom Meighan,Tony Hadley,Therapy,Bad Manners and Qween who must be the best covered band around at the moment?

I also sampled plenty in other the tents with such a great variety, from Mary Coughlan, Kerbdog to dancing away to DJ sets in the Ibiza. Food and drink was good quality also and the toilets was well maintained unlike some other festivals. Roll on 2026.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭KawaKris

Not long in the door. Brilliant weekend. Highlight was necking Redbreast with the DJ's back stage at the Ibiza tent Friday night. Kudos to UK John.🙏. We (ab)used the VIP access to the best of our ability - used it to cross over & back to the main stage & used the toilets at the back of the food trucks. The whiskey sours were amazing.

The Farm, Alabama 3, Moxie, Peter Hook, The Stranglers, Pillow Queens, Teenage Fanclub, Pogueology & Billy Bragg done it for me. Underwhelmed by Franz F, Manics, Jack L. Missed a load but above all fell back asleep after making a lovely bacon,sausage, egg sambo by the van on Sunday morning & bloody missed Bad Manners.

Wtf…people with their full f***ing dining room 30 yards back from the stage. I'm not codding there was a row of about 12 chairs side by side in a line half way between the sound desk & the stage on Saturday with 1 person sitting, the rest of the morons were standing. I moved one of the chairs to get by and what can only be described as a raving lunatic came straight into my face and told me "this is not a thoroughfare". He got both barrell's of by best english. and ran away like a little puppy.

All in all highly recommended as usual. The crowd & the atmosphere was so chilled all weekend. Well done to all the volunteers (jealous of your food) on making this a beautiful experience.

Just came downstairs after rooting out some t-shirts for ATN. Raring to get going again.

Snarky Snark Snark

The tables, I'd forgotten the bloody tables, f.cuk me.

something really did a number on too many people where they've completely forgotten that public space is not your space, it's shared space.

I think it's probably just the festival changing, as they all do. I'd say there are a lot of people living locally who've gone each year and what it is to them is something different than what it is to the likes of me landing in looking to watch music. What was there this year? 15,000? Something has to give. There just isn't space on the site for that family picnic in the sun scenario. The crowd in general were absolutely dead on. The only assholes I came across were people guarding their chair/table/rug in ridiculous places. He has a job on keeping his original crowd onside while he develops the festival but sure it's always that way, isn't it?

Edit: I see it was 12,000 this year, up from 5,000 in '22, 10,000 in '23. Didn't he reduce numbers again last year after the problems in '23? Anyway, the larger numbers obviously caught some people unawares. And Meagher sees it as capable of doing 15,000. Would ye say there was room for another 3,000 on top of what we had there this year?

Post edited by Stillill42 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Just got home myself

Day 1- Something Happens, Tom Meighan, Franz Ferdinand, Dandy Warhols.

Something Happens put on one hell of an opener. Tom Meighan was entertaining. Dandy Warhols were better than expected. I only really knew Bohemian Like You from the vodafone ads years ago

Day 2- Thumper, Aoife Destruction, Therapy, The Stranglers, Kula Shaker*, Manic Street Preachers*

Kula Shaker and Manic Street Preachers both absolutely fantastic

Day 3- Walked in and out of Rattle and Hum couldnt bear it anything U2, but the little lad loves loud rock music,

Nick Lowe was an absolute gentleman on stage), girlfriend dragged me to Bingo Loco which was fun, Jack L benefited from GAA fans previously watching the Kerry vs Donegal game. Tony Hadley was better than I ever could have imagined. Travis (Fran) was another absolute gentleman. Even jumped down off the stage to the fans. Girlfriend then drags me to Qween I couldn't stomach 5 minutes of it. Left her and our friends. Went back to the camp.

I really enjoyed it.

Cons

Family camping was a nightmare on day 1. Young people shouting until 5am ffs. I only got an hour or two of sleep. One man had enough and went out and confronted them saying this is a family campsite and to keep the noise down.

The campsite should have been mowed. This morning taking down the tent, my shoes, socks and pants leg got soaked from the wet grass

Too many fillers e.g tribute acts. Qween should never have headlined the main stage last night.

