Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

This 100% - as abject performance I've seen in awhile. No application. No game plan. No desire. No quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Insanity. Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Clueless stuff. Couldn't even pass to their own man.

ROD had a shocker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Coen meanwhile did his best to keep Mayo in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

He showed the leadership that I’d expect from a man who has captained 3 all Ireland winning teams

Not too many Mayo men have captained one never mind 3.

ROD went missing again when needed. He was the shiny new toy when Cilliaj was out injured.
    When Cillian was back all frees should have been handed back to Cillian and he should have been starting along with ROD. He got treated like dirt by management and a lot of our support base dismissed his importance . Especially in terms of leadership.

Rod is a very good corner forward . No more than that. We have missed Cillian badly. We will miss AOS just as much when he goes. People woke up to his importance a bit last year thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

You are living in the past. Today has been coming since last year. Coen showed leadership qualities today for the scores but, that does not make a leader. I would need to see that over a consistent period and also that he inspires around him. Minor and U20 etc is irrelevant and is from years ago. This is the kind of muck that is peddled around a lot. I go on the here and now, not past stuff. We have not had a leader since keegan. That is the truth.
    COC is finished. ROD is the present now and for the foreseeable future. I hope this ends swiftly so we can get someone new in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭crusd

To be honest that was pitiful and McStay and Rockford should be embarrassed. It’s complete zombie football. It’s what Roscommon were playing at the end of McStays tenure and it’s what Donegal played when Rockford was in coaching them. Brain dead stuff. No urgency and stick to a rigid recycle the ball strategy. The only time they played well was after the Neary black card when the game plan given to them by the brains trust had to go out the window. They were kept back a couple minutes extra at half time because you can’t get having them playing positive football and they duly gave up the goal straight away. That was damming.
    Both of them, McStsy after the Rossies and Rochford after losing the AIs seem to have come up with the idea the zombie football, endless recycling with zero movement, zero urgency and zero penetration was the way to win. Whatever chance it had under the old rules, and it failed miserably last year, it was always not going to work with the new rules. They are actually coaching a different sport to what the game is now.

The way I feel now is that the best thing would be for them to walk tonight. U20 coaching team to complete the last two matches. Not with the aim of actually turning anything round, just a vague hope of something positive to end the season.

The sad situation though is the only thing worse than the current setup continuing is the though of the current county board deciding their replacements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,611 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Unless ye beat or draw with Tyrone in Omagh I would very much doubt it.

if we go on the here and now ROD hid from taking on the 2 pointer against Galway and was nowhere to be seen again today.
    Cillian has taken a year out due to his treatment last year by at least one member of the management team. He is not or should not be finished . He would certainly have made a difference in the last two games if only that he would not have shied away from taking on scores when needed.

I would bet that if the management stored away before Tyrone game he would be back in and starting !

Coen kicked some inspirational scores today. It’s not his fault those around him were not in the mood to be inspired or to run or to tackle hard.

I suppose most teams rely on their management team to do that kind of inspiring though ……….that group of players have clearly had enough.

Best case scenario the players themselves throw the shackles off next two games and at least resemble what a Mayo football team should look like. That was a shameful performance today. Absolutely shameful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭irishgeo

7k today. So I doubt it.

Carrick on Shannon might be big enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,611 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Far as I know Carrick has acapacity of ust over 9,000. Donegal would sell it out on their own. The Hyde would look to be the most likely, or perhaps even Breffni.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭maximus15

We need a full reset after this season . Unpopular opinion with some but likes of o connors , o shea and maybe more should be told thanks for your service but yer only involvement wil be impact subs and if not happy then walk. Too many leggy players with lack of pace and been played in forwards, when should be specialised midfielder only . Limited in scoring ability and straight away scoring is dependant on ROD to score 8 or 9 every game . If he doesn't then we struggle . Introduce some of our under 20 players and drill in new mentality that we need to adapt to new rules by playing direct football , play high quick ball into forwards when no longer a packed last 3rd . More importantly practice scoring from outside arc and have every forward competent and confident in shooting for 2 pointers.

Can't fathom why irwin nearly frozen out in championship after been regular scorer in league .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭HBC08

What a bizarre take

O shea has been in our top 3 players every year including this year for the last 16 years

Diarmuid o Connor is one of our best players and has been injured all year.

