Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

agree. we need to move on from this very quickly, in fairness to Queally he said as much in the interview after the game that we have no time to be clapping ourselves on the back. This was really a routine win in light of the players Clare were missing. We come out play a stinker next Saturday evening yeaterday will be forgotten very quickly.
    Clare play Tipp next in a winner takes all really, and the loser of that game is as good as out, if Tipp win that then we’re going to Thurles to face them in a winner takes all, so it’s just absolutely relentless in this championship. We have to go into the game on Saturday evening in the mindset that it’s a must win. Cos we really don’t know what we’re facing into after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Wonderful performances all round, I cannot remember the last time we won so much dirty ball. I’d say say Brick was still playing. Then when Kiely came on we started winning clean ball too.
    Darragh Lyons chipping in three points was a pleasant surprise. Jamie Barron must have been in the running for man of the match but for an immense performance from Stephen Bennett. Considering what that man is going through to even line out, he should be getting a Victoria Cross even if he never gets a Celtic one. You would have to wonder how the six day turnaround will affect him in particular, he must be in bits today.
    Hopefully the lads on the bench who weren’t 100% can step up this week. We would be immeasurably better if Kiely and Patrick Fitzgerald could start.
    Worst case scenario,we are still in with a fighting chance up to the last game. That didn’t look likely in February so well done to the players and management for the effort since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Absolutely thrilled with yesterdays result. I’ll put my hand up and happily admit I got it totally wrong as I tipped Clare for a routine enough win. The lads were superb, where we’d be without Stephen Bennett I don’t know. Barron, Lyons, Kiely and Mark Fitz all impressed.

As other have said we haven’t any chance to celebrate and need to move focus to next Saturday. I’ve seen it mentioned a few times that it’s a bit of a “free shot” which in a way I can kind of see insofar as we’d just need to pick up a win anywhere else but realistically it’s another must win game especially being at home. I certainly wouldn’t want to be going into the final day v Cork in PUC looking for a win and Tipp could well be fighting for their lives when they face us so it’s critical we keep it going. Who knows what situation they’ll be in by the time we face them so we’ll have to empty the tank against Limerick (at least we’ll have a two week break thereafter).

It’s just great to get that winning feeling back, something we rarely experience in championship. The best pet about yesterday is that no matter what happens we’ll most definitely be in with a shout right up to the final game regardless of how the next two games go. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to get another win on Saturday which would for sure secure passage to the AI series and maybe a bonus of a Munster final. The Tipp and Cork games could be considered “free shots” if we get our homework done early next weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭moby2101

Fantastic performance from Waterford yesterday, yere going very well.
    Heading up on Saturday from Limerick.
    Plan to spend the day there before the game. Its been a while since I last visited.

Any recommendations for parking for the day , paid or otherwise.
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭914

Mount Sion is good for parking, 5 minutes walk to Walsh park. Music, bar, BBQ, kids play ground.

If you are coming down the day before, where are you staying, as it might be possible to walk to Walsh park from your location

I’d avoid it if your looking for a quick getaway afterwards. We were an hour queuing in the car to get out of Mt Sion yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭moby2101

Thanks for the replies folks.

Driving in that morning and home again afterwards.
    Ideally would like to park up around 12 and leave the car there for the day. Is there a pay car park nearby that would be open until that evening or where would ye recommend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,347 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Mount Sion is your best bet. Grab a bit to eat there after the match and you will miss any queues to leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

It would be a long night to get back to Limerick if you get stuck around the ground in traffic. I’m guessing a quick getaway would be your best option which rules out Mt Sion probably.

At 12 OClock there will be plenty of on street parking around Barrack Street. That’s 5 minutes to the pitch and 5-10 in the opposite direction to the City Centre where there’ll be plenty of options for food and “water”.

