If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Milk supply won’t be increasing any time soon anyway which I’m guessing can only be a good thing.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,645 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Well the pressure is off for new manufacturing facilities. Not sure how the cheese plant is progressing at Belview. And tbh I'd rather them as a customer than the Gibbons led Russian supporting factory of Danone. There's enough of words in that that I wouldn't be relying on them as a customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

milk is well up I believe. New plant in belview is at full capacity

Farmers aren’t keeping any poor cows now and production per cow is a fair bit better than 10 years ago I think

I'm up on last year because last year was crap weather wise and tb had me fecked. But I'm back on three years ago. I'd have to reserve judgement on the milk going in to the plants. Think there does be some messing going on to making drivers wait and it seems like there's more volume.

Too slow altogether.

I'd blame that elusive Kieran fella. If the milk price goes down it's his fault. 😅

I will say another thing though. There's a lot more residential farms coming on the market than there were. Like proper sized farms that there'd be enough in the entire to make a living. If anyone had millions now you wouldn't be long putting together thousands of acres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭green daries

Milk supply will be well up this year id expect especially on the last two years....but it's only early days yet

IMG_0152.png

high ebi stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,131 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

In fairness to kevin he has a super herd of cows and he doesn't blow about it. One sound man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭visatorro

And cows wouldn't be pampered either. Top class farmer and a gentleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭alps

Milk up 9% on high of 2022. Perfect weather, cheap rations, high Milk price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

the amount of dispersal sales this spring is frightening considering the good weather and the price of milk we are getting… 7 lads around me here are gone in the last couple months.. farmers range in age from 58 to early 70's.. maybe they are cashing in on the good prices being paid for dairy stock..

I don’t know tbh. Getting out of dairy is a long term decision for ppl at that age. If you’ve no one interested and you’ve no loan commitments why would you bother. It wouldn’t be a decision you’d make just because of high prices for stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,131 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I think people are just fed up with all the **** that goes along with dairy farming atm. If you can lease out your land and relax for a while it looks like a good option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,608 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Personally fellas getting out doesn't bother me now that quotas are gone.fellas hung on bit after quotas went but what is it only a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭cjpm

On the money here.

Tax free renting out land. It’s a no brainer if you’re shoving in the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭visatorro

Great year for anyone getting out of farming, everything is mad money. 540 an acre for ground near me. Best of luck to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭ginger22

Apparently Kerry are having their highest milk intake ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭yewdairy

These dairy farms that are getting out are generally very financially secure, made plenty of money over the years and have a very valuable asset that can deliver an income whether that be from rent or just payments and a bit of dry stock farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭yewdairy

Mills are flat out so plenty of feed going in, cows are very content on grass as well.

High cull cow price has encouraged more culling of rubbish in ever herd that were not adding much to bulk tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Factory fit culls are making big money and can nearly replace themselves. Heifer calves that are January born are making over 600

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I won't say never, but I'd be very very slow to rent the place out anyway, it'd be one of the last options considered.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

While it's clear what your saying, describing farm animals as "rubbish" isn't a good vibe for a farmer to be giving off.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,619 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Poor maintenance by the tenant is probably the biggest problem I see, if you're leasing out due to age,health etc.

The requirement for Maintenance is even written into the IFA lease.

You'd never get the return on the money that leasing gives, plus the increase in land price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭older by the day

Every farmer, on here knew what he meant, and it is a good point.

I would not be holding on to any animal that is troublesome. Costs are too high to be play acting.

I'd a feed salesman here describe calves as rats once, and he a farmer himself, I never bought as much as a bag off him after.

A bit of respect and gratitude is good for everyone.

You put me thinking... lots of reasons really, in no particular order;

I love the farm, and farming here, I've plenty of things I'd like to try out yet, I reckon a bit of me would die the day I lose interest.

We live in quite a beautiful and unusual farm, not just a plain flat bunch of featureless paddocks. There's ancient woodland, ancient buildings, a view across counties, no rights of way or issues with neighbours, peace, seclusion and privacy. I've been fortunate to inherit this intact young and will pass it on, in even better condition, young also.

Its a farm that needs minding though, it'd be easy wreck it. Good average land but clayey and in a rainy area.

One of the reasons I'm content farming is that I don't have a boss or employees, and when it suits us, there's nothing going on here, that would be gone. I'd hate not to be able to lock my own gate.

I've a particular interest and fondness for wildlife and nature, and sometimes small things are done on the farm in a way to accommodate this that wouldn't be appreciated by many. I wouldn't like to lose those little things either.

To borrow a quote once again ;

"Some money just isn't worth making"