Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,837 ✭✭✭✭phog

This is exactly what player pathway is, it seems that you want Leinster players playing in Leinster or abroad, Munster players playing Munster or abroad and so on for Ulster and Connacht but there's no ire shown to Connacht or Ulster as there's no sport in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭spillit67

So you aren’t actually reading my posts then?

I literally say the opposite in my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭antfin

I think everyone will agree that it's not good for anyone to continue down the path of one province supplying such a heavy proportion of the national team and the CC system as it was previously set up would just deepen this hole. Leinster have benefited financially but equally ended up with an entire first team unavailable for most of the regular season. They had the resources to develop a much stronger 2nd and 3rd option in each position using the financial resources that the CC attracted. Regardless of the inability of other provinces to develop international standard players, the financial position would ultimately cause this problem to continue to deteriorate and is already leaking into support for the national team and potential interest by age grade players in taking rugby seriously in other provinces.

Hopefully the new system goes someway to helping to revitalise the pathways outside of Leinster in the longer term and feeds into growing a deeper playing pool and more successful Irish national team. It still leaves a question over whether the schools system and the financial support from parents in Leinster schools will outweigh any financial support that the IRFU can divert into the other three provinces as that's ultimately where the issue starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,518 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Munster have had the guts of 30 “Leinster” players at various stages of their careers over the last decade being involved there.

The convenient narrative from elsewhere is that these are all cast offs or whatever, it’s nonsense.

I'm not so sure tbh; you'd also be hard pushed to argue that Leinster were adversely affected because of it in the last decade, for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,837 ✭✭✭✭phog

You've a funny way of stating it so but shure on you go, Leinster good, Munster bad, the others don't count as there's no sport in it.

You aren’t so sure about what now? I’m not playing the poor mouth here, I am saying Munster have been given a share of that talent pool.

Are you telling me that being handed the best young 10 in Europe (at the time) wasn’t helpful?

Are you saying that Beirne being directed south when he came home was a bad thing?

Conway wasn’t a good international player?

Even someone like a Keatley, he left Leinster for more opportunity. Connacht nabbed him. You can argue he was a cast off but was he not a good squad player for Munster for years? There is nothing wrong with that.

IMO Munster need to be producing around 3 players on average a year (players capable of being regular senior squad members over a 3 year horizon, not just players getting a few caps). That gives them the bulk of your senior squad of 42-44 after you have natural attrition for retirements / transfers over career spans of 12-15 years. Filling in the gap will come from Leinster players, overseas players and other sources (project players / other provinces). In terms of the Leinster and overseas players they’ve gotten, I don’t think it’s fair to say they have been wanting in that regard. Where they have been wanting is in home produced players for at least half a decade.

Objectively I would say “Leinster” have probably produced 5 players a season directly for the last 15 or so years with another small number who went through academies elsewhere. Munster have probably produced something like 2.25. That’s the issue.

Where the rubber meets the road here is that project players are not going to be a big feature anymore. This puts pressure on all of the provinces, including Leinster. So unless Leinster can increase their output, there will be less that they can hand out themselves to other provinces. This is why the IRFU became stricter, they had to. But when we talk about a lot of these issues we don’t look back 15 years or forward 15 years to reflect on all of the dynamics at play.

Thankfully the project player thing is really 5 years gone at this stage (with Munster getting hit earlier on it with Stander retiring). Leinster though still have two of them as key players who will need to be replaced through their own stocks. So it’s still working its way through the system.

I'd agree with most of that in the main.

My point is, I think it'd be harsh to call those players "cast-offs" but I equally don't think their leaving had any adverse affects on Leinster.

Much like I don't expect the 40% when it's introduced to have any materially adverse affects on Leinster.

(Fwiw, I think it's a stretch to suggest Joey was the best young 10 in Europe at the time).

How can you say that it didn’t have adverse effects on Leinster?

Of the 23 that won in 2018, 3 of them were at different provinces by the start of the 2019/20 season.

