Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Leaving fish and chip papers in the car is a hanging offence, think microwaving fish in the work kitchen would need hanging, drawing and quartering as suitable deterrent.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,257 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Delivered a parcel Monday, left in a safe space (in this case a recycling bin that I have put stuff in before), with instruction to customer that I had done so.

How come then, on a Friday, a full four days after the event, said customer decided to query the delivery this morning, and the bin was subsequently emptied by the binmen yesterday?

How was I to know that would happen? Surely you'd follow up a lot sooner (and I met the customer the following day and all) for something like that? Find it very hard to believe they didn't put something in the bin in the meantime and saw it sitting there.

You can never win.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I just got a call on an old VF mobile number, it was from a Slovakian number (or so it appeared). I rejected the call and blocked it as I don't know anyone there, but the person who left a voicemail had an Irish accent. I know nuisance callers like to hide behind fake numbers (I remember a colleague getting a call from Tuvalu, one time) and seem to pester everyone in batches using the same international code, so I'm wondering, anyone else getting them today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,048 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

People not allowing the lift to empty before they try enter.

Lift door opens - one guy bursts through the door straight away, next guy with a load of bags shuffling around to enter past me.

Just fekin WAIT, a whole 2seconds, until I come out of the lift and you have plenty of space to enter.

Can you break that down sloooowly please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,746 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Having to go back to the office after lunch on days like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,828 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’ve an email since last Monday telling me an order is ‘dispatched’. However on that businesses website….still ’pending dispatch’.. ehhhh which is it ?

Either way it hasn’t arrived…haven’t been given a courier ref number only an email that doesn’t even include, ‘dear customer’ or ’hello customer’, content of the email is just ‘order has been dispatched’…before this business was sold I had NO issues or complaints, ordered, paid & got a professional email with a reference number be it UPS, An Post etc, and my stuff was delivered fast. But now..I want their staff and courier doing the legwork after I pay, paying = my bit done, me chasing them, having to be looking for basic delivery info ? Ffs, It’s not 1994.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I couldn't get hold of 48 Support as the chat function is off, so I emailed them. I gave them my full name, they had my email address (I used the one linked to my account to contact them). They came back asking for phone number and puk (fair enough) as well as my full name and email address (annoying as hell! Can you not read at all?). I confirmed they were the ones I had already provided, but no, that wan't enough. Effing waste of time. Grumble.

Also, having to put on both sunscreen and insect repellent to go out and cut the grass. ick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

Being on hold to Sky for 47 minutes and they try to send to the website rather than listening to the problem and trying to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Having to go back to the office. Full stop. 😭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,794 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

People who sell stuff on classifieds sites, and never reply to any messages you send them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

The same happens on the Luas. People afraid the Luas is going to take off without them, so you have to struggle through/past them when trying to get out.

Yet another reason I avoid the Luas.

What a day. I was all set, dressed for the job: dungarees, goggles, soundproofing ear muffs (can't think of the actual name), thick rubber gloves to deal with brambles and nettles, wellies, sprayed to within an inch of my like, etc. I filled the lawnmower "tank" with petrol, I transferred the remaining fuel onto another, smaller container, I did about 3 goes back and forth for 20 metres or so... and the heavens opened. Not enough for the drainpipe to fill the butt, even, but enough to soak the grass making it impossible to cut with my lawnmower. Have I already said 'grumble'? I should go back to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I asked a colleague for some advice about what to do about next door. There isn't a single space left in the house and garden that doesn't stink of petrol, burning paper, and pot classic. Those are just the ones I can identify.

I do not sleep well because I have to get up so many times during the night to open/close the window and turn on or off the filter. I am on the end of my tether and feel like screaming my head off for a week!! But I would run out of oxygen before then.

Next door has moved his home office to a room that means that when he opens the window what he is using naturally flows into my window so I wake up choking regularly.

The ta of this, colleagues reaction is "Ah hun he just wants a bit of strange and you fit the bill, its a complement"!!!

What are we 12?!!!!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,103 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Who was that eejit who decided to put up a Christmas manger bit just before today’s 6 o’clock news on Rte?

Fecking manger being put up one lad wearing a Santa hat putting it up, and a primary school singing some sort of new carol!

It’s fecking May!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭New Scottman

Bought something online and it's not in stock. Seller sent refund to the wrong Paypal account. I have two email addresses and it's pretty clear which one is my Paypal address and which isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

lads on Newstalk now discussing weekend GAA games, one pronounce Walsh as Walsh, the other as Welsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,795 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I got a tax man's letter saying I owe €500 from 2021 . I'm lost as to why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,795 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

It was a letter with contact details . Buwhen I rang the Rosscommon number of the Tax office there was no answer

When I think about the tax office is in Dundalk not Roscommon.

Pure BS

Post edited by cj maxx on

Ladbrokes "gaffer of an acca" advert

Annoying guy doing the voiceover. He's an actor in different RTE things, can't think of his name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,970 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm really annoyed. And it's really trivial.

I'm in the semi-final of our work fantasy football game and I'm up against the favourite. I had to make one change (get a defender) and I had one player in mind, even though he hasn't done much lately. In the end I went for a safe option, but of course the original lad has scored a goal and has a clean sheet in one of the evening games. That'll probably be the difference between me staying in the competition and not.

Of course, I've probably triggered TAs for others by bringing up fantasy football...😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,044 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Having to beg someone for a key or access to a public toilet.

My beer wasn't long enough in the fridge last night so I had to drink it lukewarm ☹️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,559 ✭✭✭Archeron

I have been neglecting the laundry duties for far too long, and had built up a pile that could genuinely need planning permission. Somebody suggested using one of those machines that you find in local petrol stations as they take a huge load, a great idea!

As I took the gigantic bag of laundry out of my car, the bag split. Badly.

I don't know what the collective term for underpants is, but an explosion of underpants is fitting for the scenario.

As I stood there surrounded by socks and jocks, I thought well thank god nobody here to see it. Except of course the bloody hot air balloon about 100 feet above me with a basket holding about ten people all looking right down at me :(

As TA as it was, I am still laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I was asked to post a review of a transaction with a big-name retail entity. I mentioned that such a high-cost item should have had tracking. Their response was that the company they use doesn't have it at weekends.

Item left into the office on Saturday, didn't arrive 90 miles away till Wednesday, what about the rest of the time?

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Paying for something up front digitally in a cafe/restaurant + being asked to select and pay optional service charge before you have had any service or received your beverage/food.

And worse , same sort of shite in a pub.

SKIP option

Spare a thought for the americans. They are now being asked for a tip by the self-service tills in supermarkets!

used to happen in primary school - especially in a CBS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

Lent a family member my car for a week that turned into 5 weeks due to typical car dealership shenanigans. That's the trivially annoying bit.

The absolutely raging bit is the tear in the seat leather. 😡