If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭littlevillage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭testtech05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TsuDhoNimh

Yeah.

He played 3 minutes against Armagh, 9 minutes against Mayo & 21 minutes against Derry so far - each time coming on for Ó'Laoi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭mjp

Thanks. Sorry didn't notice him in last 2 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I must say I forgot how enjoyable listening to matches on Galway Bay FM is - some craic at the finish

Sounds like we were lucky enough to get away with the draw - but being stubborn and managing unwarranted results is a damn good habit to get into- especially against a Tyrone team that sounded really up for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭MfMan

Damn lucky. Only for Tyrone transgressed the '3 up' rule right at the death, Walsh (player of the league without doubt) wouldn't have been able to goal from the 20-yard free instead. Some exhibition of kicking from him again today. (Oh, if only…) Tyrone the better team in both halves with their inside forwards of Daragh Canavan and Mark Bradley causing havoc throughout. Galway badly need this type of cut in their own full forward line; Rob Finnerty still has to get up to speed this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Galway are still not kicking much ball into the inside forward line. If they aren't doing it now, when will they? Feels like it's going to separate the big teams in the summer, getting ball into their best forwards to go man to man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭mjp

Until we have comer back can't see us kicking much into inside line. Finnerty been disappointing from open play in the few matches he's played in so far. Our shooting in first half today for 2 pointers was very poor only converting 4 of 12 attempts but Tyrone did put a lot of pressure on kickers today. Serious competition for places and I wonder if Joyce knows what his best 15 is with about 6 spots on starting 15 up for grabs at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

I like the rule where Shane Walsh now gets 2 points per kick instead of one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i am surprised the galway crowed are not looking for a 3 point rule from 50 plus yards especially above in the windy city for the home games 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭MfMan

All 5 of Galway's league matches to date have been wind-dominated, and they haven't all been in Salthill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭I says

Looking at the league with the championship around the corner the hurlers have their work cut out for them in the spring/summer.
    In Leinster KK always hard bate once you try and play them at their own game man against man. They don’t like any type of change. The biffos won’t give a hoot for reputations when we meet. Dublin decent honest hurlers. Wexford will always be a threat, there’s nothing handy about winning a Leinster title. It affords us the best chance of getting into an AI under MOD this year. David Burkes return the other day because he’s 35 yrs was surprising but he’d still do a job in the last 15/20 minutes of a game.
    Munster will be Limerick, Cork and Clare the latter two don’t fear limerick at all.
    We’d have a sniff if we win Leinster this year it’s a big ask but it opens up a lot of avenues with the extra rest if we win it before a semifinal.
    It’s the hope that kills me 😂😂😂 every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

met him out last night…said he was just having two pints…

well that was dogshite. Limerick lording the puckouts. Why in the name of Jesus were the limericks backs not even pressured on them. Galway forwards allowing them the outside all night. If I could see it how in the name of Christ could MOD not see it. Very naive of Galway management to let that go on all night. I’m afraid after that we have maybe 5 or 6 inter county standard players the rest not up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

Limerick always make Galway look worse than they are. But in saying that Galway were terrible tonight.

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

ah come on the donegal game was completely dominated ye were 17 points up at half time , anyway it was a joke i wouldn't worry too much about it

limerick were far stronger tonight then they were against clare , on top of that the key players like conor cooney and pauric mannion were all over the place , gavin lee was good i taught he battled well but will o'donohue, tom morrissey , peter casey and gearoid hegarty are some players to be introducing to a team , throw in the younger lads like colin o neill and aidan o'connor and they have inter county starters for most counties struggling to make the panel ,they have an embarrassment of riches in limerick at the moment , cork will be a more even test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,321 ✭✭✭threeball

The hurlers were pathetic last night. No pressure on the short puckout so you'd assume they were dropping someone to cover the half back line. But anytime Limerick went long to the wing forwards, they were free too.

The space left in front of Gillane and O'Brien was criminal. Even on sidelines where the defending team should have a spare man, Limerick always had one if not two men free.

Gavin Lee did well but apart from him I can't think of anyone else who had a decent game. I've seen enough of Kevin Cooney at this stage to believe he's not up to it at this level. He reminds me of Jason Flynn.

Physically we're two years off matching Limerick too. Even lads that have been with Galway for years are nowhere near the same shape as the Limerick lads. We're behind most munster teams in that regard.

If we can get out of Leinster and get a decent performance in either a quarter or a semi that's the ceiling on what we could expect this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,297 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

I agree, getting out of Leinster is the main goal, not guaranteed at all, as we are definitely well off the top teams. Leinster is well behind Munster too with only Kilkenny who would hold their own there.