People bring up the likes of Jack McGrath and him being injured as a wave away point when he went to Ulster. This is nonsense, Leinster were pissed when he signed for Ulster. Ulster were getting a B&I Lion when they signed him. He was still in and around the set up, just that he had been edged by Healy. He subsequently fell away due to the hip but he was very much in business when he signed him.

In terms of Leinster losing out, they have to manage losing these players. They have the talent to do so, so I’m not complaining. Just making the point that it happens.

This “negativity” around the country is being stoked by a few Munster social media accounts that went into a strop when the IRFU got strict. The same ones who didn’t give a monkeys about other provinces until they started getting told no for some sugar rushes.

Funny way of stating what now? You aren’t reading my posts, you are either picking at a crumb of them or simply making things up.

The fact that Leinster have the lions share of central contracts now is not the reason why Munster failed to produce enough players from c. 2010 until about the last 5 or 6 years. David Nucifora is also not the reason why Munster failed to produce enough players, in fact his timing coincides with a pick up in played production again in Munster. And it’s his timing that began to see more Leinster talent going elsewhere.

Because Leinster have remained at the absolute pointy end of every competition they've been in, every season since then. I expect that to remain the case after the 40% comes in.

It's not "negativity" to have have had entirely legitimate concerns about the effects of the distribution of Central Contracts. The IRFU seem to have agreed there were legitimate concerns, with the introduction of these changes. (And I've no interest in dragging in arguments from other social media platforms onto here; I'd rather just discuss what's being discussed on here….)

And broadly speaking, these changes seem to have have been received positively.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,510 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It's not "negativity" to have have had entirely legitimate concerns about the effects of the distribution of Central Contracts.

One can argue this is semantics, and you'd have a legitimate point to a degree, but the concern should not be around the effects of the distribution of Central Contracts. It just makes it sound like the problem is a central planning issue that somehow Nucifora or now Humphreys can fix immediately. The concern should be around the lack of top level players coming through in 3 out of 4 provinces. The distribution of the CCs is a function of everything else that is happening - it is an outcome, not a driver of the problem.

I am happy with these changes precisely because they are ringfencing the funding for development pathways as that is clearly where the problem lies and has lied for 10+ years (albeit, I do genuinely think the Munster development pathway seems better than it did a number of years ago)

Where are the concerns for Ulster not having the tax rebate? The FX volatility for Sterling? Cost of living differences around the country? The fact that Leinster have a smaller squad than Munster yet have less of them available week to week (you know there's cost of that?!).

The concern should be around the lack of top level players coming through in 3 out of 4 provinces.

I can tell you first hand, that is the main concern of all my Munster supporting family and friends. Munster fans, more than anyone, want to see Munster players in the Ireland team.

Money* into development pathways was always an obvious part of a solution. But where does that money come from? Again, the most obvious place to point to was where the most significant imbalance in the system lay. Central Contracts.

I mean, the 40% from the CC's is literally going straight to those player development pathways in Connacht, Ulster and Munster; it's impossible to separate one from the other.

It's exactly the point I made to FFF this time last year:

Me: Where do you think the change is needed?

FFF: Player development pathways, academy structures, schools/youth coaching & facilities. Pump as much money as we can into that and give oversight to the IRFU.

There is absolutely no solution here apart from helping the other three provinces produce more indigenous players. Everything else is a sticking plaster, and giving more money to other provinces to sign more NIQs or pay their existing guys more is actually counter-productive.

Me: I'd entirely agree with that as part of a solution. Now where does that money come from? It's a zero sum game.

*bearing in mind that some on here argued money wasn't the answer.

Bingo.

There have been 12 new outhalfs capped in the last 15 seasons for Ireland.

Leinster had 8 of them come through their system. 1 is O/S. 3 from the other Provinces. So Leinster by themselves produced nearly 3 times as many as the others combined.

