Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,099 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

The overall impression I have is that we really should be winning Leinster at this point. Galway are not a bad team from 5-15 but they are very reliant on a couple of very strong players. Their full back line got roasted today. There again, so did ours when we played Cork, they are an exciting team to watch right now because they're so lethal in front of goal, great to see a team with a bit of killer instinct again, feels like it's been a while with a lot of teams becoming more reliant on points from range.

We'll be going in with a spring in our step after a great win the last day (one I definitely didn't see coming). I don't want to read too much into that match, but it was fantastic to see our players play like they had a point to prove, and like they were pissed off with how they had performed the week before, and with how they were being talked about by the public. Their character was being questioned, and they stood up. Hopefully they can carry that on now, and keep playing with a chip on their shoulders.

Dublin might have some boost from Na Fianna, but tbh we've been here before with Dublin super clubs doing really well, when Cuala were at their height for example, and I don't think it translates to a strong county team. They were so bad in the Leinster final last year, I'm sure they'll be better, but they have a long way to go, and I don't see them being a threat.

Offaly looked good to me today against Waterford, they had loads of fight and some lovely hurlers. They were rode by the ref for that stupid red card, and eventually they ran out of gas and Waterford wore them down. They look very, very light to me. I understand they're not bulking players up too fast in case it affects their longer term development, so that's fine, but they were, to a man almost, all much smaller than the Waterford boys, and come championship I think they are still a few years away from really threatening in Leinster. I hope they keep improving.

Wexford looked very poor any time I saw them this league. In our match we were atrocious in the second half and let them back in, but they had no business being in that game. They beat Limerick today but come on, Limerick were resting.

I'm not saying we can take any of those teams for granted, we can't, we're nowhere near good enough to be doing that. And surprises always happen. But Leinster is very much there for the taking. I don't know how we'll measure up to the Munster boys this year, my feeling is we will be able to fly almost entirely under the radar (check the league thread where people have started discussing who is in the running to win it, nobody has so much as mentioned KK, which is understandable in fairness, but it's also something we should be very happy about!). Wouldn't have us as favourites against anyone in a semi final right now, but I wouldn't write us off against anyone either, especially if we can get our forwards all on the field and all firing on all cylinders.

That's a much more optimistic appraisal than I would have had two weeks ago, that's for sure. But if we can stay consistent in Leinster and build momentum, I'd be as positive as could be about this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭neverbet

Our full back line certainly didn't get roasted in Cork, Diarmuid Healy scored 1.5 from wing forward ,has hardly got a look in since, that apart our defence did well. Cork looked really good last night and they are a driven team now. Brian Hayes looks a really good one and if his injury is as serious as it looked it will hurt them. Fingers crossed for him. Not sure what to make of the league other than Cork look like the ones to beat down the line and Tipp are finding a few good new ones. Wexford unfortunate to have been so understrength in the early part are putting together a really decent team. Wouldn't like to be going to Wexford park in our last game needing a win. One worry is this new found obsession with shoulder tackles. The sending off in Walsh Park was a joke and effectively decided the match. James Owens made a bags of the Conor Cooney on Mike Casey tackle ( a mean one) and every team since seems to have paid the price . The Sunday night sports program and the hurling media in general are gone OTT on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Village87

Huw Lawlor certainly did not get cleaned down in Cork i do not remember Hayes doing anything against him. He is an absolutely outstanding full back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sir Chaz

it's funny how the narrative is different for Limerick when they lose games, than it is for other teams. If Cork/Tipp/KK had finished the league like they did they'd be crisis headlines in the media and they'd be written off. And before anyone says they're missing so and so, we're constantly told they have the strongest panel around, so being short a few players should not have had the impact that it has had.

Limerick lost the league semi final last year and we were told they weren't interested, yet Championship proved they weren't the force they were and they went on to lose twice. Same is happening now after 2 convincing losses back to back (they arguably had 9 Championship starters last night). I'd say Kiely and Kinnerk are worried, I'm not convinced they are anywhere near where they used to be, and the bookies have them out to 2nd favs for the AI behind Cork.

At this stage there's no Munster team that I'd be overly afraid of, if Kilkenny can get their injuries sorted and manage to find a bit of form and confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Everytime Kilkenny win, it’s because the other team played poorly. RTE are the worst at it. Absolutely kills them to give Kilkenny any praise whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Montys return

Limerick have won 4 of the last 6 all irelands. Cork, Tipp and Kilkenny have won zero of those.

In 2022, Offaly were the only team Limerick beat in the league. They won the Championship pretty well in the end. In 2023, they won the league convincingly and most though they would win the all ireland comfortably. They were fortunate to get out of Munster.

