Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭New Scottman

Pubs and cafes that normally close on Mondays - opening today because it suits them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,553 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Golf and cricket being called sports . They are games , just like darts , snooker etc .

The comments from the English about the death of an 105 year old battle of Britain pilot . The last surviving member . His name was John somebody . But because he was born in Dublin they called him Paddy . Even Prince Willie sent his heartfelt condolences on the death of "Paddy" without even trying to acknowledge how insulting it is . Dipshit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

If you pull into a filling station and all the pumps that line up with your tank are full of cars while all the opposite ones are empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

TA - Twice on my run today I had to move onto the road as young lads on scooters were flying towards me on the path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,770 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

mine does that around once every year or eighteen months . I don’t know why, its a medication that I take and will be on for life so it’s not like anything can come of it.

my TA….

That I’m still expecting reasonable and fair behaviour from people who have shown going back that they are not fair or reasonable people. Leopards don’t change their spots. Silly to expect them to.

Post edited by Strumms on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

People referring to business magnates, whom they don't know personally and have never even met, by their first names. What are they trying to prove?

Whatever you think of his products or his politics, Mr Musk should be known either by his surname or by his full name. Musk is fine. Likewise Elon Musk but these smug technophiles who insist on calling him Elon as if he's their best buddy???

It was the same for "Steve" some years ago. The maverick co-founder of Apple Computer (as it was originally called) Mr Jobs who, his fans will insist, "changed the world" (He really didn't)

They're not your friends, people. You're not fooling anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Did the media just call him Paddy? Or was it his nickname?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,770 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Irish tiktok musician in Canada gets word his Dad is dying here so a teary appeal for anyone who has a private jet (after he stays & plays the gig 👀)..“ I’m happy to pay whatever “. Round trip with fuel, crew, ATC fees, landing/handling charges will be €100,000 plus. He’s a kid, gigging. swear by his attitude he’s wanting a lift from Nobber to Kells, some Z ‘ers are stuck in augmented reality. Feel bad but jaysus.. 👀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,915 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

If it is done once, I say “typo”. But if it continues (In quick succession) I say “Ah come on!” in my mind. But for some reason I never correct it. Maybe I haven’t the heart?

But I have.a cousin who types like he is texting. Or talking. No matter how formal the scenario,

It is grand in texts between us. No problem there. But he did exactly the same in an email I forwarded from Ticketmaster. Replying to Ticketmaster.

And worse still in a condolence on rip.ie for a deceased Aunt. Using “an” as shorthand for “and” etc. I knew it is basically going to be there forever, in the online world,

I got to be honest, I was embarrassed for him. I could tell it upset my mother.

But again, how do you correct that without causing offence, or without sounding like a knob?

I realise punctuation might not be the best - something I know I am guilty of. But if it is formal - make some effort with spell check at least!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,915 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Full name given in reports was. “John ‘Paddy’ Hemingway. Seems like the “Paddy” was clearly a nickname.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paddy_Hemingway

Works the other way as well at the rise of Irish nationalism. Irish speakers used to call anyone English “John” whether that was their name or not.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shoneenism

Seonin, (Little John) became shorthand for “West Brit” . No doubt some Irish people called Hemingway a “Seonín” because he fought for the British in WW2. The poor “Paddy” couldn’t win!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

It was the nickname given to him by his RAF colleagues. Quite clever of them, seeing as he was Irish.

My TA for today is that I wanted to get a few things in a certain supermarket but didn't want to go there directly from work because I don't like the route. So I'd go from home instead. But then I fell asleep watching telly (only for about 15 minutes) but it changed my mood so that I didn't want to leave the house and have to deal with people. (They're the worst!!) 😄

I'll try again tomorrow, but I might try a different route. (You'd think it was a big deal or something!)

It doesn’t matter . I knew an ex squadie , again from Dublin , who introduced himself as ‘ Paddy ‘ . His name was Noel but he happily accepted his new name . He was a snake who would come to the pub , lick up to the Dublin manager who would let him in after hours . He’d go home tight and beat the **** out of his son who was a glass collector in the pub . Big brave man .

Post edited by cj maxx on

So, you're taking offence to a mans nickname because you didn't like someone else with the same nickname? Does seem a bit OTT CJ!

Ho they are not nicknames . They are lazy names that they call Irish . Would you call a black man wog as a friendly nickname . Of an Asian paki ? Exactly the same thing . And to hear Willie boy laud him by using a lazy insult like that is unacceptable .
    And it’s not because I disliked the other guy . It’s because like this John fella he happily accepted it from them .

Watch British comedy shows from the 60’s and 70’s to know their attitude .

But what may have been acceptable then is not now .

And that shouldn’t be an issue for anyone .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,528 ✭✭✭Archeron

Baked some "ham and cheese" crispy pancakes for dinner tonight, first time I've had them since I was a kid.

I can only describe them as warm envelopes of sadness. There would be more ham and cheese in a ghosts fart than there was in those yokes.

I knew they were going to be tasteless pointless muck but I didn't think they'd be THAT tasteless and pointless.

But you're just getting offended on behalf of someone you don't know. He may have been quite happy to have been called paddy. The fact he lived to 105 and he kept the nickname would suggest he didn't mind!

I know 'their attitude ' I lived there.

Jaysis, you wouldn't want to hear the nicknames some people have in my work, if you think that paddy is offensive!!

I couldn’t give a fiddlers fcuk about him . I’m angry as an Irish man , and thus to common English parlance a Paddy . And to hear the future king being so ignorant of it trivially annoys me .

Even if it was his nickname , who do you think gave it to him . His fellow British squaddies !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,659 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I've posted this before, but people standing in the most stupid places while having the chats in the coffee dock in work. Directly in front of the coffee machine - you do the whole "Excuse me" thing, so they move and stand in front of the fridge instead. Then move to the sink/sparkling water tap when you've to "Sorry" them again. Just go and fcuking sit/stand at the massive seating area and get out of everyone's way 🤬🤬🤬

Your hate towards British squaddies is noted, but I doubt shared by the man himself. He joined the British forces, he lived his life there, he was clearly known by his nickname all his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Instant messaging in work as a terrible substitute for poor/non existent planning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

You notice there are derogatory nicknames for natives of loads of countries: Ireland, Wales, Scotland, Germany, France, Spain etc but there isn't any for England. That is because it was always the english who were coming up with those names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,610 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,659 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Or Les Roast beef (said with a french accent) Maybe that was one particular French friend I had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Literally spent yesterday am looking for a document and couldn't find it, despite going in and out of the file I knew it was in! had to continue without it but it left me uneasy that I didn't have all the docs to verify the info in the second doc.

Found it first thing this am, I couldn't see it opened on further across that page than I expected, 👿👿👿

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Ye, "Pommie" is the kindest one that I can think of, was called it a lot when in Australia until they heard my Irish accent.

"Brits" is also used negatively a lot and usually associated with English people "the Brits at it again", I'd never think of Welsh or Scottish people if I heard this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Controversial I know, local shop owners reminding people of the potential impact of amazon.ie will have on them!

I don't shop local for lots of things as I know many will not have heard of it/ don't have it and the cost of ordering it in is prohibitive.

Shop keepers stop typing like your shop is a actual alternative to amazon!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Seeing something you want in Lidl middle aisle, then waiting too long to go back for it 🙈