Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The decline of FG?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭pureza

They got all the floating vote,the protest vote and some FF vote in 2011

None of that was a Fine Gael vote

Before there was choice,they always got the floating vote except maybe in the 2000’s when it went to FF

I’m laughing because there’s only 2 reasons why people go on with the decline nonsense

One is to needle the 2 or 3 Fine Gael friendly posters here and second is to paint fake news

What’s funny is neither the attempted needling or the fake news will give posters here what they seem to (irrationally imho) want and that is the demise of the centre vote(never going to happen ,sorry) and their own favourite party in government

It’s really as simple as that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,509 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

They got all the floating vote, the protest vote and some FF vote in 2011

Even this is wrong. Quite evidentially they didn't get it all. Nor was it enough to halt the decline of the combined voteshare which we see, graphically ^^^, falling off a cliff after 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭Augme

FG had 36% of the vote, and just over a decade later they've lost nearly half of that. A massive decline.

The demise of the centre vote has been also massively on the decline. In the 2007 FF and FG secured 68% of the vote, in 2024 they secured 42%. That's an incredible drop.

The most popular left wing party in 2007 was Labour and they secured 10% of the vote, in 2011 they secured 10%, which was considered a great success.

In the most recent election the most popular left wing party, secured 19% 9f the vote, and that's considered a disaster and people calling her her to resign over such a failure.

The centre vote has collapsed and gone left. People are finally realising that voting for parties who care more about property developers than the average citizen of the State is not the best idea in the world.

when you need to get pedantic

Your sack is empty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,298 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

That 36% was a blip though.

FG's FPV percentage going back along:

• 2024: 20.8%
    • 2020: 20.9%
    • 2016: 25.5%
    • 2011: 36.1%
    • 2007: 27.3%
    • 2002: 22.5%
    • 1997: 27.9%
    • 1992: 24.5%
    • 1989: 29.3%
    • 1987: 27.1%
    • 1982 (Nov): 39.2%
    • 1982 (Feb): 37.3%
    • 1981: 36.5%

So in the 1980s FG attracted a mid-30s figure. In the 90s and 00s it was a mid 20s, they then jumped to 36.1% in 2011 and are now looking like a low 20s party for the 2020s.

As I said,when you need to get pedantic rather than discuss the message,your sack is empty

The centre vote has not collapsed and imho never will

There was always a ‘working class’ FF vote that (mostly) never came back to them as it had other options after 2016
    Any probably tiny ‘working class’ Fine Gael vote was never in a natural home there and has moved to the various new options,which for 10’s of decades SF were actively not trying to be with their cracky pot policies

Of course the elephant in the room here(for the needler’s) is Fine Gael ended up with more T.D’s than in 2020 despite doom predictions with over half its incumbents gone

Quite an achievement

Where did it get them ? Mostly local councils,a party’s bedrock

Given the state of SF’s council representation versus Fine Gael’s countrywide I can understand the angst driving the SF supporters here

Unfortunately ,in terms of goal achieving for a party,it doesn’t butter any bread

I do wish ye the best of luck though,it doesn’t look easy does it

As I said,when you need to get pedantic rather than discuss the message,

You were wrong. Fact. FG did NOT get all of the vote you claimed in 2011 and what they did get, did not arrest the overall decline of the main two's voteshare. The decline accelerated in fact leading to C/S, then an unprecedented coalition none of which has halted that decline in voteshare.

The 'message' seems to be that there is no decline therefore there is no reason to discuss it. Along with a bit of tatting or titting about the Shinners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,032 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

The latest data point spans a 5 year period and to drop 21% FPV in that time is very significant; Especially when you consider FG have gained votes and FF broadly held their numbers.

The trend that defines the electorate 3 months ago is much more relevant than a trend from the 80s.

You are just setting arbitrary points that insulate you.
    You need to research what a 'trend' is in political terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭Augme

Grand. Pick any year since 1981 and the point still stands - Fine Gael are in decline. Their worst performing election since 1981 was in 2024. That says it all.

A trend has many components.

Let's see come the next GE whether the aggregated trend from your graph was a better predictor of the 2029 GE than the latest 2 data points alone.

You can wait and see if you wish. You have though, adequately demonstrated, you will only see what you want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭harryharry25

Screenshot_20250213-141923.png

Helen McEntee has said live on RTE News at one, that there is no investigation into the incident with the young lady

FG have serious questions here as to what has went on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

It is backed up by the steeper decline in Sinn Fein's vote over ten years in local elections. So you have several datasets showing the same thing.

