Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,673 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

author is milking jex cows oad …has other non farming income I read article and fook me tone deaf …she can’t defend it …should we tell coops not to worry about giving us price rises as we need them to make there profits ….how about the years we sold calves for buttons ….got a call from mart to say calves were sold but we owe them commission …free milk powder went with calves etc etc ….author of that is lucky there in a position where they can sub calves at reduced prices to a buyer …like stan and others I’ve a fine ball of money for calves this year …most sold to regulars out of yard ….market dictates price …I’m buying straw off friend of mine for years …I get same supply every year but price has gone from 10 euro/bale to 35 last year …am I happy no but I’ll suck it up in the knowledge I’ll always have my straw and quality will always be good ..friend isn’t too bothered about my enterprise and profit …like me looks after his bottom line …and yes I want the beef man and tillage man to be successful and other sectors but ultimately the most important person I need to make profit across my enterprise is ….me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭visatorro

That was the point i made to her aswell. I dont make the prices. Valid point about the straw. Everyone is in the same boat there. I'm not going to cririse someone's breeding policy or how they farm. Thats they're business and if they are happy well and good. In fairness to her it's not her fault she has an off farm income or that she's milking OAD with the circumstances on the farm. I seen her on a few things and whether farmers like it or not we need well spoken people to highlight the industry, whether we agree with what they say or not!!

I’d take/leave her views tbh ….nothing personal against her or what she dose but she’s part of the industry that’s shoving one agenda and way of doing things ….i wouldn’t have much interest in going to an event etc she’s speaking at purely on grounds I’d disagree with her views on lots of things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭straight

I don't footbathe and I don't want to have to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,327 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I could be the most extreme of any of ye. Although David has these yokes too.

The point of these replacements is the top calf price and top cull cow price. I'd be hoping to maintain the milk too. The small size of my operation dictates I have to optimise the value of every animal. Nitrates now means more so. If the market drops I'll have the most saleable dairy bred animal going. That's a thing that the larger herds with their nz breds fail to look at. My father was getting 300 pounds for calves out of dairy cows here in the 80's. 500 euros now is a lot less than 300 pounds then. Other points made of straw. I'm buying off my uncle but there's no favour given on market price or looked for. Straw producers had a piece in the paper last year about favourable loans from the banks should be given to small time farmers buying straw. But there wasn't a word of reducing price.

20250423_200542.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,270 ✭✭✭alps

Straw made €50 around here last year....The tillage man, said (like those on here) that's the market price of it, he has to mind his own business, he has no responsibility to the dairy lad, the dairy lad can stick it up his hoooool.

TThe dairy lad now has straw booked for this summer from Spain at €220 per tonne delivered.

Sometimes people make changes for economic reasons and can break links to existing supply lines.

Maybe the article meant little more than this. There are ways of splitting cost with a colleague.

There is no surer way of calves being at a fiver again in 3 years time than removing the competition through economic incapacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,778 ✭✭✭stanflt

I have Spanish straw in the yard but it’s no good for bedding so the tillage man will still get his €90 a bale for 8’4’4 bales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,212 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

His FRX cross calves were the first of his calves I imagine. Calves really only took off from mid March this year. There seems to get a good few dairy farmers that looked after regular buyers this year to some extent or other. The reason for that was many of these were calf to sub 2 year old beef and may never benefit from the upturn in beef prices.

What was the value of Frx calves this year. On most places they averaged 60-100. Most HO friesians did not do mu h better. Not sure how many @daiymann 5 had of them. I think you missed his point where it was his blacks normally went for 100 euro but these along with his HE and BB sold well this year. This was the way the year went. From mid March calves took off.

Ya and if you are buying them similar to a lot of calves es you have to be careful. It's abit like buying weanlings off sucklers buy the wrong ones and you end up with a pneumonia issue.

Calf prices similar to straw prices etc ate all dictated by the market. Up until this year unless you had a tight system beef was a tough game. Decent margin if done right but if you were careless you lost your shirt. Something like 80% of calf rearers last less than 5 years. Daiymann has a point about looking after regular buyers to an extent. There us a good few lads gone calf rearing this year who will not be at it in 3 years time.

On the lady round OAD with a JEX cow and a lower quality calf it's all about priorities. The day gig is probably exceptionally well paid. I worked and farmed for years. It was all about priority. It how I ended up with mainly dairy ans dairyX cattle. They were easy to manage and relatively easyvto buy.

Investment is a factory as well. I often point this out to other farmers. I used to put 60 stores in for 33-36k untill a couple of years ago. Last year when I had to stock the new placeI dropped further down in the market. If you look at calves there us a significant difference in buying 50 or 100 calves at 100, 200, 300 or 400 euro.

The calves @ 400/ head may be more profitable ( although I would question it) but having 10or15k extra tied up in 50 calves is an issue to consider as well.