And yes you can't just pick one position but (1) outhalf is where your better footballers should end up, that you can't product them points to a problem and (2) it is reflected in other positions, maybe not to the same extent, but whereby Leinster are producing a plurality.

And that issue goes back 15-20 years, not to do with Central Contracts or David Nucifora.

And for as much as we have to acknowledge that population, schools (although as mentioned, they were criticised years ago) and finances, we also have to acknowledge that things like organisational dysfunction (CEOs, Head Coach and other attrition), poor investment (putting in money towards elite NIQs and stadiums ahead of training facilities, for example) and overall system design plays a role.

Yet there are scapegoats constantly brought out here. If I was in 2007 as a Leinster supporter and was giving out about the IRFU then I'd be justifiably laughed at.

I think, broadly speaking, they weren't as significant a concern to Irish Rugby (or as controllable) as the distribution of Central Contracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭niallm77

Munster players will only get into the ireland team if Munster actually produce players good enough. The problem in the last 10/15/20 years is the endless succession of imports from South Africa mainly and at the time nobody in Munster seemed to see the longer term impact which Is if you aren't producing locally and are using signings to paper the cracks eventually it will create a massive problem.

Where was the concern in Munster back then? Plater x from South Africa buying into he Munster culture doesn't generate players for the national team.

If you want to see Munster representation on the national team, then there needs to be actual Munster representation in Munster.

No players on CC means much reduced financial support from IRFU. Now, the over riding agenda, for want of a better word, is it's the IRFU favouring Leinster which Brought this about completely ignoring the piss poor management of Munster in the noughties when they were the dominant province in terms of CC and had 10-12 players in ireland match day 22s and were winning HCs and getting to SFs consistently.

@niallm77

Where was the concern in Munster back then? Plater x from South Africa buying into he Munster culture doesn't generate players for the national team.

You're clearly overlooking project players here which were part of the picture. (e.g. Stander, Marshall, Cloete, Bleyendaal, Knox,…. Kleyn? Lets not open that can of worms again). The point being there was a clear distinction between IQ and NIQ players.

If you want to see Munster representation on the national team, then there needs to be actual Munster representation in Munster.

There clearly is Munster representation in Munster. Are you trying to suggest there isn't??

Now, the over riding agenda, for want of a better word, is it's the IRFU favouring Leinster which Brought this about completely ignoring the piss poor management of Munster in the noughties when they were the dominant province in terms of CC and had 10-12 players in ireland match day 22s and were winning HCs and getting to SFs consistently.

I've never said the IRFU favoured Leinster. I've said the system, tho unintended, favoured Leinster.

I've also consistently acknowledged that Munster should've done better when they were the dominant province.

And also Munster were never as dominant as Leinster are now, where Leinster have 16,17 of the 23 in match day squads.

Something needed to change when the the distribution was heading to 10:3. Doubly so when the 3 players on CC's were of the age profile of (I think) Aki, Henderson and Beirne.

It's not an "agenda" to suggest as much.

The issue with Project players is that there is no certainty around how they will fare. Some were success, others weren’t, but when the go to plan is sign another south African, then that means local production isn’t a priority, and guess what, when that happens, and others are producing [Leinster] we end up where we are now. The system didn’t favour Leinster. Leinster favoured Leinster and because others favoured signing south africans, guess how that fared out …. It doesn’t matter if they are NIQ or Project players IMO. If the go to is to sign another Bok/Kiwi etc then there is no real desire to improve the local pathways.

Again, I never said Munster were as dominant as Leinster are now, but Munster were the dominant province in that time, 10-12 of the national 22s at the time compared to Leinsters 5-6. They were HC SF regulars, went to 4 finals, won in 06 and 08, backboned the Grand Slam teams in 09 after being the biggest suppliers to the national team in the entire decade. But all the while, behind the scenes, nothing was happening to cash in on that success in terms of player development. It was almost like the powers that be felt the conveyor belt was just going to keep producing. And when it didn’t …..