There’s a Waterford Council parking app where you can top up your parking remotely. A quick jog to the car and you can be down Morrissons Avenue and over the bridge before Stephen Bennett has even accepted his MOTM award. Unfortunately Marty’s Party is not on the wireless Saturdays but you can’t have everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭caddy16

If its any help I parked down on the quays on Saturday, €12 for 24 hours. A few pints Saturday night and did a couple of hours on the Greenway Sunday morning on the bikes and was able to walk (around 20 mins) from there to the ground and no delay afterwards.

A lovely town to visit, the result aside!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,320 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Be satisfying ending Liam Cahills reign in Tipp but all could change before that game

You could park in the waterside car park in the city centre (€3.40 for the day). It's probably a 20-25 minute walk from there to Walsh park.

By the time you get back to the car later on you should be able to nip out of town handy enough and be on the road.

Also if you are not in a hurry afterwards, mount sion, grab a bit to eat and nip off when the traffic calms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dilinja1

Why would it be satisfying? For the most part cahill did a good job for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

also limerick folk should look at heading out the bypass in opposite direction to most of the traffic towards portlaw and into Carrick-on-suir and then onto clonmel, chair, bansha, tipp town, monard, oola etc etc 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,043 ✭✭✭deisedude

Agreed I've no ill will towards Cahill. He even turned down Tipp first time they came calling to stay with Waterord and his tenure reached a natural end after one disappointing championship season after a good league title win.

Now Davy on the other hand brought us backwards. I'd get great satisfaction beating any team he manages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭decies

However satisfying it was to beat the Ireland champions to be honest with you we still will have to up our game more to beat Limerick . Let’s get those two wins early and take it from there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Pudz2180

great day yesterday well done to team and management. Special word for Stephen, Jamie and tadgh 3 legends of Waterford hurling who will be sorely missed when they are gone.
    hopefully last years experience of being in this exact situation will stand us in good stead. Don’t buy into this free shot lark, lose Saturday and we then have to win in either thurles or the pairc not something we have done a lot down through the years

On Liam Cahill I would have no ill feeling towards him he came in when we were at a really low ebb and gave us a great 2 & half years playing some brilliant attacking hurling, turned down his own which didn’t go down well and some in Tipp still haven’t forgiven him. Unfortunately It didn’t end well but sometimes that’s just life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭DeHorse88

Going to be unpopular here but I wasn’t that impressed by Waterford yesterday. It was advantage Clare up until the 2nd goal and they just capitulated then. Missing Kelly, Cleary, Ryan & O’Donnell no county could live with those calibre of losses.

Waterford started brightly but there inside forwards struggled with the direct high ball in which didn’t suit them. Curran and Kevin Mahony worked hard but only offer so much at this level starting and Dessie was poor for his standards. Jack Prendergast industrious as ever but doesent put up huge scores. Hel have to start midfield for Kieran Bennett who was very poor with Kiely coming onto the wing, this is just to even live with contesting puck outs v Limerick which Waterford struggle with big time. Darragh Lyons excellent first half but dropped some bad balls at key times too. Tadhg was excellent with his positioning and reading but he’s guilty of dropping balls trying to break out of tackles…not easy in fairness when ur goin past Peter Duggan.

Now in fairness Waterford were undercooked going into the game so they deserve credit but will need to up it significantly v Limerick. Can’t be thinking the Tipp game is the must win game, Queally was right the home games are the must win games no matter the opposition points must be picked up. Backs will be tested big time by Shane O’Brien, Gillane and co but I think it’s Waterfords forwards that need to up it quite a bit at this level. Limericks backs can be got at, can’t be depending on Bennett, if anything was to happen to him it’s actually hard to see Waterford beating a lot of teams in the championship. As pessimistic as this sounds I actually think ye will have a right crack off Limerick and I expect a better performance from a lot of players overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭spideyman92

It'll be a tough ask but I'll always go into every game with hope on the day that the lads can get the job done.

