Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Jaysus my head is melted I thought Cathal Hickey from Freshford put in a great shift also

Carlow weatherman? He said it wouldn’t be too bad Saturday. A nice gap mightened be ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭me89

Wexford Park has its own climate in fairness, its rare i have enjoyed the weather or a game down there 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

I would take that Kilkenny result against Wexford with a pinch of salt, Wexford had 4 chaps starting that are up to the age, the other 11 are underage for un20 again next year.

And that was without Cillian Byrne and Sean Rowley, 2 of their best players (who would be up to the age).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 kinghenry1

But its not our fault they have no one up to the age surely must be some good enough and up to the age if not their in big trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭corner back 2

You've forgotten the rule on here that when Kilkenny win, it's always down to some deficiency on the other team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭kentu

A lot of big hammerings in U16 last night across all grades which was strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Wrong gradings and teams appealing gradings to get moved down to a level where they can hammer teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Krazy gang

No kilkenny obviously deserved to win. But if you think galway and offaly won't be a big step up on wexford you're in for a surprise. Dublin won't be bad either.

I don't think anyone is getting carried away with that win being honest. Think most know bigger challenges are down the line.

Marrooned seems like ceist Beag has kind of answered that for me.

Definitely down to a mix of things as I would see, teams that should be in A dropping down to B likewise teams to good for B in C.

Possibly aswell teams that are not good enough for A out of their depth and same goes Roinn B.

GoIng back to my experience it does players who are on the losing sides no favours as they will just simply give up hurling all together and will be next to impossible to get players back once they are lost.

Jaysus some hammerings alright and then you have Callan beating O’Loughlins in the “A”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Just for clarity the Wexford team on Saturday had 6 u20s, 4 u19s and 5 u18s, of the 5 subs used 1 u20, 1 u19 and 3 u18, where ye missing many main players? I know Marty Murphy is working his way back from injury, in fairness we did have 4 lads up to age ( Rowley, Byrne, Michael Furlong & Ben Aspel) out injured who would be 2 certain starters and 2 probable starters. I was disappointed with us regardless, there's alot more in that team than Saturday, management need to take alot of responsibility as the tactics were far too elaborate, too much handpassing, saw them in a challenge game against Cork earlier in the year with 12 of that 15 starting and they were really impressive with a far more fluid style of play, even in good conditions the spectacle probably wouldn't have been good with alot of bunching in the middle 3rd, we played 3 in midfield and ye had Neary back as a sweeper, u19 game was decent taught ye were going to run away early on 0-7 to 0-1 after 15 mins albeit ye had the breeze but we dug in well after that, think that competition is a great idea in fairness.

There's a link to the u19 game too- https://youtu.be/8HL7c0pY_5s?si=asAZkHrd_oV3x7jr

Post edited by Billy Ocean on

the U19’s are playing Offaly in Dunmore on Friday night at 7.30

Offaly u20s have lot of lads injured at the moment. Screeney, ter guinan, rigney and hand. Lot will depend on how many they have back for the knockouts as they wouldn't have the depth to replace those types of players like kilkenny and galway would.

If you top the group and go straight to the semi final, it leaves you without a competitive mathch for longer than management would like. Not ideal for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Village87

So likely this can lead to a Kilkenny v Offaly semi final ? Galway should beat a weakened Offaly team and Kilkenny and Galway would be the 2 seeded semi finalists if results go as expected. Galway and Offaly can hardly meet in the semi final again as they would have played each other already ?

I say that's exactly it. Top of the group straight to semi final. Quarters something like dublin v laois and offally wexford. Presume kilkenny, if they top the group will have the semi final In nowlan Park.

Lads ye are not counting on Dublin this Saturday?

Tipp were in trouble heading to Cork tonight for the U20 championship. Having bet them Cork are now in trouble with one point from two games, Clare lead the group with three points

Dublin should be a better test than wexford. Few of them on the senior panel.

Tipp got back on track but that's a poor cork team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭hogans heroes

Dublin will be a step up I believe. 18 of their panel from 2 clubs.crazy when you think how big Dublin is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Village87

Does it make a difference if we finish top or not ? Maybe the quarter final would do us no harm . We have come in cold last 2 years to the semi final and lost out. Maybe try out few lads this weekend who are pushing close, will be good for competition and morale going forward, if we lose so be it we might learn more. Going off last year everyone knew the team 2 months in advance of championship and it created a toxic environment by all accounts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭neverbet

We don't need to be doing a Jim McGuinness on it. Going out to win is the only message that should be given. A shake up in the forwards would be no harm judging on last week. If Marty if fit young Kelly from O'Loughlins and one or two others might be tried on merit. I know one of the established players on this years team and he has nothing but good to say about the u20 set up over the last two years. Depends on where you get your information from. Toxic environment is easy to throw out in hindsight.

U19 KK 4-26 OF 0-11semi final I think they are meeting Dublin in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭blackcard

A decent showing by KK. Good 20m stick passes and balls into forwards.Shane Kinsella impressed but hard to guage as Offaly struggled. Still, encouraging

Presume that was Steven Kinsella. Strange occurrences on Twitter last night as the score was been updated for first 15 minutes. Went back to check and updates stopped and previous tweets were deleted. Anyway thanks for the update here!

Again Patrick Lacey was top cat with -12, 1-03 from play ,Zac Scanlon never stopped all night,2 points from play, Steven Kinsella 1-03 from play. Offaly were so poor.thats not much back up for the U20’s.

Even if the opposition is poor I still think it's a good concept to bridge the gap between 17's and 20's, particularly as most are still in school till 19 now. At that age there can be a lot of development in a short space of time and hopefully this competition might pay some dividends in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭jamesbond2022

The u19 comp is a great idea there are so many hurlers lost between 16-20 lots of talented players maybe on the fence about what sport to choose also at this age it puts a proper pathway in place for them to represent there county and fills the vacuum after minor

It allows lads to grow into there body’s and a place for the late developers to develop further