Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Firearms Certificate Waiting Times Survey

1234568»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

F38[Applications for, and form and effect of, firearm certificates.

Sect 3……

(9) A decision on an application for a firearm certificate or its renewal shall be given within 3 months from the date on which the applicant submitted a completed application form.

F91[Appeal to District Court.

Sect 15A.— (1) An appeal may be made to the District Court by a person aggrieved by any of the following decisions made by an issuing person:

(2) An appeal shall be made within 30 days of receipt of notice of the decision concerned.

(5) For the purposes of this section—

(a) an issuing person—

(i) who is required under section 3(9), 4A(7) or 10(4F) to decide on an application within a specified period, and

(ii) who does not so decide,

is deemed to have decided to refuse to grant the application,

(b) the applicant is deemed to have received notice of the decision on the expiration of that period, and

(c) as the case may be, section 3(10) does not apply in relation to the application.

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

And from

The Garda Commissioner's Guidelines as tothe Practical Application and Operation ofthe Firearms Acts, 1925-2009.

Revised 2018

image.png

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭freddieot

One month, my bad, its been so long now I forgot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭john_aero

Just talking to an rfd yesterday asking what his experience has been recently with. New applicai

Advice was it will prob be more than likely issued just new lad is slow going through them. He said he is not anti gun but goes into every application in detail but only does them once a month

So while FO has done the work he said could be month or two before he even looks at the next stack.

I'm going give it a few more weeks as I know date I dropped it in and date FO rang me to check details.

I'll contact them near the 4th month and if there is any issue I'll open appeal

Our previous super, once FO had their bit done he allowed it go on it was, I had application few weeks last year

Post edited by john_aero on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,131 ✭✭✭clivej

If I'm not getting any news for a substitution within 3 weeks, or a new application within 4 weeks I'll be making a call to my FO. Any longer and it's the Super or CS I'd be calling.

Quickest for a sub was 3 days to have the new licence. For a new licence was just under 4 weeks, over the Christmas period. But my second full bore licence took 7 months, and that was after I made an appointment to see the Super.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭6.5x55 seller ammo

Renewal of centrefire rifle for deer in Kildare (Naas district). Application sent in week 17th of March with approval received today.

No complaints with a 4/5 week turnaround.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 TomCox152

First time applicant for a .270 deer rifle in Douglas Cork. About 8 weeks total.

Had a good chat with the FO today, all is still good just a huge back log and if is an issue they will ring me.

I believe there is over 1200 applications gone in at Jan and renewals are priority.

So all good so far just waiting on system to work through the backlog which is reasonable. Have say FO is very helpful and willing chat any time i need update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Rob.blair84

backlog is just a bit of an excuse to put off new applications being honest , because renewals should be simple enough and they should be well prepared as they know how many people to expect each year looking for renewals.

If the FO did all the leg work for mine why dose it take the super so long so say yes or no , like the FO said happy with everything in order and clean record and all that jazz , so you would think its a simple enough process for the super to say yea i agree all is above board , it seems more like they are just doing it to drag things out …

Exactly, just drag it out (legally or illegally) and hope they lose interest or run out of money.

The more people that let them away with it, the bolder they become and the further they will push it.

Until recently never an issue for me. New super now here so seems be massive delays since the new super took over.

This has to be longest I ever has to wait but sounds like it's the "norm" here with new super.

Not ideal for me as dealer is in Germany and wants it gone

Plan is give it few weeks, if no joy might pop in to meet the super see what story is

do all stations post out this Acknowledgment letter ? , being 2 weeks since my application was fond after being lost and she said she processed itself and handed it to the super , not sure if i should of got an acknowledgement letter by now .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

No, not all districts or stations send out the acknowledgement letters.

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

good owl consistency’s with our systems 😂.. so then in that theory i have a right to have my application processed from 3 months from when i handed it as there is no other recognition of anything else 🤷🏻‍♂️

Oh lord no, you have zero rights when it comes to firearms here.

It isn't legal for ags to take longer than 3 months to give you a decision(after 3 it is deemed to be a refusal), but there is no legal penalty for them taking more than 3 months, or not sending out the refusal letter after 3 months have passed.

It is more the lack of legal consequences for ags when they don't abide by the law that screws us.

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

feck that’s a bit of a s**** show then ain’t it ,

Yup, and waiting times are the single biggest issue for both licence holders and dealers, constantly raised to AGS by both and nought done about it.

Some districts are excellent, you'd get your new application turned around within a month, and subsequent within 2 weeks.

Others are into months and even years.

Often the only way to sort it is taking them to court.

they lost mine for a few weeks , then after a few emails and phone calls they found it all of a sudden m at that point the FO said she has everything and going though it herself , was one of the best applications she seen in ages and didn’t need anything else off me and was personal bring it to the district office herself that day and should receive a letter in the post, that was about 2 weeks ago , don’t want to call and seem to pushy but also don’t want to let them think i can be pushed aside for months at an end either ..

thats issue we all have fear been pushy

i have been calling but FO has handed it off so they can do no more

Went to another local RFD, they told me the new super had a meeting with all the local RFD's and told them it will take as long as it tsakes to process applictions. times have nearly x3 since last year. few weeks is now months with no reply and left sitting idle. the RFD are also not sure how to adice customer as fear is excuses will be found to refuse license

my FO seemed very happy with everything and didn’t see any reason why it should be refused ,

Being honest I already said to myself if refused I will be spending the money on my appeal by going to a solicitor and letting them handle it , because as I seen it a refusal atleast in my eyes is an insult to a persons character , and when you have a clean history, and eveything else they ask you in place there is no reason for refusing someone .

Do not be bullied. Go the court route and don't fear a refusal- they still have to stand-over and justify a refusal in front of a judge.

An appeal to the District Court will cost you €25 and €10 for registered post to notify Super/Chief-Super. This will let them know that you are serious and only after this will you need to instruct a solicitor, if your initial push-back dosen't work.

Just remember that the firearms guard/Sgt has no legal authority to grant/refuse/apply restrictions etc, so don't rely on what they say, and direct ALL your queries and correspondence to your District/Division office and the Super/Chief-Super.

I am thinking going in to see them, seems be a total slow down by new super.

both RFD's have said no refusals really just a massive slow down. not sure what this achieves bar annoying customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,219 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

BE pushy! You have upheld your conditions of applying lawfully for a firearm,and the legisaltion states a given timeframe for the grantors to make a decision,which is 90 days,which we will ASSume is working days,not calender days from the moment you mailed it in or dropped it into your local station.It is an absolute ridicilous and a cop out this point in legislation that exists in NO other Irish legislation ASFICS that you do not need to be informed after 90 days,which in itself is an incredibly long time for any sort of offical decision in writing, that your application has failed.Imagine if An Bord Planala took 90 days to decide on planning permission and then didn't require to inform you that your application failed in writing,and just leave you having to assume you were rejected on day 91?So ringing your FO on day 92 and asking whats the story with my application/renewal is not being pushy,nor is it on day 100 and asking do I have to lawyer up here and are we all going to have a day out in the local District court on this matter?And if so could the super please put his decision in writing on the application/renewal as my lawyer wil be demanding that as Exhibit A?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

well my application isn't 90 working days i suppose, i was using calendar days.

FO reply is all is ok just slow, RFD opinions is same, no issues with getting the paperwork its just slowed down. I asked is there any issues with my application and all i was told, everything is in order and only follow up maybe to visually see the monitored alarm. I was told by FO not to worry if there is an issue he will be ring to let me know right away