I do think if Cork or Limerick don't win the All Ireland Kilkenny are best of the rest but Limerick have earned the right to hold judgement until a few rounds of the championship.

I think ye will have to go through the front door as well though, and we must be getting closer to Wexford, Galway or maybe Dublin putting it together and beating ye to Leinster. Injuries will have a big bearing on all competitions in the championship yet I would think.

Edit: 4 of the last 6 all irelands!

At this stage the fact remains Limerick look way more vulnerable than they have at any stage over the past 5 years. Not being able to raise their game to beat Cork in the semi final was a significant milestone in my opinion. The great Kilkenny team of 06-12 never allowed a team beat them twice in a row in significant games, that I can remember anyway, and certainly never twice in the same championship.
    Sean Finn is certainly a diminished player on all evidence we've seen over the last while, as is Diarmuid Byrnes who Cork savaged last year. Hannon is another who is clearly past his best, Flanagan is struggling and Casey has to come back from yet another serious injury. Cathal O'Neills repeated hamstring issues are also worrying and that's without mentioning Nicky Quaid.
    No doubt they have good young players coming though but they've shown little in the last couple of games.

Limerick are 2nd favs for a reason, they could still win the All Ireland but it's beyond question, and understandable, that they are not the force they were and certainly won't instil the fear in teams that they did up to now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Montys return

Kilkenny 06-12 is irrelevant here in fairness for a few reasons.

The fact Limerick are down now to 2nd favourites as you mention actually shows that some are drawing conclusions from Limericks league form this year. I agree peak Limerick is over but I'd still expect them to have a big say in the Championship regardless of their last two league matches.

Cathal O'Neil and Hayes are essential to their cause though in my opinion, can't do without either.

It's certainly relevant in that if they were at the peak of their powers last year, they'd have torn Cork a new one in the rematch, particularly with the hoohah they went on down in PUC the first day. It was absolutely set up for them and I know Cork supporters were very concerned. The fact is they didn't, and couldn't. That supports they point that they are clearly not the force they were, and I believe the recent league form is further evidence, with the obvious caveat that it's only the league.

It wouldn't be a shock by any means if they rose another gallop and managed to reclaim the All Ireland, but it's undeniably less likely than it has been in previous years.

Anyone that saw the press interview John Kiely gave last night, would disabuse anyone of the notion that this poor form is somehow part of Limericks grand plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭randd1

I think it'll be exciting, but mostly due to teams being very inconsistent that results are an unknown before the match.

I reckon though the quality will leave a lot to be desired.

We should win it again, we're the best of what's in Leinster and by miles so when we're at our best, and there's been nothing to see from Dublin, Wexford, Galway or Offaly to worry us this year. Our biggest obstacle from winning Leinster again (never mind getting out of it) will be our own obvious inconsistencies.

I'd love to have a rip-roaring Leinster Championship that's as lethal and as good as Munster. I'd love to have a Leinster championship of full crowds, unreal hurling and unpredictable one week to the next. I'd love to have a Leinster Championship where the Leinster Champions are favourites for the All-Ireland because they've won a series of tough, top quality matches, even if that Champion isn't us, because it would be good for hurling, and Leinster hurling most of all.

Sadly, I think it'll be once again a case of Antrim/Offaly getting that one result that makes it interesting, Galway flattering to deceive with their one good result coming against Kilkenny enough to get them into a Leinster final, Wexford and Dublin not being good and failing to offer any quality as they have done now for a long time, and us getting to a Leinster final almost by default of being the least worst in the province.

I hope I'm wrong, but we need a serious championship of quality, and I don't think that quality is there.

Still though, the lack of quality makes it unpredictable, so at least it'll be interesting, of sorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Greengrass53

Based on the league we are not by any means miles ahead of the other Leinster teams. Most would agree Cork and Tipp most impressive of the seven and probably more intent on league honours at the start. Ourselves ,Galway and Limerick will be happy to have done enough to remain in 1A. Wexford unluckily and Clare will be disappointed to make the drop. Once the championship starts the league is long forgotten and has little relevance IMO. I wouldn't think it would be a huge surprise if Tipp and Cork are pointless after their first round games in munster v Limerick and Clare respectively. Ourselves and Galway is 50/50 also. Great championship to look forward to.

Is Eoin Cody back yet or he still side lined due to off the field circumstances ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭blackcard

Also Adrian Mullen. Cian Kenny. Anyone got updates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭lob it in

By all accounts Cian Kennys injury is not serious and he'll be ok for championship, Adrian Mullen should also be back, Adrian has been poor for club and county for the last 12 months which is very worrying for us.

