Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

New entrant question…

Is it normal for heifers milk to change up or down by nearly 1 litre day by day? I’m just looking at the collection docket and averaging it per heifer per day.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Wait until end of June and when they hit a stemmy paddock they could crash 3 litres per day and recover when back in fresh grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Arm Wax

gave up zero grazing except for short periods of dry weather , i have gone to a 4 or even a 5 cut system trying to make bales of quality stuff over the last 2 years , solids per cow have jumped from 460 to 580/600 , when its wet outside cows getting more wet grass was doing nothing for the cow or my pocket,and its proven such that teagasc have taken interest in what i have achieved making a couple of quick snaps on you tube this year trying to show what is possible , local teagasc have admitted that they were just looking at grass and forgot the silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Arm Wax

milk dockets will show you very fast what energy you are after giving your herd ,tight grazing might be good for the grass but it tends not to be great for the cow or your pocket,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭ginger22

With the price of beef now why would anyone consider dairy. Sucklers the only way to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭visatorro

just on teagasc, the latest video talks about fat% dropping in second rotation. they said it was basically down to breeding. that buffer feeding or feeding extra meal made no difference. i dont think they mentioned hi clover swards but i presume their trails would have been on swards with clover in them. im feeding 1/2 kg of straw, 1 kg dm of silage and a kg of meal at the barrier. solids didnt drop but mine wouldnt be breaking any records really either. 4 fat and 3-5 pr.

any thoughts?

wouldnt pass too much heed. if one was round she could be down 5 litres. couple chasing could be down a litre aswell. very hard to get exactly enough grass into them with the paddocks aswell. once they dont fall off a cliff and they look well itll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,524 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Yea, sucklers are good at the moment,

Farmers rearing calves hang themselves the first day by giving too much for a poor calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭DBK1

I find that interesting because I had one of my dairy farming customers on to me last week and he was saying the very same thing.

He reckons the cost of zero grazing, he uses a contractor for it, doesn’t cover itself with the return in the tank and he’s going to move from a 3-4 cut system onto a 4-5 cut system. Based on his own figures between feeding high quality bales versus zero grazing his returns are better from the bales.

Basically exactly what you’ve already said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

started zero grazing here last year and happy enough so far.

The biggest downside is time it takes between getting the grass and drawing slurry back. It saved me big time last year when we didn’t have the grass growth here at home during the summer. We did 560 kgs last year after a disaster of a start with the shite weather leading to a poor peak and me being out of action for a month due to an accident.

Cows doing 31 l 4.15 bf 3.66 pr atm on lush 2nd round grazing and zero grazing with 25% heifers. Milk recorded 2 weeks ago and a good 1/4 of the herd were near or over 40l. If we can keep them going well for the year I’d be hopeful they’ll do near 600 kgs of milk solids.

The biggest thing I see is you need fresh swards. (Goes for grazing too) Old swards are useless. Cows dropped from 3.61 pr to 3.5 pr and lost a litre when I brought in grass off fields with poor perennial grass content

All in all I’m happy enough but I’ve bred a medium sized cow that suits grazing imo. I’m not sure if a more Holstein type cow would suit it.

Sucklers are a different game again.

But calf-to-beef done right is a good earner. Even before beef price went up this year, there was a decent margin in calf-to-beef. It's easier to get into and easier to ramp up stock numbers too compared to dairy. There's a lead-in time of 18 months before you kill your first AA or HE heifer but you could be killing a few every month from then on til the last FR bullock is gone at 30 months.

I'll give dairy a good lash this year (starting TAD on Wed now the water heater is sorted at last) but I'll also be doing the numbers for dairy vs calf-to-beef later in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭straight

Calf to beef farmers were getting free calves for years. If they couldn't make it pay maybe it was their fault and not everyone else's.

I thought it was a pretty hopeless bit of research. Reminded me of the bike shed fiasco. They kept talking about the "huge body of work" they did and all "the learnings" from it. As far as I could see there was no conclusion.

They did a bit of goggling and copy and paste from American research, threw in a bit of chat GPT and basically never managed to join the dots.

I'd say if they asked one or two experienced farmers they could have skipped alot of the "research".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

talking thru there hole on that re fats ….when it comes to nutritional advice I wouldn’t pay much attention to Tegasc etc on that ….tweaked things feeding wise here to stop fats crashing from April in and it’s worked …well into second round tank averaging just over 35 at 4.43 fat 3.61 protein ….8 kg fresh buffer in every evening of maize and 3 kg blend …all in getting over 8 kg nuts/meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Oil content of the grass is a big reason for the drop. Google rumen biohydrogenation low milk fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Up the straw to 2kg/hd.
    If you could get your hands on oat/spelt/soya hulls, even better again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

You’re getting a good 2kg of fibre into them with the maize, it’s quite fibrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭dmakc

What parlour kg are lads giving these days with good grass in front of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,809 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ordering nuts the other day and I said i wanted the calmag in 3kgs of nuts, is that all you're feeding. Autumn calvers be on that , rest on 5-6kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

would see them up and down a bit alright but there's usually a reason . I write the yield in a diary every day and try and find an answer if there are drops . Usually it will be down to grass quality , grass quantity, access to water and I would have some paddocks with older grass varieties that the cows always drop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

Stocking rate on grazing platform is going to become a real live issue. The drive to end our derogation might be waining, but there's a head of stem building to curtail grazing platform Stocking rates. Don't leave yourself exposed on this.

They are passing it at the barrier and tipping away at it dawg. They aren't held in the shed so dunno whether they'll eat more themselves.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I am coming to the opinion that the model based on grazed grass may have run its course.i would contend that we may to run more cows on the home base but have a system where ration and either top quality grass silage or wholecrop or maize maybe will form a bigger part of the herds diet

I listen to them and you might take an odd bit from them. Not a whole pile there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭yewdairy

I dunno about that, stocked at 2.8 cows/ha here on milking block . Cows been out fulltime since 1st week of March. No grazing done in February just too wet.

We will send about 180000 litres for March and April. 130 cows will have sent about €108k worth of milk and in those two months. Cows will probably average out 4kg of meal so about 10k of feed total

Very hard to compete with margin on grazed grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Is there anything to suggest this is actually true, none the less, max stocking rate would be about 3.5 on the milking platform

Can anyone define the milking platform anyway? To a zero grazer a whole county could be the platform

It's Not difficult to define.

Cows out here since March 1st. A perfect spring. Silage fertiliser out today. About 6 days left in the first round. The only hope of profit in Ireland is from grazed grass. The rest is just chasing your tail imho. A form of vanity I would say actually.

My point is it'll become difficult when it's in the regulator's interest to define it.