Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v10] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Dean to get shot again🙈

It could be anyone, the child etc. Maybe a lifer like Geoff Minogue wants to leave.

If Dean and Mairead are ok it will be hard for them to tell Damo now.

Tyler is safe anyway. What time will he get for arson… James is having fun with his threesome talk but Tyler's going to reveal the dirt on him.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,264 ✭✭✭con747

Wowzers! Thoughts on the new 'Inspector Gadget' show | Batfan.com

The detective always reminds me of inspector gadget.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,700 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭threetrees

It'd tie things nicely if Damo get shot and killed. But I'm sure that won't happen. Maybe Dolly will get shot or Gwen if she returns for something and barges in.

I don't get the card An Eye for an Eye. Wonder will that ever reveal itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Some Yoke

Tyler is exonerated woohoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,264 ✭✭✭con747

Just watched it, as I said he probably drove up and back. How he got a gun and why is up to the writers to try to explain. Tyler has to go back to prison for the arson since he's only out a while ago. To be honest i'm going to bow out of the thread because the script writing is just too bad.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,068 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

the detective reminds me of this guy out of the EBS TV Ads:

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Otis Hill

Yes that's what i meant by the convenient car switch or backroads taken. Wasnt he lucky that the guards only checked Laura's brothers cars for tolls but neither of her sisters in laws

Another thing I'd like to know is when exactly did Laura tell Mark she'd be flying in to surprise Damo and ask him to collect her? Mark made it sound last minute but surely she notified him before her flight from Croatia so there was plenty of time to make arrangements for the baby? If it was last minute Mark should have told her to F*ck off because he can't just take his infant son away for a night and not tell the missus and leave her come home from her course to an empty house and panic. Surely he'd have at least texted Elaine to say he was taking the child to Dublin for the 11th and 12th as a random last minute surprise to see Damo so not to worry when she gets back late from her night course to an empty house.

I'd say Damo will pair up with Mark's wife when Mairead leaves him. Ready made family for him there to be a father figure to Oliver. Everybody wins....except Elaine and Oliver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,266 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

My theory is that Tyler left the 'eye for an eye' card at the funeral (or paid someone to do it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Good spot everyone who said Mark. What a rubbish end to a storyline that lasted so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,011 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Damon looks as though he's being going heavy on the sunbeds...or is it the high blood pressure? Still needs a tube of Immac though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,112 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It was good to see a gun back in Carrickstown last night, it has been a while 😁

Though how that fits into the storyline is anyone's guess. Who was he planning on shooting?(!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Photobox

Ya was it Dr Oakley with the red (flare/nerf) the last gun to appear in it? It has to be the worst whodunnit reveal ever with Mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,025 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Ah considering the farce it took to get to this stage, Fridays effort wasn't too bad.

Maybe he was going to use it on himself if the guilt got too much on the anniversary? Or maybe use it on Tyler when he heard the Gardai still hadn't fully pinned Laura's murder on him. If Tyler got out on bail he could shoot him, claim insanity by grief and possibly get a very light sentence considering Tyler the lunatic did try to kill Mark's brother Damo and tormented and blackmailed his sister in law Mairead and his mother figure Dolly. I doubt the writers will bother to include any of those kind of motives/nuances into the plot though and we'll have to use our imagination as to how, when and where he got the gun, who he got it from and why he got it, the same way we were left to fill in the blanks of Carol's escape from her kidnapping ordeal. The writers should probably have followed the Chekov's gun principle and shown the gun in maybe Elaine or Mark's luggage a couple of episodes ago instead of it randomly emerging from the arse of Mark's jeans.

Ridiculous that he had the gun tucked into the waist band of his jeans while out for a family lunch though. Regardless of who he was planning on using it on, mid day in the pub isn't really the ideal time and place for it.

Mark could well have left the card to throw suspicion away from him and make it look like Laura was collateral damage in revenge against someone else. He's the killer and he was present at the funeral and wouldn't look at all suspicious hanging around the cards at the funeral since he's the victim's brother. All I can say at this stage is that Mark is very lucky Tyler came along. If Tyler hadn't shown up and drawn all the suspicion on himself Mark might not have gotten the extra year of freedom he did.

Where are Doug and Sean while all this is going on? Didn't Doug used to bully Mark in school before Mark had his head transplant? Doug would be a good gunshot victim for Mark with years of resentment. And weren't Sean and Mark friends back in the day too?

Does anyone remember what the craic is with the murder weapon? Mark said Laira cracked her head of the kerb when he shoved her and she fell, but a few months back Tyler fed the gardai via James a story about fake murder weapon in some derelict building/ruins. And then they were talking about how it couldn't be the murder weapon because of some of its characteristics werent consistent with what the expected shape and size of the murder weapon should be? But now there was no murder weapon except for gravity and the city/county council's footpath? So Laura wasn't killed by blunt weapon? The pathologist must have been crap to not be able to determine the cause of death as being a fall? I'm not expert but I would have thought a head injury from a fall would be distinguishable from a head injury caused by a blunt instrument/weapon.

And what will hopefully be my last musing on the subject before I give up the ghost on pondering the logic of this ludicrous plot: if Laura's death was the result of a fall, why didnt Mark just call an ambulance and say she tripped and smacked her head off the pavement? Again, it's dark and its winter and there was obviously no CCTV in the area. I don't think anyone would not belive him. Itd just seem like a freak tragedy. But there'd have been no motive to kill her that anyone would have been aware of, it'd look like a family celebration that turned to tragedy.

He had his wits about him to somehow find a shovel and bring her to the park with out being seen and dig a shallow grave, put her in it, fill it in, get rid of his clothes at some point and head back to Galway and carry on for several months like nothing happened. Wouldn't a lie that's very close to the truth just have been so much easier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Barbie2k23

can’t believe that was Bobs final episode I thought they would of had him die in his sleep or that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Photobox

Don't think it was meant to be his last episode. Had to leave soap suddenly due to health reasons.

It's very unclear how Laura falling could result in her instantaneous death. She presumably would still be breathing and have a pulse. You sometimes hear of these 'one punch' fatalities, but it's usually the case that the person passes away a day or two later, not that they die instantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

Mark was an early possible suspect for me ….. before Tyler came on the scene but I always believed it was gonna be McCabe …… but revealing him then may have made more sense ….. everything that happened since makes no sense though …..

For starters …… who attacked Zoe ?? … What was that about ?? …. I think they planned serial killer and then changed minds …… Tyler could have been the suspect then ….. but he became too obvious later ….. also too harmless ….. no one else died or was attacked ……

After that ….. who was Tyler's accomplice who stole the laptop ?? ….. And why was Tyler acting like he was acting ??? ….. what was his motive ??? …..

Finally ….. what was the eye for an eye about ???? ……

Mark's house motive makes sense ….. but all the rest does not ….. McCabe would have made more sense and was a lost opportunity ……

Post edited by lumphammer2 at

I would have preferred it to have been McCabe ….. but I guess Mark could leave the note ….. I suppose he could run after and scare Zoe too for the same reason ….. to let people believe a serial killer/pervert is on the loose to divert attention away from him and to a randomer …..

I have seen in a picture who was shot but will not say …..

I read the actor who plays Damian was not well in real life for a while …. hope he is ok now …