Cillian is the highest scorer in the history of the sport and has made himself unavailable. We hammered Cavan in the championship last year and he was man of the match.Id say we might have found room for him in the panel today.

After that sh1te that was served up today these are the 3 players you want to get rid of? Ffs

Of course there's a reset needed,you're hardly offering a controversial insight there.

McStay and Rochford have to go and they will.

The disgust is beginning to clear and now I’m looking ahead to……..
    I think we are going to get a huge reaction against Tyrone
    They will only a week break after donegal game too

All set up then for a draw against donegal to put us through on 3 points and them through as group winners with 5 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,620 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

McStay and Rochford should go asap.

Immediately.

I think the poster is talking about building a squad that can compete properly. We cannot expect AOS and COC to still be delivering performances that can make us a serious outfit. I don’t think they have the legs come a semi or final when the pressure is at the greatest. It is unfair to expect that. They are pushing on and we need new blood. They have been fabulous footballers but we need to find young energetic footballers now. I would rather give young lydon etc a go than bring back guys in their 30s. I hope the new guy comes with a proper plan to get us back into contention within a year or two

ROD has been pretty consistent and I would not be making him as the fall guy. Who else is taking two pointers really. I don’t see anyone shooting the lights out on this tactic… Coen… AOS.. Flynn…bola d…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Maynis

I was at the game and sitting in front of the Cavan subs and just behind the Cavan Management Team. There was great energy and an a sense of urgency on the sideline. There was no hiding place for their players on the pitch and they were constantly giving guidance and instructions. The analysts and other coaches were up and down to the subs talking things through. They were in the ear of the Linesman and Sideline Official all match. Even if this isn't very useful during a match, it kept the intensity and focus up.

The Mayo sideline were like statues in comparison. I'm sure they say the work was done and they leave it to the players, but I think that Cavan were able to squeeze every bit from their players, while Mayo didn't seem to care or they were too good to be 'shouting and panicking' during a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Whats the story with Cillian O'Connor? I mean he's a year out now. He had surgery or an injury before? A year out of a panel is a long time.
    I mean on AOS and Cilian and the likes. If you think of their absoloute hay days , you are talking about 2016-2020. Years ago.
    O'se might have had an alright season so far , but there's no level of consistency from what i have seen.

And they are both on the far side of 30 at this stage.

Nobody thinks Cillian or Aido are in their prime.However they are still amongst the best players in the squad.

Cillian left the squad,he's taken " a year out",he hasn't retired and he isn't injured He's playing for Ballintuber and kicking 2 pointers for fun.

My belief is he had no confidence in what management were trying to achieve. Its fairly obvious now a lot of his team mates don't believe in it either. Lots of fans and pundits have been saying it for ages.

I'm an optimistic supporter in general and give management the benefit of the doubt but they've been found out now.

There is no grand plan.

They have to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭spakman

Are you from Mayo?

Cillian opted out of the panel for this year (along with several others).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,286 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I don't think I can say anything that hasn't already been said.

I listened to it on Midwest Radio and the frustration in Martin Carney's analysis of the game as it was happening just just summed it all up.

This is so far removed from the 2011 to 2021 Mayo football that we all enjoyed.

What's most frustrating is that the management can't come up with anything to take advantage of the new rules, or to even play the game the new (old) way, contested kick out, fast ball to t forwards you know are going to be there, shooting from range.

They have just failed to get to grips with the new reality.

And what's also frustrating is that they can run genuine contenders like Galway close when they want to.

If you take that 10 years from 2011 to 2021, and consider that lads really become aware of football around the age of 8, you should have a crop of late teens early 20s that were rared on going to Croke Park watching Higgins, Boyle, Keegan the O'Connor brothers etc go deep in championships.

There should be loads of young lads of good quality playing football in Mayo and egar to make their mark.

Now they need to find a new management team to get those lads and get them playing like we use to see a decade ago.

By the way,v who would be in the frame for the next manager?

We need an experienced manager who can get the most of out of current lads,bring through new players,put a bit of steel back in Mayo football,knows how to deal with the media,understands new rules.

It's a lot to ask.

To me there is one man who fulfills all the above criteria.

James Horan.

