General gaming discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,554 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,371 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

There is a 7 hour YouTube video of the minds eye campaign. I flicked through it. Doesn't look broken anyway. Also doesn't look like a epic adventure either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,771 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Sorry to disappoint, but the game is locked to... ahem... 30fps (if lucky) right now, so couldn't play much of it. It looks good. Mostly. There's a story, it might be serviceable. The little bit of driving felt airy. The combat is... basic. And no feedback. Them frames do drop a lot… I can't play anymore because of that. I appreciate what they're trying, but it has released far too early. It's not broken (that I've seen anyway) like Cyberpunk was, but its also not finished. My bad decision making continues.

I am a bit disappointed, I was genuinely hoping it would be better, warts and all. I just can't do 30fps anymore (Revenge of the Savage Planet got less time due to the same locked 30), but I hope they manage to get it up to scratch. It's probably a big ask, and it's already written off by most, so it'll be some turnaround if they manage it. It's not listed on CEX yet... maybe if I go early I'll get a good price before they cop on to it!

There's an interesting story behind all this. I'm all for giving new games a go, even ones I know I won't like (Elden Ring, any turn based game), so no harm with the purchase. Will be keeping an eye on it (pun unavoidable), holding on to those tiny strands of hope that it'll become good... tiny, tiny strands...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Sounds like most of the fears came through sadly. Fair play for going with your heart and giving it a bash. Least with physical there's always a decent chunk back from cex if needed (p.s. on games they don't have listed before I've sent them message with box photo and barcode on messenger and got a price within 24 hours)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,554 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Yupp fair play for giving it a go man. I remember i really wanted to get Mafia 2 on release but so many middling reviews put me off. Got it about a year later and loved it, raging with myself i put it off for so long, sometimes you just gotta throw the dice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,119 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

The best thing about this game is you can turn on taps and flush the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Its wayyyyy worse than I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Possible GTA 6 info leak

Alleged new info on GTA 6 has leaked, revealing massive details about the game:

The world will feature over 700 enterable shops, including malls and skyscrapers with functional elevators. The story will be split into 5 chapters, and the 6-star wanted level is back. A weight gain/loss system and a relationship bar for main characters Jason and Lucia have been added.

The mini-map is rectangular with pink waypoints, and character switching now lets Jason and Lucia instantly swap while completing missions together. You’ll carry limited weapons, but can store more in car trunks.

Expect gore and dismemberment, like in Red Dead Redemption 2. Jason has a Deadeye-style ability to slow time and target weak spots; Lucia has a similar but weaker version.

Trailer 2 reportedly only shows content from chapters 1–3, as 4 and 5 are still in development. Underwater areas will include secrets and treasures, and the interaction system lets you greet or antagonize NPCs—who will react when you’re visibly armed.

Driving is being described as the best in the series. There are unique missions like spearfishing a shark, infiltrating a gang of bodybuilders as Lucia, and one where cops betray each other. Chapter 5 is being reworked after cuts.

Jason has a strange friend named Donnie, who also works for a character called Brian. Lucia has a child who appears early in the game but doesn’t seem central to the plot.

Vice City is confirmed to be the largest city in the game. Lucia starts with an ankle monitor, but it’s removed early and doesn't affect gameplay. Yes—both male and female strippers will be included.

❌ Content that was cut or not included:
    No prone (crawling) ability

No dual wielding

No full nudity scenes

No Disney World parody

Pets can't be bought, though Jason owns a pet iguana you can feed

The map doesn’t include a Florida panhandle-style area

No burglaries, but store robberies are possible

No music through AirPods (yet)

The 2022 Jay Norris leak reference was cut

According to GameRoll, this leak comes from a source who previously revealed Jason and Lucia’s full names ahead of Trailer 2's release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,176 ✭✭✭Cordell

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2025-06-11/inside-the-dragon-age-debacle-that-gutted-ea-s-bioware-studio

“Dragon Age had a high-quality launch and was well-reviewed by critics and those who played,” Wilson later said on an earnings call. “However, it did not resonate with a broad enough audience in this highly competitive market.”

Right, so it's the market's fault. Cool. They have learned nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,703 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"You’ll carry limited weapons, but can store more in car trunks."

Fun...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,119 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'm sure it won't be at all annoying in a game where you regularly destroy and change cars every few minutes.