Pathway to the toilets. Freshly laid sandy gravel that was getting kicked into your eyes and mouth by people walking up and down.

The Wicklow wolf stout was okay, kind of like a sweeter Beamish, but guinness should have been served.

Snarky Snark Snark

found zero arseholes over the weekend, just people utterly oblivious to the problems they were causing by having their stuff in front of the sound box. None of them I think were being donkeys, but all totally in their own little worlds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭KawaKris

I had equal measures of shock, disbelief & disappointment when I saw the Heineken signs and the realization that there was no Guinness. I dunno about the Beamish, wouldn't drink it if I had the choice and I don't at EP.

Forgot about the main stage scheduling change, how is a man supposed to remember after a few pints that it was half an hour ahead.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,695 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

this was my 4th year there as i live locally, and only went on saturday this year as ATN is too close.

i have to admit i felt the extra numbers big time on saturday. ive never seen the main field as thronged all the way back to the food vans.

and yes, they HAVE to do something about the 'deck chair dickheads'. They were literally laid out in rows so that in the dark of the night it was very, very difficult to traverse the main field. I did see at one stage the security trying to get two people to move, but if it took as long as those two did to move everyone the sun would have imploded by the time the last dick head was moved.

Saturday was absolute capacity, but hearing from others that Friday and Sunday were fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 LLamachara

Probably a tricky balance between maintaining the lovely vibe, allowing chairs and not blocking access.

I found it easy to walk up straight to the front of main stage….once you got past the rows of chairs. Whatever about 4 ppl sitting in a circle, rows of 6 chairs plus in a line was taking the piss.

Forgot to add that the Ibiza tent was great fun all weekend. Would head in whenever there was a lull. Mr C was great fun as was DJ Pippi and Terry Farley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Closing statement from Forest fest.

And that's a wrap on Forest Fest at Emo 2025 !Wow... where do we even begin?

Our hearts are so full after an absolutely incredible weekend of music, magic, and memories in Emo Village. We want to extend our heartfelt thanks to everyone who made this year the best yet!

Artists: A massive thank you for the unforgettable performances! From the anthems of Manic Street Preachers and Franz Ferdinand to the beautiful pop melodies of Travis and Tony Hadley , you brought your absolute A-game. Every single artist on our 5 stages was just phenomenal.

Roadies and Event Crews: Your tireless hard work and dedication behind the scenes are the magic that makes everything run so smoothly.

Volunteers: Your enthusiasm and smiles are infectious! You helped create a welcoming and wonderful experience for everyone.

Security: Thank you for keeping us all safe and secure while we danced the weekend away.
    Vendors: For keeping us all fed and watered with delicious food, amazing craft beers, and fantastic coffee. You fueled the party!

Family Entertainment & Funfair: To Duffy's Funfair for bringing the thrills, and to The School of Irish Archaeology and Little Top Stars Circus for creating a wonderland of fun and discovery for our younger festival-goers!​

and of course Ibiza Rewind Bora Bora music tent, where young and old danced the day away.

Festival Attendees: A massive thank you to all of YOU! Your incredible energy, passion for music, and amazing vibes made this weekend truly special. You are the heart of Forest Fest.

Orbital put on an electric show despite a last-minute line-up change due to unexpected illness. We wish Phil a speedy recovery.

We’d like to acknowledge the late change to the Main Stage schedule on Saturday to accommodate the special tribute to Dolores O’Riordan. With the addition of this meaningful performance and the rollout of our new app, communication wasn’t as clear as it should have been. We’re sorry for any confusion caused and appreciate your patience as we find our rhythm with the new system. We’ve taken your comments on board and will apply what we’ve learned going forward.

We couldn't have done it without each and every one of you.
    We're already reminiscing about the singalongs, the dancing in the forest, and the incredible atmosphere you all created.
    Here's to the memories we made! See you in 2026!