There is Munster representation in Munster, of course there is, but there is also a hell of a lot of non Munster developed players in the squad, off the top of my head about 35-40% of the squad are signings. When the volume of locally developed players is that low, the chances of getting Munster representation in the national team is far diminished. Beirne is an outlier of the current signings realistically.

@niallm77

It's literally not the go-to plan any more, if it ever was. That argument is, at best, 5 years out of date.

I absolutely agree that not enough was done behind the scenes at Munster, but I also absolutely agree with this change from the IRFU. Because the system absolutely favoured Leinster. The system has had to be changed because of how lopsided it had become.

Even if Munster optimise their development pathways to the nth degree, Munster will always have to recruit from outside. Leinster are the outlier here; Leinster are the outlier in world rugby. It can't be the case that Leinster are the elite production line in world rugby and anything short of that line is considered failure.

For example, no one will convince me that Gavin Coombes shouldn't have more caps for Ireland. But it can't be the case that him not having more caps is somehow indicative of a failure of the Munster production line. 9 of our starting 15, and 15 of our 23 in the URC final win were Muster produced players. That seems about right to me.

The whole system has to be about more than just representation for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭thamus doku

sexton being called up to the lions and being made a full time assistant with Ireland is truly bizarre.

There is plenty of vastly more experienced coaches available but Farrell has decided to pick a mate.
    Truly bizarre stuff.

Irish rugby is going downhill big time and I would not be surprised if the lions struggle, sexton is not coaching material. Too much arrogance and too little experience.

As the "issue" doesn't impact Munster social media accounts

I’ve given you my answer. I don’t see what “Munster social media accounts” has got to do with it.

Are you really trying to argue that, say, Ulster not having the tax rebate is as significant or as controllable an issue for the IRFU as compared to the Central Contracts imbalance?

I don’t understand the hang up with Munster social media accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

To my point in my post, are the Munster's young players coming through better now or in 2014?

If you say better in 2014 or try to fudge it, please list the quality non-Irish capped young players that were coming through back then.

It is worth €15k for every €100k a player is paid. That is a material number in any player budget.

As is differences in cost of living (believe it or not), particularly when we are talking about median wages of rugby players.

Fluctuations in FX can move the dial materially for the IRFU annually (maybe read their annual reports) and also the value of distributions.

The only reasons these weren't "issues" is because certain people don't have a self interest in promoting them but the IRFU manage them all the time and have to make "changes". They might not feel the need to put out a press release on it because there aren't certain very loud people always giving out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

The 'system' may appear to favour Leinster but only because Munster made a complete mess of things back in their glory days and are still dealing with the consequences.

Munster were the epitome of the Celtic Tiger - they were rolling in money, from a fan base from all over the country that drove gate receipts (packed houses while other provinces had 2 men and a dog), to prize money (so many finals), to sponsorship (Toyota & Adidas), to merchandise (most kids who played rugby had some Munster gear), to the IRFU covering way more central contracts at the time for them. They felt the good times would never end and never realised they'd built on sand.

Rather than investing their money in their future, in pathways and infrastructure that supports them, they used it on big name NIQs and a stadium that was far too big for their needs 98% of the time. They also spent it on refusing to make tough decisions like moving to a single training base - it took 20 years of professionalism before they were dragged into having the team train in a single location.

But sure keep pointing the finger at the IRFU and Nucifora for not being able to instantly fix the mess the Munster blazers made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,477 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

”Fudge it”? Why would I? I think you’re missing my point here.

Someone can correct me on my dates but around 2014, people were going batsh1t that a young Munster out half was allowed to go to England. I think this was also approximately the time when people were adamant that Dave Foley was the next long-term Irish lock and that Duncan Casey would be throwing to him. I’m sure there were more but it’s ten years ago like.

I’m not having a go at these players but at the time, people were as utterly convinced of their test credentials as they are now about Coombes, Hodnett or Ahern. Time proved them wrong back then, and we won’t know for a couple of years yet what the real legacy of the Nucifora era is either.

