Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meanwhile on the Roads...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,105 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

on the balance of probability, i would agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭JMcL

That's a road I'd hate to cycle. I've driven it several times to get to/from Kenmare and it's a perfect storm of the worst aspects of R roads - mostly narrow, bendy, busy main route to a popular location, and impatient drivers.

RIP to the poor man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Pause for thought next time a motorist wonders why you're not decked out head to toe in hi viz with 20 flashing lights "if it could make even a small difference to keeping you safe"…

Ever-rising height of car bonnets a ‘clear threat’ to children, report says | Road safety | The Guardian

As always the point comes back to perspective and proportionality. And the refusal of motorists to consider that they're personal choices are a significant factor in how safe/ unsafe our roads are.

"if it could save just one life"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,416 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

every day on my commute there’s a section of road and there’s always a car waiting to overtake me (I’m cycling). The road is long enough for one car to overtake (if no oncoming cars). Nearly every time the first car overtakes me, a second car usually follows (glued to the rear bumper of the first car!).
    This is bad enough but occasionally a THIRD car comes along and blindly follows the second car resulting in the oncoming cars having to pull over into the ditch.
    it’s getting worse out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,411 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

It's like the distracted conga overtake. Three cars following each other closely. First car gives plenty of room, second less so, third barely moves the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,416 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

And I bet if you asked any one of those drivers why they were overtaking in such a manner, they would say they were "forced" to overtake because I was cycling too slow!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I recently had a van driver push past me on the Oldtown Rd (L5065) in Celbridge - they were not waiting behind me or anything - they approached and passed me without slowing down (based on sound). Strava has me averaging 41.8 km/h along there.

I caught up with them 2Km further up the road at a set of traffic lights where they told me that I had been "holding the road to ransom". You can't really reason with people who don't want to be reasoned with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

At 1.8m I'm pretty close to average height for an Irish man.

Generally speaking the contact point between me and vehicle categories are as follows:

*regular car: knee

*Small SUV type like XC60:hip

*Ford Ranger type:Gut height

Along with the slope of bonnet the contact point between vehicle and pedestrian is key in term of pedestrian movement after impact.

A big problem with heavy vehicle like the Ranger is the size requirements of the A pillars in order to support the vehicle in terms of roll over event. The human eye doesn't see great laterally and the bit nearest the frame (i.e. the A pillar, dash and roof) is in and area often missed even when a driver does look.

Given the increased risk (increased risk due to visibility impairment and also bonnet height) there is an argument for limitation on use or at the very least training in their use particularly vis a vis the increased risk to pedestrian particularly small ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭sugarman20

A 19-year-old cyclist has died after being struck by a van in Co Dublin.

The fatal incident occurred at the junction of Griffeen Avenue and Balgaddy Road in Lucan shortly after 7.30am.

Cyclist (19) dies after being struck by van in Lucan, Co Dublin

IT article link

I couldn't agree more with you. I've often had the same thoughts when walking past the front of one of those massive yokes - you get a really clear idea of the kind of damage you'd suffer in even a low speed collision. I hope we're reaching that tipping point of public consciousness around the issue of motor vehicles and use of roads - it's a bit like at the height of the tobacco and alcohol advertising eras, where the idea that we should be more aware of the products, the potential harm, the need for responsibility, the impact that they have on people who don't use them, the idea of encouraging people to join the unrestricted use/ abuse of them, the idea of the public health issues that followed those products as something that should be tolerated as an unfortunate thing - those ideas would have been met with scorn. Thank god social media wasn't around back then because I think the progressive reforms that came about would have taken a lot longer to achieve.

But yeah, the idea that anyone who got their licence aged 17 in their mum's Yaris should be able to get lash around the country in a Ford Ranger is just crazy. If you drive down the countryside - proper farmland territory - it's mostly aul lads driving battered Pajeros and Land Cruisers in no major rush, give you the traditional finger off the wheel salute as you pass etc. Whereas in towns and cities it's spotless Ford Rangers, Hiluxes and Range Rovers - not remotely necessary for what they're being used for. They're just accessories, potentially lethal ones at that.

"it's mostly aul lads driving battered Pajeros and Land Cruisers in no major rush, give you the traditional finger off the wheel salute as you pass etc."

There's an area of Tipperary where the salute is a slap with the back of the hand to windscreen, like one is trying to kill a wasp.

Both hands then return to top of steering wheel to support the upper trunk and head 😀

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,105 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

on monday, south parallel road along the runway at dublin airport, i was passing through the ~200m long stop/go system which has the road down to a single lane. didn't stop white van man overtaking me anyway. he got that universal 'what the hell?' gesture from me, and then slammed on to let me know he'd given me plenty of room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭Macy0161

But yeah, the idea that anyone who got their licence aged 17 in their mum's Yaris should be able to get lash around the country in a Ford Ranger is just crazy. If you drive down the countryside - proper farmland territory - it's mostly aul lads driving battered Pajeros and Land Cruisers in no major rush, give you the traditional finger off the wheel salute as you pass etc. Whereas in towns and cities it's spotless Ford Rangers, Hiluxes and Range Rovers - not remotely necessary for what they're being used for. They're just accessories, potentially lethal ones at that.

