Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Village87

I was talking to a few Tipp lads before the match today and they were asking about young Kilkenny hurlers. They did mention to me that Marty Murphy was held in equal if not higher regard than Darragh McCarthy in the UL team that won the freshers All Ireland, Kilkenny have a real problem developing young players last 4/5 years. Is it the players or the Kilkenny structure ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

I was chatting to a few lads about this after the match today.

Do some of the Kilkenny players have a lack of respect for Lyng and his management team?

Blanchfield seems to do what he wants on the field, especially this year and I am hearing Cody & Mullens attitude at times at training have been questioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Its not head to head if 3 teams finish on the same points, if Kilkenny, Clare and Wexford finish on 4 points its goes to scoring difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭biglad40isback

basically limerick need to whallop kk by 15 points and clare need to whallop tipp by same ish margin

I wonder will limerick even want the league final that bad. Safe in division 1 with 2 games left one of which v wex at the Gaelic Grounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Krazy gang

That's the most shocking stat. 2 scorers from play. Couldn't believe when I seen it.

Blanchfield definitely deserved to go. Careys was soft but he should have been more disciplined. Molloy probably had to as a second yellow. Tynan didn't connect but even his county man shane mcgrath said there was intent.

If we were being beaten while trying out some pattern of playing that may yield results in the future, it would be easier to get over this defeat but it was so obvious today in the park that we barely even a plan A, let alone a plan B or C that other teams have. 

We are so static up front, Murphy has little to aim to at, and often his deliveries are too difficult to control with a defender on your back

We bunch our full forward line around the goal but don't have the pace to break out to the ball before the defenders. So many times today we had no idea where Tipp players were, when the ball entered play again or when there were Tipp runners, we were miles off. We just looked disorganized and the rare scores from play were hard won and not usually the result of a nice move or killer pass

Our discipline was poor but I'm not overly concerned about that assuming it's not a symptom of trouble in the camp.

The two incidents of making challenges/alterations look worse than they were, one from each team, were very disappointing. Kilkenny have a reputation for not getting involved in that stuff, which I hope will remain intact in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Danger is that the red cards will gloss over that performance, which was as poor as I've seen from a Kilkenny senior team. 1st half was terrible, seems to be little obvious gameplan apart from launched high balls into the corners. Our runs off the shoulder only appear to happen in the backs, when they happen at all…

Eoin Murphy's puck outs continue to be a problem, although in his defence we seem completely bereft of any obvious puckout strategy.

I'm not worried that we lost, that's about all Tipp have and they're again at a higher pitch at this stage of the year than any other team. (They'll finish either last or 2nd last in Munster)

We were missing 3 of the best players in the game and probably our next 2 best only coming off long lay offs. Unfortunately we have very little depth there, so the loss of even 2 players really diminishes our quality, and we don't appear to have unearthed any new player that has a realistic chance of starting. Huw Lawlor is our most important hurler, defence looks very shaky without him.

If Harry Shine was good enough to start in PUC last week, why wasn't he good enough to come in today? Why didn't Shane Murphy get a start? We know all there is to know about Tommy W and Mikey B, and Deegan for that matter.

I thought Billy Drennan actually showed well for the ball today but his confidence is clearly on the floor. Chap needs a spell out of the limelight. Give Eoin Wall a chance or stick with Shine for a couple of games.

Biggest worry is there doesn't appear to be any outstanding forward coming for at least 3/4 years. So we'll likely be relying on what we have for another few years. A sobering thought.

and what in the name of God were Blanchfield and Carey thinking of? Really, really worrying. Petulant and selfish behaviour from both, that type of ill discipline ultimately reflects poorly on management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭hogans heroes

Tynan and Carey never a sending off.molloy also not worthy of a 2nd yellow. Tommy walsh not quick enough at this level.dont understand the criticism of Murphy puck outs as when we went short it led to the goal.lastly surely Owen wall should get a start over Billy drenan and Billy ryan

Carey was on a yellow. It clearly wasn't a red, that was a joke decision but he was always going to get a 2nd yellow for that reaction. So he was gone anyway. Ridiculous carry on for a player of his experience. He had has free, get on with the game.