From EMO GAA

We would like to thank our own volunteers for the amazing work over the 5 days, from those who helped out with the parking on Thursday and Friday and to the amazing litter pickers who were there at the crack of dawn each day and then during the day to help make it a clean and safe environment, we are a very small community but we had 100 volunteers and we can't thank you enough. It's great reading all the wonderful comments. Congratulations to Philip on another great festival. Here's to Forest Fest at Emo 2026.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Choochtown

My 3rd FF and my favourite so far.

Only 2 negatives for me.

1. The scramble for space on Friday in general camping. If you're going to charge a premium for camping on top of festival admission then there really needs to be adequate space.

2. The chairs in the arenas. Clear "NO CHAIRS PAST THIS POINT" signs would be more effective than a social media post stating 1/3 or 2/3 of whatever. In fairness the chair people probably don't realise the grief they cause but 6 chairs in a circle take up the space of 20-30 standing punters. At the Mary Couglan gig at least 50 people were forced to experience the gig outside with no view , noise bleed etc. because of selfish chair tossers.

Loads of positives:

1. Such a sound group of stewards/security/volunteers. I hope this doesn't change. It really sets the general good mood of the festival from the off.

2. An astoundingly high percentage of sound attendees. Very very few gig talkers and people unable to hold their drink. A lovely lack of rudeness etc. If only all life's interactions were like this.

3. Campsite toilets. Fair play to organisers for doing their best to keep them clean and replenished even on Monday morning. So many other festivals like to cost cut and abandon the toilets on the last night.

4. The promotion of a few young, upcoming bands. Anyone see "The Youth Play" on the Perfect Day stage? Brilliant stuff!! Maybe a few "tribute" acts could be dropped to make room for some more young bands who would love the exposure and experience?

5. Therapy?, The Stranglers, Hooky, Billy Bragg (my personal highlight of the weekend), Dandy Warhols, the Deadlians, the Magic Numbers all fantastic!! Enjoyed every other act I saw even the ones who wouldn't really be my usual listening.

Roll on 2026!! 🎶

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I arrived what I would consider early on the Friday ~2pm and struggled to find space for a tent, my pal arrived at around 8pm and was very lucky he only had a tiny pop up. Do you really need a sleeping tent and a gazebo as well? A couple of couples also had like 10 man tents with living rooms and kitchens, taking up so much space for two people, I get it's an older crowd but you're at a music festival and the guy I pitched beside was a bit crusty literally because I had the audacity to pitch on the empty space beside him (leaving walking space between the two tents).

Chairs and tables (!) in the arena. Not for me Ted. Unless you have a disability leave them at home, laziness is not a disability. Perhaps more seating provided by the festival towards the back would be better. When I needed to sit down I just sat on the grass outside the Fleadh tent, though obviously weather played a big part there. Chairs should be banned from inside the tents as well, so dangerous.

Other than that, no complaints, though the change to set times was poorly communicated, ended up hanging around the main stage for an hour before Manics not knowing what time they were on at.

I think with an older crowd there seems to be a lot of entitlement. Security on the way in was a bit loosey goosey which was fine for getting cans in. Toilets both at the arena and campsite were not a horror show which is the best you can hope for at a festival. So glad I didn't pay for VIP.

Snarky Snark Snark

the rumour i'd heard was that they didn't check if people had paid for camping, their pricing is a mess with that, they need to massively reduce the menu as it's just too complex and easy to miss things.

1. weekend + camping
    2. weekend - camping
    3. day ticket.

that's it, then upsell your vip lark on top.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

That makes sense, some people in the queue when I was going in didn't understand they needed a separate ticket. I don't know if they turned them away, let them in, or sold them a ticket. The lady checking me in was a bit flustered, she scanned my camping pass, but got distracted and didn't scan my festival ticket, so technically I could have sold it on.

Also, fantastic to see so many Bohs jerseys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭budgemook

I've been to Kaleidoscope for the last few years (gave it a miss this year) so enormous tents and chairs, tables and all sorts of other stuff in the arena have become normal for me and I have developed a skill of navigating around. I don't mind them being there but I'd agree that they shouldn't be allowed in front of sound stage and should not be allowed in the tents full stop. I wonder do a lot of the people with the chairs also attend Kaleidoscope.