Slava Ukrainii

I got 410 for fr bull calves in January- the prices kicked off in November- I got 450 for longhorn calves that the scheme was only paying 250

Lads need to pay more attention to actual markets rather than heresay- I’m lucky to have autumn calving as it gives an actual insight to market returns by having calves for sale every month rather thsn listening to lads playing down the market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,327 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

If it's bad enough then you may take them off milk for about three feeds and feed electrolytes such as Lectade. Flushes out any bugs and they get immune to any bugs then. If you don't think you need to go there then black boluses with charcoal, clay, seaweed, etc for about three days or so. It's the time of year and the calf housing. Really any late calves would need to be going into fresh housing where there were no calves at all this year. Very difficult have all these different houses though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

My calves went at two weeks only reared friesians made 350 unless you have special friesians like the cheap land u rent how much milk did they drink bedding labour veterinary etc. I didnt pay mart comission or haulage to mart.il have my customers next year when lads are getting a tenner in the mart at six weeks.Farmers are behaving like the fert merchants during the shortage whelan has started going to mart haveing stated here all were sold from home prior to this year.

foothbath here every 3 weeks for 3 milkings …purely as preventative …no obvious motto problem …keeps hooves healthy

Gill seems nice in fairness. More like the media taking advantage of her good nature. She should leave them feck off. She has enough on her plate.

so here’s a pic of my ebi

I’m going to the mart in the morning with 6 or more cows that have high scc since calving this year

According to icbf they get a low ebi for maintenance beef management and carbon- these cows will bring god knows what tomorrow but will how much money am I losing by breeding my cows this way

I’ve read that each ebi figure returns between 1-2 euro to the farmer pocket- does this mean I will have to pay to get ride of these cows or are my type of cows being ingnored just to save face with the teagasc beliefs??

she penned the article and headline was generated from its content …I’m sure she is a nice person but she can’t just distance herself from the article

ignore them boss ….ain’t doing you any harm as is so must be doing something right ….industry and there so called experts 🙄have to herd us all one way backed up by shiny graphs and questionable research….smart lads are very often the ones that run in opposite direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The high cell count ladies, would they be a throw-over from your days using irish bulls with poor health/confirmation traits, it's alarming the state of a batch of second lactation heifers here that where bred of a ballymaddock stock bull feet and udders are basically shoot on them...

Was terrifying how one cross back to Irish genetics produced the above

I will not comment on such blasphemous accusations

but yeah they were all by Irish sires

Including 2 heifers that one was slow milking and the other calved in on 2 quarters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,745 ✭✭✭893bet

small suckler farmer here, closed herd for 12 years.

A 22 month old bullock went down in test last month with a single lesion then confirmed on kill out.

He clearly went into the shed with it in Oct with all the other cattle. Yet he the only one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭yewdairy

Fair enough if you don't want to use Irish high ebi bulls. Do what you think is best for your farm.

But there are 100s of thousands of these straws been used every year on farms and lads are getting on the finest with them.

Find the ebi figures very good just use the sub indexes to pick the bulls.

Jamie Kiley put up his last coop performance report before he sold out, 620kg ms delivered/cow, used genomic bulls from progressive. If genomic bulls were as bad as some are making out here he would not have been able to achieve that level of production no matter how good a farmer he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I have an old shed in the yard. I might clean it out and put the last few in there. I got test carried out on the what's coming out of the calves but it tested negative for all viral scours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

IMG_0139.png

Solely use Irish bulls here too. I’d say we’ll tip 580 kgs this year in a spring calving system.

I would say Jamie is probably one of the greatest dairy farmers I have seen - he fed a lot of meal last year as he was gearing up for a dispersal sale- why can’t everyone do what he did if ebi is so good

Don't You feed alot of meal and everything else yourself.... here is the 2023 report.

1000008282.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭yewdairy

The point is Irish high ebi bulls delivery very profitable high output herds when managed well.

There will always be a difference between farms that have the same genetics due to the management on individual farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭The Rabbi

They are industry experts not farming experts.Financed by industry to sell the next great thing,the must have product used by all the best farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Genomically tested this years batch of 1st calvers on the us index, results speaked for themselves, theirs a serious amount of lies and misleading data how international bulls are converted over, hammering international bulls on fert/solids % etc simply to turn lads of them

You should see the genomics on the really poor Irish bred ones of a topclass ebi bulls, their shocking

They're health trait and type scores, combined with no milk is a huge glaring issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,675 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

On scc , it's an environment problem, milking machine, sheds, milking routine, teat spraying. Very hard to lay the blame on the sire . Ours around 100 here atm after years of being around 250, new parlour has sorted alot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Whats interesting is that when he fed more he improved his calving interval and produced significantly more milk solids per cow in a very challenging year. What people aren't mentioning is that the average milk solids is 410 kgs and the average ebi is 181 and while the average Ebi is increasing the average milk solids is not. Was at a signpost meeting yesterday and Teagasc are now pushing for more milk per cow. Alot of high stocked grass based farms now have diet feeders and are buffering alot of the year to maintain their stocking rates and in some cases are feeding the same as me but 100kg less ms per cow produced, they simply don't have the genetics to produce it. It will be interesting if going forward if herds increasing their ebi constantly will be able to improve ms production while maintaining a good calving interval.