Molloys was probably a fair enough 2nd yellow. Missed the hook and caught Connolly on the back of the head. Not deliberate but careless. You'll nearly always see yellow for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,559 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Regarding Owen Wall, I'm not sure what his match fitness is like, but he's just coming back from injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Darragh Mc carthy’s hurl connected with Mikey Carey’s face guard should this not have been a red card also? If KK have any pride they should be going all out next weekend against Limerick, no excuses.

Are you for real or what? Billy Ryan was one of the few to carry the game to Tipp today. Eoin Murphy was directly responsible for 1-01 today another puck out over the line, wants to be involved in everything only what he should be doing, stopping goals,

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

I agree, I think Billy has had an excellent league. Loads of energy, pace and workrate, without him we have no pace in the forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭forchange

sorry I have being commenting after every match the fact is we lose more than we win

I love facing the tipp supporters after they beat use I get great satisfaction from it

Go in and read the comments from today and go back on my comments it’s just that I called it early

Re lyng when in his first year he put young Doyle into midfield against tipp I commented that he was not up to the job because if he was this would not have happened

I stand over that there were at least 5 others with better cv than him one actually training tipp

I told you Tommy Walsh not good enough

Told you Deegan gone past it

I told you Walter was gone past it

I told you fogarty was gone past it

Told you billy Ryan not good enough

I told you Buckley was gone past it

I told you mossy has not got it on fast pitch

Just like cork every time he plays in croke park he is taking off

I will stand over all these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

You haven’t commented after any game we’ve won anyway because it would kill you to give anyone a bit of credit

Maybe you should have put in your own cv after Cody left you seem to know everything

Your crystal ball should come in handy the next time you do the lotto

I suppose Cody wasn’t good enough to manage kk for 20 odd years either in your eyes

I’m right about one thing your no kk hurling supporter anyway just a bitter old man

Some said Lyng managed our last successful underage team well it took him three years two disastrous years and then stuttered over the line in the third. Why they are given three years is beyond me two is plenty to start showing green shoots this did not happen with Lyng and the county board still ratified him although it was a bit underhanded.

I said it at the time but we beat teams in that competition who were missing their best players due to the rules in place at the time. Galway were missing 2 outstanding hurlers and we bet them after ET. Limerick were also missing the best u20 in the country in Cathal O'Neill. I was commenting at the time about the achievement due to the rules, i received some nasty comments. If the ridiculous rule change wasn't in Galway would have bet us in the 1st round imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭me89

Why are you still going on about 3 players who have retired.

I swear you have never been to a game, coming on having a go at mossy again when he was excellent yesterday scoring 5 from play. He has 2-16 scored in the league and apparently shouldn't be near the team, we would already be relegated without him.

Billy Ryan has had a really good league to, he might not be the highest scorer but excellent work rate.

As seen as you want half the team dropped from the squad who are the alternatives?

Enough of your shite please.

the revolution begins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭randd1

If by revolution he means the same the same thing coming around again and again, he's probably right. It's rinse and repeat with the Kilkenny set-up.

Not for nothing, but maybe it's time we looked outside the county for advice? I'm not saying management, although I wouldn't be opposed to it either, but we clearly need some new ideas with developing players, particularly in the 18-22 year old age bracket, which has been a black hole for development and talent.

I don't care too much results at minor as with it being U-17 they're still fairly young and have plenty of time to develop and I would argue development of the core skills are more important at that age than success (but if it comes with success then all the better), but once past minor we've been an unmitigated disaster really in terms of development, it's been monumentally bad. Even in terms of S&C our younger players coming through look scrawny and weak compared to other counties.

I don't know what we're doing, but what we're doing clearly is extremely poor at that level. We're in a bad funk, and maybe the problem is that we don't know what we're doing but we keep hearing the same voices saying the same things, and we need to go outside the county for fresh ideas.