The root cause of this is absolutely, unquestionably the failure of Munster and Ulster. But Nucifora, as their ultimate boss, cannot be absolved of any blame because the buck only stops with the most senior person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭ersatz

Interestingly, not from an IRFU perspective. From their point of view, representing Ireland is the ultimate goal of player development. Provincial success is a by product and if the ultimate goal is successful, player development is happening around the country in the different academies, clubs and schools then the provinces would also be successful. I think it's about time that the IRFU recognised that part of it and took direct control of development, or at least tighter control, through being more actively involved in acadamies. Ulster and Munster have been badly run, thats increasingly obvious. Whatever about coaching, development has been allowed to die on the vine. There are lots of reasons and even forces beyond the control of the provinces but Leinster's success puts some shibboleths to bed. The idea that we don't produce the physical specimens required to compete doesn't hold up, competition from other sports is real but not decisive, Dublin has more footballers and hurlers than anywhere (while the number of football teams in Dublin is actually declining quite dramatically), and so on. Leinster have the advantage of the schools and population but thats about it and it is only in the last 15 years that they've made it count to the degree they've done. It's hard to find player numbers broken down by province but there are A LOT of kids playing rugby.

The argument is not 5 years out of date. The cause of now, it's a direct result of 20 years ago. The system does not favour Leinster, the way Leinster/Munster have run things has led to the current situation. History tells us that it is possible for Munster to have a greater number of CC therefore that's not indicative of a system favouring Leinster.

Leinster maximise what they have, Munster failed to capitalise back when they were the dominant province, big name sponsors came knocking, the scramble for tickets to the old Thomond, the media, the quest for the HC etc. I think there was maybe an element of complacency or maybe even arrogance looking beyond the need to harness the success.

It isn't about Munster matching Leinster, it's about Munster being utterly abject for a long time and complaining now about Leinster, IRFU, CC etc.

Nucifora was getting blamed earlier in the thread but he was the guy who very publicly met Joey Carbery around April/May 2018 and basically encouraged him to move to Munster. The same Nucifora who signed off on a considerable number of signings for Munster, be it IQ, NIQ.

The system is about representing Ireland, thats the end goal for lads entering the academies surely? Is to play for your country? And the more lads in Munster, who they develop into regular internationals, the more likely they are to get a CC = more room on the budget.

As for Coombes, to get more ireland caps he would have to displace Conan and Doris. That's unfortunate timing for his career to be behind two great players. But as I said previously, yes Munster have improved but they are still several generations behind Leinster playing catch up. And the fault for all of that lies primarily within.

When Munster were the dominant team, all the supposed favouritism being afforded to Leinster now, were afforded to Munster back then. Will Munster ever be in that dominant position again, no. Realistically I think 4-5 guys on CC is a medium-long term goal. The announcement on Tuesday is the continuation of a delicate balancing act for the IRFU but it's going to be a generation of players before that bears fruit.

Interestingly, not from an IRFU perspective. From their point of view, representing Ireland is the ultimate goal of player development. 

That’s exactly my point tho; it’s the ultimate goal. It’s not the only goal.

The Ireland team will always have primacy as that’s what funds the game in the country. But they also have a broader remit to the provinces, player development, pathways, playing numbers etc. and everything that comes under the banner of the health of the game in the country (which then, in turn and in time, feeds into representing Ireland).

I think this was an important an necessary change to redress the imbalance.

And, like I said, I think we can at least agree that none of:

• Ulster not having the tax rebate
    • Cost of living
    • Fluctuations in FX rates

are in the direct control of the IRFU in the same way as the distribution of funds with regards Central Contracts.

Even if you intensely dislike these "certain people / social media accounts" that you keep bringing up, there clearly was a legitimate argument here completely independent of anything they've said, as evidenced by the fact the IRFU actually did make a change.