It's GTA. I want half the stock of AmmuNation stored in my arsehole at all times for whenever I want them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Higgo84

I agree. Not being able to hold all your weapons will be very annoying. Did they not see all the comments from RDR 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭McFly85

I can’t wait to leave the car unarmed because I forgot to take my weapons out of the boot before I left🙄

I’ll never understand Rockstars decisions to put all of these people maintenance systems in their games, they don’t add any immersion, just annoyance!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,119 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Hey cousin, I know you are on a mission but I borrowed all your guns. Hope you don't need them. If you want them back then come over and we can play bowling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,771 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Hey baby, I know you are on a mission but I borrowed all your guns. Hope you don't need them. If you want them back then come over and we can make out.

FYP.

Better yet, running back to your car to get weapons while you're on a murder spree only to find your car has been towed because it was parked too close to a fire hydrant because realism.

In fairness, a CEO on an earnings call is not going to say "We f*cked up by dicking around with it".

Not saying they won't learn all the wrong lessons from what happened, but on an earnings call like that they are always going to blame external factors first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,176 ✭✭✭Cordell

No, this was a earnings call, not a PR or press release. So bar the coarse language that's exactly what he should have said: we made a mediocre game that didn't sell enough to even break even, these are the reasons why, and this is what we're changing going forward.

An earnings call is public, and done with shareholders, investors, financial analysts and the media. It's about the financial status of the company. They're not going to get into the nitty-gritty of analysing what went wrong with a particular game (at least, not unless directly asked). They're also not going to take too much responsibility because then the takeaway from shareholders/investors is "You're running the company, so you're not doing your job correctly. You might lose us money or at least not return the level of profits we want. You go, you lose your bonus, or maybe we pull our money out."

So instead, they will blame it on external factors as much as possible, while probably also distracting by saying "We lost X on Veilguard, but we've earned 3X with our recent changes to Fifa & Madden! Yay, Money!"

Again, I'm not saying EA won't learn all the wrong lessons from what happened with DA:Veilguard. I just wouldn't take what's said on an earnings call to be their actual accounting of what went wrong with Veilguard, because an earnings call is about trying to reassure and placate existing and potential investors, and attributing blame to any other potential causes other than themselves. What changes they make or what lessons they learned internally within the company could be a different story.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Ha, there's zero chance that a CEO is going to tell investors, the people that ultimately control his renumeration, that he screwed up. I mean, it's public, it'd be like putting on your CV "Yes, I totally messed this job up, but please hire me anyway".

Sure, people can read between the lines anyway, but it's a game that everyone plays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭McFly85

Speaking of Dragon Age, I’ve recently gone through both of the Knights of the Old Republic games and itching for more old Bioware. I’ve never played any DA game before but Origins and Inquisition seem to run fine on the deck, I assume Origins should be the one to start with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,863 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Looks like Sony are refunding some digital MindsEye orders due to it being so bad. Crazy how it was released in such a bad state but not that surprising given multiple issues the last few weeks.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Is Skull and Bones worth a whirl? I see it's on PS Plus now.

Can't go wrong with either. Both fun games even with the usual bioware tropes.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,117 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Played around 30 mins of the Ninja Gaiden Ragebound demo last night, and while it's smooth and fun with pleasingly agile platforming it felt like there was something lacking. Standard combat seemed fairly rote, and too reliant on some assigned enemies giving you a brief power up to slice through armoured enemies. Sometimes that means you just wait til the right enemy appears, which is tedious. It's solid enough, but given the last combat heavy 2D game I played was the sublime Nine Sols - probably the best 2D combat I've ever experienced - it just was OK rather than great. Only a demo of course, so will see if the main game has more depth.

Also played through Elechead while travelling recently and that was a really smart puzzle game that packs its ideas into a nice 3-hour package. Also has one of the more pleasingly demented 'true endings' I've encountered in a game :P

Continuing to love Skin Deep. What a joy to see a game that just revels in emergent chaos. Every level has the same basic structure and aesthetic (don't expect Dishonoured style level variety), but tweaks to the available toolset really encourage experimentation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Inquisition is funky on the Deck and the control scheme was never right. Real shame because it's such a great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Xofpod

I remember Bioware's Jade Empire being a blast at the time. Not sure it's available on any platforms now, although they may have adapted it to a mobile version at some point…

Definitely on PC. Gog would be the best option but think it's on steam as well.