Was just there on the Saturday. I had a bet with my mate (who was wearing Oasis one) that we'd see more than 20. He was sure that it wouldn't come close to that. Naturally I won the bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,488 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Im severely injured and was under tremendous pressure to bring a chair but said no way and used crutches to stand , I did fall into an empty chair before manics though

#chairwankers

Ha! I remember seeing someone waving a crutch in the air (at Therapy? maybe??). Impressive enthusiasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Firstly how was the area you pitched your tent in? Was the grass overgrown there too?

the ticket office/scanning area also gave out the wrong bands to certain people.

I paid for me, my girlfriend, toddler = €120 for family camping

Our friends who don't have children booked to the family camp as well so they'd be close to us.

They were all confronted by security returning saying they had the wrong bands. We were all given green camping bands. It was meant to be a light green illuminous band we were issued. We didnt get this until Saturday evening.

Snarky Snark Snark

grass wasn’t short but it’s camping. Wasn’t expecting anything but a grassy field. I wa up at the very back where the vip weekend parking was behind the posh camping and opposite the tail end of the caravans.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Yea when I was getting my weekend ticket, the guy nearly gave me the camping one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I had an absolutely fantastic weekend! I made the long drive down from north Donegal on Thursday evening, eventually rolling into Campervan Site A at about 8:45. As I was being directed to my spot, I spied my mates parked up drinking. I wasn't long in joining them to kick off the weekend.

Friday was a slow start. Only made it into the venue in time for Harvest. I was quite happy to sit outside the tent listening and people watch, which is where I had a brief chat with Bodhrandude. Main stage next for Tom Meighan who put on a good show. He's not short of confidence. Preferred it when they did the Kasabian stuff over his own...it was about a 50/50 split. Franz Ferdinand next up - excellent. Dandy Warhols - great. Into the tent for Alabama 3 - not as good as a couple of years ago but still enjoyable. Lastly, the Daft Punk Tribute. Nice way to round off the evening. My favourite of the day was FF.

Off to an early start on Saturday with Thumper on the main stage. Reliable as ever. Love their sound. Tent next for These Charming Men. One of the highlights of the weekend. Nothing like a TCM singalong. Joyous! Left early as I wanted to see all of Therapy? but the change to the scheduling meant that I wasn't early enough and missed the first ten minutes or so. Great stuff. Saw them on the Troublegum tour last year in Belfast but they seemed much more relaxed throughout this set and they looked to be delighted with the crowd. Hung around for the start of Peter Hook but he wasn't really doing it for me...and after the late night before and the early start, I took myself off to the camper for a snooze. I'd seen The Stranglers last year at EP, so I wasn't too bothered about catching them. Set an alarm so I'd be back in time for Kula Shaker, but they'd obviously been squeezing everything more tightly together than I'd anticipated and only caught the last four tunes. Bad form having an app, a Facebook page and an Instagram page and not informing anyone of the changes to the stage times. Because they finished early, it meant that I could head across to the tent and catch Kerbdog, but bumped into mates outside and ended up chatting to them with one ear on the rocking. Manics were pretty good. Left early to catch all of Teenage Fanclub. Really enjoyed them. Wee bit of Orbital. 'Twas alright. Back to the tent for the tail end of Riptide Movement and a bit of a singalong. Two favourites - TCM and Therapy?

The first thing that got me into the venue on Sunday was hearing that the All Ireland Final was being shown on the big screen. That turned out to be a letdown! The excellent Robert Finlay in the tent made up for it though. Brilliant. Pizza from the Big Blue Bus was really tasty after a long wait. Wee mosh to Pogueology. Great craic. The youngsters from Grooveline were a joy. The Complete Stone Roses were excellent. After singing along to them, Magic Numbers weren't lively enough, so had another singalong to Qween to round of the best Forest Fest yet, for me.

Toilets were spotless with minimal queues all weekend. Chair Wánkers completely did my head in on Saturday and Sunday. Some completely inconsiderate bástards, with no self awareness.

Looking forward to next year already.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Given the demographics of the average chair wanker and Boards user, there must be a few of them on the thread.

All really scared to post something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,488 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,695 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Over to the left hand side of the stage?

Your enthusiasm was infectious