If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Star trek academy series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭Evade

It gets pretty serialised about half way through so it's probably better to start from the beginning and endure the rough first season. Crichton swearing leather trousers is Farscape's version of Riker growing his beard

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I will say the same thing that gets repeated with manys a Sci-Fi: you need to give the entirity of the first season a go. It's not til the back half that the show finds its identity and direction. Until then it was a bit scattershot, and even a little too warmed-up Trek in places. Once scorpius asserted himself and the stakes got properly established, the show took off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,988 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Theres some shows where I just can't get past the production values. Farscape, Babylon 5 and Dune TV series are probably the big 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,618 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I have tried. It's just my hearing is not the best so I need subtitles and anytime I seen and tried to watch it on the TV on whatever channel it was on it did not have subtitles so that was the end of that.

Would love for it to be on somewhere now.

I have tried. Just need subtitles to watch it as said above my hearing is not great.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Whatdya talking about, that Dune TV show was easily the peer of anything Denis Villeneuve has so far produced …

I get what you mean about Babylon 5 though; if ever a show was in dire need of some remastering love, it's that show. Cos otherwise it's a helluva a gap to jump.

I've once more been mainlining BSG clips thanks to the YouTube algorithm, and it's quite something how well those 20+ year FX still hold up. The CGI cylons can be so-so but the ship FX are still very convincing.

Farscape's production values do get a little better in later seasons but it's still rough sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,273 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Farscape's production values were really great at the time I thought. Bit dated now for sure though I think some of the season 3 stuff still holds up well. Far better than Babylon 5 anyway.

Was a massive fan of it in its day (got my username from there) though a lot hasn't aged well unfortunately.

By production I don't just mean the FX and sets. I found the acting quite camp or hammy in the shows I mentioned too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,273 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Ah yes the acting was the part that really didn't age well for me. The "peacekeeper wars" miniseries was really bad in that respect.

They had a pretty narrow pool to chose from to be fair. The guy that played DK did get a lot better, he was Frank in the Last of Us

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

looks like the Doctor is back for the academy series

They’ve a decent cast here in fairness

Star Trek: Starfleet Academy is a bit cumbersome a name. Don't think they need the Starfleet bit.

Not sure I want the Doctor in there. I bet it's just lifted from a fanfic idea that the Living Witness Doctor would be returning around now.

After nonsense like Kovich being Daniels, pandering to the Calypso fans or the desperate attempts to make something of a few glances between TOS Spock and Chapel in SNW or Picard and Crusher I wouldn't be confident.

Post edited by breezy1985 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,411 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Wait, wait, wait. Its set 600 years ahead of Voyager?

Well thats me out then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 526 ✭✭✭eadrom

Yeah, I'm pretty sure it's set after Discovery, after they were sent 600 or whatever years into the future.

So, the new Disco universe? Feic. I have no interest in that era.

As a teenager I was a big fan of the Starfleet Academy series of books but they featured mostly TNG characters as they went through their Starfleet training. Putting that on screen probably is not feasible, but I was hoping it would be set in a familiar time period, not a make-it-up-as-we-go, distant future period.

Actually, I was thinking about this last night. Do you remember Heroes? Zachary Quinto who played Spock in the 2009 Star Trek film was in it. In that, there were 5 or 6 key chatacters, and episode 1 was devoted to one, and episode 2 to the next and so on, and then episode 10, it came back to the first one.

They could do a ST: Starfleet Academy with TNG characters, in a similar vein to those books I read ~25 odd years ago. Select 5 or 6 or 7 central characters, give them each a character-centric episode, showing their struggles in Starfleet. Have them bump into their future crewmates at some point.

It could work. I'd have more interest in that than Saved by the BellKlaxon in the 30th century.

That format has become terribly overdone. Pretty much has been since everyone copied it after season 1 of lost.

Except Disco, where every episode was Burnham centric.

Herself: What are you watching?

Me: ST: Disco.

Herself: Which episode?

Me: The one where Burnham saves the day at the end of the episode

Herself: Yeah Ive seen that one.

It's about as overdone as "hot takes" about how Discovery is all about Burnham.

Lads the show is 8 years old now. We get it we know it's pure and utter sht so can we stop making every Star Trek conversation about Discovery.

That was presumably directed at me.

8 years old? It only ended 9 months ago.

In your opinion, is there anything not overdone?

First trailer/teaser just dropped –

"DUTY! HONOUR! SERVICE!" — sounds a bit jingoistic for my tastes.

I know the lines get blurred (or even crossed) from time to time but I prefer the less militaristic take on Starfleet. This trailer's got a whiff of US military propaganda about it.

There's nothing inherently militaristic about those traits though.

I do have the strange urge to like to know more after watching it. Maybe it's the grey.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 26,544 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

It's very hard to get any sense of the tone they're going for there. If they're going for a younger and newer audience, then a lot of it is going to be wasted. A teen audience isn't going to know who Sito Jaxa is on that memorial wall, or the significance of a Jem'hadar in the fleet, or any of the cameos. Tilly doesn't appear I note as well.

I can see this show either being exactly like Discovery or trying so hard to be "proper Trek" that it ends up being a load of drivel about "values" without any of the cleverness or nuance of actually good Trek.

Judging by the trailer it will be the latter. They will watch episodes like Let This Be My Last Battlefield, Measure of a Man or Duet and mimic the language and settings while having absolutely no clue about the impact of those episodes or how to match it.

Ms

They will know or have heard if James T Kirk though.

I like the look of this. Can't be any worse than Disco and hopefully it will be a lot better.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,177 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Now they're just fcuking with us lol

1000080985.jpg

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

Ms

I like this,

1000013224.jpg

Live long and Prosper