Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,836 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Christ I’ve said it before, but fooking quit starting every email on the same thread with hi, or even worse “hi, I hope this email finds you well.” One hi to start is enough. After this it’s easy.. their name and get on with it. It looks so sillyand juvenile sending hi hi hi hi hi to the same person all bleedin day.

I don’t even give a single hi. I just start with a good morning, or just their name, and communicate in a clear and respectful manner.. I don’t need silly hi’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Forum, unbork thyself!

I wrote a post at 15:34 on this thread that shows as last post on this thread, but it's not on this thread

Edit….now it shows after 5 mins…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,526 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Those 'freezedried' jelly's are vile

Picked up a bag in Aldi, thought my teeth were going to fall off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

My YT algorithm has lost the plot. All suggestions of things I usually watch have instantly vanished, replaced with a load of influencer drek that I have never watched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭BP_RS3813

You would think with all the data they have on us they would be able to get our recommendations perfect but I still get useless irrevalent stuff to me.

I spend basically all my money on running gear - carbon shoes,singlets, split shorts, tights etc you name it. Its all I am interested in.

Garmin has enough biological and location data (Heart rate, age, weight, etc) that someone could easily figure out where I will be and when for the next while.

They could only advertise that to me but no, I get ads for new football boots. I have not watched a football game in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

Solicitors and their legalese.

Third email in a same day exchange:

Dear Mr Dan Steely,

We refer to your email of "today's date" which rests with you.

Yours sincerely,

Company name. (No named person)

What, is your email tired?

Are you worried I might not understand that your email relates to the conversation we are engaged in.

Are you scared I'll stalk you or something if i know the name of the person I'm talking to?

I suppose big fancy fees need big fancy language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭Caquas

Sorry, but that's not a trivial matter.

There is something fundamentally wrong with an organisation when its managers can't manage themselves and dump their problems delegate issues when a deadline approaches. You might hope this problem will go away if you get promoted but it won't - the problem is much higher up and may be systemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,918 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Out for a nice walk earlier, it’s warm, calm and got home beating the rain by literally three minutes, but two dodgy scummy looking fellas on bikes cycling very slowly down the road, shifty, heads going 360° watching everyone and everything.. I get inside, look out the window whilst removing my jacket and one is about 20 meters ahead, other is sorta keeping lookout as the first one tries my neighbours big back gate by giving a quick solid two pushes and when no movement, immediately cycling off…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,210 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

The fook is going on here?! Has Boards been handed over to the any and all random spam bots, now? Vanilla is clearly not capable of monitoring itself, and the volunteer mods have better things to do than fill in for an inept security system.

Here I thought the temu bots were bad enough, now all this other nonsense appearing. Entire front page of spam AGAIN. C'mon Boards, abandon the Vanilla, it's not bloody working!

Oh for the days of the occasional glitch of vBulletin… (sigh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭JayRoc

Every single morning when I look at boards the majority of the page is spam threads. It looks absolutely cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

Entire site is gone to the dogs.

I'd love to see the visitor figures. Back in the day you could see how many users were online at any given time. There's be, literally, thousands online for things like the toy show or a big Ireland match.

Bugs and glitches everywhere, months to get anything addressed, very little acknowledgement from on high……..I haven't seen a reboot go this badly since Hailo changed their name.

I've also asked for the visitor figures to be displayed but obviously they are to embarrassed to show them.

Post edited by The Continental Op on

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,876 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i'm an electric ireland customer; i have a login to allow me to view my account, pay bills, etc.

electric ireland also send out mails about their rewards for customers (discounts, competitions etc.)

do you think my login works for that? nope, i've to create a separate account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,824 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

It's 100% a problem with my manager. Unfortunately, they're the Head of our function, so there's nowhere above them to go. I was at my desk at 7.10 this morning to get this particular deliverable done before deadline, but it still hasn't gone out because they haven't reviewed it yet. I can absolutely guarantee that I'll be told I need to be more organised in future and start it further in advance of the deadline, which I would happily do, if they didn't keep moving goalposts and adding last minute content that makes that virtually impossible to do.

The mother gets good news from latest scan on fractured arm. Full recovery expected, healing well. There had been doubts at the start…given her age.

Just 24 hours after latest scan, this morning and the happiness and relief, some stupid fückin prick carrying around tools, not watching where they are going, just brushes against the injured arm. She’s in immediate pain…

If a person is injured, has a health problem, has had a medical / physical trauma…consciously give them an extra metre of space for christ sake. It’s common sense, courtesy. Person knows about their problem and big cast visible …. And even if not, no person at that age or any of us at any age needs some moron knocking into them with armfuls of gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭Caquas

You have every right to be annoyed by this non-trivial messing. And getting criticised afterwards must really sting.

Everyone has a boss - even the CEO - but you may not have to access to that level.

If you are not ready to jump ship, be sure to protect yourself by logging all interactions e.g. send your boss a one-line email confirming you will follow-up on oral instructions. If your boss is consistently singling you out for this mistreatment, you may have a claim for constructive dismissal.

In any case, try to stay positive.

TA that an online repeat prescription for a €7 tube of ointment cost €25.

Actually, where's the Bloody Raging thread?

TA that my favourite underpants have lost their elastic. Worst of all I'd been keeping an eye on Dunnes for the last 6 months to see if they'd ever get the same type back in again. Alas no. I've now got the trauma of having to buy underpants of a different style.

Ditto socks. Dunnes used to stock thick socks that I really like. I've warn through about a dozen pairs and I'm down to my last pair and they aren't long for this world. Dunnes haven't had those particular socks in stock for a couple of years.

Yes I do have other pairs of underpants and socks but I can't get the ones I like.

Sock Shop bamboo socks from TK Max were the only socks to keep my feet dry. Loved them. Lasted a good few years but time eventually came for some new ones. Went back in, got same socks again, same label, same style. Only difference, this time, wet feet. They had changed the blend.

WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,152 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Can't beat M+ S for smalls. Aldi socks are great too when they have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭JayRoc

There's a nice kind of white runners/shoes Penneys sell and they go with everything and they're comfy and they look grand. Never know what time of year they might pop up or even if they will so when I see 'em I buy three pairs.

Same craic when I find a pair of jeans that fits me really well, I go back the next day and buy another couple

my older reliable electric shaver looks like it’s for the scrap heap. One of the better ones which I have about 14/15 years, still charging fast, holds a charge, works more then perfectly but they’ve stopped making the blades for them, can’t be got in boots, any other chemist or Philips own website either…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,952 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

To @The Continental Op , I took jocks off the line to find the elastic gone .

Awfully annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Hold My Hand

Bought a different brand of cat food. Sachets are awful. I’m getting more cat food on me than in the bowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Finding the time to do garden stuff. It's like the Day of the Triffids around our gaff atm.

Read the first sentence and assumed the next one was going to be that the cat wouldn't eat it. Thats a much more common TA than the sachets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,067 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Joggers and fast walkers dragging a small terrier type dog along which can barely keep up on its short legs. If you want a dog that can run with you get a different breed.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)