Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I really wish you’d stop that horse shite about Kilkenny guaranteed an All-Ireland semifinal every year, Dublin proved this year and Galway have shown on plenty of occasions what they’re capable of. Plus the fact that I can’t remember the last time we beat Wexford twice in a row and they certainly have the upper hand on us in recent years.

Obviously Leinster is not as competitive as Munster ( something that definitely works against us imo) but nobody in Leinster is guaranteed anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Have to agree with you. Leinster is not a walk over like Munster was not when Limerick won it for 6 years in a row. You have to be on top of your game. If your not you will be beaten. Dublin Galway and Wexford are battle hardened teams and if your off it they will punish if they are on it.

I hope all the fools who spread rumours and hearsay about one of our great former players & selectors who couldn’t attend the jubilee on Sunday feel like fools now they realize the real reason.

Condolences to the mcgarry family on the loss of their dad after battling illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,777 ✭✭✭Village87

For the next 2/3 years Leinster will be weak. Dublin will be getting stronger , Galway are at rock bottom now but 2/3 years time they will come again, Offaly will need another few years and Wexford are in decline. Nothing guaranteed but that 6 in a row should be getting to 8/9 before we see another major threat. Condolences to the McGarry family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 AhBoyDelaney

McGarry Family-

Deepest condolences to all the McGarry family on the loss of Seamus. May He RIP.

Hopefully this will show people the real reason not pure speculation as to why James was not there Sunday. A lad who has given everything to his club and county should have been given more respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Nedflanders02

I'd say Dublin, Galway and Wexford are probably saying that we're in decline also and they will think they have a chance of knocking us off our perch. Realistically we are going to have to go to Dublin and Galway next year and get wins, we've never beaten Galway in Galway in the round robin and never have it easy in Parnell Park. I think a complete refresh is needed with the panel, for too long players have been safe in the knowledge that once they get on the panel they're place is secure. I'd love if a new Derek or a new manager decided to start afresh this winter let players know the panel will be picked on how players perform with the clubs, hold trials to challenge new players to perform and see if we can unearth a few newer players in their mid 20's who may previously have been overlooked. As a lot of people have said we need to start thinking out of the box, Paddy Deegan is much maligned around here, he maybe lacks a small bit to be a top quality defender but I think he could be a real asset to us at half forward or even full forward where his qualities could be maximised. He's just one example but there are others who with a change of position could flourish. Tipp didn't do anything revolutionary last weekend to win the game, they fought ferociously and hunted in packs and with the ball they went long exposing the weak Cork full back line and not giving Cork a platform to launch their attacks. I don't think that requires a tactical genius on the sideline but where Cahill was brilliant was in the belief and the spirit he instilled in his players, everyone of those players believed 100% that they would win the game and that when needed the bench would be emptied to drive them over the finish line. That's what we have badly missed and what Cody in his pomp was best at, getting the belief and spirit in his teams that they wouldn't be beaten. I don't think there is a problem with commitment or effort in our players but deep down in the semi final when Tipp got a head near the end i think there was a lack of belief in the players what we would win it and when the game was there to be won they hesitated and doubted themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Exactly no point making sweeping statements if someone told you 14 months ago when Cork beat Tipp in Thurles by 18 points what would transpire for Tipp this year they'd think your off your rocker,in fairness I taught they would improve in the next 2-3 years but the speed of the turnaround shocked me, nobody of us really know what's around the corner.

Post edited by Billy Ocean on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭neverbet

That's three you have named, a team comprises 15 and a winning squad 26. You say you are fed up going to Croke Park supporting KK teams with the likes of Deegan on it, perhaps going to Nowlan Park first would be a start. Give the players that wear the jersey the respect they deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 nippy corner foward

Talking to a player the other day and he was given a s&c plan to work on so that would tell me derek is staying.i have absolutely nothing against derek lyng he was a great warrior for kk and bleeds kk. He managed kk to a u20 title something we haven't done in a long time but why is he just allowed stay another year if he wants to? It was said here the other day he has new selectors. Who are they?Like most of the players on the team his position is safe. Winning leinster is hardly the bench mark. Lost 2 semi finals tamely and 2 league finals. We need to get this idea of losing to the eventual champions as a achievement out of our heads. Its not good enough. We have come on here every year for the last 4 years saying we need to find a corner back and a center back but he tried no one new corner back. Blanch and carey jumped in and out of 6 until richie came back. Is derek under presure to start richie or tj will be unhappy? If thats the case then derek would want to have a long look in the mirror.surely to god they sat down over the winter and had some kind of plan for the league. Id put the kerry man in center back and see how he goes. I cant understand how puckouts are so poor. I dont know what they do with puckouts at training. Theres also talk of billy ryan going traveling.huw will be a terrible loss. How is it kk are so slow to bring players through compared to other counties. I know liam gathered up what young lads he wantes and trained them fierce hard in the winter. Kk will be hoping ivan bolger,michael brennan and marty murphy will be in the dump this winter training. He probably needs to look at more 24 or 25 year olds. We desperately need a shake up in the back room team. Pj might ring kieran donaghy and bring him up to help out the back room team but i cant see pj and co thinking outside the box.