I don't think you understood the difference between the two statements.

(1) There is a disciplinary procedure (not an investigation) underway within FG in relation to Senator Conway. This relates primarily to the incident in January but will take into account the outcomes of previously closed investigations and disciplinary procedures in relation to Senator Conway.

(2) In saying that there is no investigation into the incident with the young lady (where was it reported she was young, by the way, that is a detail not in the reports), Helen McEntee is correct, as the disciplinary procedure (not an investigation) is as set out above.

(3) The woman involved in the 2018 incident considers it closed and does not want the issue reopened in case she is identified. In refusing to accept the woman's wishes, Sinn Fein are, once again, showing complete disregard for the wishes of victims. They have done so repeatedly in dozens of known cases.

• 2014 Sinn Féin won 159 local seats with 15.2% of the vote.
    • 2019 Sinn Féin won 81 local seats with 9.48% of the vote. They dropped.
    • 2024 Sinn Féin won 102 local seats with 11.8% of the vote. They recovered a bit, but haven't reached the heights of the 2014 results.

FG and SF supporters on Boards are bloody boring at the moment. They are so focused on one issue which seems to be attacking the other party. Can we get a bit of clear sightedness please?

It is obvious to all non-party supporters that in general there has been a slide in support for FF & FG. It looks like they are now levelling off as low 20s parties. It is also obvious that Sinn Fein had a rapid rise in the 2010s but as to where they are levelling off at - unclear for now. Possible they have had a blip and their larger upward trend will continue, or it's possible they are also levelling off at around the same level. Let's see.

Yes, it must be great to have your objective viewpoint Francie.

Fact is Simon Harris knew this man had acted inappropriately to a woman and the Senator paid €10,000 to make it go away (known as hush money)

Yet he still told people to vote for him

He needs to come before the Dail and answer questions just like Mary Lou had too (and it was correct she had too aswell)

It is strange the way that some choose not to see the 20% decline in the Sinn Fein vote. I will now run with your decline in FG since 2016 (and forget about the bottoming out) and contrast with the view of the SF decline since 2020.

I have had a look at the figures again, in 2016 Fine Gael got 544,140 votes, by 2024 this has fallen to 458,134, a decline of 86,006 in 9 years, at a rate of 10,751 per year.

Sinn Fein, without having got anywhere near government, got 535,595 votes in 2020, falling to 418,627 by 2024, a decline of 116,968 at a rate of 29,242 per year.

The Sinn Fein decline is running at nearly three times the rate of the Fine Gael decline. That is only going one way and requires you to suspend belief in the Fine Gael vote bottoming out.

What would the FG figure of voters been in the recent election if they had not lied to the public by saying they built 40k houses?

Interesting that MLMD will complain to the CC when MM says she is telling stories, yet she regularly accuses him and others in the Dail about lying. Run with the hares and hunt with the hounds as per usual with Sinn Fein.

When has she accused him of lying in the Dail? Has he complained about it or have you just made it up?

If your in FG and act inappropriately to a woman and have to pay 10,000 to keep it on quiet, No issues

Kick the **** out of someone on the street, no issues run for election it's grand

FG not a normal party

It is strange the way that some choose not to see the 20% decline in the Sinn Fein vote.

Again, you mis-represent.
    If you actually read the thread you would know this is not true. Just one comment where there is zero denial of what happened to SF in 2024.

I would contend that SF had a calamitous pre-election decline in support but given where opinion polls(I accepted they would not be in government on foot of those OP's) had them they actually did well to recover some ground in the election but failed to make a mark or achieve their ambitions.

Now can you create a graph that shows that there has not been a decline in FF and FG's voteshare?

https://www.carlow-nationalist.ie/news/national-news/claim-that-40000-homes-would-be-built-in-2024-an-election-ploy-says-mcdonald_arid-46840.html

Read all about it. She called it "election lies", but she made the accusation repeatedly and at length.

You were at it yourself on this thread.

That is only the most recent example.

Il repeat it over and over again

Even FF and FG voters know they lied about 40,000 built in 2024

The link you provided, in it, not once does Mary Lou mention the word lie

Making stuff up isn't a good look, especially a big Green party man defending FF/FG by making up lies and then providing links that don't even mention the word lie

Go back and watch it in the Dail, she uses the word.

Not the first time either.

CC has asked the Taoiseach to review what he said, nobody else has been.