Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Cork, Tipp, Clare, Kilkenny will all be good at minor. Heard Galway won't be bad either. Haven't heard much about Waterford. If they're playing Tipp next week that'll tell a lot.

Tipp, Offaly, Clare, Galway, Cork probably be best of the 20's. Kilkenny might be dark horses there yet. No semi finals so all in on the 2 provincial championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Krazy gang

Not sure where you're getting that. Offaly are probably favourites for the u20 owing to them being backboned by senior players. Tipp will be very strong no doubht but clare won the minor all ireland 2 years ago.

Clare's minor AI winning team of 2 years ago in 2023, is U19 this year. Tipp won the Minor in 2022 v Offaly, that team is U20 this year.

I'm fairly sure Tipp have more of their starting 15 from last years U20 final available this year, than Offaly do. Or at least as many, the number is 11/12 if I remember rightly. Ravenhill will be back for Offaly but if form holds through, which is never a guarantee obviously, they'll be the 2 obvious favs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Rebelside

Offaly & Tipp will both have major players back who weren’t available last year, Ravenhill & Paddy McCormack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Rebelside is right we did beat Tipp well in a challenge last year but we should have hammered them in the final and didn’t. I must say I was very impressed with them last night. Jake Mullen and Oisin Henderson were missing.

when ye list off several Munster teams as been very good at U20 ,if we are there and about they would be only one Munster team to face.all the others would be irrelevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Rebelside

relates more to minor & there would be 2 of them coming out. U20 looks like being between 2 teams, Clare & Tipp whereas Leinster have 3 contenders

There was a challenge for non starting panel players only, either before or after the semi finals last year. No player that started the final played so it had little relevance to the fact that Tipp won the final, as had been suggested. Some players that lined out for Kilkenny weren't even on the extended panel at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭neverbet

I suggested a few weeks ago you accept the three KK management teams are in place a good while so maybe wait a while preferably the end of the various championships before you have a go. Kk had an up and down league , game v Tipp one of the worst in Nowlan Park in recent years. They had been decent the previous weekend v Cork away, so many of us were prepared to wait the six days to the Limerick game to get a better gauge of where we are at. Last Saturdays game was the reverse of the Tipp game full of energy , intensity and decent all round team performance. We might just have a chance of getting out of Leinster after all. With everyone available we might even do better. Spitting out the dummy when we lose is fair enough, not a peep when we win begs the question, what is more important to some, that KK win or they are proven right, and that goes for all our teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭KK36

I'd have Tipp (by a goof bit) and Cork ahead of Waterford

Ye your near enough with that statement, the regulars trained on the far pitch. Jaysus Chaz you have some memory.

You never answered the question I asked you about Lyng being up for the job? As regards commenting on Saturdays match , I went on the beer after the match and on Sunday morning I got up and went to the park to see the U20 against Tipp I’d prefer to be going to a match than staying at home typing back on the the beer on st. Patrick’s day day.Now you know the whole story.

I remember at the time when I heard the challenge was organised that it seemed crazy but then heard it was just a match for players who weren't starting games on both sides.
    I believe Tipp had everyone last night, and you're right about Kilkenny missing Jake Mullen and Oisín Henderson who would be 2 of their strongest players. Only a challenge but Tipp are out tomorrow week and they wouldn't like to be losing that.

Wexford/Kilkenny in U20 next week will be interesting. Kilkenny have some serious hurlers and I think and hope we might be going under the radar a bit. I know Tipp/Offaly are definite favs on paper but sometimes it can be easier to win it the year before, when less pressure is on.

U19 versus Dublin.

KK4-22 Dub 2-10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

Thanks Marooned, anyone stand out?

David Barcoe,RobieDoherty, and Colm Treacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

Treacy wasn't listed on panel during the week, thought he would be in running for the 20s but must not be if he played tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Box to box

was hoping to get out to it but got held up. This is a great competition and we all give out about the county board but this was a great incentive and great preparation for lads before u20 and beyond.

The u20 kicks off next weekend away to wexford. I think the challenge matches were up and down but the round robin will help find their best team. This is a big year for the u20 management team who have failed to reach a leinster final the last two years. They made some poor decisions in this time so hopefully they have learned from these and it will be 3rd time lucky. Eoghan lyng and marty Murphy will be the big names but plenty of good hurlers in the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

It's a double header next week, u19s are playing across the road in St Peters College at 10.45, u20 game then in Wexford Park at 12.30. Early start due to Wexford footballers having their national league final in Croke Park at 5.

Well Billy is st. Peter’s college that near Wexford park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭kksaints

It's almost right beside it. 3 or 4 minute walk at most.

Yeah it's pretty much the same as playing the 1st game in O'loughlin's and 2nd game in Nowlan Park.

Jaysus that’s great I never realised that .My work day is gone on Saturday but at least I’ll get in the two games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Village87

Where are with Leinster hurling after tonight ? Galway will be doing well to get out of Leinster. They are poor. What is going on with Limerick ? Goodbeating by Wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 njcat

Limerick resting again tonight. I fancy them to win 3 of the next 5 AI's. I expect them to win this year and to start peaking R3 in Munster. They were at 70-80% vs us in Nowlan Park but still a formidable test and I was happy how Kilkenny played / interplay against strong 80% pressure. When Limerick are at 100% and Moss Finn (still recovering form after a bad injury), Peter Casey are at 100%, I think they are unbeatable. Kyle Hayes at CB and I like Adam English - very stylish.

Most of Limerick's main men are 29 or older, I think they'll win 1 or 2 more with this team and drift back into the pack, Cork and Tipp look to be the 2 coming teams in Munster looking at the next 5-6 years.

Leinster looks wide open with been brutally honest alot of inconsistent teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭jimmythesulk

We are the still the best team in leinster, but with Offaly's improvement and promotion to 1A, Na Fianna's success boosting Dublin and Wexford blooding some good young hurlers, we are in for an exciting Leinster championship ahead. Little room for complacency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Krazy gang

Wexford are improving after a slow start to the league. Had over 20 wides tonight so obviously did a lot of hurling. Of course they have problems putting a couple of performance together in leinster.

Galway have big problems at full back. Mannion is wasted there