Galway, Wexford and Dublin are at a similar level and are capable of beating each other on any given day, Kilkenny are slightly above them, but, not great themselves. I would have more hope for us this year than with Shefflin last year as we were going nowhere under Shefflin only backwards. Tbf to MOD, he inherited a team deviod of confidence and lacking any direction, some of that confidence has been restored and there appears to be some semblance of a gameplan. Realistically I don't think the players are there to mount a serious AI title challenge, reaching a semi final is probably the best we can hope for. There are probably 5 or 6 teams ahead of us at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,321 ✭✭✭threeball

Terrible display from the hurlers again tonight and most of the blame lies on the line. No structure, the same gameplan that got us carved open vs Limerick saw us carved open again tonight. Our defenders are getting hung out to dry.

Our fowards are limited. Once you pin down Whelo we have not much else. The wides we ran up were criminal in 90% of cases. Cathal Mannion whilst named at corner forward doesn't really play as one. He's the one top level hurler we have at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭Robson99

Boys again men. Time for another 3 or 4 of the older lads call it a day. Nothing left to offer. And our first touch is about 3 levels below the likes of Cork, Clare & Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭spurshero

we are limited full stop . The people I hear calling them useless etc need to have a word with themselves . We will be in a titanic battle to get outta Leinster and that’s not maybe . Quite simply we don’t have the hurlers at this moment in time. very little has come through last few years . It’s not like there’s loads of lads that’ aren’t getting a run . Go to county semi and finals every year and it’s still your daithi Burke David Burke Conor Cooney s that’s stand out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Early days. This year is a reset. See how we go from here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,355 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Exactly. And this is the bigger, wider problem with the hurlers atm. It's still all the old stagers, mainly, that stand out at club level.

In saying that, I don't know why Burns wasn't persisted with after the Limerick game. Same with Fleming. They may never win a senior all-Ireland with Galway (hope I'm wrong, in that regards), but they're going to have to be relied on for the next few years, imo.

Our complete "no show" at U-21/U-20 for the last number of years is coming back to haunt us now. Look at the depth of talent Cork have, currently. Same wrt Limerick. Possibly (but I'm still not 100% convinced) Tipp as well are all backboned by strong u 20/21 teams of the last few years. I'd nearly go as far as to say that this year, our most important grade is U-20 in hurling. The seniors won't do much, imo. If, by some fluke, they won Leinster, it would be classed as a very successful year, given the sh1t show of 2024.

Desperate poor today. Christ almighty men against boys. No structure, no game plan I could see and no fight or want in that bunch.
    Winning minors means eff all and surely to jaysus the co board should see that now. Development of the u20s is our only hope, we can write off the next few years.
    Our subs tonight Flynn, cooney, McLaughlin, Glennon and Brennan are either past it or just that little bit below what’s needed.
    Lee is not up to it at 6 against better opposition so maybe give Morgan a spin in Leinster no harm in trying. The cork puckouts again was like the limerick game they’d the freedom of the pitch.
    Unfortunately we are scutter at the moment so we need to temper expectations quite a lot for the next few years. The biffos won’t be one bit afraid of us in Leinster. Looking at tonight’s performance we won’t get out of Leinster this year or the next three either.
    Does MOD know his best 15 not to mind the 30 on the panel at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

The slump was always coming eventually with the limited amount of players coming up to replace the likes of Conor Cooney. Even if we had the current crop firing on all cylinders we're a ways off Clare, Cork and especially Limerick.

I'd love to think we're holding back a few bits like a proper puckout strategy but my worry is that we don't have the ball winners to follow Donoghue's tactics from 2016-2018. The supply of ball into Whelo, Beano and Mannion when he was up in corner-forward was really poor.

Regardless of how 2025 goes Donoghue needs a long spell to bring in new faces. It won't be long till we're looking for new blood to replace David Burke, Daithi, the Mannions etc. This year probably isn't even the rockbottom of his rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Donoghue could not get a strong Galway team out of Leinster in 2019. I would have no faith in him. 2017 was A.C's crop of players

Cunningham improved galway no end but he couldn’t get us over the line . Donoghue got us there . To say it was Cunningham’s team is totally unfair . You want to knock Donoghue for not getting us outta Leinster in one season but give him no credit for winning an all ireland in another . Ya can’t have it both ways .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

I was at the county semi finals and turloughmore weren't in it and cooney and Burke were very poor. The players that stood out were fintan, shane cooney, garvey, 2 collins's, killeen,Morgan and Antony burns no one from the bridge as they were putrid. All of the above are on the panel. The only gripe I have with the management is that they didn't cull allot more and start fresh.

I’m talking about in grneral . Anybody can have a bad half or a bad game .. Conor Cooney has prob been the best club hurler in Galway for last 10 years . Daithi Burke is a 5 time all star full back and you want to get rid ! Of course we have to start fresh but it willl take time . Mcinerney is gone so is Joe Cooney and prob 1 or 2 more that escape me . Plenty of lads have got a go in league to be fair if there good enough they will nail down a spot I think .