Not sure what's the story with Eoin Cody might need to rein in the ego by all accounts and concentrate on getting his form back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

IMO both Munster and Leinster are very open. A lot will come down to who avoids injuries to key players and who has the strongest panel overall. To win the AI you will need your best players fit and in top form. Its a 20 man match day panel and the team with the best bench will come out on top in tight games. You need those subs to make an impact whether your winning or chasing the game.

I would have Limerick as favs as they are proven winners and i tip them for Munster. I think Kiely knows he cant peak them too early as they have been on the road a long time and thats why i would ignore the league for them. Cork look like the team to beat but they have not got any silverware in a long time and if they bottle the league final i would have serious reservations about them getting over the line in the AI. But if they were to win the final then that could be the start of a golden age for them. For me its Limerick to win Munster with Cork and Clare to come through also.

Now for Leinster I would have KK as favs and i tip them for Leinster. Lyng will have to deliver more than a leinster title if he is to continue. I feel the team has become more inconsistant the longer he has been there. I dont know how he wants the team to play and i feel he will need to develope a style that suits these players and gets them playing for a full 70 mins. The rest of the teams in Leinster are like KK and are inconsistant too. I tip KK to win Leinster with Galway and Wexford coming through also.

Im going for Limerick to win the AI but i would not be confiden but if the hunger is there i think they are the ones to beat. IMO it will come down to injuries and that match day squad. For KK it will come down to been consistant and if Lyng can get all his top players on the field an get the bench right they are capable of beating anyone but i have not seen anything to suggest he will. I hope i am wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

Adrian Mullen didn't travel to Portugal, he's working on his fitness with the physios and is expected to be available for the Galway match. Eoin Cody and Cian Kenny are both in Portugal and there is no issue with either of them. The reference to "off the field circumstances" with Eoin Cody insinuates a disciplinary issue which is not the case, i know the reason he didn't play against Tipp and Limerick and it has nothing to do with "off the field circumstances".

I stand to be corrected on this but i don't think Colm Treacy is under 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

Post edited by Conversations 3 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Marrooned

I see Cork got the league final double header,this goes to show that you wouldn’t have to worry about going into debt the GAA will always bail you out. Hardly fair on Offaly travelling down that distance to meet Waterford a neighbouring county to Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭The_Tank

Very little talk about Clare from any here or any of the other podcasts/media. Hard to understand how they've gone from heroes to zeros. They will be lining Cork up for a big fall in Ennis. Despite losing O'Donnell, they will still have it in them I think. Cork may suffer more attrition to their more dynamic players themselves.

Treacy hurled for Grennan College in the recent schools final so is surely u19. A stand out for club last year in the senior and surely worth close consideration in the Kilkenny under 20s. With Mark Dowling in there i have zero faith in the set up, the last 2 years have been an absolute shambles and i hear that a lot of hurling followers now have to watch a full on sweeper with 7 backs 2 midfielders and 5 forwards, this is Derek McGrath stuff from 7/8 years ago and the game has moved on. We had a very slow half back line last year and no sign of a sweeper, do we not a few athletic lads that can do a job without a sweeper in that age group ? Does Dowling and his back up have any idea what they are at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

Colm hurled minor with club last year which was u18 so he is definitely u19 this year but wasn't named on the panel named during the week but was named and played Friday which seemed like a funny one.

We lost by a point away to the eventual All Ireland champions without one of our best players (Killian Doyle) due to a cock up by the county board after topping our group by hockeying Wexford and Laois . You obviously have very high standards if you would class that as being a "shambles".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Antics21

Whatever about the fairness of bringing Offaly and Waterford there - Nowlan Park would have been brilliant imo - Tipp owed Cork the game going back to 2012 league semi final. Similar to Tipp and Kilkenny, there's a home and away agreement.

We Also missed a penalty in Offalys backyard . Heard interview with Leo O Connor Offaly manager on Rte over xmas. Said KK was their toughest match enroute to AI win. One of said slow Half back line currently on KK senior panel another DCU star defender in this years Fitzgibbon. Would love to know who the "experts "would have played. Mark for some reason is not flavour of the last two years with some here, at least one even from his own club. Bearing in mind this years team lost to Laois a couple of years ago at minor, expectations of success should be realistic. I would put very little store on what I hear.Likewise the rubbish about "Eoin Cody"

Never bet I’m hoping you’re not referring to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭kkclubhurling

IMG_6824.png

good panel, wish them the best of luck, hard know a team without being privy to matches/fitness etc if they had everyone maybe

Manogue

kelly bolger e murphy

Mcphilips lyng vereker

Neary lauhoff

Connellan brennan mcdermott

glynn murphy mccevoy

but I’m sure that’s way off