Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭neverbet

I take it Mark Dowling ,Dicksboro was one of the three you wanted replaced ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Village87

Well Marooned did defend him but after the no win in the Leinster championship in 2 years it is pretty hard to defend. I have come across under age managers losing an All Ireland final after 1 year and getting the bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

It'll be along the lines of the below based off the Tipp challenge match:

Manogue

Kelly

Bolger (Brennan maybe if fit with Bolger in the corner for Kelly but unlikely I'd say)

Vereker

Garrett

Lyng

Hickey

Neary (sweeper)

McPhillips

Lauhoff (midfield)

McDermott

McEvoy

Brennan

Glynn

Murphy

Last two playing as a pair inside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭Brian017

Looking at the minor fixtures. I see the first round is fixed for Easter Sunday. Why couldn’t they have fixed it for the Saturday and had it as a double header with the Senior opener since they are both in Nowlan Park it makes much more sense to me. Is the GAA against minor/senior double headers all the time now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Evan Murphy would start you'd think? Not sure about this sweeper. Neary should be good enough to play midfield in a conventional set up. Is Marty Murphy mobile enough for an inside 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

It’s not a conspiracy. Cork and Tipp have a home and away arrangement. Why they out the 1b final there too I don’t know, as the game sold out within 24 hours. I’d be surprised if there are many non Cork fans there at all.

Nightmare of a place to get in and out of, and to park. I'd say it'll be 80% Cork with the other 3 counties making up the balance. Tipp might travel alright. Great stadium and field, awful location.

I'm probably misrepresenting Nearys role by calling him a sweeper. From what I can tell he's not there for defensive reasons. He's there to get on the ball and play make from deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭usualstripes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

It’s the only stadium I see people complaining about. What 45,000 capacity stadium can you drive in the door to? Thurles is by far and away more difficult unless you arrive by train. And even then the walk is not too different to the walk from Kent station to PUC. If you know where you’re going, it’s ok, but I read all kinds of stuff about the location every year and it’s always from people who rarely go there. The best one last year was the lack of places to eat on the way……you basically have to walk past the largest food market in the country to get there from the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

I was told by a member of the backroom team a few days before they left that Cody was travelling but Mullen wasn't maybe there was a late change of plans but that's what i was told anyway.

Couldn't agree more. We seem to live in a world where win and you are a genius, lose and your a muppet. We were unlucky not to win last years' under 20. We hockeyed all the Munster teams on the challenge match circuit last year, the closest anyone came to us was Cork who we beat by 6 points in Blackrock the Saturday afternoon of the senior league match in PUC. I met one of the fathers (related to my sister through marriage) of one of the Cork players at the senior match in PUC that evening and he reckoned we were certainties to win it out. Not meaning to blow my own trumpet but i flagged up Offaly as a major danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Marrooned

I was at that challenge match in the Blackrock club.

Don't understand the animosity towards PUC and love going down there. It's a fantastic stadium with a pitch as good as Croker. I always park in town and walk out, takes about 20 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭jonniegoogle

Maybe check again…..because I've heard from reliable lads he's at home for whatever reasons.

As i said i was talking to one of the backroom team a few days before they were due to travel and he was due to be part of the group. I'll find out from my contact when i see him.

You obviously didn’t bother reading the previous comments on the Offaly match of which I was in attendance,Were you?and you never answered the question on Derek Lyng ?as I previously stated last year wasn’t the problem with Mark it was the previous year he made a balls of it at home to Wexford and there is nothing wrong in wanting a manager to be successful sure look what happened with the minor set up are you and baby Jesus happy with that and by the way you probably weren’t even in Tullamore last year with the loyal200.

I go to as many matches as you Club and County just don't feel the need to tell the world about it. I have utmost faith in the three managers and management teams who give their time selflessly. Is that clear enough for you. It was back and forth between yourself and another poster last year as to who could belittle the minor manager or the under 20 manager the most. Pathetic from so called supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Village87

Marooned i respect your opinion and you are usually bang on but we spoke of the threat that Offaly would bring by carrying the ball and exploiting the lack of pace that Kilkenny had, the template was there the year before against Wexford and management chose to ignore it, Eoin Lyng was out for a long spell last year and he was back 2 weeks before the match and put in wing back and had a tough evening, he looked overweight, we all could see Hughes was not up to hurling centre back and Paddy Langton should have been 6 and not exposed on the wing, all of this was brought up before the Offaly game and not in hindsight after the match. That was a talented group and they left an All Ireland behind due to mis management. It looked to me the team was decided in March and a lot of the panel and extended panel were mistreated/ignored.

The Killian Doyle incident should have been eliminated by management phoning the county board/Derek Lyng to inform them that Doyle is ineligible if he plays against Carlow in the senior, again mis management. That Kilkenny team were 5/6 points a better team than Offaly last year.

I had a conversation with the minor team doctor( someone who hurled to a pretty high level himself) over the winter and he said he was blown away by the level of detail that the minor management team went into. He said no team he was involved in was ever even close to being that well prepared. But as he put it " you can take a bull to water but you can't make him drink it" and he felt ultimately the pressure got to the players in the final and they paid the price. Which is hardly a surprise when you consider 8 of the starting team were under 16s, 3 of which were only 15 at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 kinghenry1

Marty Murphy big doubt for Saturday another hamstring problem in training but maybe only a tweak with a bit of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Krazy gang

Heard he's transferring to Southend utd in the k and district league!! They need a striker 🤣🤣

Hard to agree with that.Offaly were the standout team in the under 20 Championship last year and were brilliant in the AI final. Have a look at the Offaly senior team and panel that turn up in Nowlan Park in a few months (even minus young Screeney) and see how many of last years 20s feature. Then have a look at ours. I would imagine bar Harry Shine none of last years KK 20s have any chance of game time. Maybe do the same in Wexford Park in our last game and see how many 2023 under 20s feature for each team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 AhBoyDelaney

Deleted because I don't know why I'm getting involved....

Post edited by JJs Left Hand on

Edit.. Double post.. Having a mare

Offaly lads coming through to a far weaker team and panel than Kilkenny have, hard to compare.

Kilkenny threw the match away against Offaly in Tullamore even though they didn't play well. Looked the much better team. Missed a penalty and missed a short range free as well if I remember correctly. Anyone in Tullamore that night would have given you any price you wanted on Offaly being good enough to win the All Ireland, but fair play to them they did.

Looking at Tipp the other night and even the Cork/Clare game this evening, you'd have to have Offaly as favourites if they hold their form. Tipp were very poor, maybe they'll bounce back but you'd pick out nobody bar McCarthy. Their forwards look very average.
    Clare the same tonight, lot of hype about them but it was a very poor game. 14 for Clare looks like a serious player alright, and I couldn't believe how small Gunning looked, he'll struggle to survive as a senior defender. He was a savage minor.

We will agree on one thing, management didn't miss the penalty or close in free as some would nearly want you to believe.You make a fair point on comparison of current senior panels.On last years under 20 game, we did very well on the night but I didn't think we were better than Offaly .They looked that bit more skillful, faster and mobile. Wasn't one bit surprised they went on to win it out, bearing in mind they had practically all the team that had contested the previous years All Ireland final. They are in the 1B league final v Waterford in a couple of weeks and I am looking forward to seeing them there and later on in the summer.

well Village . I thought last yearsU20’s management had no say with Derek Lyng as regards picking U20’s for the seniors , it’s the same this year ,what do you do?. I agree with you entirely about the halfback line which was very slow and Eoghan was just back from injury. I also thought he should have bringing in Tom Mc Phillips but he is his nephew and that could have been awkward.