A 6 day turnaround is very unfair though. Dunno why the fixtures committee is so allergic to making the most of a bank holiday weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭dk1982

Couldn't agree more with this. Cahill is a snake for what he did to Colm Bonner. Showed the true measure of the man.

Lol, I think the issue might be more with the Tipp county board than Cahill.

He was approached to take the job, he already refused it once, if he refused again he'd never be offered if again.

It was poor what happened to Bonner, but if I had the option of Bonner or Cahill, I'd pick Cahill all day long.

The timing was shite but that's not on Cahill

I don’t think anyone has said it was the perfect performance from Waterford, you don’t need to be impressive you just need to win games and that’s exactly what we did on Sunday. In many ways the TK injury actually put more pressure on to win the game but the lads stood up took the opportunity that was there. I think all anyone in Waterford wants to see is the team playing to their potential consistently, which is something we haven’t really seen over the past number of years. I feel like We’re finally on the right track with this management team, how far it takes us I don’t know but we have a team that we can all get behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 JohnMcClane

I agree with some of the points made here about the inside forward line on Sunday, in a performance where we hunted well and defended bravely winning many 50/50's at the back when we did have possession we weren't the finished article. I know Curran and Dessie scored a couple of points each but they really struggled to get possession which is more worrying and Kevin Mahonys role didn't seem to be have him positioned in there too often either. In my opinion when Patrick Fitz came on he showed again what we all know within the county of his potential but also what good movement can do in that inside forward line and he was out infront when the ball came in more often. Usually it is a strong part of Dessie's game so maybe he was getting extra treatment in there and we resorted to high ball in to them in the first half with the wind which is 50/50 at best and not what he excels at, not sure was it a case of Clare dropping deep against the wind in that first half and not allowing the space for them to run or was it just poor movement but it didn't improve greatly in the second half either for them. I think Patrick Fitz for Curran will be a change for this weekend, in fairness to Curran he consistently scores whether he starts or is introduced as sub so he is a valuable player for us. A pacy inside 2 of Patrick Fitz and Dessie will require a particular type of ball and that area will have to be improved on as we need to carry a threat in there and not rely on shots from distance as it is an area where we don't really have consistent scorers(i.e. Jack Prender, dara Lyons, kiely, Mahony, Shane bennett etc wouldnt be renowned for their shot taking from distance).

So many positives from the performance but I'm sure Queally knows improvement is needed if we want to be seriously involved in the business end of things in the coming months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Remind us again what he did to Colm Bonnar……most non Tipp folk lost track of all the stories floating around prior to his appointment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭dk1982

Nah, he knew he had the job while Bonner was giving the Tipp County Board a presentation on his plans for the coming season. Mainly the fault of the county board but Cahill complicit imvho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 unbeknownist

Finally getting to recap on yesterday.. a great day out!!

Bar the very first puck out which I thought was ominious, Nolan was very solid in the goals.

The full back line, Prunty especially locked it down. Nothing pretty but a clean sheet tells its own story

Thought MFitz was good but can still expect more from him, TdB took a while to settle into his rythem but finished extremely strong, Leavy is a strong tackler and solid player, striking can be on the slow side but does his job well

Lyons had a great start to the game, always in the right place. It wasn't perfect though and will face a much harder task next week. It didn't happen for K Bennett which is fair enough.. interesting to see what happens next week

Extremely impressed with the workrate in the half forward line, they harassed Conlon at every opportunity. Kiely made a massive impact and gave a focal point to our attack which was needed. Barron and Bennett will go down as 2 of the greats

A little bit disappointed with the inside line, maybe the quality of ball wasn't perfect but I was still looking for a bit more magic. Credit the Clare full back line. Regardless we still got scores, P Fitz looked sharp when introduced.. The most talented of all I think.

When was the last time we beat Limerick??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,320 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Jerry Atrick

Bit of trouble with the Feile competition, anyone hear anything?

I don’t think we played them after that until 2018. But a shocking statistic nonetheless