Not so sure about that anymore - plenty of farmers with the Rangers - you hear the rumble of the mud tyres as they speed a long quite the distance away!

A big problem with heavy vehicle like the Ranger is the size requirements of the A pillars in order to support the vehicle in terms of roll over event. The human eye doesn't see great laterally and the bit nearest the frame (i.e. the A pillar, dash and roof) is in and area often missed even when a driver does look.

It's a problem on even more modest vehicles as weight has gone up. Our family car is a Ford SMax and the A pillar is huge, with the B pillar being fairly chunky. I was at a roundabout in it probably not long after we got it, and about to move off when I realised there was a lad on a bike that had been completely hidden by the pillar. I now make sure to move my head to make sure I've seen around them regardless of what I'm driving, but with the distracted 5h!t show that constitutes driving these days you'd imagine a lot of drivers would be oblivious

i had similar once in an octavia; whatever speed and angle i approached the roundabout at, the A pillar completely obscured the cyclist till i was close enough to give him a right old scare.

Combine limited sightlines, inattention and apparent inability to use an indicator more than 2 seconds before making a turn (if at all) and it makes cycling in traffic much more difficult than it should be.

The indicator thing especially p!sses me off. I almost get less annoyed by the people who don't bother at all. Had one taxi driver flick his on literally as he was making the left turn across the cycle lane into Donnybrook petrol station yesterday. Seemingly outraged that I was sitting on his left rear bumper as he slowly proceeded from the lights, oblivious to the fact that my options were either a) plough on up his inside in the cycle lane and risk being left hooked by a non-indicating car or b) pull right out of the bus lane and overtake him in the main traffic lane and risk being mown down/ balsted out of it by MGIF drivers behind or squeezed between him and an overtaking vehicle, or c) do what I did and give him priorty to make up his bloody mind as to what he was doing. He was foaming at the mouth as he finished making his turn and I looked back at him with a WTF look on my face.

Which brings me to another thing that really grinds my gears about the modern motor industry - the poxy, style-over-function indicator lights. Remember the days where they used to be a big orange square? They're borderline invisible now. "if it would save just one life"…

All of my rants for the day over now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,901 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Cartalk Newstalk did a piece on motorists watching screens, included a voxpop with Dublin taxi drivers, and the reporter trying to drive with a sports event on adjacent in-screen. One sms said a taxi driver in Greece with no english watching an english language programme whilst driving - he was reading the subtitles..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Ive driven a Ford Ranger, the viewing from the cabin is awful, it is actually a cramped cabin despite the space of the vehicle. It may actually be one of the worst designed vehicles I have ever driven, safety of VRUs aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭p15574

I wonder if this one is even legal? Though it has an Irish reg (albeit with an illegal plate), so they got it registered somehow. F450.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭cletus

Is there a list of cars that are illegal to own here? I always figured as long as you paid the VRT you could bring it in.

there seem to be different rules around importing secondhand cars, compared to selling them new; someone once told me that if a car can pass the NCT it can be sold here secondhand, even if the car would be 'illegal' to sell new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭elchupanebrey

I wonder if they paid for 4 parking spots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭khamilton

Was in a district court recently where a drink driving case happened to be running.

Garda gave very clear evidence of being alerted to early morning erratic driving, attending an observing erratic driving, approaching car smelling alcohol, gave all details of arrest, caution, sample, doctor attending in station etc etc.

No cross examination.

All other state evidence agreed Dr, other Garda, etc.

In layman's language Accused wasn't after a couple of pints, he was sh1tfaced.

Garda gave time of notification of erratic driving and arrest as being within a 10 mins window. He gave all other times regarding samples, doctor, charging etc.

He didn't give the precise time of observing the erratic driving, and Accused solicitor got a direction from judge; case dismissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Johnners1878

That's a thundering disgrace - I thought the days of that level of gombeenism were over, but obviously not. The judge should be ashamed. Hopefully the driver is a marked man now.

A disgrace alright. What was the reason? A dot missing over an i or something? Motoring cases seem to be ones where the legal system fights tooth and nail to acquit.

They have to meet European safety regulations - for example, the Cybertruck woefully fails (probably - I don't think it's been tested). So rather than a list of of illegals cars, it'd be the reverse - a list of cars that meet the required standard. That's my understanding anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

It's a lot easier to get away with drink driving than people think. I've a neighbour who got away with it for about 5 years until they finally got her off the road. There was one week where she was caught three times, and one of those involved her still holding a mug of wine when she was stopped.

I also showed up as a witness in court, three times, against a drunk driver, and he just never showed up to court. Haven't heard anything in about two years.

So much wasted time and effort wasted for judges to just throw these cases out.

others will know better than me - but i don't think it's that simple; if the above was the case, you'd not be allowed import a 1950s classic american car either, that there's no cutoff date for the age of a secondhand car being allowed vs not allowed.

Would the fact they'd be classified as vintage make the difference? There are reductions on insurance, and emissions take into account the age (actually this is the case for non-vintage as well - a 2010 car won't be expected to meet the standards of a 2021 doing the NCT for the first time).

Again, no expert on this.