Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,145 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Don't get why they bombard you with the same product you've just bought. Just bought an air fryer thanks,two would be a nuisance.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

[UNBORK!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Tonight's TA Scallions that don't have any flavour. Most years they get stronger as the bulbs get bigger. This year the larger ones seem tasteless. Second TA is that my taste buds are probably shot.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,927 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Ireland and its obsession with the leaving cert and junior cert.

It gets SO MUCH media coverage.

I grew up in the North, and there was next to no media hype about our equivalents. Admittedly it was a long time ago, but even now with some coverage, it's not in the same league as here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭Caquas

Some trivial things cause some people to lose the rag altogether- road rage is the prime example. Mine is printer rage -trying to print something that looks like the screen. How the printer didn’t end up flying out the window, I’ll never know 🤬

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

My younger self used to have nightmares about a common printer error message I think it was LPT401 - I swear though that in those days it was mostly user error

Just got a text from Temu.

Endless "experts" giving advice. Hydrate,take some exercise, don't stay up late studying,etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

They never give the most important tip: It is not half as important as the teachers make it out to be. Most prospective employers don't even want to see your results. So don't stress it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Mines when leads get tangled up together. I'm a calm fellow most of the time, but when I have to untangle the likes of extension leads or knotted Christmas lights, the situation can become quickly exacerbating, with the air turning quite blue.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

You have reminded me of another proper annoyance - if the issue isn't visible or demonstrable the advice is always that - difficulty at work, issues with partner or lack of, mental health, insomnia, grief and many more I can't think of - go for a walk, take a bath, drink more water, yada yada 🤬

When your phone starts to fall and you grab at it and in doing so change settings that you don't know how to change back. Once mine started blaring out an alarm, flashing and doing a 10 second countdown until the emergency services are called!!! 😲

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,828 ✭✭✭✭walshb

it’s still a very important exam for college placing. The LC isn’t just an exam for the sake of it. It’s quite important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭lucalux

You reminded me of when I did that a while back, it's an SOS message that sends your location to the guards and ambulance service, I had to ring the local guards and 999 and explain to very bemused people that this was, in fact, a real thing.

I was only trying to turn down the volume on my phone, but pressed the power button 5 times instead, which is how you send the SOS if you've if switched on

I promptly turned it off as I thought the hassle of explaining it all again was worse than not having help in an emergency!

My TA right now is my landlord not replying to something urgent, plus I'm not looking forward to chatting with him as there's a good few things need fixing/replacing besides the urgent issue which I'll have to basically fight for him to do 😑

Well yes, but it isn't the end of the world if you don't get enough points. There are work arounds and other ways you can get on to a course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭redoctober

Thank you! I've been just thinking that the past couple of days. Every year its the same. Emma o'blooming Kelly- obsessing about it. Also the worship for those who get 9 straight As. There's a lot more to life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Poochie05

When someone pulls out in front of you in the overtaking lane and slows down.

When someone pulls in from the overtaking lane in front of you driving at 120kph on a motorway on cruise control and brakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

College and the CAO system isn't the be all and end all. There are many ways to achieve whatever you wanting life. There shouldn't be any pressure put on kids for exams, there is no need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Night owl gal

Hard to explain in words, but because I'm on the spectrum, I'm always seeing counsellors that check in with me, and I've lost count of how many I've seen in the last few years. And they're always looking at my life, my habits, what I do, my routine, who I see, what I eat, what I drink, and so on. The list is endless. And they're always like, 'What can we fix?' And after so long, after seeing so many, and so many questions, and so many people saying to me, 'What about changing this!', it really gets to me sometimes. And I hate the feeling that people want to 'fix' me. If I'm well and happy in myself, then leave things as they are, ffs!😡

I have nothing against counsellors at all, most of whom I have worked with have been great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,914 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

business I’m using are utilising the shittiest courier service. Lad either leaves the delivery behind a planter outside, or as today, a slightly bigger than A4-ish envelope just folded scrunched into the letterbox. Never bothers to ring the bell, never acquires my sig, was here, saw him drive off. I get an SMS revealing a link to delivery info, 11.32am - put in letterbox..why doesn’t the retailer save me a few quid and just give it to An Post ? be a fraction of the cost, better service, next.. ‘threw package over their wall’ or ‘gaffer taped package to the window’… gimps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Scam phone calls from Private Numbers and over the last few months, calls from Belgium usually beginning with a +32 prefix - i get at least one or two every week despite the fact that i don't answer and then block the number……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Some business has obviously sold on my email address recently. The amount of spam I'm getting is insane. Maybe 20-30 emails a day. All reported, all blocked. But still more! I'd usually get 1 or 2 a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭Caquas

I've had a couple from Belgium. Industrious little feckers.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,828 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I’m not saying it’s the be all and end all. But there needs to be balance. It’s very important, but not absolutely essential. The way some dismiss it is silly, and the way some make out that it’s life and death is equally silly.

Guess that leads me to a trivial annoyance: the absolute lack of balance and compromise in society!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

TA that bigger bags of fruit and veg are cheaper then buying smaller. So I either save money and throw out food that I don't eat, or spend more money not throwing out good food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,822 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Work can go and do one. Had to bring work home with me yesterday evening, have been run ragged all day today and am more than likely going to have to come in early tomorrow to get everything done. All because my boss is absolutely oblivious to how long anything actually takes, and also keeps ignoring her own deadlines.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Same, am also plagued with calls from Belgium the last few months.

TA that I am expecting a phone call today that I can't miss and also OH is in hospital for a procedure so am keeping an eye on the phone. Answered a call a while ago, silence and then a robot saying "This call is from Revolut" Oh feck off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,914 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

bombarded with adds and ‘suggested pages’ on Facebook. Heard loads of people months ago giving out about it but last night is my first instance of getting absolutely swamped.

Can I suggest you leave me with my friends and whoever/whatever I’ve decided myself to like or follow !! The social media world has been described as toxic but it’s mainly from my perspective it’s because we are now non stop scammer / marketing targets.

Another one is about the 9048th person this year from Angola, Chad, Eritrea etc requesting me on Instagram. I used never screen people who want to follow me on that app, that changed last year. Scummy scammers. Away !