As i said the other day and we all know how tight the county board are but tom mullally,brian dowling and david herity are miles in front of some of the people involved with kk gaa. I presume both underage coaches retired but nothing would surprise me. Hopefully pj and co are workingaround the clock and impressing tom mullally or trying to convince brian dowling to come home. It will be intresting to see who they appoint for the 2 underage teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

WhatsApp rumour around about 'war' in the Cork dressing room at ht ....

IF ITS TRUE , it probably explains the 2nd half performance, and the cancellation of a homecoming...

IF ITS NOT TRUE, it's a good piece of fiction to mesh the collapse and no homecoming together .....

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

I would expect all the players to have an S&C program tailored for them. This would be the case I presume no matter who is in charge next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭jamesbond2022

I don’t think that would be any indication whether a manger is staying or not as you say it’s just good practise to make sure players are in good condition and have a bit of structure for the next few months and are ready to rock come nov Dec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭blackcard

I like the new murals of Pa Dillon, Ted Carroll, Chunky O'Brien, Henry Shefflin and Tommy Walsh at Nowlan Park. I understand there are going to be a number of others to be done

Post edited by blackcard on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Savage, where are they in the stadium? (I'm living abroad these days so not sure when I'll see them, only been in the park once in ten years! (And that was for the 22 homecoming:-())

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭blackcard

They are on the walls of Nowlan Park facing Hebron Road. I will take some photos the next time I pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 nippy corner foward

Condolences to the family and not that it matters in the grand scheme of things but seamus passing was unexpected and wouldn't of stopped james going sunday because they didn't this coming so quick some it wasnt false rumours. This is guaranteed fact.

Personally find those rumours hard to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/123666740#Comment_123666740

Here's the stencils done so far, they're by Paul Murphy from Lisdowney.

1000037017.png

Here's his Instagram, talented man.

https://www.instagram.com/paulmurphypainting?igsh=MXAxOHFjaG9oMWtjZQ==

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭Marrooned

did Michael fennelly resign his position as head of the academies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭kk.man

Something happened, 6 points up at half time despite tipps sweeper, Pat Ryan at the edge of tunnel when cork reentered the pitch, only scored two points in the second half. Hoggy missed a sitter of a point. Tipp are a good team but that good. Team don't do a home coming. Team don't travel home together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

If they fought at half time it's just another form of bottling it. Couldn't manage the day and it's pressures without a blow up.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭jamesbond2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭mooz

I believe so. An incalculable loss to the squads and underage set up. Where do we go from here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Anyone know the reasons? If he wasn't getting the support needed from the board it would be great if he just went public and said so, there'll be no pressure on them to improve things without high profile guys willing to say what the problems are publicly.

A team 6 points up at half time in an All Ireland doesn't have a blazing row in the dressing room, what happened in 2nd half was a collective mental breakdown, Tipp got the upper hand and they could never wrestle back momentum, once the heat came on they fell to pieces, it was like Rory Mcilroy all those years before he finally won at Augusta. Rumours is the homecoming decision was decided pre game a loss= no homecoming regardless of the circumstances, something might have happened after the game alright but half time sounds a bit farfetched.

A mental breakdown ? A senior Cork hurling team, battled hardly from a Munster campaign, beat Dublin out the gate, good few all stars from last year and they only score 2 points...come on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭MfMan

Ryan and all the other selectors lined the wall of the corridor when Cork made their entrance to the pitch before the game also though. Wouldn't read much into that.

He should have been one of the last men leaving the dressing room after half time.

Yeah the pressure of 20 years without a title, pressure of the favourites tag, pressure of the Tipp challenge poised was to much and they wilted. They showed signs of it already this year with the Limerick game in May and how they nearly threw it away v Clare.