I don't know what it is, but looking at some of the youth that stood up and drove Clare on last year, the young players that have come through for Cork in recent years, Limerick's younger lads starting to becoming more in tune with the established lads, the younger Tipp lads yesterday, even the difference the younger Offaly lads have made to them the last year, we're at nothing if we're not bringing capable lads through, and we just aren't. Until we get that sorted, this famine is going to continue.

I would argue as well tactically and in terms of first touch, we are poorly coached. I know the lads in charge try their best and giving their all for the county and we should be grateful for it, but at some stage we have to call a spade a spade. One obvious aspect is our striking from distance, unless it's TJ, I have zero confidence in a Kilkenny players striking the ball beyond the 45 unless they're unmarked and in front of goal, we're atrocious at it, even some of the wides yesterday were criminal, the Deegan and Molloy (I think) chances early in the second half were just brutal strikes and both inside the 30. But we have been bad at this for years, particularly compared other counties, and watching the same problem pop up every match and not do something to improve that is just bad coaching.

It's even worse coaching given that we've moved towards a running game where popping the ball over at distance is a necessity as part of the game. We can create the space, but can't shoot properly. Our scoring rates from play over the past few seasons have shown that situation up badly, yet it hasn't even remotely improved, and in many ways has got worse.

We need fresh ideas within our entire hurling infrastructure, and they don't seem to be coming from within any more, maybe it's time we started looking beyond the county boundary. I think the hurling is there, you look at the success of our clubs at intermediate and junior which tend to be small clubs regularly winning AI's against bigger clubs, so I don't know why it seems to be falling down when it comes to wearing the black and amber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭kk.man

Kilkenny has a serious problem with nepotism when it comes to putting teams together under age. If your not with the 'in crowd' you are at nothing. It's got progressive worse over the last number of years. As a result good hurlers are just dropping away. It may not be the ultimate reason why we are not performing but it's certainly a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭neverbet

You would think things are bad enough after yesterday without wanting to pour doubt on the merits of our '20 win in '22. I take it you were in Thurles that day and spoiled the celebrations of those few KK supporters in your vicinity? Have a good look at the Limerick team they beat that day. You might also consider the Cork team that won in '23 pipped a Clare team by one point in Munster that was minus Adam Hogan last years YHOTY.No furore down there over that and we know what followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I think you’re quoting the wrong poster there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

That was one thing Limerick weeded out in their academy’s.

For years who you knew got you a job with the underage Limerick squads but Gerry McManus (brother of JP) got the best people with the best interests of players at heart in the right positions and the Limerick hurling academy’s took off from there.

People writing off Limerick after a loss to Cork last year when in reality they have filtered through another crop of under 23s in the mean time to the first team who are strong and conditioned and ready to impact senior hurling this year

Jason Gillane
    Shane Bull O’Brien
    Aidan O’Connor
    Cathal O Neill
    Adam English
    Colin Coughlan
    Ethan Hurley
    Fergal O Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭neverbet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Theremaybetrouble

Long time reader of this forum and avid Kilkenny supporter through thick and thin but enough is enough now after yesterday and I am just beyond frustrated at the state of things. I have never seen things as bad, and I remember the lean times of 83-92, having been at most every match then.

Say what you want about Cody, but at least he had standards, the current team have experienced a significant decline in those standards, which is unacceptable given their history. Kilkenny lack depth and have an inability to develop young players effectively, both which are major concerns (but both are fixable given correct resources)

The reality is that I believe Kilkenny are as far from All Ireland contention as they have ever been, potentially for a decade or more. This is a catastrophic place to be in.

With no axe to grind to anyone personally, The County Board are unfit for purpose, and I wonder is it time for a comprehensive overhaul. Is it time for an EGM to address colective mismanagement and declining standards. Is it time for a complete change, with no current members involved. Drastic yes, but to restore Kilkenny's competitive edge and rebuild trust within the GAA community, it could and should happen.

At the moment, teams love to play us. This is the ultimate slap in the face for a county which such a proud tradition.