Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Caustic

There is about 3 articles a year about rashford doing some kind of extra training

…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,308 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

they did a deal to keep the glazers in so criticism of them is warranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I do think there is absolutelu a narrative with some people that INEOS are worse than the Glazers. Goldbridge and his merry band of toxic influencers have certainly pushed that narrative having been 100% against INEOS from the point Qatar came in to the bidding process (and apparently hired and funded a PR firm…).

I hate Goldbridge, TUS, and everythign they represent - but they are also a touchstone for way too many United fans and there is a hatred of INEOS that puts in them in the same boat at best with the glazers, and worse by virtue of an arguement of 'they were supposed to save us'.

I don't think it a big thing HERE but i do feel there has been a sentiment of them messing up transfers worse, manager decisions worse, hirings worse and then the budget cuts and sackings. "maybe they;ll get it right but so far they're no better' would feel like a statement i can have seen on here. And yes, that isn't "worse" but for some reason I thought I would see if there was a discussion to be had…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I literally gave them criticism last week but in no way are they worse than the Glazers.

Also that comment wasn't serious, just sick of people saying they are worse than the Glazers.

They did a deal. To get some ownership off the glazers and take control of the running of the club..if they didn't the glazers would still have full control and the club would be in absolute crisis now..hard to imagine things being worse but it would be much worse by the sounds of things

Yeah, the alternative being Hedge funds coming in - YAY!

Criticism may be warranted but when you see the state of the finances that INEOS are trying to fix while the glazers do NOTHING - when there was no viable alternative (SEC filings say Qatar never provided proof of funds) and beyond that it was hedge funds, I don't think criticism of them for doing one of only two deals that was possible is too warranted. (the other deal being spending 6bn to buy out the glazers at 35 a share and then all the public shares at the same value, resulting in a MASSIVE overpay on the public shares. As it is they bought a sizable chunk of public shares at a massive pver valuation to get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,308 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

SJR's deal allowed the glazers to stay. without that deal the money would have run out.

there was a chance the glazers pissed off entirely if SJR didnt do that deal.

do they have a pathway to full ownership?

will they clear the debt saving 10's of millions a year on interest payments?

have they made any inroads in increasing revenue?

why would ineos do any of that without full ownership - if that remains the case, we will remain in limbo. watch our wage bill drop down to about 7/8th in the PL. that will be praised by some, but will leave us with a squad unable to compete at the top.

a much greater chance they have sold a portion to hedge funds as a debt to fund the club further while they tried to limp on in the hope Qatar or Saudi or someone Oil state would come in for them.

They had offered, and agreed, a deal that saw all the glazers sell all their shares. The board blocked it.

Wage bill down to 7th or 8th is just rubbish.

this has us 2nd. with Rashfords money at Villa, Sancho at Chelsea, Antony at Real Betis all being taken into account.

Can you provide something better?

https://www.capology.com/uk/premier-league/payrolls/#google_vignette

The money they put in has reduced the requirement for borrowing on the credit facility - so that debt has been reduced and according to people who have studied the accounts the costs they have cut so far, are far greater than the interest due on the leveraged debt.

I do wish there was a clearer, more dependable path to full ownership though. I have seen people point to the funding of the stadium being a tool that can and likely will be used to leverage more equity and ownership - but i don't understand that. I assume Ineos want to gain ownership without paying a huge premium on the ordinary shares - I assume they'd prefer to buy the club without buyinig any of them tbf. How they do that I have no idea.

i actually thought our wage bill had dropped to 4th, so was basing 7/8th on that + all the cuts/offloads/CL deduction.

i dont think a hedge fund would have come in as the fans would not have tolerated it. SJR was the perfect candidate for the glazers. though we will never know.

one thing though, if ineos will not transfer the debt to themselves, why not restructure it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Personally, I think that INEOS have made a bit of a mess of the whole thing, right from the start. Right back to pumping money into the club for the privilege of doing all the work while the Glazers sit back and benefit from it, and the protracted way that whole thing played out.

Operationally I think the Ashworth thing was a mess, right back to trying to poach him from Newcastle to begin with. Waiting 6 months for him only to sack him ten minutes later was a farce.

Faffing about with Ten Hag last season was frustrating, giving him a new contract and buying him players, then sacking him ten minutes later was moronic on every level.

Pretty much everything about the Amorim "rebuild" has been misjudged and misguided in my humble opinion.

There are real, tangible things INEOS have done that we can look at and assess objectively, and a lot of them deserve criticism. While on the other side of the coin, often the best that can be said is that "it should pay off later."

But, are they worse than the Glazers? No, of course they aren't, that would be very stupid to say. Which is why nobody in history has ever said it.

restructure in what way?
    Why do you think the structure of the debt is poor as it is?