I don't care that hes been there twice before.I want the best candidate for where we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Westernview

The new management will get 2-3 years to develop a team. This year's u20s will be coming through and we must be planning for that. Cillian will be 34 and Aidan nearly 36 in year 1 so they really should have little or no part in that. They wont be around for much of the cycle so starting or having them coming on as subs makes no sense if younger lads are denied game time. Time to look to the future, not back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,286 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

What was Horan before he was Mayo manager ?

He was the Ballintubber manager that brought Ballintubber to an intermediate and then senior county championship in short order.

We all know what Horan did (twice) and I too would not be against him going for it again, but is there anyone out there showing the same traits that Horan did 15 years ago?

Edit: I forgot to mention, they have to have the same traits as Jimmy McGuinness as well.

I don't know if there is anybody showing the same traits as Horan 15 years ago.

I do know that even if there is they won't have the experience of media,the size of the job,the track record or the knowledge of the new rules.

I think we could be contenders within a year or two,I really do.

The template from going to constipated football to one of the best in the country under new rules is there in Donegal at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,562 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I think McStay is as good as gone at this stage, hopefully we manage to put up a decent fight in the next two games rather than get hammered out the gate which is what could well happen.

Not that I think he would have made a massive difference but the whole situation around Frank Irwin playing most (all?) of the league games and then dropped for championship is bizarre. Dylan Thornton going the opposite direction, hardly played at all during the league but starting in 3/4 championship games. Similarly with Brickendon, nowhere for months and then parachuted in to start against Galway but not getting a minute at all yesterday.

I'm sure reasons can be put forward for all three being valid selection choices but taken as a whole (and perhaps because of results), it just seems haphazard from the management team.

Will many go to the Tyrone match? I had been thinking about going and I might yet depending on the throw-in time but expectations will be extremely low for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭BKWDR

I'm not Mayo no, but that doesn't take away from my question.

I thought he had had some lingering injury or had had surgery at some point in the last 18 months. But if i recall , i dont think he featured much in his last playing season either?

You'd wonder if some of these lads had stepped away earlier, would it have made leaders out of the younger lads coming up?

I mean to go back to Horan now, again, and give him 3 years. Is that not just what someone described above as repeating the same actions and expecting a different result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭ethical

Play it again Sam!!!

When the crowd ( of which there were only 7000+ to begin with) are walking out 5 or 6 minutes into the 2nd half there must be something wrong!

Learn from your mistakes….never!

I could hardly believe the 1st half kick outs yesterday,absolutely nothing learnt from the Galway game,it couldnt all be the goalkeepers fault all the time.Having said that if I was a Connacht rugby coach I would be enticing him to change sports with his uncanny knack of finding touch!

RO'D could not do it all on his own.He should NOT be back defending,infact he should not be let back beyond midfield.

AO'S got two balls played into him yesterday,the first he caught and went on a mazy run that ended in a free against him,unlucky I thought.The second he caught and again went on a run sidestepping a couple of players before finding the net.Just imagine ,for a minute.if he got several balls played into him.Its no good having a very skillful dedicated lad as A is and not treat him properly with ball delivery. He should NOT be taking flak for the performances that he is not in control of.He is one of the most dedicated and personable lad that Mayo could wish for and leaves everything on the pitch.

Why no hooter,was this game null and void,you cannot change the rules just like that!!! or can you…maybe we can play with 20 men against Tyrone.

Why was the ref.(poor , in my opinion) from the same province as one of the competing teams….wouldn't it be very easy to get a Leinster ref or a Munster one…..just for transparency! Of course 'transparency' is not a word in the GAA's vocabulary

Again,the ARC is absolutely killing Mayo,they see it as an electric fence,get up to it and then turn back.This was very much in evident in the Connacht final also.The fresh young lads have not had this coached out of them yet.Some of the more established have…DO'C,very evident in the CF.

There is a fear,even in training,that you get a bollocking if you try something that may not come off.I would rather see a lad having a go and missing rather than turning back….which you will never get a score from.

On (mis) management,it is reported that a former manager is chomping at the bit to get back to the trough!

As I said before 'lay off the players',they do not get paid whereas on the other hand managers do and should be able to handle constructive criticism.

I still reckon we will beat Tyrone in Tyrone and then see where we are at with the Donegal game looming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭crusd

Is the "former manager" JH? Having the next manager come from the FRC could be a massive benefit. They would have been talking with all the best coachers and players all over the country and its still ongoing which means anyone on the committee is analysing in depth everything that is ongoing with the game and speaking regularly with some of the best minds in the game.