Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,302 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Or 3. He has got a very active PR team.

It's not unusual for footballers to do additional work. I remember a few summers ago, Sky / Neville did a big interview with Rashford while on his pre preseason. Lots of other footballers do this pre preseason these days… not too many get the sky cameras in for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Rashford doing extra training on days off isn't unreasonable. As @Mitch Connor said, he has had a long layoff from playing (due to his own actions I might add) so additional training in preparation for playing again makes sense.

The issues are (1) as @PARlance says Rashford/his team always seem to ensure that when he does extra training, the media get wind of it. And (2) the problem has always come back to the fact that he would be doing all these additional training sessions and would then get on the pitch and stroll around doing nothing. Save the super duper intensive extra training and give us consistent super duper intensive performances instead of the lethargic sh*te we kept witnessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

I do look forward to the time, probably in 5-10 years, when Rashford is not an active topic of United related discussion! A bit like Pogba before him.

His actual footballing output over the years has really not justified the level of debate about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

+1 and the justification and excuses for him very few players would have got.

He is history now and hopefully as a club we move forward.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

All the extra training to get extra super fit, right..……to then jog around the pitch on a Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I regularly give my opinion. Some people don't like that, they would prefer to ignore the warning signs and wait until the car crashes before they judge something.

I don't particularly care about that, but in this instance I thought this was a particularly inane, petty and silly thing for people to be crying about.

The real key is that players shouldn't really be doing their own training sessions. Training at the highest level and for elite athletes would be strictly regulated and monitored by the fitness coaches, not much point developing a training plan if the athlete is off doing their own thing as well. That is just a way to get injured or overtrained.

So if these "extra" training sessions actually happened they would have been approved and set by the coaches.

But "Player doing club training sessions" doesn't have the same PR ring to it as "Player doing extra sessions" I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I don't believe that is correct.

Pogba had issues with United over the type of training work he did outside of United as it was felt problematic - but it is his decision.

Mount had issues with what he did for Rehab - but it is still his decision.

Malacia had issues with his surgery and his rehab - but it was still his decision.

Players have a level of autonomy away from the training centre that you don't seem to afford them.

Players on holidays are expected to maintain a level of fitness but how they do that is up to them - they aren't being mandated to run X miles a day or do X sprints. They are expected to come back at a minimum physical condition (and not all do… cough Casemiro, cough Rooney, cough Roy Keane…) and some players put in extra effort over this time off.

And even if you are right - if Rashford (or whomever) said to United 'I want to do extra work duing the international break, can you set me a program' - they are still doing extra, private sessions, that the club hasn't requested or demanded that they do. So it is 'Extra Sessions'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Ye that's it exactly. One of the coaches that a good few of the Manchester United players uses is Ryan Hopper, he's on Stetford Paddock a few times throughout the year and he has said that all of it is extra work and training decided by the player. The club have no involvement in it.

He had a session recently on a Sunday morning with Chido Obi Martin and the comments on the clips of it were full of praise for the him "working hard", "doing extra sessions" and so on.

The comments on the clips for Rushford's sessions only a few months before were mainly "Just doing this for PR", "don't try like that on the pitch."

There's plenty of double standards and hypocrisy amongst a lot of fans.

I may indeed be wrong, but if so that just means United are really badly managing their players fitness.

Working on their own fitness out of season is one thing, but during the playing season I would absolutely have expected the fitness coaches to be microscopically watching the players exertions. Its injury prevention 101, its why they have fitness coaches and sports science specialists.

I suppose considering Uniteds injury record this past few years perhaps it isn't surprising that they aren't on top of this.

If players are arranging their own training sessions with private coaches and undertaking plans that the club have no involvement with, then I am actually staggered.

I hope sincerely that this is a Ten Hag thing and that Amorim has been addressing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Quags

Players have been doing it for years, before ETH and it's continuing under Amorim, as I said Obi Martin was working on finishing privately with Ryan Hopper only a few weeks ago. He's worked with Bruno, Fred, Dalot, Elanga, Ella Toone, Dan Gore, that I know of anyway and it's all extra work separate from their work with Manchester United.

https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/man-united-marcus-rashford-training-29903004

He's chatted about how he doesn't deal with the club in anyway in relation to it.

But even if the club has input and approve it - it is still extra training. It is extra sessions the player has decided to do themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Well what else was he filming himself for?

A player on 300k plus a week and he wants tap on the back for doing bit of work?

I mean no wonder United were where they were.

He did stroll around the pitch, he was doing it for PR.

I mean we can't be comparing a kid (just turned 17) just at club, to guy who was on top Dollar moaning and whinging about every part of management and backroom team.

Double standards my arse.

EVENFLOW

The comments were on the coaches videos, not Rashford's.

You're implying that's what he was after, that doesn't make it a fact.

We can compare two professionals, both who were working with the same coach, doing roughly the same work and the responses were vastly different. That's the definition of double standards.

players, like Marcus, are paid a fortune for their sponsorships.

Updating instagram with your training image showing off your nike top at the same time or whatever could simply be part of the business needs as, essentially, a commercial entity. "You need to hit X amount of impressions per month". And United has sold itself to players on the basis of the increase they will get in social follows, and therefor sponsorship revenue.

Which is PR, but more so in terms of sponsorship deals rather than 'please like me'.

BTW… Can you provide me some examples of Rashford moaning and whiching about every part of management and backroom team? Or is it just hatred fueled toxicity?

Very unfair to be comparing a kid to Rashford

A kid barely in door of the club not even in first team. It's not fair comparison at all.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Chido Obi has confirmed that Martin is his middle name, so we've being calling him the wrong thing😅 If I remember correctly wasn't there an issue with Shoretire pronunciation?

image.png

This is why I will generally defend players, and Rashford in this case.

When he is reported on like THIS… i just can't believe it.

People will read that headline. and make assumptions.

What are you talking about? How is anything I said unfair on any of them? I'm not criticising anyone.

I said that the comments under the two videos were vastly different despite the players doing the exact same thing, extra training with the same coach.

One was pure positive (praising Obi Martin) and the others were pure negativity (towards Rashford). This shows double standards of fans.

The two people were doing the exact same thing and it was drawing complete opposite reactions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,999 ✭✭✭Acosta

The right wing media in Britain will never forgive him for showing them and the Tories up for the ***** that they are. But, the way he's behaved at United over the last couple of years, he's made it easy for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

There's a winger at Betis currently tearing it up...another goal tonight...maybe one to look at for the future

Imo it shows how much pressure and confidence tahes a toll on players.

The game he came on and missed the sitter, I felt so bad for him. He had started well and then you could see he just wanted off the pitch after the miss.

Delighted he's doing well, for himself and for our bank balance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

He scored in his first 3 matches for us as well in a tougher league. He's getting his plaudits and MotM awards (which is voter based from fans I think)

Not that I'm knocking the lad, hope he genuinely does well, he's still young and there is talent there, hopefully he keeps cracking on and we get a good price for him.

The memes might finally stop and he has a solid career in the Spanish league as that suits him more.

I'd give my left arm for an experienced Striker like him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Hopefully Antony keeps performing well for Betis. He certainly never shyed away from getting stuck in but he's clearly a level below what top clubs would aspire to. The preposterous price tag is the real fly in the ointment, if we had spent 20m on him most would be saying hes a grand squad option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭NITRO95

I don't think Harry Kane would suit Amorims preferred style but I think there's a very good chance that Kane is gettable from Bayern this summer.