My hope had been that the debt would be transferred to INEOS at zero payment - with a change of ownership clause forcing a penalised repayment if the glazers sold elsewhere and a transfer to equity if/when ineos take over.

But transfering the loan to INEOS with zero payment would still result in a PSR interest payment at Market Rates, so likely wouldnt impact that side of things. Cash flow would be better though - as the interest payment (about 25m a year apparently) wouldn't actually exist.

Whatever about the debt, I don't understand how the Stadium plan goes anywhere without some change in ownership as I can't see how we fund it as is.

why end your post with the comment that is demonstrably false? People have said they are worse. Maybe not people you care about,m but it has been said. given the conversation that has preceded this post, it is just so bizarrely antagonistic.

its like

Debateable point
    Jibe - Eff you - jibe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

good man agent Moyes!

Ah come on, it was clearly tongue in cheek. It was always a meaningless comment and so repeating it is equally meaningless. Why it was ever quoted to begin with is just crazy to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,115 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Only 2 points behind United now. Should pass them easily enough in the next couple of weeks.

get a new loan for a 30 year period (or whatever will nicely balance interest vs term) with a better interest rate.

repay the current debt with the new loan.

why its bad? the capital started at £550m and is now £535m. meanwhile £900m of interest has been paid. thats madness.

if ineos took over the debt, market value interest would be charged which will be less than the current interest. so cash flow is improved, as is PSR.

What are the current terms?

Genuinely?

it would seem odd if United haven't worked to get good financing in place. Maybe there is something better that could be done but it would seem bizarre if the current rates are bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭BenK

It was quoted because you actually said it. It's a bit bizarre that you're saying it was tongue in cheek as it certainly didn't come across like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Ah lads I know we all talk some awful shite but breaking boards.is a new one! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,867 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

well it seems the debt has already been restructured:

In 2010, Manchester United issued bonds worth £526 million to refinance their existing debt. These bonds have fixed interest rates and specific maturity dates, requiring periodic interest payments and principal repayment at the end of the term. The interest rates on these bonds vary, but they generally range from 8.375% to 9.125%. Initially, the Glazers used PIK loans, which accrued interest at a high rate of 16.25% per year.

Manchester United's debt includes bonds with maturity dates in 2027 and 2029, but this doesn't mean all the debt must be repaid by 2029. The club can choose to refinance the debt, which involves issuing new bonds or securing new loans to pay off the existing debt. This can extend the repayment period and potentially secure more favorable terms.

so if nothing has happed since then you would have to imagine we will see a restructuring in the next couple of years - if not ineos doing something between now and then.

I know that I said "Nobody in history has ever said this".

The strange bit is why such blatant, obvious, clear hyperbole is the bit that was jumped upon?

I mean, look at it. "Nobody in history has ever said this". How is that anything else but hyperbole? How could it literally be anything else?

I wonder what he thought about Amorim calling his players the worst United squad in history, I hope he called him out for that hyperbole.

Ffs you wrote this

"I am genuinely curious, who has said that INEOS are worse than the Glazers?

They aren't worse than the Glazers, so it would be interesting to see who said that, can you tell me who it was"

A few posts after you said it and now you are trying to pretend it was hyperbole after pushing the conversation the way you did is complete bs.

Grow up and just admit you were wrong no one is buying your nonsense about it being a joke or hyperbole if it was you wouldn't have asked for proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Does it not raise alarm bells with anyone else that a pro athlete, whose entire career and earning ability is based on his fitness and who is being paid millions of pounds a year to maintain that fitness, consistently needs to have additional training sessions to just get back up to speed? To me that would suggest 1 of 2 things

1. He is not consistently doing the required levels in the normal team training regime, or
    2. His lifestyle off field is impacting his on field output so significantly that he needs this extra training to just maintain his existing levels

In either of the above scenarios, it shows substantial disregard for his job and his employer. We are well rid tbh. Hopefully he does well enough at villa that we have a couple of suitors that come in for him in the summer.

I think all of the private instances have been after injury, or during breaks where training at Carrington is not being done or not required - ie. doing private training when they have time off for a foreign break, especially during the International break. IIRC there were images shared of him doing training in New York prior the the Basket Ball game he went to. We've seen similar stuff when he has been in Dubai for example. There were also instances in periods of poor form where we'd hear about extra, external, training being done on his finishing.

I don't believe we have heard of him randomly doing extra training in the evenings after normal training just cause he wasn't fit - there has always been a reason (he's abroad, he's working on something specific). Neither fallling into your two categories imo.

As for this Villa one - he has been not selected to play for 6/7 weeks - he is going to be rusty regardless of the fact he was in training for United; so doing additional work to build himself back up to match levels wouldn't be outlandish imo.