Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,197 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Lidl's Honey "flavoured" Cashews and Peanuts.

May need addiction councilling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Food that takes forever to heat up and then goes stone cold in minutes before you can eat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,989 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I wouldn't like to be alone with her in a dark place with no-else around . Its 👿 basis for a horror film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,817 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Some awful new gambling site ad keeps appearing on YouTube on the smart tv for me. With bullshit "luck of the Irish" and "find us on the web" sound bites by a voice actor from South Dublin that's trying to sound like he's from the country. There is a cowboy that looks like one of the Tate brothers. I've reset the YouTube app and I can't escape it. Keep cancelling the ad, but it keeps reappearing with a longer wait time. Aaaaggggghhhjj !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,954 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

more fox action outside, looking out the window one of them is in stealth mode stalking a lad walking his terrier. Hopefully the lad was aware of its presence although maybe the fox wouldn’t be cheeky enough or brave enough to try anything with a human in such close proximity....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,863 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

People - nearly always men, for some reason - who won't take their backpacks off on crowded buses. You're taking up twice as much space as you need to, dude, not to mention bashing off everyone every time you turn around. Just put it between your feet like a normal person, ffs.

What's with the backpacks? I see loads of lads (always men) with little backpacks I swear there's nothing in most of them and is just a fashion thing.

On rush hour buses it's normally laptops, but the worst offenders for this always seem to have a flippin duffel coat or something stuffed in there too.

How are ads for gambling still allowed? that is what I don't understand. Government always going on about how gambling is so bad and destroys lives but they never take any action. Don't want to rock the boat and stop political donations from those companies maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Dramatik

When traveling on public transport and your view out the window is obstructed due to either someone's grubby child's paw prints or someone else's greasy head print.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,989 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

IT's a TA at the minute but likely to be VA soon , but the local Yodel driver who puts my boxes outside and raps the door before quickly running back to his van and takes off leaving me to bring the stuff in .

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

My TA on buses used to be when you were on one of the buses that had a full wrap and you couldn't really see out the window properly at all, you're looking through the tiny holes in some advertisement that is wrapped around the bus. Very disconcerting and if it's a dirty bus, hard to see out for your stop at times too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Dramatik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,334 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Aggressive customers and fighting the urge not to snap back.

Someone went to customer services yesterday complaining that I left two parcels in a black bin without them knowing and they are very annoyed about it. The bin was empty in the corner of the front of the house so I knew it wasn't going to be moved in the meantime and I literally followed the exact protocol we've been instructed to do. Since I started delivering to this person, they have always had an old chest of drawers outside that we left parcels in, was the agreement, that has been removed since. Both parcels safe and hidden from view, weren't lost or taken, so a mountain out of a molehill.

So I was greeted to that complaint when I got back yesterday, fair enough, and as it happens said customer of course had a parcel today too (fourth day in a row). Got to their door, and not alone did they have a passive aggressive sign on the door warning me not to put it in the bin again, they also forcibly opened the door and went through me for a shortcut.

Even when I was explaining to them the reasoning behind it, they were having none of it, shouting and gesticulating at me. I just had to grin and bear it like the lapdog we're meant to be but it's a wonder I didn't let loose myself.

Whats worse, they told me they have security cameras so they can see what's happening, so surely spotted me leaving them there in the first place no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

In future, if they don't open the door, just leave a delivery attempted note and let them collect the parcel from the sorting office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭apache

My postman leaves my parcels in the green bin with a note. I think it's great. Saves me a trip to collect it. She sounds very grumpy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,835 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

People on about the cost of planning a wedding.

Nobody is forcing you to invite all those people, have a stag and hen abroad(generally people don't want to go), designer shoes that can't be seen because of your dress, day 2, etc.

Just have a simple small wedding and nobody will care.

I also can't stand that waving the napkins in the air thing that has really taken off because of social media. ( I know I'm miserable.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,954 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

speaking of deliveries, I don’t think it’s too much to be advised by a company, via automated text, email or even info you can look up yourself with your shipping ref… roughly when the delivery will take place. Especially in a city where courier companies have multiple routes, with multiple couriers. I don’t need to know to the hour it’s scheduled for delivery, just AM or PM so I can somewhat plan my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,179 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I'd like an option - will pickup from sorting office. But then to do that, I'd need to know it is An Post delivering… TA when online sites don't tell you who the courier is.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Had to leg it for the bus yesterday in non-running runners and my shins are in bits since.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

TA I have no idea what Hyrox is - it looks gym related, I don't think I need to know 😂

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,016 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

if you hadn't mentioned gym, i'd have guessed a hyrox is a mythical creature from greek legend.

That might have been more interesting 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,671 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

It's 15 degrees out and the neighbours have their fire lighting. No wonder the planet is dying....

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

To be fair, I understand that more than people needing air conditioning and fans at full blast when the temperatures reach the low 20s. And both are still a lot below body temperature! Would they pass out completely in hot countries where the summers get to 35 and up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,433 ✭✭✭Bredabe

All of this, plus the multiple-day weddings. I don't think I am the only person who is happy to leave after lunch on the day after the ceremony.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,433 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I woke up really foggy-brained yesterday(I suspect I slept through the pot changeover to sleep aid), but I got a letter which was scary, but I had a really clear Idea that it wasn't my job at the time to have submitted the doc in question. I called my work partner from then, who insisted that I had done it as they remembered I said x thing at the outset. They kept saying, but you said you would…….,

In the end, I dug in and told them to follow it up. hours later, I got a call to say the situation was all "grand", which makes me think I was correct all along. Ta the default position of making it the confused older person's fault in the situation bc it's assumed they are in the wrong.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

There's a fan going here most of the year. Going all night in the bedroom if it's any way warm.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

That's fair enough, but what I meant was that cooling a place isn't great for the environment, either.